Category Archives: Bars

Denver SantaCon 2016

Denver SantaCon 2016

Denver SantaCon 2016
~ Begin Union Station to Black Shirt brewery via Rail to Thirsty Lion to La Boheme to Wazee Supper Club, Denver, Colorado
https://www.facebook.com/events/1284973781560458/1337087499682419/ ~

Story coming soon …

Denver SantaCon 2016 ( http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=29647) – New Life in Colorado: Chronicle 26 – Chronicles of Sir Thomas Leaf and Prince Cian. Adventures in Colorado. Photos taken December 23, 2016. To read the adventures, visit http://www.technogypsie.com/chronicles/?p=21965. To read reviews, visit: www.technogypsie.com/reviews. All photos and articles (c) 2015/2016 Technogypsie.com – by Leaf McGowan and Thomas Baurley. All rights reserved. www.technogypsie.com/photography

Print Friendly
Share

Pretty Vacant Club, Dusseldorf, Germany


The Pretty Vacant


The Pretty Vacant Club * Mertensgasse 8 * D-40213 Düsseldorf * Open 8 til late (5 am) * http://www.prettyvacant.de/
Saturday nights: The Sound’s of Swingin’ London.

A great little hole-in-the-wall club and bar in the heart of the old town district of Dusseldorf. Around 10 pm, this little bar becomes infested with the Brit-pop crowd of Dusseldorf piling down into the bricked basement for a crunchy sardine-packed dance night to some of the cities best post-punk, brit pop, UK indie, and electropop. Fabulous time. The music was great and the drinks were good. Service was great as well. Spinning great tunes by the DJ’s: 1. sa: POPMISSILE F1-11; 2. sa: POP GOES MY LOVE; 3-4. sa: FISH’N’CHIPS. For any Brit Pop / Post Punk junkie … this is the place to be in Dusseldorf. Excellent! Rating: 4 stars out of 5.

Photos are copyrighted and cannot be reproduced without permission of authors Tom Baurley or Leaf McGowan. Photos can be purchased via Technogypsie.com at Technogypsie Photography Services for nominal use fees. Restaurants, Businesses, Bands, Performances, Venues, and Reviews can request a re-review if they do not like the current review or would like to have a another review done. If you are a business, performer, musician, band, venue, or entity that would like to be reviewed, you can also request one (however, travel costs, cost of service (i.e. meal or event ticket) and lodging may be required if area is out of reviewer’s base location at time of request).

These reviews are done by the writer at no payment unless it is a requested review and the costs for travel, service, and lodging was covered – in which case, expenditure reimbursement will not affect review rating or content. If you enjoy this review and want to see more, why not buy our reviewer a drink to motivate them to write more? or help cover the costs they went through to do this review?






Print Friendly
Share

Kas Bah, Dusseldorf, Germany


Kas Bah


Kas Bah * Rheinort 2 * 40213 Düsseldorf, DE * Telefon: 0211 / 8693888 * .Öffnungszeiten: Mo – Do, 12:00 – 01:00 Uhr; Fr – Sa, 12:00 – open end; So, 12:00 – 01:00 Uhr; .Happy Hour: Mo – So: 17:00 – 20:00 Uhr *

http://www.bartime.de/location.kasbah.9.456.html

A great little Morroccon cafe in the heart of old town Dusseldorf. My visit to this decent-sized place was with some local friends I was visited as we were looking for a quiet place to chat and catch up before making a night out on the town. Some of the cities finest cocktails, desserts, and bar-time snacks can be found here. An incredible ambience, hospitable staff, and a great place to hang out while visiting this famous city. A must visit location. While I can’t comment on the food as the only item I personally ordered was the hot chocolate with a shot a bailey’s Irish cream, I’ve been told the menu items here are fabulous. Rating: 4 stars out of 5.

Photos are copyrighted and cannot be reproduced without permission of authors Tom Baurley or Leaf McGowan. Photos can be purchased via Technogypsie.com at Technogypsie Photography Services for nominal use fees. Restaurants, Businesses, Bands, Performances, Venues, and Reviews can request a re-review if they do not like the current review or would like to have a another review done. If you are a business, performer, musician, band, venue, or entity that would like to be reviewed, you can also request one (however, travel costs, cost of service (i.e. meal or event ticket) and lodging may be required if area is out of reviewer’s base location at time of request).

These reviews are done by the writer at no payment unless it is a requested review and the costs for travel, service, and lodging was covered – in which case, expenditure reimbursement will not affect review rating or content. If you enjoy this review and want to see more, why not buy our reviewer a drink to motivate them to write more? or help cover the costs they went through to do this review?






Print Friendly
Share

DC’s 11th annual Goth Prom

Thursday, 22 May 2008
Washington, D.C.

11th annual D.C. Goth Prom “Under a Milky Way” * Town Danceboutique * 2009 8th Strett NW | Washington, DC 20009 * http://www.gothpromdc.com/


11th Annual Goth Prom, Washington, D.C. 5/22/08

After the National Geographic Live and private reception, I headed over to my ‘first’, while DC’s 11th, Goth Prom which is apparently the longest running Goth Prom in the United States. They even had a Prom King and Queen contest. Prior to this event, I was under the impression that DC really didn’t have a sizeable Goth community (based on last two years fly-ins to D.C. and checking out the scene) but I have to say, after this event – the population exists and the support for the night appeared to be pretty phenomenal. I might have to add this one to my annual calendar of events I go out of my way to attend (of course given time off work and funds). This year it was held at the Town Dancboutique, a two floored club with large levels and plenty of room to dance and move about. The event was $15 advanced tickets or $20 at the door, and that didn’t stop the place from filling up. A wide assortment of DJ’s were spinning on both floors – such as Scary Lady Sarah (Berlin, Chicago – Nocturna); DJ Spider (Charlotte, NC); Kelowna (Toronto-XM Satellite, chiarOscuro DC); Liebchen (DC Midnight, XUBERX); 2501 (Chronos DC, Alchemy DC); Dirty B; Shade (Spellbound DC, Alchemy DC); variety acts such as Cheeky Monkey slideshow performing her Amazing Trinket and MabJustMab acts (including glass walking); bellydancing and gothic tribal upstairs including Cerastes (tribal/industrial dance), Romka (tribal fusion bellydance), and others. Vendors ranged from custom made prom corsages and boutonnieres by Lost Moth; to custom art pieces by Arty4ever, wire jewelry by Eleanor Justice, horror kitsch illustrations and paintings by Frozen Charlotte, clothing and accessories by Dry Tear, Creepy home decor by Morbid Decor, Kilts by The Kilted Nation, custom latex/rubber clothing by Slyx, John Holmes of Bloodrose Industries fashion photography, custom hats and accessories by Peacock Blue, handmade beaded jewelry by Camille DeWalder, and custom t-shirt dsigns by Mind Jacket Designs. The music, talent, decor, acts, and performances were incredible. Drinks a bit higher end priced. Excellent job Lori Beth and all who put this on!!! Plus it was excellent to see my new friends from earlier this year Sarah and Alex who as usual, made me feel right at home as if I lived in D.C. Thank you. Goth prom are slowly putting up pictures in their Gallery here. Rating 5 stars out of 5. Visited 5/22/2008.

