Category Archives: Reviews

Welcome to Technogypsie Reviews! When we visit somewhere that made an impression on us, we want to share our experience whether good or bad as a guide for people who might also want to visit the same place, dine, visit, or use such services. Social networking of our experiences help people with limited time, resources, or patience figure out if a location is for them or not. Enjoy our reviews.
one star: * = Poor, not recomended.
two star: ** = Fair. Not the top quality.
three star: *** = average, middle of the road.
four star: **** = very good. Recommended.
five star: ***** = top quality, highly recommended

Little Nepal (Colorado Springs)

Little Nepal Indian Restaurant
~ 1747 S 8th St, Colorado Springs, Colorado 80905 | Phone: (719) 477-6997 | lnepal.com ~

One of Colorado Springs finest Indian restaurants who are notorious for their amazing buffets. Located off 8th street, traditional style and decor – friendly service worth the wait. Tibetan, Nepalese, and India cuisine. Delicious and spicy. Wide assortment of offerings. A must visit for any Indian food connoisseur …

Rated: 5 of 5 stars. ~ Review by Leaf McGowan/Thomas Baurley, Technogypsie Productions ~

If you would like to contact the author about this review, need a re-review, would like to advertise on this page, or have information to add, please contact us at technogypsie@gmail.com.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share

Urban Steam (Colorado Springs)

Urban Steam Coffee
~ 1025 S Sierra Madre St, Colorado Springs, Colorado 80903 | (719) 473-7832 | urbansteamcoffee.com ~

A off in the warehouse district, hiddem gem of a grunge style gear head hang-out. They offer drinks, cocktails, panini, creative waffles, salads, sandwiches, and of course coffee n’ espresso. WiFi … chill … and sometimes busy. Limited parking. Very laid back.

Rated: 3 of 5 stars. ~ Review by Leaf McGowan/Thomas Baurley, Technogypsie Productions ~

If you would like to contact the author about this review, need a re-review, would like to advertise on this page, or have information to add, please contact us at technogypsie@gmail.com.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share

On the Border

On the Border Mexican Grill and Cantina
~ https://www.ontheborder.com/ ~

A massie chain of Tex-Mex cuisine that can be found throughout the world with numerous locations in the United States, Canada, Puerto Rico, Egypt, United Arab Emirates, Saudi Arabia, and South Korea. They began in October 1982 in Dallas, Texas. I’ve dined there many times and is one of the more popular chains to me that I enjoy. Great food, good service, and a social environment.

Rated: 3.75 of 5 stars. ~ Review by Leaf McGowan/Thomas Baurley, Technogypsie Productions ~

If you would like to contact the author about this review, need a re-review, would like to advertise on this page, or have information to add, please contact us at technogypsie@gmail.com.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share

Frontier Airlines

Frontier Airlines
~ Worldwide: https://www.flyfrontier.com/ ~

I’ve had the pleasure of flying Frontier many times – the price makes it affordable means of travel, although if you’re luggage bound, it may not be your best choice – as they knickel and dime everything with this airlines. That wasn’t always the case, before the airline wars and indentured servitude, Frontier like all airlines once offered free luggage, free snacks, free beverages, and went out of their way to serve you. You just can’t find that with airlines any more, so the choices out there – this is a good one for the economically minded. However, they cut corners everywhere they can in order to pass on the savings to the customer. I once returned my car at Sea-Tac around 2 pm, and had to sit in line to check my luggage for 4 hours until the courtesy desk opened before they don’t open it until 2 hours before departure instead of having a desk where people can come for service normal airport hours.

They bill themselves as a ultra low cost airline carrier that has headquarters in Denver, Colorado. They are the 8th largest commercial airline in the United States flying to over 80 destinations in America, and 6 international destinations.

Rated: 3.5 of 5 stars. ~ Review by Leaf McGowan/Thomas Baurley, Technogypsie Productions ~

If you would like to contact the author about this review, need a re-review, would like to advertise on this page, or have information to add, please contact us at technogypsie@gmail.com.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share

McDonalds

McDonald’s Fast Food Chain
~ https://www.mcdonalds.com/ ~

As a child, my parents and school system were captivated victims of the advertising brainwashing of this corporate fast food giant. I myself have fallen into their lure many years of my life, and still victim of the addictive taste of their food. Just like most parents, a quick simple failing nutritious meal for their kids, I was taken to McDonalds at an early age. I remember a school trip to a farm making the industry look wholesome and local, taken into a set-up building where they showed us kids how to flip burgers, gave us special hats, and made us want to grow up to be a burger flipper for them. As a kid, McDonalds excited me. I have had the same issue having exposed my son to them – and its a hard habit to break, an addictive drug is their food, that captivates billions of people around the world. The Expose “Super Size Me” shows the dangers of the restaurant chain and how brainwashed the world has become.

But is it truly dangerous? it definitely has its delicious appeal. It wasn’t always a corporate giant. They of course like all businesses chase after money. They wanted success and they got it. The restaurant was started in 1940 by brothers Richard and Maurice McDonald with its founding in San Bernardino, California. Not a surprise right? California. That home farm experience I attended in school was in upstate New York in the 70’s. They were already en route to world dominance by that point.

