Category Archives: tavern

Thirsty Lion (Denver, Co)

Denver SantaCon 2016 ( http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=29647); Thirsty Lion

Thirsty Lion
~ Denver, Colorado ~

Write up coming soon ….

Denver SantaCon 2016 ( http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=29647); Thirsty Lion ( http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=29655) – New Life in Colorado: Chronicle 26 – Chronicles of Sir Thomas Leaf and Prince Cian. Adventures in Colorado. Photos taken December 23, 2016. To read the adventures, visit http://www.technogypsie.com/chronicles/?p=21965. To read reviews, visit: www.technogypsie.com/reviews. All photos and articles (c) 2015/2016 Technogypsie.com – by Leaf McGowan and Thomas Baurley. All rights reserved. www.technogypsie.com/photography

Denver SantaCon 2016 ( http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=29647); Thirsty Lion ( http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=29655) – New Life in Colorado: Chronicle 26 – Chronicles of Sir Thomas Leaf and Prince Cian. Adventures in Colorado. Photos taken December 23, 2016. To read the adventures, visit http://www.technogypsie.com/chronicles/?p=21965. To read reviews, visit: www.technogypsie.com/reviews. All photos and articles (c) 2015/2016 Technogypsie.com – by Leaf McGowan and Thomas Baurley. All rights reserved. www.technogypsie.com/photography

Denver SantaCon 2016 ( http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=29647); Thirsty Lion ( http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=29655) – New Life in Colorado: Chronicle 26 – Chronicles of Sir Thomas Leaf and Prince Cian. Adventures in Colorado. Photos taken December 23, 2016. To read the adventures, visit http://www.technogypsie.com/chronicles/?p=21965. To read reviews, visit: www.technogypsie.com/reviews. All photos and articles (c) 2015/2016 Technogypsie.com – by Leaf McGowan and Thomas Baurley. All rights reserved. www.technogypsie.com/photography

Print Friendly
Share

Black Shirt Brewery (Denver, Co)

Denver SantaCon 2016 ( http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=29647); Black Shirt Brewery

Black Shirt Brewery
~ Denver, Colorado ~

Write up coming soon ….

Denver SantaCon 2016 ( http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=29647); Black Shirt Brewery ( http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=29657) – New Life in Colorado: Chronicle 26 – Chronicles of Sir Thomas Leaf and Prince Cian. Adventures in Colorado. Photos taken December 23, 2016. To read the adventures, visit http://www.technogypsie.com/chronicles/?p=21965. To read reviews, visit: www.technogypsie.com/reviews. All photos and articles (c) 2015/2016 Technogypsie.com – by Leaf McGowan and Thomas Baurley. All rights reserved. www.technogypsie.com/photography

Denver SantaCon 2016 ( http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=29647); Black Shirt Brewery ( http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=29657) – New Life in Colorado: Chronicle 26 – Chronicles of Sir Thomas Leaf and Prince Cian. Adventures in Colorado. Photos taken December 23, 2016. To read the adventures, visit http://www.technogypsie.com/chronicles/?p=21965. To read reviews, visit: www.technogypsie.com/reviews. All photos and articles (c) 2015/2016 Technogypsie.com – by Leaf McGowan and Thomas Baurley. All rights reserved. www.technogypsie.com/photography

Denver SantaCon 2016 ( http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=29647); Black Shirt Brewery ( http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=29657) – New Life in Colorado: Chronicle 26 – Chronicles of Sir Thomas Leaf and Prince Cian. Adventures in Colorado. Photos taken December 23, 2016. To read the adventures, visit http://www.technogypsie.com/chronicles/?p=21965. To read reviews, visit: www.technogypsie.com/reviews. All photos and articles (c) 2015/2016 Technogypsie.com – by Leaf McGowan and Thomas Baurley. All rights reserved. www.technogypsie.com/photography

Denver SantaCon 2016 ( http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=29647); Black Shirt Brewery ( http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=29657) – New Life in Colorado: Chronicle 26 – Chronicles of Sir Thomas Leaf and Prince Cian. Adventures in Colorado. Photos taken December 23, 2016. To read the adventures, visit http://www.technogypsie.com/chronicles/?p=21965. To read reviews, visit: www.technogypsie.com/reviews. All photos and articles (c) 2015/2016 Technogypsie.com – by Leaf McGowan and Thomas Baurley. All rights reserved. www.technogypsie.com/photography

Print Friendly
Share

The haunted White Eagle Tavern (Portland, OR)

White Eagle Hotel and Pub:  http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=25907. Life in the Gorge: Chronicle 22 - Chronicles of Sir Thomas Leaf, Lady Etain, and Prince Cian.  The Gorge/Columbia River, Oregon-Washington. Photos taken March 27, 2016.  To read the adventures, visit http://www.technogypsie.com/chronicles/?p=17903.  Hood River: http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=23683; The Dalles:  http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=24107; White Salmon:  http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=23677; Husum: http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=25039; Portland:  http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=281.  To read reviews, visit: www.technogypsie.com/reviews.  All photos and articles (c) 2015/2016 Technogypsie.com - by Leaf McGowan, Eadaoin Bineid and Thomas Baurley. All rights reserved.
White Eagle Hotel and Pub: http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=25907. Life in the Gorge: Chronicle 22 – Chronicles of Sir Thomas Leaf, Lady Etain, and Prince Cian. The Gorge/Columbia River, Oregon-Washington. Photos taken March 27, 2016. To read the adventures, visit http://www.technogypsie.com/chronicles/?p=17903. Hood River: http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=23683; The Dalles: http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=24107; White Salmon: http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=23677; Husum: http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=25039; Portland: http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=281. To read reviews, visit: www.technogypsie.com/reviews. All photos and articles (c) 2015/2016 Technogypsie.com – by Leaf McGowan, Eadaoin Bineid and Thomas Baurley. All rights reserved.

