Category Archives: Coffee Houses

Gypsy House Cafe (Denver, Colorado)

Gypsy House Cafe

The Gypsy House CafeBR> ~ 1279 N Marion Street, Denver, Colorado 80218 ~ Phone: (303) 830-1112 * https://www.facebook.com/GypsyHouse/ ~

This great little coffee and sandwich shop was such a Denver charm. Unfortunately it is currently no longer. Hopefully it will come back. It was a fabulous alternative to the mainstream coffee shops with great chai, great ambiance, hookahs, performances, readings, belly dancing, and a Middle Eastern vibe. Great hangout and get togethers. Good WiFi. Rating: 5 star out of 5.

2017 Update: Unfortunately the Gypsy House Cafe has been closed. Details here http://www.denverpost.com/2016/02/23/gypsy-house-cafe-in-denvers-capitol-hill-to-close-march-14/. Hoping it will come back again.

Gypsy House Cafe (http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=33491). Exploring Denver. Life in Colorado: Chronicle 26 – Chronicles of Sir Thomas Leaf – Adventures in Colorado. Photos taken January 30, 2011. To read the adventures, visit http://www.technogypsie.com/chronicles/?p=29947. To read reviews, visit: www.technogypsie.com/reviews. All photos and articles (c) 2011 Technogypsie.com – by Leaf McGowan and Thomas Baurley. All rights reserved. www.technogypsie.com/photography

Continue reading Gypsy House Cafe (Denver, Colorado)

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share

Leisureplex Starbucks – Blanchardstown Center, Dublin, IE

Starbucks (Leisureplex, Blanchardstown, Dublin, Ireland)

It took some instructing, but they evetually got down to memory the making of Chai Creme Frappacino‘s when we came here to do chai n’ wifi.

To read more about the Starbucks Corporation for history, links, and resources visit here: http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=2345.

Continue reading Leisureplex Starbucks – Blanchardstown Center, Dublin, IE

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share

Starbucks (Keizer, OR)

Starbucks (Keizer, Oregon)
2555 Jorie Lane NE
Keizer, OR
503-463-1044

A great location with good service. The Chai Creme Frappacinos were good. Rating: 4 stars out of 5.

Chronicles: http://www.technogypsie.com/chronicles/?p=10537

To read more about the Starbucks Corporation for history, links, and resources visit here: http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=2345.

Continue reading Starbucks (Keizer, OR)

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share

Starbucks – Ashland, Oregon (downtown)

051414-012

Starbucks (Ashland, Oregon)

Right in the heart of downtown Ashland, the Shakespeare Capital of the Pacific Northwest, is this small little cafe nestled amongst the downtown shops. Not much seating, its more or less a walk-and-go location. The staff is friendly and amicable, but because of Ashland’s silly food tax laws, charges taxes on your drinks as does any food place downtown Ashland. The drinks are expensive here. Getting Chai Creme Frappacino‘s here was a common practice for us as we owned a store just down the road. Rating: 2 stars out of 5

To read more about the Starbucks Corporation for history, links, and resources visit here: http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=2345.

Continue reading Starbucks – Ashland, Oregon (downtown)

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share

Starbucks (Redding, CA – I-5)

032715-020

Starbucks (Redding, California)

Another frequent stopping location when I’m travelling up and down Interstate 5 from Northern to Southern California. The staff is friendly and great service. Shop is small but good internet. Had my usual Chai Creme Frappacino each time frequently and they made them good. Rating: 4 stars out of 5

To read more about the Starbucks Corporation for history, links, and resources visit here: http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=2345.

Continue reading Starbucks (Redding, CA – I-5)

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share

Starbucks (Stockton, CA I-5)

032815-006

Starbucks (Stockton, CA)

I’ve visited this quick on / quick off the interstate location for some pep for the long drives from North-Southern California which is especially thankful during the hot desert days. The location is small and is more or less a roadstop location. Staff was friendly and hospitable. Their Chai Creme Frappacino was not up to par during my visit. They gave me a free drink pass to compensate. Rating: 3 stars out of 5

To read more about the Starbucks Corporation for history, links, and resources visit here: http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=2345.

Continue reading Starbucks (Stockton, CA I-5)

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share

Starbucks (Old Colorado City, Colorado)

Starbucks (Old Colorado City, Colorado)

The only Starbucks in Old Colorado City and Manitou, this great location has a friendly staff, good drinks, and great seating area. The internet is strong and allows productivity. There is a bit of transient traffic from the street corner and “sleepers” that seem to lounge there which is a pain when you want to have a place to sit or work and have to sit somewhere uncomfortable because a non-paying guest is sleeping on the comfy chairs. Otherwise my experiences have been great here. Rating: 3.5 stars out of 5 Visited 9/5/17

To read more about the Starbucks Corporation for history, links, and resources visit here: http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=2345.