With humble beginnings, McDonald’s started out as a hamburger stand. It turned into a franchise in the 50’s when Ray Kroc in 1955 talked them into starting a franchise, opening the fist one in Phoenix, Arizona. The owners were suspicious at first and were originally reluctant to the expanding ideas. Kroc purchased the chain from the brothers, and moved its headquarters to Oak Brook, Illinois, and then global headquarters to Chicago by 2018. Since the campaign to turn to franchise, extreme advertising and promotions, world dominance across the Great Pond happened relatively quickly. Today McDonald’s is the world’s largest restaurant chain by revenue, boasting over 69 million customers daily in over 100 countries.

McDonalds sells a variety of sandwiches from hamburgers, cheeseburgers, chicken sandwiches, fish sandwiches, french fries, soda, milk shakes, wraps, desserts, cafe items, coffee frappacinos, breakfast, lunch, and dinner.
Since the 1980’s they have been attacked for their world dominance, menu, food quality, and unhealthiness of their food. Since then, they have made annual changes to their menu to address the concerns promoting a healthier option line. They are also the second largest private employer in the world next to Walmart.

Rated: 2.5 of 5 stars. ~ Review by Leaf McGowan/Thomas Baurley, Technogypsie Productions ~

If you would like to contact the author about this review, need a re-review, would like to advertise on this page, or have information to add, please contact us at technogypsie@gmail.com.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share

Enterprise Car Rental

Enterprise Car Rental
~ www.enterprise.com | Customer service: 1 (855) 266-9565 ~

Enterprise has become one of my favorite and most preferred car rental agencies as of late (2018) since they have become more convenient, efficient, and hospitable. I still book my rentals using services like Kayak and Priceline rather than their web site directly. They have a local counter down the road from me so can’t more convenient than walking distance. I almost rented a car from them last month while dealing with my own car troubles, but i figured out my issues. They guy at the desk however was very helpful. Recently I flew into Sea-Tac airport, and went to the rental car agency hub – it was very streamlined, no discrimination with debit cards (i gave up credit cards over 10 years ago) as long as I had return flight details. They didn’t even run a hold on my card so I had access to my funds. Good price and booking was streamlined. I was sent down to the 4th floor where another agent helped me pick out a vehicle, dried to downgrade or upgrade my vehicle from a mini-van to something he thought was more suitable (which was a bit annoying) and of course tried to up-sell all sorts of insurance packages and add-ons (annoying but frustratingly expected). No long contracts, simply hand app print-out, drive through gate, check out, and that was it. The vehicle was in great condition and was pristine. A great trip around the Olympic Peninsula, i was quite content. They did a fantastic job! Rated: 5 of 5 stars. April 2018: ~ Review by Leaf McGowan/Thomas Baurley, Technogypsie Productions ~

If you would like to contact the author about this review, need a re-review, would like to advertise on this page, or have information to add, please contact us at technogypsie@gmail.com.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share

Quiznos

Quiznos Sandwich Shop
~ WORLDWIDE ~

A step up from Subway, Quiznos is a fancy sub-shop chain that you can find throughout North America. It is the second largest submarine shop chain in North America, just behind Subway. It is a franchise that is based in Denver, Colorado and specializes in toasted submarine sandwiches. It was founded by Jimmy Lambatos in 1981 and now has over 5,000 restaurants throughout North America. Today it has over 1,500 domestic locations and approximately 600 international sites. (2018)

Rating: 4.5 stars out of 5. ~ Review by Leaf McGowan/Thomas Baurley, Technogypsie Productions ~

If you would like to contact the author about this review, need a re-review, would like to advertise on this page, or have information to add, please contact us at technogypsie@gmail.com.

Like this review? want more? consider donating a chai, coffee, tea, or meal to the reviewer as a way to say “thank you! I want more …”





Continue reading Quiznos

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share

Ramada Inn (Centennial Airport – Denver)

Ramada Inn (Centennial Airport)
~ 7770 S Peoria St, Englewood/Denver, Colorado 80112 ~ (303) 790-7770 ~

A cost effective hotel located just outside of the Centennial Airport south Denver. Staff is friendly and helpful. Outside of kids running down the hall hotel is pretty quiet and restful, no airport noises. Comfortable beds, free cable, clean rooms, electric working. Restful. A wonderful breakfast buffet with a large selection of cold and food breakfast stuffs available. Drink cups are small though. Ice machine on the 2nd floor was broken during my visit. The 2nd floor even numbered rooms circle around a gravel roof-top with open access to the room’s windows, from debris on the roof it appears people have hung out on it – meaning its a security issue for the rooms as i found my room window unlocked. Would be easy for thieves. I did receive a prank call most likely from a young guest during the night, that was annoying. Hotel is aged in some parts, and brand new in others. oddly there is spacing between the bottom of the room door and the hall, not being very private. It was a comfortable stay none-the-less. No fridges or microwaves in the rooms. WiFi is good and clear, no password.

Rated: 4 stars out of 5 Visited 3/31/18-4/1/18. ~ Review by Leaf McGowan/Thomas Baurley, Technogypsie Productions ~

If you would like to contact the author about this review, need a re-review, would like to advertise on this page, or have information to add, please contact us at technogypsie@gmail.com.

