Category Archives: Vancouver

The History of Wandering Leaf Designs or “Wandering Leaf, LLC”

Wandering Leaf Designs, also known as “Wandering Leaf, LLC” was a web studio located in the region of North America’s Pacific Northwest – servicing its clients in the United States & Canadian provinces. A Limited Liability Company, Wandering Leaf Designs provided their clients with top-notch web designs, logos, art, graphics, wireless / nomadic technologies, and hot spots of interest from 2000 until 2004. “Wandering Leaf Designs” was founded after the closure of “Leafworks, Inc.. “Wandering Leaf Designs” was closed when its C.E.O., organizer, lead designer/developer, and mover/shaker left the .dotcom industry to return to his passion of “Archaeology & Anthropology”. Once on the trail to doing work at the Camano Beach Excavation, Miami Circle’s “Icon Brickell” project, and finally to be the GIS Specialist/Curator for the U.S. Army’s Cultural Resource Management Program at Fort Carson, he no longer had the time to continue operating “Wandering Leaf Designs”, much of which was the lasting demise of the “.dotcom” collapse that started in the late 1990’s into the early Y2K era. The Company closed shortly after his absence.

Continue reading The History of Wandering Leaf Designs or “Wandering Leaf, LLC”

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share

Ghost Stories on Wreck Beach …

Saturday, November 6th, 2004

Wreck Beach Ghost Story, Wreck Beach, Vancouver, British Columbia


Wreck Beach Ghost Stories

Wreck Beach- Vancouver, B.C.

Some say, that if you visit Wreck Beach at night, and are away from the camp fires or the crowds, you can hear a woman screaming as if she’s being brutally murdered. Some say, you can see a apparition of a bloodied naked young girl stumbling around on the sand or walking the trails. Others claim to have seen a mist that floats with a shape of a young woman. Some have said to hear screams coming from the bushes. Others have reported seeing a ghost of a male wailing in agony.

Evidence of these tales have not been proven. Some say the ghost tales are hearsay. In 1990, Kevin Ladouceur was brutally murdered on the beach. He was the first reported murder at Wreck Beach. The horrid death of Christina (Tina) Joy Thompson who was murdered at the top of Trail Six in August 1993, inspired a local play called “Wreck Beach” that tells the tale, and could be the source of the tale. Apparently this was the 2nd murder committed at Wreck Beach by 1993. Not aware of any other murders since that date.

In 1995, after two years of angst in the community as rumours circulated over who murdered the popular girl, Joseph Daniel Hammond arrived with a priest at the Richmond RCMP detachment and admitted killing Thompson. He was jailed for life and is eligible for parole in 2004. Hammond said he had watched the woman argue with her boyfriend. He then offered to carry a bag for her up a trail. He began to touch her and a struggle ensued. The woman was quickly strangled. The Crown lawyer said that Hammond had intercourse with the deceased woman “a couple of times” in the bushes after killing her.

Links:
http://www.vancourier.com/issues01/08301/news/083101nn1.html
http://www.nsnews.com/issues98/w120798/12049801.html
http://www.nsnews.com/issues98/w102698/10239802.html
http://www.cms.uhi.ac.uk/publications/re/arp05.pdf

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share

DV8 (Vancouver, BC)

Dv8
515 Davie Street
Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 1N3

A underground-styled hang out joint popular amongst the hip Vancouverite scene. Good food, slow service, but an excellent place to hang out if you are interested in hanging out. Comes with an art gallery which changes every week or two displaying some of Vancouver’s best alternative artwork. With a serving station styled after a djbooth you can find some of the most intriguing and raunchy named drinks you can think of off its menu. The food has the same flavor. It’s an excellent venue.

Rated: **** 1/2

DV8

Continue reading DV8 (Vancouver, BC)

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share

English Bay (Vancouver, BC)


English Bay
Vancouver, British Columbia

English Bay brings sweet memories for me during the
World Expo 1986. It was the romantic setting for a marriage proposal to my
first wife. English Bay has a bit of San Francisco charm. With
bicycle/rollerblade paths along the beach and sea wall, palm trees and
ornate architecture, beach activities, roller bladers, and summer fun –
kayaking, rain forests, and great seafood restaurants – great views of
Vancouver, the harbour, Stanley Park, and the great aspects of Vancouver –
English Bay should be on your activity list for a place to relax and
visit.