* apologies for the lack of quality of pictures for this evening. These were taken from my cell phone camera (no flash) as my camera was out of commission for the evening.

Continue reading DC’s 11th annual Goth Prom

Print Friendly
Share

Chrome: Transit Bar, Canberra, Australia

Chrome Goth Night
* Transit Bar * http://www.gothclublist.com/details/chrome.html * 7 AKUNA ST *
Canberra, Australia Capital Territory, Australia * P 02 6162 0899 * http://transitbar.com.au/ * ?

Eager for some darksome and divine music, I hunted out what could lie beneath the underground of Australia’s capital city … Canberra. A Google search provided promising tales of “Chrome” but came to realize upon arriving it’s night at the “Holy Grail” had vanished without a trace. Knowing that echoes of chatter that it was still located near the corners of Akuna and Bunda streets, we discovered it moved down the street to the infamous underground club … the Transit Bar, located underneath the Canberra YHA. From 9 pm until 5 am, Canberra’s only goth night raises the dead with their EBM, Industrial and dark elektro tunes with some goth on monday nights (instead of the previous saturdays). Video projections, laser lights, and good music was had. Oddly though, the bar was still quite normal with their casually dressed local bar patrons, but up towards the stage in the dance floor were alitter with some finely costumed gothy and cyber dressed dancers. Coming from North America and Germany goth clubs where everyone usually dresses up in their finest black garments, it was a little difficult getting used to the mix of color and normality into this cache of a music club treasure grove one is used to finding when searching for it in most cities. Oddly though, the music was not so industrial and gothic, but more darksome Burning Man raver music. Enjoyed none-the-less and eye candy galore, me and my host had a splendid time. Realizing the night has setup shop in this new location from their fabled old locale, not 100% sure if the night is still happening at the transit bar … could be completely “transit”-ional. Rating: 2.3 stars out of 5. ~ Leaf McGowan, April 25, 2011.

For more photos, tales, and information: Continue reading Chrome: Transit Bar, Canberra, Australia

Print Friendly
Share

The Phoenix Flea Market (Canberra, Australia)


The Phoenix Flea Market
* Phoenix * 21 East Row * Canberra, Australia Capital Territory, Australia * * 2601 * (02) 6247 1606 * http://www.lovethephoenix.com/ *

The Irish ultra-cool hip hangout in Canberra, Australia known as the “Phoenix” celebrates its connection with the arts and alternative culture by hosting a sunday Flea Market where vendors can come and sell their art, creations, wares, used goods, and treasures. Its a definite trendy move for alternative bars and establishments today to have a market once in a while, monthly, or even weekly. I’ve become a great fan of these moves by venues as I think it is an extroadinary motion on their behalf – supporting the arts, community, local culture, alternative subcultures, and home based merchants. I feel the Phoenix has a great potential with their market and idea. During our participation in the market, unfortunately due to a bus strike during Easter sunday weekend, we were the only participating vendors and clientele was at a minimum. We still had a blast, good time socializing, and face painting. Visited 4/24/2011. Reviewed 11/15/2011 by Leaf McGowan, technogypsie.com.

Photos are copyrighted and cannot be reproduced without permission of authors Tom Baurley or Leaf McGowan. Photos can be purchased via Technogypsie.com at Technogypsie Photography Services for nominal use fees. Restaurants, Businesses, Bands, Performances, Venues, and Reviews can request a re-review if they do not like the current review or would like to have a another review done. If you are a business, performer, musician, band, venue, or entity that would like to be reviewed, you can also request one (however, travel costs, cost of service (i.e. meal or event ticket) and lodging may be required if area is out of reviewer’s base location at time of request).

These reviews are done by the writer at no payment unless it is a requested review and the costs for travel, service, and lodging was covered – in which case, expenditure reimbursement will not affect review rating or content. If you enjoy this review and want to see more, why not buy our reviewer a drink to motivate them to write more? or help cover the costs they went through to do this review?






Print Friendly
Share

The Phoenix, Canberra

The Phoenix
* 21 East Row * Canberra, Australia Capital Territory, Australia * 2601 * (02) 6247 1606 * http://www.lovethephoenix.com/ *

Although this amazing Irish Pub is one of the few bars/pubs I visited while in Canberra, it is by far my favorite. Introduced to me by Sir Bluey, the place was like home to me when I wandered Canberra on my own, and while hanging with Bluey in downtown Canberra. The Phoenix has been serving Canberra for over 16 years and undoubtedly has the best pints in town, a great festive atmosphere, and a unique decorated environment. It has a very home-like hang-out feel and charm, with real character and art within its dark interior and welcoming couches, chairs, sofas, and tables to relax at. Unlike many Irish pubs, the Phoenix doesn’t buy into the plastic leprechauns and tacky green icons that so many do, it has its own style and decor with odd antiques, mysterious art, and historic wooden furniture. They have a wide selection of beers and ciders, from foreign to local brews, including Kilkenny, Guinness, Magners, and Murphys as well as a stocked bar. They also host quite a few bands and local entertainment. They have stand-up nights called “Bootleg Night” and on various sundays, have a arts and crafts market. What a wonderful pub! Rating: 5 stars out of 5. Visited 4/21/11, 4/22/11, 4/23/11.