Chai Creme Frappacino

Continue reading Starbucks (Old Colorado City, Colorado)

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share

Starbucks (Denver: 16th Street Mall)

Starbucks 16th Street Mall – http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=32171.

Starbucks – 16th Street Mall
934 Sixteenth Street, Denver, Colorado * (303) 454-9852

Ah the relaxation of a Starbucks, and this one in the heart of the 16th Street Mall, crowded with tourists on a rainy Colorado afternoon. Limited seating, one bathroom (with a code 74147) down a hall, and friendly staff (as usual). Good window viewing of the Mall. Decent wifi as usually can be expected from Starbucks. The few seats and tables there are, is decent seating. Definitely a drop off point. Parking is limited as its a crowded touristy downtown hub with 2 hour max meters. But hey, it’s around the corner from the Money Museum which is a free one-room display of currency history of the region. Free bag of shredded money as a souvenir. Got some peaceful work done to my drug-of-choice the Chai Creme Frappacino. ~ Leaf McGowan. Visited 8/7/17 : 3 stars out of 5.

To read more about the Starbucks Corporation for history, links, and resources visit here: http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=2345.

Starbucks 16th Street Mall – http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=32171. New Life in Colorado: Chronicle 26 – Chronicles of Sir Thomas Leaf and Prince Cian. Adventures in Colorado. Photos taken August 7, 2017. To read the adventures, visit http://www.technogypsie.com/chronicles/?p=21965. To read reviews, visit: www.technogypsie.com/reviews. All photos and articles (c) 2017 Technogypsie.com – by Leaf McGowan and Thomas Baurley. All rights reserved. www.technogypsie.com/photography

Continue reading Starbucks (Denver: 16th Street Mall)

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share

Poor Richards (Colorado Springs, Co)

Poor Richards

Poor Richards
~ Colorado Springs, Colorado ~

Write up coming soon ….

Poor Richards ( http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=29645) – New Life in Colorado: Chronicle 26 – Chronicles of Sir Thomas Leaf and Prince Cian. Adventures in Colorado. Photos taken December 23, 2016. To read the adventures, visit http://www.technogypsie.com/chronicles/?p=21965. To read reviews, visit: www.technogypsie.com/reviews. All photos and articles (c) 2015/2016 Technogypsie.com – by Leaf McGowan and Thomas Baurley. All rights reserved. www.technogypsie.com/photography

Poor Richards ( http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=29645) – New Life in Colorado: Chronicle 26 – Chronicles of Sir Thomas Leaf and Prince Cian. Adventures in Colorado. Photos taken December 23, 2016. To read the adventures, visit http://www.technogypsie.com/chronicles/?p=21965. To read reviews, visit: www.technogypsie.com/reviews. All photos and articles (c) 2015/2016 Technogypsie.com – by Leaf McGowan and Thomas Baurley. All rights reserved. www.technogypsie.com/photography

Poor Richards ( http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=29645) – New Life in Colorado: Chronicle 26 – Chronicles of Sir Thomas Leaf and Prince Cian. Adventures in Colorado. Photos taken December 23, 2016. To read the adventures, visit http://www.technogypsie.com/chronicles/?p=21965. To read reviews, visit: www.technogypsie.com/reviews. All photos and articles (c) 2015/2016 Technogypsie.com – by Leaf McGowan and Thomas Baurley. All rights reserved. www.technogypsie.com/photography

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share

Grand Central Cafe, Portland, Oregon

Grand Central Cafe, Portland, Oregon:  http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=25903.  Life in the Gorge: Chronicle 22 - Chronicles of Sir Thomas Leaf, Lady Etain, and Prince Cian.  The Gorge/Columbia River, Oregon-Washington. Photos taken March 27, 2016.  To read the adventures, visit http://www.technogypsie.com/chronicles/?p=17903.  Hood River: http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=23683; The Dalles:  http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=24107; White Salmon:  http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=23677; Husum: http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=25039; Portland:  http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=281.  To read reviews, visit: www.technogypsie.com/reviews.  All photos and articles (c) 2015/2016 Technogypsie.com - by Leaf McGowan, Eadaoin Bineid and Thomas Baurley. All rights reserved.
Grand Central Cafe, Portland, Oregon: http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=25903.