Continue reading English Bay (Vancouver, BC)

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share

Hamburger Marys

Hamburger Mary’s Diner
1202 Davie Street
Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 1N3

Rated: **** 1/2

Hamburger Mary's

(Review by Leaf McGowan, 11/5/01):
“An excellent restaurant with organic meat entries. Right in the heart of Davie street village (gay district of Vancouver), this hamburger joint has a warm and welcoming staff and excellent service. A fabulous burger joint with fresh food, and excellent selections. I had the Organic beef California burger – came laden with lettuce, tomatoe, mayo, ketchup, avacado, onions, pickles, and a good serving of fries. The coca cola came in an old fashion shake steel cup which kept it ohhhh so cold. Top place. Will visit many times more. The burger, fries, and coke all for $11.75 CAN. ”

Continue reading Hamburger Marys

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share

Lotus (BC)

NOTE: AS OF 2011 WE ARE UNAWARE OF THE OPERATIONAL STATUS OF THE LOTUS. PLEASE CONTAT ESTABLISHMENT BEFORE ATTENDING THESE EVENTS. IF EVENTS ARE NO LONGER IN OPERATION, THIS IS A NOSTALGIA REVIEW POST.

Lotus Sound Lounge

455 Abbott Street
Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 1C8
604.685.7777
Vancouver, British Columbia
Yahoo Maps!
ClubVibes Details

Rated **1/2 by Leaf McGowan.

                       
  
Lotus Sound Lounge

Continue reading Lotus (BC)

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share

Taisho

Taisho Restaurant
Metropolis, E 15 – 4700 Kingsway
Burnaby, British Columbia, Canada V5H 4M1
604.435.1211 / fax 604.435.0717

Rated: ****1/2



Rated: **** 1/2

(Review by Leaf McGowan, 11/17/01):
“A highly recommended Sushi / Japanese restaurant – Taisho will cover your needs and entertain your soul. The spot was pretty crowded but waiters/waitresses were very attentive and helped up set up our large group table of 16. The restaurant has the traditional Japanese rooms where you take off your shoes, a sushi belt where you can grab plate after plate of sushi, a room for karaoke and dancing, and all styles of sitting. I got the Chef’s combo – which was excellent – good tempura, good sushi, good sashimi (my favorite unagi), chicken and noodles, etc. Overall it was an excellent experience. ”

Continue reading Taisho

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share

Purple Onion

NOTE: THE PURPLE ONION NO LONGER EXISTS. THE CLUB CLOSED DOWN. THIS IS NOW JUST A NOSTALGIC REVIEW PIECE FROM THE PAST.

the Purple Onion Cabaret
* 15 Water Street * Gas town –Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 1A1 * 604.602.9442 * www.purpleonion.com *

Mondays

Vancouver’s only underground Brit Night – radiohead, blur, suede, bowie, clash. DJ Sheriff Fatman and ken Bastard. Real Brit. No Sh*t. 60’s Brit Invasion, psychedelica and soul in other lounge: DJ Lee Modern spins The Who, the impressions, and the Byrds.

Tuesdays

Available for private parties.

Wednesdays

Freebasing Funk shooting soul with residents Djs Lush and Stephane.

Thursdays

The afterlife entertainment presents pure O2, DJ Ali (Leaf Recordings and Fresh Studios), funky ass house, Vancouver, and a variety of other shows.

Fridays

Sugar and Spice, blending hip hop, RnB, and Club hits, DJ Relik and DJ LDB with MC Tropiq. DJs Roger Z and Andre Drop the sweet sounds of downtempo house and hip hop complimenting the funkiest in live acts.

Saturdays

Platinum with resident DJ’s Seanski (Bronx, NY) and WAX (DMC Champ) the jams are bumpin all night long. Hip Hop / Top 40 Dance / RnB.

Sundays

Sanctuary: Vancouver’s Darkest Secret. Etheral Beauty, Downtempo, Experimental electronix, Crunchy Beats, EBM Electro Industrial Synthpop and loads more. DJ Pandemonium and Guests.

Continue reading Purple Onion

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share

Club 23 West: Sin City (Vancouver, B.C.)