White Eagle Hotel and Pub
~ 836 N Russell St, Portland, OR 97227
Phone: (503) 282-6810 ~

Another McMannamin’s favorite tourist destinations, the White Eagle is more of a hostel than it is a hotel. It is located in one of the micro-brewery destination neighborhoods of Portland, Eliot in North Portland with a style of a hotel in glamour of rock n’ roll themed lodging and saloon. The building dates back to 1905. The basic rooms are located above the pub and individually furnished, has free wi-fi, and wash basins. Some rooms have bun beds. There is no air conditioning and the bathrooms are shared between rooms. The bar has a artsy feel, with rock-n-roll and odd sideshow decor, with a beer garden and nightly live music. The establishment lacks in parking, although it has a very small lot. While we have yet had a chance to lodge in this hotel, we did eat and drink at the pub in the beer garden. Service was friendly, albeit moderate in speed. It was overall a good experience. Rating: 3 stars out of 5

The Tavern:

Folklore: – the Tavern is purported to be haunted. According to Ghosts and Critters this is a favorite haunted night spot. There are tales from Jeff, the assistant manager and other employees that various strange events happen on occasion, especially after hours. There was a time when the bar was empty and employees smelled smoke inside. They investigated and never found evidence of fire, and on occasion in addition to this smell, they would be overcome with the odor of cheap perfume. Once Jeff while working in the kitchen had witnessed a menu board fly across the doorway to the basement and strike flat against the left-hand wall with a loud clap. He couldn’t figure out how that happened. Especially on its own, with no employees nearby except for one standing behind him and witnessing the event.

White Eagle Hotel and Pub:  http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=25907. Life in the Gorge: Chronicle 22 - Chronicles of Sir Thomas Leaf, Lady Etain, and Prince Cian.  The Gorge/Columbia River, Oregon-Washington. Photos taken March 27, 2016.  To read the adventures, visit http://www.technogypsie.com/chronicles/?p=17903.  Hood River: http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=23683; The Dalles:  http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=24107; White Salmon:  http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=23677; Husum: http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=25039; Portland:  http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=281.  To read reviews, visit: www.technogypsie.com/reviews.  All photos and articles (c) 2015/2016 Technogypsie.com - by Leaf McGowan, Eadaoin Bineid and Thomas Baurley. All rights reserved.
White Eagle Hotel and Pub: http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=25907. Life in the Gorge: Chronicle 22 – Chronicles of Sir Thomas Leaf, Lady Etain, and Prince Cian. The Gorge/Columbia River, Oregon-Washington. Photos taken March 27, 2016. To read the adventures, visit http://www.technogypsie.com/chronicles/?p=17903. Hood River: http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=23683; The Dalles: http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=24107; White Salmon: http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=23677; Husum: http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=25039; Portland: http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=281. To read reviews, visit: www.technogypsie.com/reviews. All photos and articles (c) 2015/2016 Technogypsie.com – by Leaf McGowan, Eadaoin Bineid and Thomas Baurley. All rights reserved.

Print Friendly
Share

White Eagle Hotel and Pub, Portland, Oregon

White Eagle Hotel and Pub:  http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=25907. Life in the Gorge: Chronicle 22 - Chronicles of Sir Thomas Leaf, Lady Etain, and Prince Cian.  The Gorge/Columbia River, Oregon-Washington. Photos taken March 27, 2016.   To read reviews, visit: www.technogypsie.com/reviews.  All photos and articles (c) 2015/2016 Technogypsie.com - by Leaf McGowan,  and Thomas Baurley. All rights reserved.
White Eagle Hotel and Pub: http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=25907.

White Eagle Hotel and Pub
~ 836 N Russell St, Portland, OR 97227
Phone: (503) 282-6810 ~

Another McMannamin’s favorite tourist destinations, the White Eagle is more of a hostel than it is a hotel. It is located in one of the micro-brewery destination neighborhoods of Portland, Eliot in North Portland with a style of a hotel in glamour of rock n’ roll themed lodging and saloon. The building dates back to 1905. The basic rooms are located above the pub and individually furnished, has free wi-fi, and wash basins. Some rooms have bun beds. There is no air conditioning and the bathrooms are shared between rooms. The bar has a artsy feel, with rock-n-roll and odd sideshow decor, with a beer garden and nightly live music. The establishment lacks in parking, although it has a very small lot. While we have yet had a chance to lodge in this hotel, we did eat and drink at the pub in the beer garden. Service was friendly, albeit moderate in speed. It was overall a good experience. Rating: 3 stars out of 5