Grand Central Bakery
~ 2230 SE Hawthorne Blvd Portland, OR 97214 ~ http://grandcentralbakery.com/ ~

We stopped at this Pacific Northwest Bakery chain while waiting to meet some friends. It had some tasty chai and great cross buns for the Easter holiday season. It was originally created by Gwen Bassetti at Seattle’s historic Pioneer Square, locally owned chain dedicated to artisan baking. An assortment of breads, baked goods, sandwiches, soups, teas, coffees, and juices can be found here. Her original sandwich start started in Seattle’s newly refurbished Grand Central Hotel Building where it changed names from Gwen’s roadside farm stand on Lopez Island in the 60’s to the Grand Central Bakery in 1989. Famous for her Como loaves. Rating: 4 stars out of 5

Grand Central Cafe, Portland, Oregon:  http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=25903.  Life in the Gorge: Chronicle 22 - Chronicles of Sir Thomas Leaf, Lady Etain, and Prince Cian.  The Gorge/Columbia River, Oregon-Washington. Photos taken March 27, 2016.  To read the adventures, visit http://www.technogypsie.com/chronicles/?p=17903.  Hood River: http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=23683; The Dalles:  http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=24107; White Salmon:  http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=23677; Husum: http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=25039; Portland:  http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=281.  To read reviews, visit: www.technogypsie.com/reviews.  All photos and articles (c) 2015/2016 Technogypsie.com - by Leaf McGowan, Eadaoin Bineid and Thomas Baurley. All rights reserved.
Grand Central Cafe, Portland, Oregon: http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=25903. Life in the Gorge: Chronicle 22 – Chronicles of Sir Thomas Leaf, Lady Etain, and Prince Cian. The Gorge/Columbia River, Oregon-Washington. Photos taken March 27, 2016. To read the adventures, visit http://www.technogypsie.com/chronicles/?p=17903. Hood River: http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=23683; The Dalles: http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=24107; White Salmon: http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=23677; Husum: http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=25039; Portland: http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=281. To read reviews, visit: www.technogypsie.com/reviews. All photos and articles (c) 2015/2016 Technogypsie.com – by Leaf McGowan, Eadaoin Bineid and Thomas Baurley. All rights reserved.

Continue reading Grand Central Cafe, Portland, Oregon

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share

Starbucks (Swords/Airside Park, Ireland)

Starbucks:  http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=24741. 4 January 2014. Clongriffin to Swords. Chronicles 3: Walking with the Ancestors -  http://www.technogypsie.com/chronicles/?p=15579. Winter 2013/2014: Chronicles of Sir Thomas Leaf  and Cian - the Prince of Endurance.  Photography (c) 2014, 2015: Thomas Baurley, Leaf McGowan, Technogypsie Productions. www.technogypsie.com/photography/.  To follow the stories and tales visit http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/ and http://www.technogypsie.com/chronicles/. Swords: http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=24171. Dublin: http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=2754. Malahide: http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=24123. Clongriffin: http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=24119.
Starbucks: Swords, Ireland. 4 January 2014.

Starbucks – Swords/Airside
Airside Retail Park, Swords, Co. Dublin, Ireland

+353 1 840 8516
http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=24741

One of my favorite little Starbucks just outside of Swords area of the north Dublin county section of Ireland in the Airside Retail Park. A small glass paneled decorative Starbucks outpost attached to a strip mall with TGI Fridays and InTouch beauty treatments. Friendly service and great Wi-Fi. It was a great stop off after a long day’s hunting of folklore and sacred sites in the area. I had to instruct them how to make a Chai Creme Frappuccino as its less common in Europe than in the Americas. Clean, great yet limited seating, and busy coffee shack. Rated 3.5 stars out of 5.

To read more about the Starbucks Corporation for history, links, and resources visit here: http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=2345.

Continue reading Starbucks (Swords/Airside Park, Ireland)

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share

Starbucks (Dawson street, Dublin, Ireland)

Starbucks: http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=24131. January 2, 2014 - a day out in Dublin. Chronicles 3: Walking with the Ancestors -  http://www.technogypsie.com/chronicles/?p=15579. Winter 2013/2014: Chronicles of Sir Thomas Leaf  and Cian - the Prince of Endurance.  Photography (c) 2014, 2015: Thomas Baurley,   Leaf McGowan, Technogypsie Productions. www.technogypsie.com/photography/.  To follow the stories and tales visit http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/ and http://www.technogypsie.com/chronicles/. Dublin: http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=2754.
Starbucks: http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=24131. January 2, 2014 – a day out in Dublin. Chronicles 3: Walking with the Ancestors – http://www.technogypsie.com/chronicles/?p=15579. Winter 2013/2014: Chronicles of Sir Thomas Leaf and Cian – the Prince of Endurance. Photography (c) 2014, 2015: Thomas Baurley, Leaf McGowan, Technogypsie Productions. www.technogypsie.com/photography/. To follow the stories and tales visit http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/ and http://www.technogypsie.com/chronicles/. Dublin: http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=2754.