Like this review? want more? consider donating a chai, coffee, tea, or meal to the reviewer as a way to say “thank you! I want more …”





Continue reading Ramada Inn (Centennial Airport – Denver)

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share

Five Guys

Five Guys
~ Worldwide ~

On the way to Burning Man, passing through Fort Collins, Colorado – my travel mate introduced me to this fine Burger Joint. Freshly cooked and prepared, there is a bit of a wait, so not your atypical fast food chain – but higher quality and creation. They are a fast growing chain, casual diner style with that 60’s-80’s decor. Free peanuts to snack on while you wait. Originally was called “Five Guys Burgers and Fries” it has been shortened to “Five Guys”. They focus on hamburgers, hot dogs, and fries. Their headquarters is located in Lorton, Virginia and opened their first location in 1986 (Virginia). Today they have over a thousand locations within the United States and Canada. (2018)

I’ve had the pleasure of dining in and take out, as well as delivering for them. The burgers and fries are great. I have yet to try the hot dogs.

Rated: 4 stars out of 5. (Overall Worldwide) ~ Review by Leaf McGowan/Thomas Baurley, Technogypsie Productions ~

If you would like to contact the author about this review, need a re-review, would like to advertise on this page, or have information to add, please contact us at technogypsie@gmail.com.

Like this review? want more? consider donating a chai, coffee, tea, or meal to the reviewer as a way to say “thank you! I want more …”





Continue reading Five Guys

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share

Subway Sandwiches

Subway Sandwiches
(Worldwide)
~ https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Subway_(restaurant) ~

Subway Sandwiches is a world-wide chain restaurant offering deli sandwich selections and specialties. They can be found all over the globe. The review here only covers my experiences with several dozen I’ve frequented around the world. Subway has always been a quick healthy stop off for breakfast, lunch, or dinner when I’m on the run and busy with work. They hands-down beats the other fast-food competitors. I’m a little disappointed that they discontinued the seafood salad sandwich but understand where they are coming from. Otherwise, my favorites is the cranberry turkey subs and the meatball sandwiches as second and third place. Never had a sandwich here I didn’t like.

An American fast food franchise, Subway serves sub sandwiches, salads, cookies, soups, and other culinary delights. The company is one of the fastest growing franchises in the world with over 45,000 stores located in over 100 countries (2018). They are based in Milford, Connecticut with regional offices in Amsterdam, Brisbane, Beirut, Singapore, and Miami.

Overall Rating: 4.5 stars out of 5 ~ Review by Leaf McGowan/Thomas Baurley, Technogypsie Productions ~

If you would like to contact the author about this review, need a re-review, would like to advertise on this page, or have information to add, please contact us at technogypsie@gmail.com.

Like this review? want more? consider donating a chai, coffee, tea, or meal to the reviewer as a way to say “thank you! I want more …”





Continue reading Subway Sandwiches

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share

Fractured Prune Donuts (Denver)

Fractured Prune Donuts
~ 9696 E Arapahoe Rd, Greenwood Village, CO 80112 (Denver, Colorado) ~ (303) 759-0635 ~ https://fracturedprune.com/ ~

A great little hole-in-the-wall donut shop located in a Greenwood Village strip mall off Arapahoe. I discovered it whilst doing food deliveries for a company I contract with. After making several deliveries of the unique pastries, I decided I had to try them for myself. I went back the evening of March 31st, 2018 and ordered a half a dozen. They were hot, delicious, and tantalizing. This counter-serve pit stop for hand-made, freshly created donuts where you decide the toppings you want. They also have coffee, juice, and drinks available. You can watch the process from a window into their donut machine, and watch the donut specialist make the donuts for you. Delicious and well worth the price as well as experience.

Rated: 5 stars out of 5. ~ Review by Leaf McGowan/Thomas Baurley, Technogypsie Productions ~

If you would like to contact the author about this review, need a re-review, would like to advertise on this page, or have information to add, please contact us at technogypsie@gmail.com.

Like this review? want more? consider donating a chai, coffee, tea, or meal to the reviewer as a way to say “thank you! I want more …”





Continue reading Fractured Prune Donuts (Denver)

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share

IHOP Southgate (Colorado Springs, Colorado)

IHOP – Southgate
~ 2290 Southgate Rd, Colorado Springs, Colorado 80906 ~ (719) 635-0777 ~

Out of the Colorado Springs locations, this International House of Pancakes is one of the best. Who doesn’t enjoy IHOP? Its a pancake house worth the wait that you’ll often be greeted with upon entering as IHOP has that reputation. Wide variety of pancakes and all-day breakfast selections, fresh fruit, and delicous fried goods. 24 hours of availability, it will satiate your appetite. Delivery is also fast and efficient. Friendly staff and good food.

Rating: 4 out of 5 ~ Review by Leaf McGowan/Thomas Baurley, Technogypsie Productions ~

If you would like to contact the author about this review, need a re-review, would like to advertise on this page, or have information to add, please contact us at technogypsie@gmail.com.