White Eagle Hotel and Pub:  http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=25907. Life in the Gorge: Chronicle 22 - Chronicles of Sir Thomas Leaf, Lady Etain, and Prince Cian.  The Gorge/Columbia River, Oregon-Washington. Photos taken March 27, 2016.  To read the adventures, visit http://www.technogypsie.com/chronicles/?p=17903.  Hood River: http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=23683; The Dalles:  http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=24107; White Salmon:  http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=23677; Husum: http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=25039; Portland:  http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=281.  To read reviews, visit: www.technogypsie.com/reviews.  All photos and articles (c) 2015/2016 Technogypsie.com - by Leaf McGowan, Eadaoin Bineid and Thomas Baurley. All rights reserved.
White Eagle Hotel and Pub: http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=25907. Life in the Gorge: Chronicle 22 – Chronicles of Sir Thomas Leaf, Lady Etain, and Prince Cian. The Gorge/Columbia River, Oregon-Washington. Photos taken March 27, 2016. To read the adventures, visit http://www.technogypsie.com/chronicles/?p=17903. Hood River: http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=23683; The Dalles: http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=24107; White Salmon: http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=23677; Husum: http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=25039; Portland: http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=281. To read reviews, visit: www.technogypsie.com/reviews. All photos and articles (c) 2015/2016 Technogypsie.com – by Leaf McGowan, Eadaoin Bineid and Thomas Baurley. All rights reserved.

Continue reading White Eagle Hotel and Pub, Portland, Oregon

Print Friendly
Share

1780 Bar and Restaurant, Edinburgh, Scotland


1780 Bar and Restaurant
1780 Bar and Restaurant

1780 Bar and Restaurant
* 167 Rose Street, Edinburgh EH2 4LS, Scotland * 0131 255 1446 *

The five of us – one American, four Germans … on day 1 of exploring Scotland together were already at a quick start to disagree where to eat. Thai, Japanese, Irish, Mongolian, Indian … many choices, but no mutual agreement. So as we were wandering down Rose street at a time while most restaurants were already closed for lunch, we settled in on the 1780 Bar and Restaurant. Much to the advice of a patron at the restaurant across the street that closed the kitchen and went to only serving brews … recommended it for good eats. It was an interesting experience. I dined on the fish n’ chips with mushy peas … and thought it was mediocre. Bulmers cider was served up to us nice and cold, beers and ales for the others seemed to satisfy. Me, a silly American, expecting the Scottish to be as crazy about Pimms as the English, since it was my first trip to Scotland coming directly from England, I got a glare from one of the bartenders off-duty as I was ordering it with him mumbling “you couldn’t pay me to go through making that” but was countered by a lovely lady who knew how to make them, and damn good one at that. I quickly learned through that experience here, it wasn’t a Scottish choice. We sat out on the patio, and service was slow. Not sure I’d eat here again. I might pop in to taunt ordering a Pimms … Rating: 2 stars out of 5. Visited 8/2/2011

1780 Bar and Restaurant
1780 Bar and Restaurant

Print Friendly
Share

Rose Pub (Savannah, Georgia)

040613-013

Rose Pub
* R.O.S.E Public House * 125 E. Broughton Street, Savannah, Georgia 31401 * +(1)(912) 200-4258 *

Stumbling around Savannah with our newborn baby and family from Ireland, we sought out a restaurant to satiate our palate. Looming before us, like an old theater converted to a gastro-pub, was the Rose Pub. a nice older style pub and restaurant with friendly staff, good food, and fabulous hospitality. The beer battered fish and chips were very good. We enjoyed our server, who was originally from London, and had a good time catching up with our out of country family. Good times! Rated: 4.5 stars out of 5.

040613-007

Continue reading Rose Pub (Savannah, Georgia)

Print Friendly
Share

The Phoenix, Canberra

The Phoenix
* 21 East Row * Canberra, Australia Capital Territory, Australia * 2601 * (02) 6247 1606 * http://www.lovethephoenix.com/ *

Although this amazing Irish Pub is one of the few bars/pubs I visited while in Canberra, it is by far my favorite. Introduced to me by Sir Bluey, the place was like home to me when I wandered Canberra on my own, and while hanging with Bluey in downtown Canberra. The Phoenix has been serving Canberra for over 16 years and undoubtedly has the best pints in town, a great festive atmosphere, and a unique decorated environment. It has a very home-like hang-out feel and charm, with real character and art within its dark interior and welcoming couches, chairs, sofas, and tables to relax at. Unlike many Irish pubs, the Phoenix doesn’t buy into the plastic leprechauns and tacky green icons that so many do, it has its own style and decor with odd antiques, mysterious art, and historic wooden furniture. They have a wide selection of beers and ciders, from foreign to local brews, including Kilkenny, Guinness, Magners, and Murphys as well as a stocked bar. They also host quite a few bands and local entertainment. They have stand-up nights called “Bootleg Night” and on various sundays, have a arts and crafts market. What a wonderful pub! Rating: 5 stars out of 5. Visited 4/21/11, 4/22/11, 4/23/11.