Starbucks (Dawson street Dublin)
51 Dawson St, Dublin, Ireland * +353 1 675 9850
http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=24131

My all-time favorite Dublin Starbucks location for chai and Wi-Fi fixes. Nestled just off Dawson, strategically planted near Trinity College and the City Centre, this spacious Starbucks has just what the weary traveler needs – great couches and lounging area in the front, coffee stand and register in the center, with back room and corridor with tables stretching the length of the business. Outside is several tables and chairs for people watching and waiting for the bus during good-weather blessings. The staff is friendly and great at remembering who you are and what you like, internet signal fabulous, and during the middle hours of the week days not too crowded so you’ll often find seating. Evenings and weekends it gets a bit crowded and tough to get seating. They also have the making of the Chai Creme Frappacino down pretty good for a foreign Starbucks. Rating: 5 stars out of 5. Visited 1/2/14.

To read more about the Starbucks Corporation for history, links, and resources visit here: http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=2345.

Continue reading Starbucks (Dawson street, Dublin, Ireland)

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share

Starbucks Coffee (Mahon Point, Cork, Ireland)

Starbucks (Mahon Point, Cork, Ireland)
First Floor, Kiosk 7, Mahon Point Shopping Centre, Cork, Ireland
http://www.starbucks.ie/store/1010436/ie/mahon-point/first-floor-kiosk-7-mahon-point-shopping-centre

It always amazed me how Cork Ireland was always lacking a Starbucks. Cork has had its history with up and downs of Starbucks success, and finally at least this year (2015) a really nice Starbucks is readily accessible off the N40 and in close proximity to Cork City. This roomy Starbucks has a warm and bustling atmosphere with friendly servers. I put them to my Chai Creme Frappacino International test and they were successful … they knew how to make it. (Most International locations have difficulties with this drink – many of their employees don’t even know its a menu offering that is so popular in the States) There was very roomy space for the wee one to play and not get into much trouble while we were catching up with an old friend. The chai and pastries were delicious. Good times. Accessibility not bad as there is a car park below with an elevator up. However if there is rain or bad weather like we experienced during our visit, you’ll have a brief run-through the rain to get from the elevator to the Starbucks. Rating: 5 stars out of 5 Visited 1/1/2015

To read more about the Starbucks Corporation for history, links, and resources visit here: http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=2345.

Continue reading Starbucks Coffee (Mahon Point, Cork, Ireland)

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share

Starbucks (Malahide, Ireland)

Starbucks – Malahide, Ireland
* Unit 2, The Green Strand Street * 60 Marina Village * Malahide * Dublin, Ireland * www.starbucks.ie * 35318283310 *

We were grateful that their was a Starbucks open nearby in Malahide on New Year’s Day, as most of Ireland is shut down on this day. Staff was friendly and courteous, though not really aware of much of the company they work for. We ordered our infamous “Chai Creme Frappuccino” we are so addicted to, only to get the once-in-a-blue-moon newbie employee response “Oh, we don’t make those”. “Of course you do” is always my reply with a quick tutorial on the simplicity and telling them its in their book. It’s on their Frappuccino web site and even the Starbucks-Ireland web site (http://www.starbucks.ie/menu/beverage-list/frappuccino-blended-coffee/chai-creme-frappuccino-blended-beverage). The barista said “We don’t have a book” and “I don’t think that would work” to my tutorial response. But the co-worker went ahead and tried, and voila’ – he had it right on, and strong like we like them. Then out came the Gold Card, which apparently are only offered to Starbucks clientele in the States … but the rewards on them should work universally (which has worked in other Dublin locations) as I had at least 2 free purchases on the card in waiting. “Oh, we can’t check those” with a “I’ll verify with the manager” follow-up saying “no can do”. So we had to use Euros. The one employee said “We are not part of the Starbucks network here in Ireland” which I found a surprising thing to say – “Of course you are” was my reply. I’ve had no problems anywhere else in Ireland with such things and to be a franchise even, you have to be part of the network I’m sure. Overall a good experience minus the novice attentiveness. Kudos to the other employee who was willing to try making the Chai Creme Frappacino. Rating: 3 stars out of 5 ~ visited 1/1/2014

To read more about the Starbucks Corporation for history, links, and resources visit here: http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=2345.

Continue reading Starbucks (Malahide, Ireland)

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share

Chocola Tree (Sedona, Arizona)