Continue reading The Phoenix, Canberra

Print Friendly
Share

Thunderdome @ Burning Man 2010

Thunderdome / Death Guild
* Burning Man * Black Rock City, Nevada * http://www.deathguildthunderdome.com/ *

Every year many Burners look forward to the infamous “Thunderdome”, the interactive art project of San Francisco’s famed “Death Guild”. It is one of Burning Man’s most famous landmarks and one of its most exciting projects/theme camps. Operating for 6 years straight, Burners come to expect Death Guild every year. Inspired by the movie “Mad Max: Beyond the Thunderdome” (starring Tina Turner and Mel Gibson as Mad Max), “Thunderdome” is a life-sized replica of the same named structure as found in the film. “Two man enter, one man leave” is not really the case here at the Burn, as only friends and friendly-foes who are looking forward to venting some frustration by battling each other with nerf bats while dangling and swinging off bungy cords. All the audience pile around the edge of the dome and climb the rafters to watch the sometimes extremely hillarious battles that take place. Afterwords, it is often a late night Goth/Industrial dance club. Not much activity takes place during the day, but evening it is a very crowded area of the playa. Rating: 5 stars out of 5.

Continue reading Thunderdome @ Burning Man 2010

Print Friendly
Share

DV8 (Vancouver, BC)

Dv8
515 Davie Street
Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 1N3

A underground-styled hang out joint popular amongst the hip Vancouverite scene. Good food, slow service, but an excellent place to hang out if you are interested in hanging out. Comes with an art gallery which changes every week or two displaying some of Vancouver’s best alternative artwork. With a serving station styled after a djbooth you can find some of the most intriguing and raunchy named drinks you can think of off its menu. The food has the same flavor. It’s an excellent venue.

Rated: **** 1/2

DV8

Continue reading DV8 (Vancouver, BC)

Print Friendly
Share

Lotus (BC)

NOTE: AS OF 2011 WE ARE UNAWARE OF THE OPERATIONAL STATUS OF THE LOTUS. PLEASE CONTAT ESTABLISHMENT BEFORE ATTENDING THESE EVENTS. IF EVENTS ARE NO LONGER IN OPERATION, THIS IS A NOSTALGIA REVIEW POST.

Lotus Sound Lounge

455 Abbott Street
Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 1C8
604.685.7777
Vancouver, British Columbia
Yahoo Maps!
ClubVibes Details

Rated **1/2 by Leaf McGowan.

                       
  
Lotus Sound Lounge

Continue reading Lotus (BC)

Print Friendly
Share

Purple Onion

NOTE: THE PURPLE ONION NO LONGER EXISTS. THE CLUB CLOSED DOWN. THIS IS NOW JUST A NOSTALGIC REVIEW PIECE FROM THE PAST.

the Purple Onion Cabaret
* 15 Water Street * Gas town –Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 1A1 * 604.602.9442 * www.purpleonion.com *

Mondays

Vancouver’s only underground Brit Night – radiohead, blur, suede, bowie, clash. DJ Sheriff Fatman and ken Bastard. Real Brit. No Sh*t. 60’s Brit Invasion, psychedelica and soul in other lounge: DJ Lee Modern spins The Who, the impressions, and the Byrds.

Tuesdays

Available for private parties.

Wednesdays

Freebasing Funk shooting soul with residents Djs Lush and Stephane.

Thursdays

The afterlife entertainment presents pure O2, DJ Ali (Leaf Recordings and Fresh Studios), funky ass house, Vancouver, and a variety of other shows.

Fridays

Sugar and Spice, blending hip hop, RnB, and Club hits, DJ Relik and DJ LDB with MC Tropiq. DJs Roger Z and Andre Drop the sweet sounds of downtempo house and hip hop complimenting the funkiest in live acts.

Saturdays

Platinum with resident DJ’s Seanski (Bronx, NY) and WAX (DMC Champ) the jams are bumpin all night long. Hip Hop / Top 40 Dance / RnB.

Sundays

Sanctuary: Vancouver’s Darkest Secret. Etheral Beauty, Downtempo, Experimental electronix, Crunchy Beats, EBM Electro Industrial Synthpop and loads more. DJ Pandemonium and Guests.

Continue reading Purple Onion

Print Friendly
Share

Club 23 West: Sin City (Vancouver, B.C.)

Club 23 West

23 West Cordova, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 1C8
Vancouver, British Columbia
Yahoo Maps!
ClubVibes Details

Rated *****

EVENTS:

SIN CITY:

Clubvibes.com description: “Sin City is a monthly club night dedicated to the truly kinky club demons of Vancouver and takes place monthly on every second Saturday of the month at Club 23 West. Cover is $9 without a pass, $6 with passes which can be found at many downtown locations. In addition to the dancefloor, drink specials and antics of DJs Pandemonium & Klaxxon bangin’ out dark n’ dirty retro, electronika, industrial & dance, we offer a seperate play dungeon complete with friendly monitors, lovely sturdy black & cushioned bondage equipment with plenty of couches & viewing space, and a private, outdoor patio looking over Gastown’s blood alley. We enforce a very strict dress code which must be adhered to in order to gain access to the celebration of sin! Absolutely no t-shirts (unless fetish-related) will be admitted, jeans, suits, or streetwear of any kind. Some examples of acceptable dress are: rubber, pvc, vinyl, leather, full uniform, fantasy or period costume, armour, cross-dress, bondage, body paint, and lingerie. Sin City is a cross-over night with all sorts of people and scenes coming together to celebrate a truly sinful party – young, old, gay, straight, fetish veterans, newcomers, partiers, loungers, we all come together once a month to party in high style. “ (Leaf’s virtual tourist page)

Continue reading Club 23 West: Sin City (Vancouver, B.C.)