Continue reading The Phoenix, Canberra

Print Friendly
Share

The Local

The Local
* http://thelocal.com.au/MEL/ * The Local Taphouse * 184 Carlisle Street, St Kilda * Melbourne, Victoria, Australia * Tel. 9537 2633 *

Nestled in the heart of St. Kilda lies a friendly pub with dark wooden floors and walls, dark green lamps, couches, tables, and a sociable cosy relaxed atmosphere. It is here that the beer and ale seeker can find local brews, an enormous selection of beers on tap, and an assortment to die for. Upstairs is a courtyard with wooden decks and tables, a fire pit, and large umbrellas over the tables. Perfect for any weather, rain / shine / cold / or hot. Bar upstairs and downstairs, not only does the ambiance of a hidden away local joint shout out at its patrons, and a good spot for drinks, but the food is pretty fabulous as well. Popular for their beer sample paddles, this pub can quench any thirst. Rating: 4 stars out of 5.

Continue reading The Local

Print Friendly
Share

The Pale Pub


The Pale
* 13 High Street * Dublin 2 * Dublin, Ireland * (01) 6773207 * www.thepalepub.com *

A pit stop ino this two-story pub in the heart if the Medieval district for some traditional Irish pub fare. The staff is very friendly, the pub spacious, and for an afternoon/early evening not too crowded on a weekday. The main bartender was quite witty. Some say he’s kissed the Blarney Stone. I sat atop upstairs. Upstairs its decorated like a sportsbar which is not so much of my preference but that was fine. Food was good and service great. Rating: 3.5 stars out of 5.

Print Friendly
Share

The Ginger Man

The Ginger Man
* 40 Fenian St * Dublin 2, Co. Dublin, Ireland * 01 6766388 *

A great little pub on Fenian Street behind the Davenport Hotel. Traditional Irish Pub on the interior with a nice front patio seating section. I stumbled in for a brief lunch and a pint of cider finding hospitality and relaxation. It was bustling with locals, students, and professionals so wound up sharing a table with a couple locals. Service was decent speed and friendly while I was there, but I heard that once packed it can get slow. I sat out in the front outdoor patio as it was a nice day. The Shepherd’s Pie I ordered was quite tasty. Rating: 4 stars out of 5.

Print Friendly
Share

Dublin City Pub Crawl

Dublin City Pub Crawl
* Meet at At The Porterhouse Central, 45-47 Nassau Street, at the end of Grafton Street near Trinity College
* 47 Nassau St * Dublin 2, Co. Dublin, Ireland * 086 864 3270 * http://www.facebook.com/thedublincitypubcrawl/ * http://www.thedublincitypubcrawl.com/ *

The first time I ever did a (paid)(business) pub crawl in Europe, it was in Amsterdam and I was very impressed. I’ve done numerous “party” pub crawls, usually with a theme – pirates, santas, zombies, or what-not with a community of friends but seldom do I do one to get to know a city as I’m usually the explore on my own type. Having had such a great experience with the Amsterdam one, I figured Dublin would be pretty fabulous. A couple of issues here however for me – I’m not a beer drinker (only wine and mixed drinks), I’m not much into pubs and bars (more nightclubs where dancing is available), and I definitely don’t really care for mainstream establishments. So any paid “Pub Crawl” has alot to compete with to charm me. However, for those that do love pubs, these are usually the beast that you want to ride when travelling to a new city and wanting to get to know what the nightlife is and make friends with fellow travellers. The other conditions for the night that affected my experience as well is – I attended on a week night (Thursday night) (and no matter where in the world you are venturing, weeknights are more dead than weekend nights) and I attempted to go on the Backpacker’s Pub Crawl prior to showing up at this one which left me and 3 others hanging with no one showing up to tell us it was cancelled. The 4 of us from the Backpacker Pub Tour no show wandered over to the Porterhouse to see if we could still get into the Dublin City Pub Crawl. A charming young woman was our guide and host. So even though there were only 4 of us (5 including the guide) we were going to make the best of it. She was an excellent host and guide. She knew her establishments and her drinks. So first off, lets rate the Guide as a top 5 out of 5 Guides. However the tour dynamics itself were poor. There was a free drink at the Porterhouse, and free cover at one of the clubs, but overall not much given out (unlike Amsterdam’s crawl – which is not fair to compare to so I won’t let it affect my rating). It was poorly attended and not many friends to be made (again, A Thursday). For €15 its a good deal and way to get to know nightlife Dublin. Discounts exist in ad racks at the hostels. They take you to four pubs and then a late bar/ dance club at the end of the journey. 15% off all food at the Porterhouse Central (be there by 8 to order), free appetizers in the 2nd pub, free Irish beer sampling, and discounted drinks at some establishments ( €4 pints; €5 cocktails; and a (to pay) option for pouring your own pint of Guinness off tap). Some of the establishments have live traditional Irish music, free VIP entry into Dandelion Night Club which was a fun little mainstream club. Tour Guide: Rated 5 stars out of 5. Tour: 3.5 stars out of 5.