Like this review? want more? consider donating a chai, coffee, tea, or meal to the reviewer as a way to say “thank you! I want more …”





Continue reading IHOP Southgate (Colorado Springs, Colorado)

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share

La Baguette (Colorado Springs, Colorado)

La Baguette – Old Colorado City
~ 2417 W Colorado Ave, Colorado Springs, Colorado 80904 ~ labaguette-co.com ~

A great little taste of France right in the heart of Old Colorado City. La Baguette bakery has fine sandwiches, soups, and baked goods – fresh, aromatic, and divine. Place gets a bit busy which slows down dining time, but worth the wait. Its a local charm. Always enjoyed my dining there – food is grand, service is friendly, and experience perfect.

Rating: 4.5 stars out of 5 ~ Review by Leaf McGowan/Thomas Baurley, Technogypsie Productions ~

If you would like to contact the author about this review, need a re-review, would like to advertise on this page, or have information to add, please contact us at technogypsie@gmail.com.

Like this review? want more? consider donating a chai, coffee, tea, or meal to the reviewer as a way to say “thank you! I want more …”





Continue reading La Baguette (Colorado Springs, Colorado)

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share

Pho Brothers (Colorado Springs, Colorado)

Pho Brothers
~ 1107 S Nevada Ave, Colorado Springs, Colorado 80903 – (719) 445-0760 ~

Just off Nevada Avenue, Pho Brothers is a small Vietnamese restaurant located within a mini strip mall. When you walk through their doors you escape the grime of the neighborhood, into a bustling fun ambiance with large screen entertainment. The staff is friendly and helpful. The food is divine. If you’re a fan of Pho, this is the place to go in Colorado Springs. I got the seafood pho and a thai tea bubble drink. It was delicious.

Rating: 5 stars out of 5 ~ Review by Leaf McGowan/Thomas Baurley, Technogypsie Productions ~

If you would like to contact the author about this review, need a re-review, would like to advertise on this page, or have information to add, please contact us at technogypsie@gmail.com.

Like this review? want more? consider donating a chai, coffee, tea, or meal to the reviewer as a way to say “thank you! I want more …”





Continue reading Pho Brothers (Colorado Springs, Colorado)

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share

Trader Joes

The Trader Joe’s Chain
~ Review by Leaf McGowan/Thomas Baurley, Technogypsie Productions as a 5 stars out of 5 ~

Manifested and created by the German grocery store chain Aldi – Trader Joe’s is the Americanized version of Aldi Markt or Aldi North. They tapped the American kitch and spirit of what middle class America wants with an affordable price that catches the budget. But it is different and quite unique, as it is driven by American culture, philosophy, and business practices.

I was first introduced to the shop when living in California the wee stages of Y2K. (year 2000 for the Generation X crowd) Back then, there wasn’t many stores around America. When I moved to Colorado in 2005, i was saddened there were none. It was at that time my favorite grocery store and I really appreciated the food quality, the pricing, and their business model. I can’t say I fully feel the same way today now that Trader Joe’s is in pretty much every state with locations everywhere. By 2015 they became a major grocery store competitor. By the beginning of 2018 they have over 480 stores in America expanding 43 states as well as the District of Columbia. With the growth comes sub-standard practices. They have become a bit more generic and similar to practices that regular grocery chains use. Their prices have increased substantially. Food quality is not so great and they over-use plastic and packaging contributing to the great trash problem on the planet.

Although birthed as its manifestation today being a branch of Aldi Markt (Aldi North) from Germany it was originally founded by Joseph “Joe” Coulombe in 1958 as the Pronto Market convenience store which mimicked 7-11 style and operation located in Los Angeles. He weaved the idea of the Trader Joe’s South Seas motif after vacationing in the Caribbean borrowing its Tiki kitch style as it was very popular motif in the 50’s and 60’s. It wasn’t until 1967 when it was called “Trader Joe’s” and appeared as such with one store on the Arroyo Parkway in Pasadena, California. He leased out space with local butchers to provide fresh meat, operated a sandwich shop within, offered fresh cut cheese and squeezed orange juice.

Trader Joes really didn’t become the genius idea it is today until being owned in 1979 by German entrepreneur Theo Albrecht who purchased the store from Joe as a personal investment for his family. By 1987 Joe was succeeded by John Shields as CEO who expanded the market into Arizona in 1993 and the Pacific Northwest by 1995. By 1996 they opened stores in the Boston area opening the East Coast market. By 2001 Dan Bane took over being CEO expanding to 156 stores within 15 American states. Theo died in 2010 passing the Trader Joe’s business on to his family becoming even more so the Americanized Aldi Markt.

The Good
Trader Joe’s has unique items, still good pricing, and matches the populous generation’s budgets. It is still one of the best stores in America. In 2016 Trader Joes made a goal to have all the eggs they sell in Western STates to come from cage-free suppliers by 2020, and all eggs nationally to be cage-free by 2025.

The Bad
With its growth has come sub-standard quality and practices, pushing out local markets and chains. While this is normal for any major growth of a company, their practices are beyond secretive. Reports have claimed at the majority of Trader Joe’s products are made on equipment that doesn’t separate out production for those of philosophical or health-concerned needs. The equipment is exposed to dairy, nuts, meat, and non-kosher foods. In 2017 they claimed to have invented the “puff dog” – a roll of spiced sausage meat wrapped in a puff pastry, but British and Commonwealth Media challenged their claim by stating this was already a traditional British savoury snack.