Print Friendly
Share

The Element (Vancouver, B.C.)

the Element

Cambie Street
Vancouver, British Columbia
Rated ***1/2

Gas Town Inn - Element Pub

Thursday, 11/8/01:
” I hailed down a cab and headed over to the Element on Cambie / Hastings, by the Cambie Hotel. I wasn’t quite sure if I was in the right place, but as I walked in past a restaurant kitchen, back into the dank and dark pub – I saw horror movie and haunted house tacky decor … with a sprawled sign stating I was in “the Element”. I saw Melissa, gave her a hug, and chatted – headed over to Bernie and gave her a hug and wished her “Happy Birthday” as I handed her a gift and watched as she enchanted “the Element” with her dj magic. Chilled out to a couple of drinks with Bernie as other friends appeared and wished her birthday blessings. The element had a intriguing decor of a haunted house with the top pseudo-balcony covered with Halloween stuffed beings and macabre decor. Green fake ferns and air plants sprawled along the ceiling – the evening had great music but lacked numbers of individuals, and at this point, no one dancing. Then came in Jeffy, and two other friends I met previously at a Halloween party – they recognized me without my green makeup and faery wings. We all grabbed a table and chatted away through the night, discussing Skinny Puppy, how we wished we were at the Tori Amos concert, the Survivor series, and other elements of news going on in the world. As I partied with my friend Bernie at the Element and was woo’ed by her dj’ing with excellent 80’s, dance, and Industrial mixes – as the clock struck 12, I decided to head back to Seymour street for a little dancing at my favorite hotspot on Thursdays … Luvafair. The drinks are pricey here but created with pizazz and a good kick. Music was excellent, just lacked the people to fully utilize the dance floor. By the time I was planning on leaving, a handful had started to dance.”

Continue reading The Element (Vancouver, B.C.)

Print Friendly
Share

Burning Man

Burning Man Festival
Black Rock City, Nevada

Burning Man is a week long arts and entertainment, sustainable and self-reliance festival that occurs every year embracing Labor Day. From 1986 until 1989 there was a Summer Solstice bonfire ritual held on Baker Beach in San Francisco by Larry Harvey, Jerry James, and their friends. Here they claimed, not inspired by the “Wicker Man” movie (they state they hadn’t seen it before their party), they would burn a 8-9 foot tall wooden man with his smaller wooden dog, and they did this not for Pagan offerings, but rather as an experiment in art, community, radical self expression and reliance. Apparently Larry’s girlfriend Janet Lohr’s friend, Sculptor Mary Grauberger had been throwing Baker Beach bonfire parties prior to Larry picking it up after she stopped organizing them. By 1987 the “Man” was 15 feet tall and by 1988 at a whopping 40 feet height making it much more of a concern on the beach to the authorities. They eventually called their event “Burning Man”. Because they didn’t have a permit for such a fire on the beach, they had to relocate, and in 1990 a separate event was put on by Kevin Evans and John Law of the Cacaphony Society in the Black Rock Desert on its large dry lake. They billed it as a dadaist event with temporary sculptures and situationist performance art called “Zone Trip #4: A Bad Day at Black Rock”. The Baker Beach Burn “Burning Man” event, after having been kicked off the beach, dissassembled their “Man” and brought it to “Zone Trip #4” just in time for the event. One of the Cacophonists in attendance, Michael Mikel, concerned that the attendees would not be familiar with the harshness of the desert environment, took on the name “Danger Ranger” and formed the “Black Rock Rangers” to make sure everyone was safe. It was here in 1990 that Black Rock City and “Burning Man” was founded. Word spread about the event and people from all over the world started to flock to this desert event. It was assembled of participants only with no paid or scheduled performers/artists, no separation from art space and living space, and no other rules except not to interfere with another’s experience and no guns were allowed in central camp. In 1991 they filed for a legal permit with the Bureau of Land Management evolving to a formal partnership in 1996 for them to own the name “Burning Man”. 1997 Saw the biggest changes in structure to the event when the remaining organizers formed the Black Rock City, LLC after John Law, Kevin Evans, and others left. As the BLM refused a permit for the event, it was moved to “Fly Ranch” that adjoined the Hualapai Flat mini dry lake bed. Since the event moved to Washoe County permitting, more heightened rules and laws were enacted, banning driving of non-mutant or service vehicles and guns, imposing a low speed limit of 5 mph for art cars, a imposed curved grid street structure, no campfires or tiki torches, all burnt art must be on approved burn platforms, bans on fireworks, firearms, and dogs. It was also then that a 7 mile long temporary plastic fence to be erected to surround the event as a 4 foot high “trash fence” to catch wind blown debris. After 2002, no attendees of the event could go beyond this fence. In 2006 was the first time that Burning Man was covered extensively by television, which continued as “TV Free Burning Man” from 2006-2008, and the coverage nominated for a news Emmy Award in 2007.

The man remained 40 feet tall until 1995. By 1997 it reached 50 feet, and by 2001 at 70 feet, from 2002-2004 at 80 feet tall, Then was reduced in size from 2005 until 2008 when it was pumped back up to 84 feet, and at an amazing 104 feet by 2010. In 2007 a well known prankster named Paul Addis set the Man on fire four days ahead of the schedule and was arrested for the incident. The Burning Man crew was able to still erect a replacement effigy in time for the scheduled burn. By 2010 it reached an attendance population of over 51,454 recorded paid participants. Burning Man attendees nickname themselves “Burners”. The festival is based on community, artwork, absurdity, decommodification, revelry, participation, self-awareness, self-reliance, and self-sustainability. In those regards, it has nothing to do with the modern Hippie movement even though the un-knowledgable compare the two as being the same. Burning Man is governed by 10 principles – (1) radical inclusion, (2) gifting, (3) decommodification, (4) radical self-reliance, (5) radical self-expression, (6) communal effort, (7) civic responsibility, (8) leaving no trace, (9) participation, and (10) immediacy. Burning man is a “gifting economy” in like to the tribal potlach ceremony, and relies on the unconditional “gifting” of resources. No cash transactions are permitted between attendees of the event (though the event will charge for entrance tickets (pays for event), daily ice (benefits the local Gerlach-Empire school system), tea and coffee (benefits the event) for those wanting it). The event is clothing-optional and nudity is very common. Once in the event you are highly discouraged from leaving. A re-entry wristband costs a high price if one needs to exit and re-enter. Portable toilets are throughout the event, a temporary airstrip/airport is setup along the event boundary, hospitals and law enforcement stations are setup throughout the city, as is ice stations. All attendees are responsible for bringing their own food and water as none can be guaranteed to be obtained elsewhere in the city. The Event is “Leave No Trace” and all attendees are expected to collet M.O.O.P. (Matter out of place) when observed. All attendees are expected to participate as much as possible, no water is permitted to be drained on the playa and much be either evaporated in a drain field or ported out when attendees leave, no fires without approved burning platforms, and observance of US and Navada federal, state, and local laws. Every year a different theme transforms the event. Art and entertainment, is centered around these themes each year. Numerous registered and un-registered theme camps are all around the city, including over 100 bars, and numerous art or mutant vehicles parade around the playa during the days and nights. Otherwise many participants have their own transportation with bicycles that they bring to the event. Some art is funded by ticket sales through art grants. In addition to the “Man”, a giant “Temple” is constructed and burnt on the last night of the event culminating ritual and interfaith spiritual offerings, prayers, sacrifice, and observance in its participation.