112413-010

Chocola Tree Organic Eatery
* 1595 West Hwy 89A, Sedona, Arizon 86336 *

As I try to live the healthier lifestyle, incorporating more vegan, vegetarian, and gluten-free into my diet, we were very happy to see a gluten-free vegan restaurant in Sedona. Though “Sedona” being “Sedona” amped up in price tags taking advantage of alternative travelers and tourists I met with what I expected – HIGH priced menu items for unforgivable quantity, quality, or measure. I’m not sure why these trendy spots feel they need to over-charge people who want to be healthy as it seems counter-productive to what the movement stands for in my opinion. New age is new age, and this would be one of the classic hotspots for that kind. Don’t get me wrong, the food was decent, but the manner of delivery is not. First off, everything was way over-priced – and would have been a place I normally would not even give a moment of my time. I was however with a group that wanted to try their food, so in we went. I figured I’d try to be minimalistic with price so was going to go for the coconut curry soup. But the waiter says “its cold – is that ok?” I said, “cold? can’t you heat it up?” and he said “No that’s how its served, we don’t have any way to heat it up here, we don’t use microwaves and we don’t have a stove top”. Okay, being health-conscious I get the “no microwave” but really? A restaurant without a stove top? really? In addition, the soup would not come with bread, even though the bowl of soup was in the $8-10 price range. Really? If I wanted some bread, I’d have to order it separately and it would cost $4-8. I was sickened with the concept. So I went with the Gluten-free waffles. They were good, the middle part. The edges were a bit hard. If they don’t have a stove top, I suppose it was done in a waffle maker. Anyhow – neo-hippie decor with southwestern style, staff was friendly (though full of themselves), and it was crowded. If you’ve a lot of money to toss out the window, into the New Age lifestyle, this would be the perfect place for you – I’m sure the minimalistic food would be perfect for your palate. Not mine. Will never return. They claim 100% organic and/or wild-crafted produce with a 95% seasonal menu. They state they use artesian spring fed source free of chlorine or fluoride water in their cooking and serving. Rating: 3 stars out of 5. Visited 11/24/2013.

112413-007

Continue reading Chocola Tree (Sedona, Arizona)

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share

World Cup Cafe (Taos, NM)

World Cup Cafe
* 102A Paseo Del Pueblo Sur * Taos, NM 87571 * 575-737-5299 *

A great little coffee shop in the heart of Taos‘ City Center / Plaza, in northern New Mexico. While parking is not all that convenient, finding a space is worth it for a cup o’ joe here. The Italian soda is nice, the chai spicy, and the drinks good. Service is average, and prices are fair. World Cup has its own charm … Rated: 4 stars out of 5. Visited 11/22/2013.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share

Farmhouse cafe and bakery (El Prado, NM)

Farmhouse Cafe and Bakery

* 1405 Paseo Del Pueblo Norte, El Prado, NM 87529 * (575) 758-5683 *
(Located outside of Taos, New Mexico)

This cafe was a delightful gem as we pulled to the plaza in which its buried behind a few stores in as a “last chance” food stop heading from Taos towards the Rio Grande Gorge and Bridge. A snowy cold afternoon, we were surprised to find a gluten-free, free-range, organic bakery / cafe / restaurant with offerings to our required palate. I was a bit hesitant at first as the meal took a bit longer than I’m used to waiting for, but I was very pleased with the masterpiece we received. The food was delicious, wholeheartedly healthy, and satisfying. In addition we were blessed with the ability to meet the owner, and she graced us with a gift of some home-made flan since we had been waiting a bit. Definitely a location we’ll be dropping by in our future visits to Taos area. With offerings for vegans, vegetarians, free-rangarians, and the gluten-free crowd, you can’t go wrong with this farm-to-table venue. They also offer free wifi, outdoor dining, private party space, and a great cafe to read, relax, and socialize in. We were on-the-go, so were taking out so next time will definitely stay awhile.

According to taos news in their article about this new cafe to Taos, Micah Roseberry, the owner opened on August 21st of 2013 as she had been farming in Northern New Mexico for over 25 years and wanted to bring the farm directly to the table, and therefore Farmhouse cafe was born. All of the produce comes right from the farm outside of the restaurant or from her farm up in Cerro, as are the flowers, and those that do not come from her farm are delivered via organic free-range farms from the local community. She’s into community and building a local food system as her non-GMO organic market. They serve breakfast and lunch as well as a farmer’s market where locals can sell their produce every wednesday from 3-6 pm.

Our first visit awards this great cafe a 4 1/2 stars out of 5. 11/22/2013.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share

Kas Bah, Dusseldorf, Germany


Kas Bah


Kas Bah * Rheinort 2 * 40213 Dsseldorf, DE * Telefon: 0211 / 8693888 * .ffnungszeiten: Mo – Do, 12:00 – 01:00 Uhr; Fr – Sa, 12:00 – open end; So, 12:00 – 01:00 Uhr; .Happy Hour: Mo – So: 17:00 – 20:00 Uhr *

http://www.bartime.de/location.kasbah.9.456.html

A great little Morroccon cafe in the heart of old town Dusseldorf. My visit to this decent-sized place was with some local friends I was visited as we were looking for a quiet place to chat and catch up before making a night out on the town. Some of the cities finest cocktails, desserts, and bar-time snacks can be found here. An incredible ambience, hospitable staff, and a great place to hang out while visiting this famous city. A must visit location. While I can’t comment on the food as the only item I personally ordered was the hot chocolate with a shot a bailey’s Irish cream, I’ve been told the menu items here are fabulous. Rating: 4 stars out of 5.