The Ugly
Trader Joes uses too much packaging causing it to be a plague on the environment. This has caused Trader Joes to rank low on Greenpeace’s sustainable seafood report card stating they have excessive packaging with even produce sealed in plastic and utilizing a business mode that forces consumers to buy large enough quantities to encourage waste. They have been known for their lack of transparency about their sources of their products.

Stores reviewed:

Products reviewed:

If you would like to contact the author about this review, need a re-review, would like to advertise on this page, or have information to add, please contact us at technogypsie@gmail.com.

Like this review? want more? consider donating a chai, coffee, tea, or meal to the reviewer as a way to say “thank you! I want more …”





Continue reading Trader Joes

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share

Firehouse BBQ (Colorado Springs, Colorado) : Closed

Firehouse Southern Style BBQ
~ 817 W Colorado Ave, Colorado Springs, CO 80905 | (719) 447-8829. 2018 update: Location permanently Closed. ~

Oh the distinct Southern smells, charm, and culinary offerings – Firehouse BBQ was by far one of my favorite Barbecque shacks I’ve been to. Granted fully aware the cuisine is extremely unhealthy, fat inducing, and bad for the heart – nonetheless my childhood tastebuds were always pleased with the experience, body aside. If you’re willing to risk your body’s health, then this is one of the top places to get quality meats – chicken, pork, beef, with home-made sauces to satiate the hunger. Great location with ample parking, friendly staff, but service was slow and portion sizes were minimal (my body thanked that, but my hunger did not). It was a good farewell for me enjoying perhaps my last meal of this kind of food as I was soon moving to Australia and Europe. I had a good farewell tour. Apparently though after returning several years later this establishment had its own farewell and no longer exists. This review is but a historical tribute to the location.

Rating: 4 stars out of 5. Review by Leaf McGowan/Thomas Baurley, Technogypsie Productions, March 4, 2011 ~

If you would like to contact the author about this review, need a re-review, would like to advertise on this page, or have information to add, please contact us at technogypsie@gmail.com.

Firehouse BBQ (http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=36309), Old Colorado City, Colorado Springs, Colorado, USA. The Great Walkabout: http://www.technogypsie.com/chronicles/?page_id=114. From Colorado Springs to Australia, Europe, and back. Photos taken March 4, 2011. To read the adventures, visit http://www.technogypsie.com/chronicles/?p=17409. To read reviews, visit: www.technogypsie.com/reviews. All photos and articles (c) 2011 Technogypsie.com – by Leaf McGowan and Thomas Baurley. All rights reserved.

Like this review? want more? consider donating a chai, coffee, tea, or meal to the reviewer as a way to say “thank you! I want more …”





Continue reading Firehouse BBQ (Colorado Springs, Colorado) : Closed

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share

Greendot reloadable VISA card

Greendot re-loadable VISA card
~ www.greendot.com
~

Review by Leaf McGowan/Thomas Baurley, Technogypsie Productions ~

What their advertising promises: A re-loadable pre-paid visa card that you can use anywhere VISA is accepted, in stores, online, recurring monthly payments, and a card to direct deposit to. What you get: A gift card that is not reloadable, cannot be used online, cannot be used for monthly payments, and cannot accept direct deposit.

This is a scam folks, and you will lose money even trying out the service. This afternoon I went into Safeway excited to see their service promise only to discover I was scammed into buying a $1.95 gift card. In addition, they will assess a $7.95/month use fee. To close the account, it’ll take upwards of 2-4 weeks to get your money back. Tech support was horrible and they did not care that their service is a scam. They wasted my time, wasted my money, and just proved how inept their idea is. Their web site is buggy as is there validation system. They are just as bad as Capital One pre-paid Master Card. Rating: 1 star out of 5. / Tested 2/13/18.

As the paper boy in “Better Off Dead” declares … “I WANT MY $2!” (back).

If you would like to contact the author about this review, need a re-review, would like to advertise on this page, or have information to add, please contact us at technogypsie@gmail.com.

Like this review? want more? consider donating a chai, coffee, tea, or meal to the reviewer as a way to say “thank you! I want more …”





Continue reading Greendot reloadable VISA card

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share

G2Crowd Reviews

G2Crowd Software Reviews
https://www.g2crowd.com

Rating: 3 star out of 5

I was inspired and impressed with this nifty site that gives the reader honest individual reviews of various software, programs, and services that they use to get the job done. I was also hopeful that this was a new platform for reviews as I posted 10 or more and got Starbucks dollars for the work I did. But then I suppose reviewed too many products? as G2Crowd began rejecting reviews, valid screenshots, and having a bug that said the 21 out of 21 questions answered was now only 20 answered out of 21, with no 21 question existing. They rejected the reviews also based on stating the screenshot was not valid, even though it was a valid screenshot from in the software. I sent over 5 emails to G2Crowd support, filed complaints about the process to their Chat technicians, and no responses. They just continued to reject reviews. No support, no explanation outside of the non-existent question number and claiming the screenshot wasn’t valid. It was disheartening. No matter how many revisions I did, it was all a waste of time. So I hereby will be leaving this service and not participating in the broken system. I know I recommended this site to many of you, and take back that recommendation. It is a disaster site. Who knows, maybe they ran out of money to pay for the reviews – and instead of being upfront and honest to their reviewers, just rejected the reviews. There is no delete button for reviews you submit, so even rejected reviews appear to be published and used by the business even though they are not paying for them. Reviewer beware.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share