Continue reading Dublin City Pub Crawl

Print Friendly
Share

Brazenhead Pub Dublin


The Brazen Head, Dublin, Ireland

The Brazenhead
* 20 Lower Bridge Street * Dublin 8 * Telephone: +353 (0) 1 6779549 / 6795186 * www.brazenhead.com *
The pub professes to be the oldest Pub in Dublin. The site of the pub dates to 1198 as some sort of public house. The building itself is from 1688 and may have been preceded by numerous taverns, one after another, as it is a good location for them. There are alot of old history surrounding the building from the piece of graffiti where John Langan etched his name and date. Michael Collins and Wolfe Tone met here. This is considered to be one of Ireland’s traditional Irish pubs. A hangout of tourists as well as locals, and legal professionals, he pub has live folk music sessions there almost nightly. It is believed to be a haunted pub wih apparitions wandering about. One of which is believed to be Robert Emmet. James Joyce, Brendan Behan, Jonathan Swift, Robert Emmet, Wolfe Tone, Daniel O’Connell, Van Morrison, Hothouse Flowers, Mary Black, Garth Brooks, and Michael Collins have hung out here.

Continue reading Brazenhead Pub Dublin

Print Friendly
Share

Farrington’s Pub of Temple Bar (Dublin)

Farrington’s Pub of Temple Bar
* 28 Essex St E * Dublin 2, Co. Dublin, Ireland * 01 671 5135 * http://www.thesmithgroup.ie/farringtons/index.html *

A late night meal with some friends after a crazy road trip around Ireland found fellowship, cheers, and relaxation at the Farrington’s Pub in Temple Bar. Even though we arrived late to the upper restaurant/bar and was just about the cease food serving, they found patience to take care of us as most of our party settled in on the Traditional Irish breakfast for dinner. A very pleasant pub mixing style of a Victorian bar with elements over 120 years old downstairs and a modern comfortable lounge on the 2nd floor, this unique pub is located in the heart of Dublin’s Temple Bar district and is named after the character “Farrington” in Jame Joyce’s “The Dubliners”. The pub is open mondays through thursdays from 10:30 to 23:30, and fridays and saturdays from 10:30 until 2:30, and sundays from 12:30 until 23:00. In addition to pub dining, they have luxury accommodation available in 5 ensuite bedrooms upstairs.

Continue reading Farrington’s Pub of Temple Bar (Dublin)

Print Friendly
Share

Hunter’s Bar (Ballyvoy, Northern Ireland)

Hunter’s Bar
106 Cushendall Road * Ballyvoy * County Antrim * BT54 6RA * Tel: 02820 762343
Our road trip along the Causeway brought us to dine at this large pub/restaurant along the Coastal causeway north of Belfast. The service was friendly, though poorly attended as it seemed much was going on elsewhere in the bar. The foot was mediocre … but your typical pub fare. I got the fish n’ chips, and it was average. Good cider. Staff was friendly. Appeared to be a local’s hangout. Rating: 2 stars out of 5.

Continue reading Hunter’s Bar (Ballyvoy, Northern Ireland)

Print Friendly
Share

William IV Pub (Truro, Cornwall, England)

William IV Pub
Kenwyn Street, Truro, Cornwall, England * TR1 3DJ * Telephone: 01872273334 *
During mid-week, William IV Pub is one of the few pubs/restaurants opening and serving food after 6 pm in downtown Truro. Located in the busy city center of Truro, the pub boasts a vibrant atmosphere and a fantastic selection of beer and wines. During my visit on 6/15/10 – it was a bit low key, quiet, and excellent speedy service. Since I don’t drink beer, I can’t comment on the selections as I stuck with my usual vodka and tonic. This tuesday was “Curry night” and had some pretty tasty chicken curry presented. I was pleased. The bar runs from 10 am every morning and closes at 11 pm for Sundays through Wednesdays, and closes at 12 am on Thursdays, and 1 am for fridays and saturdays. Food is served noon until 10 pm every day. The pub has its own onsite car park so parking is usually not a problem. William IV is part the the St. Austell Brewery Company. The pub is pretty elaborate, having Sky TV, pool tables, fruit machines, quiz machines, food served, real ale, outside seating in a patio, etc. Overall though, the pub is not any more distinct or different than dime a dozen pubs. Rating 3 stars out of 5.

Continue reading William IV Pub (Truro, Cornwall, England)

Print Friendly
Share

The Pirate Inn (Penzance, UK)

Pirate Inn
www.thepirateinnpenzance.com * Alverton, Penzance, Cornwall TR18 4PS * United Kingdom *
01736 366 094

More aesthetic on the outside than on the inside, this moderately sized restaurant lured me through its doorway. Not quite the pirate atmosphere as I was expecting … i found a family restaurant with a friendly staff running around with sports/games on the television. Disenchanted that I wasn’t greeted by pirates … I took my seat for some grub – pleased by the food and the service. No credit cards accepted, strictly Great Britain Pounds only. Owned and operated by Jackie and Brendon Hichens, this restaurant is apparently a bit of a landmark for modern Penzance. They also have a large grassed area where families could dine outdoors and kids can play in the playground. The establishment is also dog friendly and also has wheel chair access. Most of the main dishes range from 7-15 GBP. Every second sunday they host a quiz night, thursdays for live music, folk night on tuesdays, and tv for sports. They brandish a pool table. They claim to have the best sunday roast in town and have the choice of 6 ales to choose from. My dish was average – nothing to brag about at home, but the service was grand. Rating: 2.7 stars out of 5.