Photos are copyrighted and cannot be reproduced without permission of authors Tom Baurley or Leaf McGowan. Photos can be purchased via Technogypsie.com at Technogypsie Photography Services for nominal use fees. Restaurants, Businesses, Bands, Performances, Venues, and Reviews can request a re-review if they do not like the current review or would like to have a another review done. If you are a business, performer, musician, band, venue, or entity that would like to be reviewed, you can also request one (however, travel costs, cost of service (i.e. meal or event ticket) and lodging may be required if area is out of reviewer’s base location at time of request).

These reviews are done by the writer at no payment unless it is a requested review and the costs for travel, service, and lodging was covered – in which case, expenditure reimbursement will not affect review rating or content. If you enjoy this review and want to see more, why not buy our reviewer a drink to motivate them to write more? or help cover the costs they went through to do this review?






Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share

Starbucks

Starbucks
Article and research by Thomas Baurley, Technogypsie Research, August 7, 2017 (Originally written in 2012 original lost from hackers)

Starbucks … my biggest addiction and life saving business that I stand by strong and dedicated. I apologize for the loss of the original article as it was destroyed from a hacking attack. So let’s begin with my telling of the small coffee roaster shop turned international empire. Starbucks has grown from the small love-able shop and blossomed into a world-wide phenomena with lots of love or despise depending on who you talk to. Today it operates over 24,000 locations worldwide (2017).

As a world traveller, Starbucks has been my saving grace – free high speed WiFi enabling me to stay in touch with family/friends, get business done, find lodging, get my bearings, and internationally have a place to rest and recover with a slice of home … and not have to pay a table fee, pay for the rest rooms, or get pressure to move on. Starbucks has become my second office place and when travelling, my main office. Not being a coffee drinker, it is the source of my biggest addiction – The Chai Creme Frappacino. Truth be told, I LOVE the fact that Starbucks is everywhere, she has been my hero. Growth changes many companies, but regardless of the current controversy, she has always taken the right course in my mind’s eye.

Many consider Starbucks a threat to the small mom-and-pop, setting course for the soothsayers who don’t realize Starbucks was originally one. Understandably Starbucks makes it harder for the small mom and pops to survive, but that’s not their fault nor their business model. They are riding their wave of success. They are seen worldwide as the main icon of “second wave coffee” by having their own quality, brand, taste, and experience. All of which (minus the coffee product) I can vouge is amazing and unique. The third wave coffee market competes with Starbucks and surpasses it with their own unique clientele, those seeking hand-made coffee, lighter roasts, and a more independent move. That’s great and fabulous leading to the success of the third wave coffee businesses. But Starbucks has a unique place and need regardless of how large it has become. It will be more efficient, safe, and contributing for the world.

Starbucks has expanded from being simply a coffee bean roaster to a world-wide coffee shop, restaurant, and WiFi hotspot. It is a place for all to find rest and relaxation. They serve a wide variety of products from tea & coffee to smoothies and alcohol. All locations serve hot and cold drinks ranging from whole-bean coffee, microground instant coffee (VIA), espesso, caffe latte, loose or liquid teas ranging from peppermint to chai, Evolution fresh juices, Frappuccino (smoothie-like) drinks, hot chocolate, beer, and wine. They offer La Boulange pastries, snacks, chips, crackers, pre-packaged food, hot/cold sandwiches, appetizers, and ice cream. They also offer various products – pre-packaged coffee, tumblers, coffee cups, music, and other novelties.

The very first Starbucks was founded on March 31, 1971 in Seattle, Washington by three students from the University of San Francisco – English teacher Jerry Baldwin, history teacher Zev Siegl, and writer Gordon Bowker. They were first inspired to sell high-quality coffee and roasting equipment. The ideas and methodologies were taught to them by Alfred Peet, a coffee-roasting entrepreneur. They named the company of the chief mate in the book “Moby Dick” – “Starbuck”. Its first location was at 2000 Western Avenue, Seattle, Washington from 1971-1976. It’s second location was at 1912 Pike Place, Seattle, Washington which stands today. They originally only sold roasted whole coffee beans at the first location and got their green coffee beans from Peet’s. Eventually they went to growers directly for their beans. In 1984 they purchased Peet’s. By 1986 they had 6 stores in Seattle and began selling espresso coffee made for customers. By 1987 the original owners sold the chain to Howard Schultz who rebranded his Il Giornale coffee outlets as “Starbucks”, expanding quickly through the U.S. By 1989 he had 46 stores in the Northwest and Midwest. Starbucks spreaded quickly in the 1990’s, and had its first international location opened in Tokyo by 1996. June 1992 Starbucks made its initial public offering on the stock market with 140 outlets and a annual revenue of over 73 million. By 2003 Starbucks purchased Seattle’s Best Coffee and Torrefazione Italia. By 2006 it purchased Diedrich Coffee and Coffee People. They purchased Teavana for 620 million in 2012. By 2014 they expanded in having 30 of their stores to serve beer and wine.