Jack Quinn’s Irish Pub (Colorado Springs, Colorado)

Jack Quinn’s Irish Pub
~ 21 S Tejon St, Colorado Springs, CO 80903 ~ (719) 385-0766 ~ https://jackquinnspub.com/ ~

Review by Leaf McGowan/Thomas Baurley, Technogypsie Productions ~

One of Colorado Springs’ landmark Irish pub locations with a very comfortable relaxed environment full of songs, traditional cuisine, dancing, and jigs. It is the central location where the local Irish meet, greet, and sing. Outside of being too crowded and not finding a seat, the establishment has never let me down for fun, frolick, and good times. Perfect place to meet friends and have fun. Great service, friendly staff, and all out great business. Rated: 5 stars out of 5 Visited 2/25/11.

If you would like to contact the author about this review, need a re-review, would like to advertise on this page, or have information to add, please contact us at technogypsie@gmail.com.

Birthday Celebration at Jack Quinn’s (http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=36255) with the family: The Great Walkabout: http://www.technogypsie.com/chronicles/?page_id=114. From Colorado Springs to Australia, Europe, and back. Photos taken February 25, 2011. To read the adventures, visit http://www.technogypsie.com/chronicles/?p=17409. To read reviews, visit: www.technogypsie.com/reviews. All photos and articles (c) 2011 Technogypsie.com – by Leaf McGowan and Thomas Baurley. All rights reserved.

Like this review? want more? consider donating a chai, coffee, tea, or meal to the reviewer as a way to say “thank you! I want more …”





Continue reading Jack Quinn’s Irish Pub (Colorado Springs, Colorado)

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share

Pulcinella Pizzeria (Denver, Colorado)

Pullcinella Pizzeria
~ 1400 E Hampden Ave, Englewood, CO 80113-3116 ~ http://www.pulcinellapizeria.com/ ~

Review by Leaf McGowan/Thomas Baurley, Technogypsie Productions ~

A fabulous little pizzeria with great slices, wonderful hospitality, and perfect service. I was introduced to this charm from a friend and has been a favorite pizza parlor ever since. It has been suggested that this Denver location is no longer and that the pizzeria is now in Fort Collins. For this visit, 2/24/11, it was a 5 stars out of 5 experience.

If you would like to contact the author about this review, need a re-review, would like to advertise on this page, or have information to add, please contact us at technogypsie@gmail.com.

Like this review? want more? consider donating a chai, coffee, tea, or meal to the reviewer as a way to say “thank you! I want more …”





Continue reading Pulcinella Pizzeria (Denver, Colorado)

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share

China Doll (Colorado Springs, Colorado)

China Doll Restaurant
~ 3629 Star Ranch Rd, Colorado Springs, CO 80906 ~ (719) 579-8822 ~ doordash.com ~

Review by Leaf McGowan/Thomas Baurley, Technogypsie Productions ~

One of my favorite quick Chinese buffets in Colorado Springs, China Doll has a small buffet lunch-time weekdays with some of my favorite dishes. The price is right, the service is fabulous and friendly, and the food is good. What more could you ask? While a medium sized restaurant nestled in a strip mall, on the southwest side of town, it caters to the Army and Air Force the most, it is never too crowded or busy because of its remoteness – so guaranteed seating and not having to wait. I have yet to partake of the menu ordering experience but the buffet is great. Rating: 4 stars out of 5 (visited 1/29/18)

If you would like to contact the author about this review, need a re-review, would like to advertise on this page, or have information to add, please contact us at technogypsie@gmail.com.

Continue reading China Doll (Colorado Springs, Colorado)

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share

Charlie Brown’s Bar and Grill (Denver, Colorado)

Charlie Brown’s Bar and Grill
~ 980 Grant St, Denver, CO 80203 ~
charliebrownsbarandgrill.com ~ (303) 860-1655 ~
~

Review by Leaf McGowan/Thomas Baurley, Technogypsie Productions ~ Visited 2/18/2011 ~

A great little bar and grill perfect for social gatherings and get-togethers. Service was a bit slow on this evening (2/18/11) but it was reasonably crowded and short staffed. Food was great and the ambiance was perfect for a friend’s birthday party. Rated: 4 stars out of 5 (Visited 2/18/11)

If you would like to contact the author about this review, need a re-review, would like to advertise on this page, or have information to add, please contact us at technogypsie@gmail.com.

Julia’s Birthday Party (http://www.technogypsie.com/chronicles/?p=34461) – Charlie Brown’s Bar, Denver, Colorado. The Great Walkabout: http://www.technogypsie.com/chronicles/?page_id=114. From Colorado Springs to Australia, Europe, and back. Photos taken January 1, 2011. To read the adventures, visit http://www.technogypsie.com/chronicles/?p=17409. To read reviews, visit: www.technogypsie.com/reviews. All photos and articles (c) 2011 Technogypsie.com – by Leaf McGowan and Thomas Baurley. All rights reserved.