Club 23 West

23 West Cordova, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 1C8
Vancouver, British Columbia
Yahoo Maps!
ClubVibes Details

Rated *****

EVENTS:

SIN CITY:

Clubvibes.com description: “Sin City is a monthly club night dedicated to the truly kinky club demons of Vancouver and takes place monthly on every second Saturday of the month at Club 23 West. Cover is $9 without a pass, $6 with passes which can be found at many downtown locations. In addition to the dancefloor, drink specials and antics of DJs Pandemonium & Klaxxon bangin’ out dark n’ dirty retro, electronika, industrial & dance, we offer a seperate play dungeon complete with friendly monitors, lovely sturdy black & cushioned bondage equipment with plenty of couches & viewing space, and a private, outdoor patio looking over Gastown’s blood alley. We enforce a very strict dress code which must be adhered to in order to gain access to the celebration of sin! Absolutely no t-shirts (unless fetish-related) will be admitted, jeans, suits, or streetwear of any kind. Some examples of acceptable dress are: rubber, pvc, vinyl, leather, full uniform, fantasy or period costume, armour, cross-dress, bondage, body paint, and lingerie. Sin City is a cross-over night with all sorts of people and scenes coming together to celebrate a truly sinful party – young, old, gay, straight, fetish veterans, newcomers, partiers, loungers, we all come together once a month to party in high style. “ (Leaf’s virtual tourist page)

Continue reading Club 23 West: Sin City (Vancouver, B.C.)

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share

The Element (Vancouver, B.C.)

the Element

Cambie Street
Vancouver, British Columbia
Rated ***1/2

Gas Town Inn - Element Pub

Thursday, 11/8/01:
” I hailed down a cab and headed over to the Element on Cambie / Hastings, by the Cambie Hotel. I wasn’t quite sure if I was in the right place, but as I walked in past a restaurant kitchen, back into the dank and dark pub – I saw horror movie and haunted house tacky decor … with a sprawled sign stating I was in “the Element”. I saw Melissa, gave her a hug, and chatted – headed over to Bernie and gave her a hug and wished her “Happy Birthday” as I handed her a gift and watched as she enchanted “the Element” with her dj magic. Chilled out to a couple of drinks with Bernie as other friends appeared and wished her birthday blessings. The element had a intriguing decor of a haunted house with the top pseudo-balcony covered with Halloween stuffed beings and macabre decor. Green fake ferns and air plants sprawled along the ceiling – the evening had great music but lacked numbers of individuals, and at this point, no one dancing. Then came in Jeffy, and two other friends I met previously at a Halloween party – they recognized me without my green makeup and faery wings. We all grabbed a table and chatted away through the night, discussing Skinny Puppy, how we wished we were at the Tori Amos concert, the Survivor series, and other elements of news going on in the world. As I partied with my friend Bernie at the Element and was woo’ed by her dj’ing with excellent 80’s, dance, and Industrial mixes – as the clock struck 12, I decided to head back to Seymour street for a little dancing at my favorite hotspot on Thursdays … Luvafair. The drinks are pricey here but created with pizazz and a good kick. Music was excellent, just lacked the people to fully utilize the dance floor. By the time I was planning on leaving, a handful had started to dance.”

Continue reading The Element (Vancouver, B.C.)

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share

Cypress Mountain (Vancouver, B.C.)

Cypress Mountain

Cypress Mountain is a fabulous resort for the ski enthusiast. Not quite Whistler/Blackcomb, Mt. St. Anne, or Mt. Baker, Cypress is a top-dog resort however for a local mountain resort servicing Vancouver, British Columbian ski enthusiasts. Good prices, not too crowded, and skiing from morning till around 11 pm at night, this winter wonderland will enchant you for sure. Best of the three Vancouver ski triads (Mt. Seymour, Grouse, and Cypress) … Cypress is accessible from downtown Vancouver in a 20 minute car drive depending on Lion’s gate bridge traffic. It’s also accessible by shuttle from downtown.

Official Cypress Mountain website: http://www.cypressmountain.com/
Conditions: http://www.cypressmountain.com/conditions.html

22402-alpine-cypress-view-250 (12k image)

Continue reading Cypress Mountain (Vancouver, B.C.)

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share

Two Parrots (Vancouver, BC)

Two Parrots
Granville Street
Vancouver, British Columbia

Overall Rating: **** 1/4

The Two Parrots, a festive restaurant/pub located on the corner of Davie Street and Granville, right across from the Blenz is an excellent restaurant for conversation, resting your feet, socializing, and good cheer. According to our reviewers the “Two Parrots” is a great place to go after dancing. Open late and serving a good selection of savoring dishes we agree you won’t be disappointed with the experience. Restaurant is under new-management as of April 2002 and the rumor-mill is that the restaurant is has become an even better establishment and is quickly becoming a favorite hangout amongst pub lovers.