By 2014 Starbucks created its own line of hand-crafted sodas they call “Fizzio”. By 2015 They offered coconut milk as an alternative to soy or dairy.

Drinks:

Locations:

Continue reading Starbucks

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share

Hasmis Kebabs and Turkish Kitchen (Canberra, Australia)

Hasmis Kebabs Turkish Kitchen
* 11-13 East Row * Canberra, Australia Capital Territory, Australia * 2601 * 02 6249 7783 *

We popped into this hole-in-the-wall quick Turkish cuisine spot near the Phoenix for some lunch fare. While the service was average, the food wasn’t anything to write home about. All three of us felt the fare was unsatisfactory. The restaurant and take-away offers pizza, turkish cuisine, and indian fare. They are open late at night, often serving the bar crowds. They have outdoor dining and free wi-fi. Family owned, Ridvan Sadil and his family took over the business early in 2010. Not so hot. Rating: 2 stars out of 5. Visited 4/24/11 – review by Leaf McGowan.

Continue reading Hasmis Kebabs and Turkish Kitchen (Canberra, Australia)

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share

Bytes Cafe (Canberra, ACT, Australia)

Bytes Cafe
*
Canberra YHA * 7 Akuna Street * Canberra, Australia Capital Territory, Australia * http://www.yha.com.au/hostels/nsw/canberra/canberra-city/ * (+612) 6248 9155 * Facebook Page *

If you’re looking for a deep in the heart of Canberra breakfast spot that is a little hidden gem, try to Canberra YHA’s “Bytes Cafe” for a economically affordable and delicious meal. They serve other meals besides breakfast, but must declare that would be where they are above normal in quality and taste. Atypical service that you can expect from a YHA restaurant, with a semi selve serve manner, the staff is ultra friendly and the cooking is delicious. This little hotspot was one of my favorite Australian breakfast locales. Hours of operation is different than most “restaurants” as their service is more oriented towards their hostel guests, but it has an entrance from the street and welcomes in the public. I can’t recommend more the berry pancakes. Extraodinary! The joint is also a great cyber cafe with internet terminals, computers, and wifi service at your service! Rating 5 stars out of 5. Visited 04/24/2011. Reviewed 11/14/2011 by Thomas Baurley, Technogypsie.com.

Continue reading Bytes Cafe (Canberra, ACT, Australia)

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share

Down to Earth Cafe (Melbourne)


Down to Earth Cafe
* 308 Queens Parade, Fitzroy North * Melbourne, Victoria, Australia * 3068 * http://www.facebook.com/pages/Down-to-Earth-Coffee-and-Tea-House/ *

A pleasant little outdoor/indoor cafe in a Melbourne neighbourhood serving snacks, desserts, and light meals with tea and coffee. Pleasant service and nice surroundings, this cafe aims to please. They also whip up a great chai latte. Rating: 4 stars out of 5. Review by Leaf McGowan.

Continue reading Down to Earth Cafe (Melbourne)

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share

Pie Face

Pie Face *
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia * www.pieface.com.au *

A great little hole-in-the-wall chain counter/restaurant with fast service dishing out pies for Australians since 2003. First founded in Sydney, “Pie face” greets its hungry customers with a happy face on the pie crust face filled like a pot pie with yummy delicious veggies and/or meats. It was founded by Betty Fong and Wayne Homschek. Originally fashion designers, they first served pies to their audience to get everyone in the mood for their fashion show, and got such great applause for their pies, decided to open a business. The pies are custom made for their customers, and all hand made and baked. Delicious! I’ve enjoyed these fabulous little fast tasty pies in Melbourne, Brisbane, and obviously is also available in Sydney. Rating : 4.5 stars out of 5. Review by Leaf McGowan.

Continue reading Pie Face

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share

Streat Coffee Stand

Streat Coffee Stand

Streat Coffee Stand * Melbourne City Center/Central Station
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia * http://streat.com.au/ *

An innovative design and a wonderful organization to spend your coffee money on. STREAT = “Street Youth” + “Street Food” + “Street Culture”. It is a coffee shop/cafe/cart found throughout Melbourne Australia that takes portions of its sales to help tackle youth homelessness and disadvantage. They not only campaign for the cause, but put sales to the financial needs, and employment for the young people affected by such hardships. They tackle the issues with social support by means of industry training and employment opportunities in their street cafes, offering delicious and cost-effective meals centered around street culture. They believe in lifelong learning, tackling problems with imagination and passion, having healthy meals and drinks, birthing new ideas, connecting individuals and communities together, while striving for sustainability in all of their activities. And …. they serve a mean cup o’ joe or chai. Rating : 4 stars out of 5. Review by Tom Baurley.

