Category Archives: shoegaze

Fresh (Dublin)

Fresh

* 1 Crown Alley * Temple Bar * Dublin, Ireland * 2 * phone: (01) 671 8423 * http://www.facebook.com/pages/Fresh-Temple-Bar/ *

One of Dublin’s little hotspots for fashion, club wear, and alternative garb … “Fresh” is in the heart of Temple Bar along Crown Alley, and boasts the best of alternative brands for vintage, punk, gothic, mod, street, rock, metal, and raver clothing, accessories, and fashion. Open from 11-6 mondays through saturdays, and sundays from 1 to 5. Great shop, great selection, and for Dublin, one of its finest. Lots of eye candy in the shop and good offers.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share

The Holidays


* April 23, 2011 Concert @ The Transit Bar * Downtown Canberra * ACT * Australia *

While exploring downtown Canberra, I popped into the Transit Bar, underneath where I was staying in the Canberra Hostelling International for a night out downtown. The Holidays, a local Australian band, was just returning from their first ever tour of the United States. Set to go on stage by 8 pm, they had a bit of a late start but rocked the house with some great Indie, Pop, Alternative tunes. They were kicking off their Seven Million Mornings national headline tour beginning with this gig, moving on to Melbourne, then around Australia, and on to Europe. Opening for them were their guest Gold Fields. Rating: 3.4 stars out of 5.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share

Bar 32, Canberra, Australia

Bar 32
* 32 Northbourne Avenue * Canberra, Australia Capital Territory, Australia * (02) 6162 3232 * http://www.bar32.com/

In search of the nightlife in Canberra, I was strongly recommended that Bar 32 was the place to be. We dropped in around 11 pm on a Friday night and it was pretty dead, being the only few individuals in the bar. Looked promising. Tried Saturday night as well, but seems it really doesn’t take off until the wee hours of the night. Bar 32 is the home to the popular club nights of “REV” and “Shakedown” as one of the ACT’s popular nightspots for Indy music, alternative, and classics.

Continue reading Bar 32, Canberra, Australia

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share

6/28/09: Gypsy Nomads and Lunar Fire at Owsleys (Denver)

Lunar Fire and Gypsy Nomads @ Owsley’s on 6/29/09
* 2151 Lawrence Street, Denver, Colorado * 303-296-2844 *
Right in Five Points is a off-center warehouse bar that offers great entertainment. Plenty of parking and a back patio it’s a thriving little concert hall. At first I didn’t think the stage and dancefloor could be spacious enough for the likes of Lunar Fire, but it seemed to work very well. I like the space. First up was the amazing Gypsy Nomads from New York. Amazing rhythmn and drumming. Seeing this band was a wonderful treat. Followed by the stars of the Evening, Lunar Fire with their amazing lyrics, music, mesmerizing dances and theater, spinning cloth, acrobatics, spinning, and ritual. Lunar Fire is by far my favorite band in the state of Colorado. Rating 5 stars out of 5.

Review of the Gypsy Nomads 6/28/09

Review of Lunar Fire 6/28/09 Continue reading 6/28/09: Gypsy Nomads and Lunar Fire at Owsleys (Denver)

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share

Lipgloss 8 year Anniversary Party


Lipgloss Eight Year Anniversary w/ Guest DJ Thieves Like Us
* La Rumba * 99 W. 9th Ave * Denver, Colorado * NO COVER! * 6/26/2009 *http://www.facebook.com/event.php?eid=94455353845&ref=mf
Eight Magical Years has Tyler and Michael brought us magic and frolick on the floors of La Rumba and Denver downtown. So tonight’s their birthday bash for a proud and stomping 8 years! Presented by Eydea Worx, The Onion, Yelp & Denver3 this was a time to celebrate. Partying from Friday, June 26, 2009 at 9:00pm until Saturday, June 27, 2009 at 2:00am the house was crowded with a familiar and excited crowd deep in the midst of a good reason to party! DJ’s boyhollow and Tyler Jacobson combined with their special guest DJ Andy of Thieves Like Us (Paris/Kitsune Records) merged with big screen visuals by An-Ism the audience and patrons were mesmerized with dancing spirit. As there was no cover for the night, the floors packed in by midnight. The birthday also saw into birth their recession special drinks of $3 vodka wells to the $2 PBR’s and Gin/Tonics. Sweet. My place to party. Thanky you Tyler and Michael for 8 amazing years!!!
Rating: 5 stars out of 5.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share