Continue reading The Pirate Inn (Penzance, UK)

Print Friendly
Share

Huggo’s On the Rocks (Kona, Big Island, Hawaii)


Huggo’s on the Rocks, Kona

Huggo’s On the Rocks
* http://www.huggos.com/ * 75-5828 Kahakai Road Kailua-Kona, HI 96740 * (808) 329-1493 * Fax # (808)329-7204 **
A great casual bar in the heart of Kona on the Big Island of Hawaii. Definitely idolic of the ‘beach’ bar atmosphere and setting – this ocean-front cocktail bar and pub is an off-shoot of the Huggo’s Restaurant next door. My one and only visit found it to be very friendly, hospitable, with great service and good bar staff. The patrons all looked happy and satisfied. The drinks served to us were good – though not as potent as I’m used to. They had a live band this saturday night, even though the town closes early on the entertainment front. But dancing and fun had by all. They don’t really have an official “closing” hour – they are just open from 11:30 am until ‘closing’ – whatever that normally means – was quite early the saturday of August 8th, 2009. Generally they have entertainment nightly from 6:30 pm – 10 pm, and serve cocktails from 11:30 am until midnight. Rating: 4 stars out of 5.

Print Friendly
Share

The Hatchcover (Colorado Springs, Colorado)

The Hatchcover

252 East Cheyenne Mountain Boulevard * Colorado Springs, CO 80906-3720 * (719) 576-5223 * http://www.hatchcover.biz/
A double-story remote restaurant off of Cheyenne Mountain Boulevard – one of the last places you’d expect to find a seafood based restaurant and bar. Its more of a fried grill bar or tavern. Its a pretty well known neighbourhood hangout on the southside of Colorado Springs and is often called “The Hatch” by its patrons. Friendly staff and good service. I’ve been to the ‘hatch’ a few times. Always seems to be a popular spot for co-workers going away parties, birthday parties, and events. This visit I enjoyed the Crab cakes – which were pretty good for a landlocked area and at a decent price. Two Maryland crab medallion cakes werved with a side of chipotle aioli for $7.99. Just drank Grey Goose vodka and club soda so can’t comment on the beers. Rating: 3.5 stars out of 5.

Print Friendly
Share

Cronies, Hilo, Big Island, Hawaii



Cronies

11 Waianuenue Avenue, Hilo, HI 96720 * (808) 935-5158
Definitely a sports bar taking on a average chain appearance. Didn’t try the beers because I don’t drink, but the beer battered fish n’ chips were pretty tasty. The local cocktail “Lava Flow” was also quite tasty. Its definitely a tourist/cruise ship crowd that the bar caters to vs. the local crowd. I hear the food is kinda generic, and well, fish n’ chips is generic. I was definitely in the mood for seafood as I’m from a land-locked state, but there wasn’t much variety here. The waittresses were very nice and service a little slow. Rating: 3 stars out of 5.

Print Friendly
Share

80’s Thursdays at Thunder & Buttons

80’s Thursday at Thunder & Buttons * 2415 W Colorado Ave * Colorado Springs, CO 80904-3021* (719) 447-9888 * www.thunderandbuttons.com *


DJ Gypsy spinning 80’s at Thunder and Buttons


A new night in the works getting Colorado Springs back into the 80’s flair with the amazing DJ Gypsy enchanting all with some of the best of the era. Definitely a much needed new night for the area. A saloon hosts the night that is named after some local history. In 1888 a Colorado City resident named Prairie Dog O’Byrne had a carriage pulled by two elk he named ‘Thunder’ and ‘Buttons’. His infamous partner from the Red light district Laura Bell would race this carriage up and down the very street where this saloon is located. This saloon was established and named in their honor. Established in 1978 it burnt down 10 years later. It was re-established in 2004 by an Air Force Academy graduate as Thunder and Buttons II. It now hosts a pretty popular bar and grill with various entertainment nights such as this 80’s night to mark up its calendar for fun and frolick. DJ Gypsy is definitely providing a good draw of music and charm to spice up everyone’s thursday nights. I hope this night continues as it is definitely a blessing for the local scene. Looking forward to more fine evenings having a blast to the past.

Print Friendly
Share

Oscar’s Oyster Bar (Colorado Springs, Colorado)


Oscar’s
Photo by Jeff Kallaus (c) 2009: permission received to repost

Oscar’s on Tejon

333 S Tejon St * Colorado Springs, CO 80903-2001 * (719) 471-8070
http://www.oscarstejonstreet.com/


Oscar’s in downtown Colorado Springs – is a fun little bar and grille right off the main drag where great meetings occur for happy hour and fun/frolick. It’s also one of Colorado Springs’ infamous locations for Oysters and being one of the few Oyster Bars in this desert/mountainous/ land-locked oasis. In fact, they bill themselves as an Oyster Bar. Oscar’s Oyster Bar and Baithouse is owned by a husband/wife team – Phil and Ashley Duhon. Bringing speciality from livlihood in Louisiana, one can find a unique cooking style for the Rockies. Proud of their menu offerings of steak and seafood, you won’t go hungry with the fresh food they have to offer. A festive bar location with live music over the weeekends, a friendly staff, and good potent drinks …. you’ll be pleased. Rating: 4.5 stars out of 5.

Reviewed at Wanderwords, Virtualtourist.com, Technogypsie.com.