Leaf’s personal photos from Burning Man 2008; Burning Man 2010 (coming soon).

Continue reading Burning Man

Print Friendly
Share

Dominion (Dublin, Ireland)

Dominion Resurrection
* Cellar of Murrays Bar * 33-34 O’Connell Street, Dublin 1, Ireland *
Every Saturday from 9.30 pm – 2.30 am in the cellar of the sports bar called “Murrays” is Ireland’s premiere and only Goth night. Only €3 until 11, afterwards €6 to enter. Darksome and divine, this small little hole is comfortable and roomie for those interested in the sub-culture to gather and dance their night away. I was quite curious how the Goth scene would be in Ireland and was quite pleased to hear some great music. The music was diverse from 80’s to electronic, goth, industrial, to medieval. The particular night I visited on July 3, 2010 – DJ’s Conor, Ozzy aka David Osborn, and Beo aka Christoph Heimann were playing. Good times. Good tunes. However, it was under-attended. There was about a dozen there and they all knew one another. It would appear a bit cliche’ish to those who are shy as I am (until I get to know people I’m actually a shy wallflower) so I’m just as guilty for not having made an attempt to make friends. Having to be at the airport at 4 am, I decided to call it an early night. But I’ll be back. Rating: 3.5 stars out of 5.

Print Friendly
Share

The Pale Pub


The Pale
* 13 High Street * Dublin 2 * Dublin, Ireland * (01) 6773207 * www.thepalepub.com *

A pit stop ino this two-story pub in the heart if the Medieval district for some traditional Irish pub fare. The staff is very friendly, the pub spacious, and for an afternoon/early evening not too crowded on a weekday. The main bartender was quite witty. Some say he’s kissed the Blarney Stone. I sat atop upstairs. Upstairs its decorated like a sportsbar which is not so much of my preference but that was fine. Food was good and service great. Rating: 3.5 stars out of 5.

Print Friendly
Share

Dublin City Pub Crawl

Dublin City Pub Crawl
* Meet at At The Porterhouse Central, 45-47 Nassau Street, at the end of Grafton Street near Trinity College
* 47 Nassau St * Dublin 2, Co. Dublin, Ireland * 086 864 3270 * http://www.facebook.com/thedublincitypubcrawl/ * http://www.thedublincitypubcrawl.com/ *

The first time I ever did a (paid)(business) pub crawl in Europe, it was in Amsterdam and I was very impressed. I’ve done numerous “party” pub crawls, usually with a theme – pirates, santas, zombies, or what-not with a community of friends but seldom do I do one to get to know a city as I’m usually the explore on my own type. Having had such a great experience with the Amsterdam one, I figured Dublin would be pretty fabulous. A couple of issues here however for me – I’m not a beer drinker (only wine and mixed drinks), I’m not much into pubs and bars (more nightclubs where dancing is available), and I definitely don’t really care for mainstream establishments. So any paid “Pub Crawl” has alot to compete with to charm me. However, for those that do love pubs, these are usually the beast that you want to ride when travelling to a new city and wanting to get to know what the nightlife is and make friends with fellow travellers. The other conditions for the night that affected my experience as well is – I attended on a week night (Thursday night) (and no matter where in the world you are venturing, weeknights are more dead than weekend nights) and I attempted to go on the Backpacker’s Pub Crawl prior to showing up at this one which left me and 3 others hanging with no one showing up to tell us it was cancelled. The 4 of us from the Backpacker Pub Tour no show wandered over to the Porterhouse to see if we could still get into the Dublin City Pub Crawl. A charming young woman was our guide and host. So even though there were only 4 of us (5 including the guide) we were going to make the best of it. She was an excellent host and guide. She knew her establishments and her drinks. So first off, lets rate the Guide as a top 5 out of 5 Guides. However the tour dynamics itself were poor. There was a free drink at the Porterhouse, and free cover at one of the clubs, but overall not much given out (unlike Amsterdam’s crawl – which is not fair to compare to so I won’t let it affect my rating). It was poorly attended and not many friends to be made (again, A Thursday). For €15 its a good deal and way to get to know nightlife Dublin. Discounts exist in ad racks at the hostels. They take you to four pubs and then a late bar/ dance club at the end of the journey. 15% off all food at the Porterhouse Central (be there by 8 to order), free appetizers in the 2nd pub, free Irish beer sampling, and discounted drinks at some establishments ( €4 pints; €5 cocktails; and a (to pay) option for pouring your own pint of Guinness off tap). Some of the establishments have live traditional Irish music, free VIP entry into Dandelion Night Club which was a fun little mainstream club. Tour Guide: Rated 5 stars out of 5. Tour: 3.5 stars out of 5.