Continue reading Streat Coffee Stand

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share

Australian Electrical Current


Australian Electric Current

Just as with any other region of the world, the electrical current differs from continent to continent. Oceania is no different within the country of Australia. This current runs on 220-240 Watts. As with any other current, the Australian Current is accessed by devices plugging into AC power plugs and sockets. Most of these have an on/off switch on the socket for safety, sustainability, and energy management. The socket is connected to by an electric plug which have a “male” type of connector that connect into a “female” type of connection called the socket. This socket, with two slots and a hole match a three prong plug. These are called the “Australasian switched 3-pin dual power point” or the AS 3112 or standard C112. This is commonly found and utilized in Australian, New Zealand, Fiji, Argentian, Papua New Guinea, and the Solomon Islands. It has a grounding pin with two flat current-carrying pins forming an upside down “V” shape. While different, they are style after the British current and plug. World travellers will needa plug converter based from their country’s wattage and current system. Be careful with the wattage and amps for your specific device. Especially coming from the United States or Canada where the voltage is much much lower.


Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share

Agia Sophia (Colorado Springs, Colorado)



Mediterranean Platter & Chai

Agia Sophia
* http://www.agiasophiacoffeeshop.com/ * 2902 W Colorado Avenue *
Colorado Springs, CO 80904 * (719) 632-3322 *

A great little coffee shop and reading library right off of Colorado Avenue in historical Old Colorado City of Colorado Springs, Colorado. Old world charm with a great cup of Joe and spiritual benedictine monks chanting in the background. It is truly a place to the heart of what coffee shops began .. a place to discuss business, religion, politics, and philosophy. They take that trait to heart and not only serve great caffeinated beverages, but pastries, desserts, and cafe-style lunch dishes. Rating: 5 stars out of 5.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share

Pumpkin Cafe


Pumpkin Cafe

England / United Kingdom * http://www.pumpkincafeshop.co.uk/ *

One of Britain’s railway cafe’s that has become quite infamous, the Pumpkin Cafe’s serve most of traveller’s snack and quick meal needs before and after their travel. Notorious for their pastries, chocolates, coffees, and teas that you can come to find at every Pumpkin Cafe – the prices are reasonable and service excellent. It is also a great place to get magazines to read for your journey as well as tables/chairs to sit down while awaiting your trip. For the laptop user, plugs are sometimes available though sparse. Rating: 3 stars out of 5.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share

Coffee Beans Clean Jeans (Pueblo, CO)


Coffee Beans Clean Jeans
* 23 West Northern Avenue * Pueblo, CO 81004-3109 * (719) 545-1034 *

A little coffee shop meets laundromat where you can eat, drink, and enjoy free wifi while awaiting your clothes to wash and dry. With an electronic guage above the door – you can see when your laundry is done without stepping away from your coffee to check. Friendly staff and clean establishment. The coffee and drinks seem to be all pre-made, but the pad is definitely a class above most laundromats. Ratin: 2.5 stars out of 5.


Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share

Breakfast King (Denver, CO)

Breakfast King
* 1100 S. Santa Fe Dr./300 W. Mississippi Ave * Denver, Colorado 80223 * (303) 733-0795 * 24 Hours *

The Breakfast King looks like a typical old-fashioned chain diner, but its a unique infamous greasy spoon of Denver sub-culture. All American roadside diner, with classic 70’s style decor, bright orange booths, and a large menu of selections. The Westword calls it a “culinary time capsule” that still serves Coney Island hot dogs, chiliettes, and other classic foods. I second their observations. Located right next to I-25 its definitely a great stop off for weary travellers and a great place for breakfast after a night of clubbing. The service is fast, friendly, and the classical diner atmosphere you’d expect from the diner age. I had the Pancake sandwich with scrambled eggs inside … delicious. Visited 1/17/2010. Rating: 4 stars out of 5.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share

King Chef’s Diner (Colorado Springs, Colorado)

King Chef’s Diner
* 131 E. Bijou St., Colorado Springs, Colorado * 719.636.5010 * http://www.kingschefdiner.com/
My first experience at the King Chef’s was pretty good and tasty. While I only got the “enormous” pancake scramble sandwich, I found the place to be reasonably priced, with large portions, friendly staff, and good service. Its nice to have a diner right in the heart of Colorado Springs. I’m guessing its a new addition to the downtown scene, a bar/club stumble from the Springs’ main clubs, and having late night hours. They were brilliant in choosing this location. They are known for their green chili dishes. Apparently there is a smaller diner outlet (13 seat original purple castle) on Costilla in downtown that is also a popular place (but with little seating) that I’ve somehow missed over the last four years partying downtown. This larger Bijou Street location has plenty of seating any day of the week and are now open late on fridays and saturday nights. Apparently they are known for their burgers, burritos, melts, and chili dishes. Rating: 4 stars out of 5.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share