Continue reading Charlie Brown’s Bar and Grill (Denver, Colorado)

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share

Wild Ginger Restaurant (Colorado Springs, Colorado)

Wild Ginger Thai Restaurant
~ 2628 W Colorado Ave, Colorado Springs, CO 80904 ~ (719) 634-5025 ~

Review by Leaf McGowan/Thomas Baurley, Technogypsie Productions Visited 2/14/2011 ~

One of my favorite Thai restaurants in Colorado Springs and Old Colorado City. Nestled just near the border of Old Colorado City and Manitou Springs off West Colorado Avenue is a decent-sized family restaurant called “Wild Ginger”. The service is great, the ambiance golden, and the dishes remarkable. The spice is quite right when you ask for Thai spice, the authentic cuisine is a delicacy in the heart of the wild West. Back in 2010-2011 I would frequent this lovely establishment monthly and sometimes weekly. Rating: 4.5 stars out of 5 (Visited for review 2/14/11)

If you would like to contact the author about this review, need a re-review, would like to advertise on this page, or have information to add, please contact us at technogypsie@gmail.com.

Wild Ginger (http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=36099) – 02.14.11 : A Thai Valentines. The Great Walkabout: http://www.technogypsie.com/chronicles/?page_id=114. From Colorado Springs to Australia, Europe, and back. Photos taken February 14, 2011. To read the adventures, visit http://www.technogypsie.com/chronicles/?p=17409. To read reviews, visit: www.technogypsie.com/reviews. All photos and articles (c) 2011 Technogypsie.com – by Leaf McGowan and Thomas Baurley. All rights reserved. http://www.technogypsie.com/chronicles/?p=34457

Continue reading Wild Ginger Restaurant (Colorado Springs, Colorado)

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share

Viking Fair at the Viking Hall (Colorado Springs, Colorado)

Viking Fair

Sons of Norway Viking Market 2017
~ 1045 Ford St, Colorado Springs, CO 80915
Phone: (719) 574-3717 ~ http://www.sonsofnorwaycs.com/ * https://www.facebook.com/events/331423757313378/ ~

Review by Leaf McGowan/Thomas Baurley, Technogypsie Productions ~

The Sons of Norway is a heritage and cultural group of Norway celebrating relationships between Nordic countries. They have a lodge called the Viking Hall or Fjellheim lodge in eastern Colorado Springs. Each year they put on a Viking Market hosting a bazaar and brunch. The community and members come together to share arts, crafts, lefse, handwork, collectibles, unique gifts, baked goods, and goods. The bazaar runs from 9 am until 2 pm, with a pancake breakfast around 9 am, and lunch around 11. They held raffles with gifts donated by the various vendors all as a fundraiser for the group. It was a great time. The Tree Leaves Oracle vended its Viking crafts, gifts, and selections of drinking horns, leather works, and goods. Rating: 3.5 stars out of 5

If you would like to contact the author about this review, need a re-review, would like to advertise on this page, or have information to add, please contact us at technogypsie@gmail.com.

Tree Leaves Oracle booth at Viking Fair (http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=33969) at the Viking Hall, Colorado Springs, Colorado. New Life in Colorado: Chronicle 26 – Chronicles of Sir Thomas Leaf and Prince Cian. Adventures in Colorado. Photos taken October 21, 2017. To read the adventures, visit http://www.technogypsie.com/chronicles/?p=21965. To read reviews, visit: www.technogypsie.com/reviews. All photos and articles (c) 2017. Technogypsie.com – by Leaf McGowan and Thomas Baurley. All rights reserved. www.technogypsie.com/photography. More info about Colorado Springs: http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=31051

Continue reading Viking Fair at the Viking Hall (Colorado Springs, Colorado)

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share

The Zombie Frappacino

Zombie Frappacino

Starbucks Zombie Frappacino
~

Review by Leaf McGowan/Thomas Baurley, Technogypsie Productions ~
https://www.starbucks.com/menu/drinks/frappuccino-blended-beverages/zombie-frappuccino- ~

As usual, Starbucks is always on top of getting in chime with current fads, whims, and trends. Of course, “Zombies” are a year-round trend, they are just more popular in October. So to get with the spirit, Starbucks has created the “Zombie Frappacino” – a tasty an colorful blended iced drink with delicious apple and caramel flavors. Not caffeinated either, so it won’t turn you into a running zombie. A nice treat in the month of October. Limited run and selection offering. Rating: 4 stars out of 5

Ingredients: Ice, Milk, Crème Frappuccino Syrup [Water, Sugar, Salt, Natural And Artificial Flavor, Xanthan Gum, Potassium Sorbate, Citric Acid], Zombie Mocha Drizzle [Mocha Sauce (Water, Sugar, Cocoa Processed With Alkali, Vanillin), Pink Powder (Dextrose, Fruit And Vegetable Color [Apple, Cherry, Radish, Sweet Potato])], Green Caramel Apple Powder [Dextrose, Fruit And Vegetable Color (Spirulina, Turmeric), Natural Flavors, Citric Acid].

If you would like to contact the author about this review, need a re-review, would like to advertise on this page, or have information to add, please contact us at technogypsie@gmail.com.