Continue reading Dublin City Pub Crawl

Print Friendly
Share

Jameson Distillery – Dublin

Jameson Distillery
* 7 Bow Street * Dublin 7, Co. Dublin, Ireland * 01 807 2355 * http://www.jamesonwhiskey.com/ *

Irish Whiskey is the bloodstream of the Irish. Of course the most traditional of which is Bushmills. However Bushmill’s up and coming, modern edge and adapting to the future tastes of the world is Jameson Irish Whiskey which was introduced in 1780. Jameson Irish Whiskey is a single distillery whiskey produced by a division of the famous Absinthe distillers “Pernod Ricard”. They focus on the “single distillery” principle as opposed to the “single malt” tradition, yet combines malted barley with unmalted or ‘green’ barley giving credence to their infamous ‘pure pot still’ distillation tradition. They take locally grown barley, sourced within a 50 mile radius of the Cork distillery, dry it in a closed kiln fired by clean-burning anthracite coal to preserve the flavor, and triple distilled for optimum smoothness for balance in hat no one flavor will over power the other thus creating a sweet tasting whiskey. The Company was started by John Jameson as the “Bow Street Distillery” in Dublin in 1780. James was a Scottsman who had married into a Scotch whiskey family – the Steins. James began one of the six main Dublin Whiskeys to be produced, even though Jameson today is distilled in Cork and some vatting takes place in Dublin, with distillery tours held in both cities. Jameson boasts of annual sales of over 31 million bottles and holds the record for being the third largest single distillery whiskey in the world and the best selling Irish Whiskey in the world. The Jameson Distillery tour was 5 times better than the Bushmills Distillery Tour, and much more worth your money. It also includes a whiskey tasting at the end and unlike Bushmills, Jameson with its modern edge explorations, highly encourage you to mix your whiskey with other elements to explore the diversity of taste, sensation, and change of consciousness …. Rating: 5 stars out of 5.

They produce:

  • Jameson Original
  • Jameson 12 Year Old Special Reserve (Formerly known as Jameson 1780)
  • Jameson 12 Year Old Distillery Reserve
  • Jameson Gold Reserve
  • Jameson 18 Year Old Limited Reserve
  • Jameson Rarest Vintage Reserve
  • Jameson Signature Reserve

Continue reading Jameson Distillery – Dublin

Print Friendly
Share

Brazenhead Pub Dublin


The Brazen Head, Dublin, Ireland

The Brazenhead
* 20 Lower Bridge Street * Dublin 8 * Telephone: +353 (0) 1 6779549 / 6795186 * www.brazenhead.com *
The pub professes to be the oldest Pub in Dublin. The site of the pub dates to 1198 as some sort of public house. The building itself is from 1688 and may have been preceded by numerous taverns, one after another, as it is a good location for them. There are alot of old history surrounding the building from the piece of graffiti where John Langan etched his name and date. Michael Collins and Wolfe Tone met here. This is considered to be one of Ireland’s traditional Irish pubs. A hangout of tourists as well as locals, and legal professionals, he pub has live folk music sessions there almost nightly. It is believed to be a haunted pub wih apparitions wandering about. One of which is believed to be Robert Emmet. James Joyce, Brendan Behan, Jonathan Swift, Robert Emmet, Wolfe Tone, Daniel O’Connell, Van Morrison, Hothouse Flowers, Mary Black, Garth Brooks, and Michael Collins have hung out here.

Continue reading Brazenhead Pub Dublin

Print Friendly
Share

Farrington’s Pub of Temple Bar (Dublin)

Farrington’s Pub of Temple Bar
* 28 Essex St E * Dublin 2, Co. Dublin, Ireland * 01 671 5135 * http://www.thesmithgroup.ie/farringtons/index.html *

A late night meal with some friends after a crazy road trip around Ireland found fellowship, cheers, and relaxation at the Farrington’s Pub in Temple Bar. Even though we arrived late to the upper restaurant/bar and was just about the cease food serving, they found patience to take care of us as most of our party settled in on the Traditional Irish breakfast for dinner. A very pleasant pub mixing style of a Victorian bar with elements over 120 years old downstairs and a modern comfortable lounge on the 2nd floor, this unique pub is located in the heart of Dublin’s Temple Bar district and is named after the character “Farrington” in Jame Joyce’s “The Dubliners”. The pub is open mondays through thursdays from 10:30 to 23:30, and fridays and saturdays from 10:30 until 2:30, and sundays from 12:30 until 23:00. In addition to pub dining, they have luxury accommodation available in 5 ensuite bedrooms upstairs.

Continue reading Farrington’s Pub of Temple Bar (Dublin)

Print Friendly
Share

Hunter’s Bar (Ballyvoy, Northern Ireland)

Hunter’s Bar
106 Cushendall Road * Ballyvoy * County Antrim * BT54 6RA * Tel: 02820 762343
Our road trip along the Causeway brought us to dine at this large pub/restaurant along the Coastal causeway north of Belfast. The service was friendly, though poorly attended as it seemed much was going on elsewhere in the bar. The foot was mediocre … but your typical pub fare. I got the fish n’ chips, and it was average. Good cider. Staff was friendly. Appeared to be a local’s hangout. Rating: 2 stars out of 5.

Continue reading Hunter’s Bar (Ballyvoy, Northern Ireland)

Print Friendly
Share

Hard Rock Cafe Dublin

Hard Rock Dublin
* 12 Fleet Street, Dublin, Co. Dublin City – 01 6717777 * www.hardrock.com *
I’ll be honest … I’m not a big fan of chains or Hard Rock Cafes. The only time I usually enter one is when I’m with friends who are fans … such as was the case for my visit to the Dublin one. The setup for these cafes are pretty similar wherever you go I find, and the memorabilia on the walls and in the cases are the usual lot of “this belonged to so n’ so” and “this was used is such n’ such”. Not much different than the movie fan chain of Club Hollywood, just for the Music industry. The food was mediocre pub food, and the drinks pricey. Some interesting and unique art/stuff for Ireland. Anyhow, if you’re a fan of Hard Rock Cafes … this one will please you as its the only one in all of Ireland, as the one in Northern Ireland was closed down. The Dublin one was established in June 29, 2004. They pride themselves for their unique collectibles just like all the other Hard Rock’s … in this case a pair of Bono’s sunglasses, a favorite shirt of Elvis, Paul McCartney’s “Beatle Boots”, one of Madonna’s jackets, a Paul Stanley guitar, and a Mimi Hendrix rug. Rating: 1 star out of 5.