Lipgloss: Pet Shop Boys Listening Party 4/24/09 (Denver)

Lipgloss: Pet Shop Boys Listening Party 4/24/09

http://www.denver3.com/show/detail/20909

Guest DJ Cyren: http://www.myspace.com/iamyoursiren

Lipgloss: Every Friday – 99 W. 9th Ave, Denver, Colorado • 303 -572-8006 • One block west of Broadway • $6 Cover after 10 • 21+ Only • $2 G&Ts • $2 PBRs * www.denver3.com

My all time favorite friday night in Denver is to let loose at the infamous Lipgloss at La Rumba on 9th. This night rewarded a disappointing evening at My Bloody Valentine prior, so the night was not ruined and uplifted to sensational. DJ Cyren was guest dj’ing the “Pet Shop Boys” listening party as the music styles tonight were much more my flavor than usual (though Lipgloss is always my flavor). Cyren’s sets rocked the house. DJ’s Michael Trundle and Tyler Jacobson as usual spun their usual levels of pleasure. It was a fabulous night to say the least. Thank you all for changing the tune to my evening. I’m never disappointed with Lipgloss. The Denver3 team always promises what they preach. If only I “lived” in Denver would I be more of a regular. “Lipgloss” – Denver’s hottest Mod/Soul/Electro/Indie Brit pop night springs to life every friday night: Free cover before 10 pm, and $2 gin wells and PBR’s … The Staff of La Rumba were incredible and affordable strong drinks. The DJ’s were fantastic and addressed inquiries and requests quickly and very friendly – knowing their stuff, I’d recommend them for any event. Thank you! Rating: 5 stars out of 5.
Lipgloss Official Pics from the Event start here …. A few previous Lipgloss Reviews: [ “Lipgloss” @ Club La Rumba: Late of the Pier Listening Party 2/6/09 ] [ Lipgloss 7/18/08 ] [ Lipgloss 12/15/06 ] [ Lipgloss 8/1/08 ]


Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share

My Bloody Valentine (Denver 4/24/09)


press release photo from their myspace page

My Bloody Valentine

Fillmore Auditorium * 1510 Clarkson, Denver, Colorado * 4/24/09 * 8 PM
http://www.mybloodyvalentine.co.uk/


I couldn’t agree more with my friend Alyx’s review of this show with the opening of “My Bloody Ears” which certainly wraps up the concert in a nutshell. I think I’ll continue admiring this band from afar and their CD’s, never again for a live concert. Don’t get me wrong, I love this band like there is no tomorrow, but the stacks upon stacks of speakers and woofers broadcasting blaring solid noise that decays your innards for over 30 minutes my friends is not music, it’s pollution, and detrimental to life. Not my thing. I wound up leaving early in the middle of their 30 minute noise-blast as I couldn’t take it any longer. Even with the ear plugs (Thank you Noah for insisting I wear them).

So after 16 years of absence, My Bloody Valentine reunited in 2008 that led them on a world tour with shows in Europe, Japan, and the U.S.A. They hit Coachella this year in Indio California, the All Tomorrow’s Parties festival in New York, and this show at the Filmore in Denver. Tickets went for $40 each, but were being scalped for $5 in front of the theater the night of the show. Hundreds of free tickets were given out free last minute thereby cheating those who paid for them. My Bloody Valentine is originally from Dublin, Ireland and phenomenally known as one of the world’s best shoegazer bands serving the shoegazing, post-punk, noise pop, dream pop, and experimental musical realms. Formed by Kevin Shields and drummer Colm Ó Cíosóig, combined with Bilinda Butcher and bassist Debbie Googe; in Dublin in 1984 they predominantly played in London. They were active from 1984 until 1997, seeing a hiatus, and coming back together in 2007 until the present. As their popularity grew through the years, they experimented with distortion, pitch bending, and digital reverb creating the sound known as “shoegazing”. Their 1991 album “Loveless” found funding difficulties in its creation for two years, but once it was released they became critically acclaimed. They’ve been signed with the labels of Tycoon, Lazy, Creation Records, Sony, and Sire. Shortly after Loveless they disappeared until 2007 when they announced their reunion and new music.

For this performance, the Filmore was decently packed, but plenty of room to wander about. The noise level whas phenomenally a nightmare however. I give the band itself on its CD’s a 4 rating, but this performance simply a 1 star out of 5 equating to horrible. Turn down the damn noise!

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share