Print Friendly
Share

The Druid (Nuremberg, Germany)



The Druid
* Weißgerbergasse 18 * 90403 Nürnberg, Germany * +49 911 2059072 * www.thedruidpub.com

A great little Irish/English pub in the heart of the Nurnberg Old Town. It’s an authentic traditional Irish pub located on one of the most beautiful medieval streets in the city; housed in a four story 12th century building, next to Club Sixteen; it encompassed the first two floors and basement. Decorated with old timber, uneven stairs, and rough stone walls – it brings the charm of Ireland into Germany. Great whiskey and cottage pie. I’ve heard good things about the fish n’ chips and the beer as well. Staff was great. Rating: 5 stars out of 5.

Print Friendly
Share

Landbierparadies (Nurnberg, Germany)



Landbierparadies
* Sterzinger Str. 4, Nürnberg – +49 911 4334722 * www.landbierparadies.com *
A decent sized pub with a backroom that can scrunch in over 30 (tightly) that has affordable prices, good beer, good food, and decent service. Of course we were a larger group, so I’m sure the service was difficult and I think the waiter did a wonderful job attending to us. They are open late serving beer and snacks. They also have a beer garden. The pub is known for its showcase beer from the small breweries in Franconia, especially those around Nuremburg, Bamburg, and Bayreuth. They also have some souvenir krugs for sale of which my daughter purchased – quality made and a good gift. I can’t comment on the beer as I don’t drink beer, but I’ve heard good things from the friends in our company and they seem to have enjoyed it enough to drink up a storm. Some of the favorites mentioned were Schluekla (smoked beer from Brauerei Saurer in Gunzendorf), Dunkles Vollbier from Brauerei Drummer in Leutenbach, and the Dunkles Vollbier from Brauerei Penning in Hetzelsdorf. The food itself was very good … I had a schnitzel, as my German is poor, and I couldn’t figure what else familiar to order. 🙁 Rating: 3.5 stars out of 5.

Print Friendly
Share

Schmitt’s (Worms, Germany)

SCHMITTS (Tavern/Restaurant)
Address is believed to be “Richard-Knies-Str. 87, Worms – +49 6241 95813-0” but unfortunately my German is not so good and it was hard to search for online. This Tavern is located a few streets away from the Lincoln Theater in old town.
A very quaint European tavern charm with delicious dishes and exquisite cooking. The service was friendly and very good. My daughter stated it as the best food she was served dining out since she’s been in Germany for the last week. Memorabilia and multiple clocks decorate the walls. Tavern tables with eliquent settings. The Rump steaks were all very delicious, and I quite liked the one flamed in Pernod. The salads were decorative and tasty. Rating: 5 stars out of 5. Continue reading Schmitt’s (Worms, Germany)

Print Friendly
Share

Lady of the Rhine, Part 2: Chapter 9 – Quest to Worms, Searching for the Key, Faun Concert

Friday, 3 April 2009
Worms, Germany

The adventurers got off to a late start on their travels as they were taking a road trip in Lady Vanessa’s motor carriage to “Worms” to see the mythical band “Faun” in hopes that the music will shed some light about this “sacred” key they are questing for. Along the road trip down the autobahn to Worms, many scenic farmyards, castles, and cathedrals loomed along the landscape giving the quest a medieval twist. The adventurers in search of the sacred key travelled hours to the Dragon city of “Worms”, Germany. Medieval cathedral welcoming them as they made their way to its base where the Jugend-herberge was located (youth hostel). Brilliant and enormous building dedicated to International travellers of all ages. Alas, since Lady Vanessa is from the Rhine and not an international guest, she had to purchase a 20 Euro membership on top of the 18.50 Euro room fee. The party did however score their own room with bunk beds, private bath/shower/toilette. After unloading their bags they went in search for the key, and keys they did find. The city of Worms emblem is a key and it was everywhere. Messages clued the party for answers to their queries as they visited each of the city dragons for answers. They visited at least 8 of the city dragons.


The city key in the zodiac wheel fountain clueing us to follow the dragon slayer in his tale for answers


Continue reading Lady of the Rhine, Part 2: Chapter 9 – Quest to Worms, Searching for the Key, Faun Concert

Print Friendly
Share

Uerige Obergarige Hausbrauerie (Duesseldorf, Germany)

Uerige Obergarige Hausbrauerie GmbH * Bergerstrasse 1 * 40213 Dusseldorf * 021186699-0 * http://uerige.de
A little brewery known since 1862 as the top-fermenting house brewery in Dusseldorf, UERIGE is one of Dusseldorf’s notorious brews. Located in the heart of the old town center: The Altstadt right close to the Rhine River embankment and promenade. Some say, these beers have bee brewed according to the Reinheitsgebot, the Purity Law dating to 1516. They bring their dark Uerige beer to your table as soon as you sit down, you don’t have to order as they just expect you want one. Food is limited, more appetizers than actual meals, famous for their pea soup, Haxen (knuckles of pork), etc. They are open from 10 am to midnight. Is this the oldest pub in Dusseldorf? It is debated. The building was owned from 1658 to 1783 by the Pfeilsticker family. We also know that in the mid-18th century a certain Heinrich Lichtschlag ran an imperial coach station here, offering accommodation and food for travelers. Around this time, the name »Zum Heydelberger Fass« (the Heidelberg vat) appeared for the first time. The next owners of the house, a couple called Juppen, continued the business with their son, Leonhard. After his early death, the »Heidelberger Fass« or »Große Fass« was bought by Johann Lambert Gruben in 1790. When the French Revolutionary troops occupied the city in 1795, he sold the plot to Bertram Mertens, a master baker, who in turn in 1802 sold the house to grain merchant Anton Joseph Bender. Bender lived here until 1826. After his death, his widow leased the house to various landlords – we know of Heinrich Wilms and Caspar Bosselmann, who named the place »Berliner Haus. That debate still goes. The service was acceptable and the bar man friendly. An odditity with the food however, if you notice in the pictures where the silverware is placed. Creates odd male symbology. I’m not a beer drinker, but I drank their beer. I suppose, it was good even though I don’t care for beer. Restaurant Rating: 3 stars out of 5.
Continue reading Uerige Obergarige Hausbrauerie (Duesseldorf, Germany)