Continue reading Hard Rock Cafe Dublin

Print Friendly
Share

Rock n’ Bowl Hostel (Bristol, England)


Rock n’ Bowl Hostel

Rock n’ Bowl Hostel
* 22 Nelson Street * Bristol, UK BS1 2LE, United Kingdom * 0117 325 1980 * http://www.rocknbowlmotel.com/ *
A great hidden gem in the hostel world – this hostel is central and is relatively new to Bristol, or at least appears so, as it was under modeling or re-modeling while I was visiting. Located above a bowling alley and bar, right in the heart of Bristol’s shopping district, close to the Harbour and night life, bus stations, and the heart of city activities near the historic city wall … I found the hostel affordable and very pleasant during my stay. Free wifi and a friendly desk staff. Great little lounge and its own theater where they would do movies though most of when I was there a band was rehearsing. They have double beds, private twin rooms, co-ed dorm rooms, and female only dorms. Retro cool bowling alley with the “Lanes” bar and diner downstairs. Self cook kitchen and fridges upstairs, laundry room, and lounge. Beds as low as 13 GBP a night or 65 GBP a week. Clean bedrooms and establishment, though the self-kitchen area was in a bit of disarray. Rating: 4 stars out of 5.

Continue reading Rock n’ Bowl Hostel (Bristol, England)

Print Friendly
Share

Vertigo (Truro, Cornwall)

Vertigo
* 15 St Marys Street, Truro, TR1 2AF * Cornwall, England * T: 01872 276555 • E: info@vertigotruro.com * http://www.vertigo-truro.co.uk/
A great little hole-in-the-wall art-deco upmarket Cafe Bar in Truro, Cornwall. The place is very stylish and comfortable with couches, tables, and lounging environment. The bar offers delicious cocktails, tapas, teas, and coffess. Great food and snacks available. Now dwelling in the former old court house, this three story building has a garden, conservatory, dining area, and bar. It is also a place where you can get married as they hold a wedding license. The place has four different themed rooms. The establishment is owned and operated by hotelier Carolien Davidson, Jodie Phillips, and Neil Barku. I found the place very artsy, hospitable, and friendly. I enjoyed the fare, even though it was very small portions, it was well priced. Rating : 4 stars out of 5.

Continue reading Vertigo (Truro, Cornwall)

Print Friendly
Share

William IV Pub (Truro, Cornwall, England)

William IV Pub
Kenwyn Street, Truro, Cornwall, England * TR1 3DJ * Telephone: 01872273334 *
During mid-week, William IV Pub is one of the few pubs/restaurants opening and serving food after 6 pm in downtown Truro. Located in the busy city center of Truro, the pub boasts a vibrant atmosphere and a fantastic selection of beer and wines. During my visit on 6/15/10 – it was a bit low key, quiet, and excellent speedy service. Since I don’t drink beer, I can’t comment on the selections as I stuck with my usual vodka and tonic. This tuesday was “Curry night” and had some pretty tasty chicken curry presented. I was pleased. The bar runs from 10 am every morning and closes at 11 pm for Sundays through Wednesdays, and closes at 12 am on Thursdays, and 1 am for fridays and saturdays. Food is served noon until 10 pm every day. The pub has its own onsite car park so parking is usually not a problem. William IV is part the the St. Austell Brewery Company. The pub is pretty elaborate, having Sky TV, pool tables, fruit machines, quiz machines, food served, real ale, outside seating in a patio, etc. Overall though, the pub is not any more distinct or different than dime a dozen pubs. Rating 3 stars out of 5.

Continue reading William IV Pub (Truro, Cornwall, England)

Print Friendly
Share

Hellzapoppin Sideshow @ the Rocket Room (Colorado Springs)


Juggling, Hellzapoppin Sideshow

The Hellzapoppin Sideshow
* Thursday, 8 pm – 1 am, 25 March 2010 * The Rocket Room * 230 Pueblo Ave * (the corner of Wahsatch & Cimarron) * Colorado Springs, Colorado * 719-447-4990 * http://www.myspace.com/therocketroom * $10 cover *

On a dark chilly evening in a corner bar where Rock-a-billy lives in Colorado Springs, sprung to live one of the modern versions of a classic era circus sideshow … known to its fans as the “Hellzapoppin Sideshow”. This sideshow is proud to have differing feature performers, most notably “The Torture King” from the Jim Rose Circus Sideshow and “Slymenstra Hymen” from GWAR. Many of their performers have travelled with many sideshows and circuses, as well as appearances on the Tonight Show with Jay Leno, The Discovery Channel, Ripley’s Believe It or Not, The Learning Channel, Guinness Book of World Records, HDNet, and the National Geographic Channel. The show boasts a staff of true vagabond artists – artisans with hearts full of wanderlust on a modern day pirate ship. They are notoriously a circus for adults! For a mere $10 one could enter this fantasy world with juggling, fire spinning, ball play, sword swallowing, glass walking, body piercing, contortion, accordians, humor, and music … not to mention potent affordable drinks. The show was phenomenal for the small bar scene and the performers were amazing. It was a refreshing treat to a stressful week. We were first entertained by a pinhead accordian singer followed by some sensational burlesque. Juggling, comedy, firespinning, and Laura as a hot girl in a bubble which is a full size hamster ball that she does acrobatics and juggles inside. The Torture King amazed us with glass eating, glass walking, sword laying, and body piercing. More burlesque, juggling, and fire play. Lady Diabla swallowed swords, had darts stuck into her back, and amazed us with her shoulder shrugs to pain. A girl placed into a box that was sliced and diced with swords. Very entertaining indeed! A must see side show! At this particular show we were blessed with the presence of Zamora The Torture King, Lady Diabla, Bryce “The Govna” Graves, Laura, John Shaw, and some others I heard a rumor were local talent. Rating 4.3 stars out of 5.