Zombie Frappacino (http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=33965) – Starbucks Kiosk, Shopping at King Sooper’s, Uintah Street, Colorado Springs, Colorado. New Life in Colorado: Chronicle 26 – Chronicles of Sir Thomas Leaf and Prince Cian. Adventures in Colorado. Photos taken October 25, 2017. To read the adventures, visit http://www.technogypsie.com/chronicles/?p=21965. To read reviews, visit: www.technogypsie.com/reviews. All photos and articles (c) 2017 Technogypsie.com – by Leaf McGowan and Thomas Baurley. All rights reserved. www.technogypsie.com/photography

Continue reading The Zombie Frappacino

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share

Gypsy House Cafe (Denver, Colorado)

Gypsy House Cafe

The Gypsy House CafeBR> ~ 1279 N Marion Street, Denver, Colorado 80218 ~ Phone: (303) 830-1112 * https://www.facebook.com/GypsyHouse/ ~

This great little coffee and sandwich shop was such a Denver charm. Unfortunately it is currently no longer. Hopefully it will come back. It was a fabulous alternative to the mainstream coffee shops with great chai, great ambiance, hookahs, performances, readings, belly dancing, and a Middle Eastern vibe. Great hangout and get togethers. Good WiFi. Rating: 5 star out of 5.

2017 Update: Unfortunately the Gypsy House Cafe has been closed. Details here http://www.denverpost.com/2016/02/23/gypsy-house-cafe-in-denvers-capitol-hill-to-close-march-14/. Hoping it will come back again.

Gypsy House Cafe (http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=33491). Exploring Denver. Life in Colorado: Chronicle 26 – Chronicles of Sir Thomas Leaf – Adventures in Colorado. Photos taken January 30, 2011. To read the adventures, visit http://www.technogypsie.com/chronicles/?p=29947. To read reviews, visit: www.technogypsie.com/reviews. All photos and articles (c) 2011 Technogypsie.com – by Leaf McGowan and Thomas Baurley. All rights reserved. www.technogypsie.com/photography

Continue reading Gypsy House Cafe (Denver, Colorado)

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share

Faerieworlds Winter 2011 Celebration: “Pirates vs Faeries” Masquerade Ball

Faerieworlds Pirates vs Faeries Ball .

Faerieworlds/Neverworlds Winter Celebration 2011: Pirates vs. Faeries Masquerade Ball
January 29, 2011: McDonald Theater, Eugene, Oregon

One of my favorite dances annually is the Faerieworlds Winter celebrations where they bring together the magical acts of Faerieworlds indoors to the McDonald theater in downtown Eugene, Oregon. Family and friends within the Faerie realms of Oregon, Washington, and beyond come together, dressed to the nines in Faerie and fantasy costumes ready to mesmerize one another in their frolick together. This year was the theme of “Pirates vs. Faeries” as they dance battled the two realms. It was a great display of art, theater, and magic. The magical band “Woodland” enchanted all with their otherworldly music and presence, as well as being hosts to the party. Drinks, festivity, dancing, friends, and family were blended into an amazing night. I was on a bit of jetlag as I soared the skies and roads with a rental car for a 36 hour visit to family coming from Colorado. It was worth every minute. Rating: 5 stars out of 5

Faerieworlds Pirates vs Faeries Ball. Photo by Thomas Baurley / Leaf McGowan / Technogypsie Photography (c) 2011 – www.technoypsie.com/photography – Read the adventure here: http://www.technogypsie.com/chronicles/?p=29943. For more reviews, visit www.technogypsie.com/reviews. Faerieworlds Winter Celebration 2011: Pirates vs. Faeries – http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=33053.

Continue reading Faerieworlds Winter 2011 Celebration: “Pirates vs Faeries” Masquerade Ball

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share

Leisureplex Starbucks – Blanchardstown Center, Dublin, IE

Starbucks (Leisureplex, Blanchardstown, Dublin, Ireland)

It took some instructing, but they evetually got down to memory the making of Chai Creme Frappacino‘s when we came here to do chai n’ wifi.

To read more about the Starbucks Corporation for history, links, and resources visit here: http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=2345.

Continue reading Leisureplex Starbucks – Blanchardstown Center, Dublin, IE

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share

Starbucks (Keizer, OR)

Starbucks (Keizer, Oregon)
2555 Jorie Lane NE
Keizer, OR
503-463-1044

A great location with good service. The Chai Creme Frappacinos were good. Rating: 4 stars out of 5.

Chronicles: http://www.technogypsie.com/chronicles/?p=10537

To read more about the Starbucks Corporation for history, links, and resources visit here: http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=2345.

Continue reading Starbucks (Keizer, OR)

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share

Starbucks – Ashland, Oregon (downtown)

051414-012

Starbucks (Ashland, Oregon)

Right in the heart of downtown Ashland, the Shakespeare Capital of the Pacific Northwest, is this small little cafe nestled amongst the downtown shops. Not much seating, its more or less a walk-and-go location. The staff is friendly and amicable, but because of Ashland’s silly food tax laws, charges taxes on your drinks as does any food place downtown Ashland. The drinks are expensive here. Getting Chai Creme Frappacino‘s here was a common practice for us as we owned a store just down the road. Rating: 2 stars out of 5

To read more about the Starbucks Corporation for history, links, and resources visit here: http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=2345.

Continue reading Starbucks – Ashland, Oregon (downtown)

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share