Print Friendly
Share

Wild Mountain Brewery and Smokehouse (Nederland, Colorado)

Wild Mountain Smokehouse and Brewery
* 70 East 1st Street * Nederland, Colorado * 80466 * 303-258-WILD * http://www.wildmountainsb.com/

Right in the heart of historic downtown Nederland, is a 2-story brewery and smokehouse known as the Wild Mountain. While Pork and Beef are their specialty, they have many vegetarian options. Unfortunately I’m not a beer drinker as I hear they have some great hand-crafted brews available on the menu such as their signature Otis Pale Ale, Hop Diggity IPA, and Redemption Oatmeal Stout. The staff and service was good, while the lemonade sucked (tasted like water with a lemon). The food however was delicious … The Thai barbeque sauce to die for. Rating: 4 stars out of 5.

Print Friendly
Share

Hell’s Kitchen (Vancouver, British Columbia)


Crab n’ Avacado Bennie at Hell’s Kitchen


Hell’s Kitchen * 2041 4th Avenue West * Vancouver, BC V6J 1N3, Canada * (604) 736-4355 * http://www.hells-kitchen.ca/

Ah, Hell’s Kitchen. I’ve been wanting to try out this bar/restaurant for awhile. Glad I did. Its artsy, comfy, odd, and decorative in a modern kitch sense, with you-got-it … down under decor. Great service, great dishes, and decent prices. Several of the patrons were recovering from their saturday nights, so we weren’t alone at noon in that endeavor. The crab and avacado bennie was fabulous. The raspberry mimosa was good too. Rating: 4 stars out of 5.


Me, Stephanie, Ryan, Caitlin at Hell’s Kitchen

Print Friendly
Share

Jeremiah’s Pub (Vancouver, British Columbia)


Salmon Bennie


Jeremiah’s Neighbourhood Pub * 3681 4th Avenue West * Vancouver, BC V6R 1P2, Canada * (604) 734-1205 *

Its a typical Kitslano pub that is dime a dozen in the area, but has some of the best and prompt friendly service of your selections. Its only a five minute walk from Jericho Beach and its youth hostel, so great place to rest, chill, and recover from your travels. Its a favorite hotspot for Kitslano residents offering a sports bar atmosphere, lotto, pulltabs, Kino, and other gaming fun. Its decked in the style of a traditional English pub with two stories, hard wood floors and burgundy tones, but very Canadian. We dropped in on 12/27/08 for brunch around noon. They have a great brunch menu. I had the salmon bennie which was to die for. The Hangover sandwich is also very good. Bennies on croissants. Gotta love that more than the English muffin. Rating: 4 stars out of 5.


Jeremiahs’ Pub

Print Friendly
Share

Pike’s Place Market (Seattle, Washington)


Pike’s Market, Seattle, Washington


Pike’s Place Market * http://www.pikeplacemarket.org/ * 1531 Western Ave * Seattle, WA 98101 * Pikes Place / 1st Ave

A fabulous street mall and interior mall complex of shops, gifts, food, produce, restaurants, cafes, bars, and entertainment. Home to many street performers, and just watching the fishermen sell their sole provides humongous entertainment as one visits this historic venue and tourist attraction of downtown Seattle. 9 acres long, and over a hundred years old, its home to unique and interesting stories from immigration, to internment, gentrification, and urban renewal. It is because of this that its often referred to as the “Soul of Seattle”. Between 1906 and 1907, the cost of onions increased tenfold. Outraged citizens, fed up with paying price-gouging middlemen too much for their produce, found a hero in Seattle City Councilman Thomas Revelle. Revelle proposed a public street market that would connect farmers directly with consumers. Customers would “Meet the Producer” directly, a philosophy that is still the foundation of all Pike Place Market businesses. On August 17, 1907, Pike Place Market was born. Since that date this market is internationally recognized as America’s premier farmer’s markets and hosts over 200 year-round commercial businesses, 190 craftspeople, and 120 farmers who rent table space by the day. Over 240 street performers and musicians; and 300 apartment units, most of which house low-income elderly people. “The Market,” as the locals affectionately say, attracts 10 million visitors a year, making it one of Washington’s most frequently visited destinations. Every time i visit downtown I stroll through this wonderful venue. Its top rate. Rating : 5 stars out of 5.


Pike’s Place Market, Seattle, Washington

Print Friendly
Share