Juggling, Hellzapoppin Sideshow

Continue reading Hellzapoppin Sideshow @ the Rocket Room (Colorado Springs)

Print Friendly
Share

Huggo’s On the Rocks (Kona, Big Island, Hawaii)


Huggo’s on the Rocks, Kona

Huggo’s On the Rocks
* http://www.huggos.com/ * 75-5828 Kahakai Road Kailua-Kona, HI 96740 * (808) 329-1493 * Fax # (808)329-7204 **
A great casual bar in the heart of Kona on the Big Island of Hawaii. Definitely idolic of the ‘beach’ bar atmosphere and setting – this ocean-front cocktail bar and pub is an off-shoot of the Huggo’s Restaurant next door. My one and only visit found it to be very friendly, hospitable, with great service and good bar staff. The patrons all looked happy and satisfied. The drinks served to us were good – though not as potent as I’m used to. They had a live band this saturday night, even though the town closes early on the entertainment front. But dancing and fun had by all. They don’t really have an official “closing” hour – they are just open from 11:30 am until ‘closing’ – whatever that normally means – was quite early the saturday of August 8th, 2009. Generally they have entertainment nightly from 6:30 pm – 10 pm, and serve cocktails from 11:30 am until midnight. Rating: 4 stars out of 5.

Print Friendly
Share

Ritz Bar and Grill (Colorado Springs, Colorado)

the Ritz Grill

* http://ritzgrill.com/ * 15 S Tejon St * Colorado Springs, CO 80903 * (719) 635-8484 *
The Ritz grill is a popular ‘older crowd’ bar and dance place in downtown Colorado Springs. Often frequented by 80’s cover bands and other live acts, the Ritz is a full scale restaurant and bar. They often throw themed parties like “Fat Tuesday”, “Halloween”, and “Xmas parties”. This visit on 11/15/2010 was a fundraiser for the Haiti Earthquake survivors. The food is very food. Though this visit I only came a drinkin’ vodka n’ club soda. Good service, friendly staff, fun times. Rating: 3.75 stars out of 5.

Print Friendly
Share

80’s Thursdays at Thunder & Buttons

80’s Thursday at Thunder & Buttons * 2415 W Colorado Ave * Colorado Springs, CO 80904-3021* (719) 447-9888 * www.thunderandbuttons.com *


DJ Gypsy spinning 80’s at Thunder and Buttons


A new night in the works getting Colorado Springs back into the 80’s flair with the amazing DJ Gypsy enchanting all with some of the best of the era. Definitely a much needed new night for the area. A saloon hosts the night that is named after some local history. In 1888 a Colorado City resident named Prairie Dog O’Byrne had a carriage pulled by two elk he named ‘Thunder’ and ‘Buttons’. His infamous partner from the Red light district Laura Bell would race this carriage up and down the very street where this saloon is located. This saloon was established and named in their honor. Established in 1978 it burnt down 10 years later. It was re-established in 2004 by an Air Force Academy graduate as Thunder and Buttons II. It now hosts a pretty popular bar and grill with various entertainment nights such as this 80’s night to mark up its calendar for fun and frolick. DJ Gypsy is definitely providing a good draw of music and charm to spice up everyone’s thursday nights. I hope this night continues as it is definitely a blessing for the local scene. Looking forward to more fine evenings having a blast to the past.

Print Friendly
Share

06.29.09: BABYLAND, ELETE, PLASMACRASH & DJ FOUST


BABYLAND, ELETE, PLASMACRASH & DJ FOUST * Monday June 29, 2009 * Quixotes True Blue * 2637 Welton Street * Denver, Colorado * 16+/8 pm/ $10 * Quixotes True Blue and The Evil Poodle Productions *

Next door to Cervantes Master Theater lies their small bar/lounge/dive that is a nice comfortable space with a small stage and dance floor. Down in the depths below are concert recordings and hard to find collectibles to add to your nostalgia needs. Bar prices are reasonable and the DJ between the acts was excellent. Sponsors for the event had quite a fun setup. However, it was a monday afterall, and we all know what that means when mixed with work schedules, it was poorly attended. A larger audience might have feeded the spirit and the adrenaline for the event, and perhaps would of fed the energy level of the opening acts, but unfortunately all of the acts live didn’t meet up to the music they weave on their websites. In addition, since the music style and hardness are not my ideal likings, I’m not going to give the bands each the typical 1-5 rating guage as I believe I might be biased. The entire event and all performances statistically equate to 2 stars out of 5. Babyland as expected was the highlight of the evening, and they were definitely good, but beyond their presence and unique instrumentation; merged with the spirit of the good DJ, and good friends in the audience, my captivity of attention would not have lasted as long as it did. I’ll leave it at that.

Babyland www.myspace.com/babylandmusic * 6/29/09 show at Quixotes True Blue in Denver, Colorado *
From the heart of the city of Lost Angels comes a electronic junk punk band to bring the spirit of L.A. to the heart of Denver. This compadre of spirits melds together electronic music with hardcore and junk noise demonstrating extreme emotions that one would expect out of Los Angeles reflecting humankind’s continual evolution and search for meaning within the human existence (as outlined on their site). Babyland relies heavily on experimentation and machinery from mechanical noise to primitive rhythmns. They were the heart to this particular evening, beating life to the event.

Elete www.myspace.com/denverelete * 6/29/09 show at Quixotes True Blue in Denver, Colorado *
A local Denver band concieved and created by the ex-Lexen metal frontman and industrial hip hop artist ‘Roman Only’. Roman joined with Mike Oxbig, Will Oxbig, and Will Mendoza on guitars, WMD on bass, and Che-Cho on drums brings this band together. They have a hard rock/metal flavor bursting their synthesizer and guitars mashing crunch, glitch, metal, and industrial. Not my style of music, but those in the audience appeared to enjoy it.


Plasmacrash www.myspace.com/plasmacrash * 6/29/09 show at Quixotes True Blue in Denver, Colorado *
Another local Colorado metal band, this time down from Fort Collins they bill themselves as music for the post Apocalypse. Labelled as Metal and Industrial they live to that title. The band came to be at the end of the 2005 Colorado Dark Arts Festival by college radio DJ’s Asbestos (Big Tim) and Rivet until joined in 2007 by Thick Noose guitarist Chaotic Weevil; and joined in 2008 by ALH members Joey Gunn and Nic Bastrd. Again while I’m a fan on industrial, I’m not on the harder metal scene, so they weren’t exactly my thing – I didn’t enjoy the performance, but find their music on their website much more attractive.

Print Friendly
Share