Continue reading Two Parrots (Vancouver, BC)

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share

Vancouver, British Columbia

Vancouver, British Columbia

Vancouver

Vancouver, British Columbia:
Home to the X-files and many other supernatural thrillers and television shows such as Dark Angel, The Outer Limits, The New Addams Family, and Stargate … Vancouver is a multimedia and digital entertainment hot spot in North America. Many digital producers, special effects, sick and twisted animationists, foreign film festival highlights, and top movies are produced and Created in Vancouver. Rated the 16th most beautiful city in the world, Vancouver has just about everything for anyone. Street coined “the Amsterdam of North America” or the “San Francisco of Canada”, Vancouver has a miriad of interests for the tourist. A unique nightlife awaits the night owl. Tons of plays and theatrical performances, music fests, concerts, and other cultural festivities. Home to the World’s Fair in 1986, the city has landmarks celebrating that event. In what other city can you stroll in a rainforest, swim in the ocean/lounging at the beach, rollerblade the beach walks, and go skiing in one day? 10 minutes to Grouse Mountain ski resort, 20 minutes to Cypress Mountain, and 45 minutes to Whistler/Blackcomb. Vancouver is a skiers/snowboarder’s paradise. Also known for it’s Asian culture … Vancouver is one of North America’s most famous Asian cities.

Continue reading Vancouver, British Columbia

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share

Jericho Beach (Vancouver, British Columbia)

Jericho Beach * Vancouver, British Columbia * http://vancouver.ca/Parks/rec/beaches/jericho.htm
One of my favorite beaches in Vancouver, next to Wreck Beach and Spanish Banks. Rather than a place of “fun” its had much more of a spiritual draw for me personally, as it was a place of engagement as well as a place of celebrating my divorce. It was also a place where I awoke one night while sleeping on it next to a campfire with some international friends and discovering that I needed to move to Vancouver. So it has been a place of many beginnings and endings as well as transitions for me. Also one of my best friends live in the community embarked upon the beach, so its often a place where I stay when in Vancouver. Jericho Beach to others is well known for its naturally sandy beaches nestled amongst treed copses and ponds. The first settlers in the area created a village here called “Ee’yullmough”. Then in the 1860’s, Jeremiah Rogers set up a logging camp here called “Jerry’s Cove” which later evolved into the name “Jericho”. Vancouver’s first golf course was then built here until the Department of Defence in the 1930’s took it over for development of a seaplane base which once housed numerous hangars along this shoreline. The Park Board took it over in the 1970’s when it was developed into a public beach/park. On the east end is populated with beach goers and sunbathers while the west end is popularly used by sailboaters and windsurfers. There is a seaside seawall system along this beach, there is also a concession, washroom, play fields, tennis courts, picnic tables, a very popular Youth Hostel, a Sailing Center, and a lifeguard from late May until early September. There is also a swimming raft during swim season.
Jericho Beach borders the infamous Kitslano and Point Grey. Every summer there are major festivals held here. Rating: 5 stars out of 5.

Continue reading Jericho Beach (Vancouver, British Columbia)

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share

Wreck Beach (Vancouver, British Columbia)

Wreck Beach
Vancouver, British Columbia * http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wreck_Beach
One of my favorite beaches in the world because the sub-culture and community that it embraces and its location in the heart of Vancouver, British Columbia. For the years that I lived in the area it was my weekend spot during the warm months and even in the fall/winter evenings a remote spot where we could have rituals, campfires, fire spinning, and beach parties. Wreck is one of the world’s most popular clothing-optional beaches. It is located in the Pacific Spirit Regional Park which encompasses the University of British Columbia Endowment lands on the western shores of Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada. The beach itself stretches 6.5 km from Acacia Beach to the north and the Booming Grounds Creek. The beach is well marked as a “clothing optional” beach and is administered by the Greater Vancouver Regional District (GVRD). Most of the beach is rocky but the proper main beach is a large sandy stretch where people do beach activities, swim, play volleyball & frisbee, sunbathe, and socialize. Part of Wreck Beach has an area where dog owners can unleash their pets. Smelt fishing is also done here during smelt season. Wreck Beach connects with Acadia Beach (accessible from a parking lot on Marine Drive) that has a grassy area with picnic tables; Tower Beach which is accessible by Trail 3; and Point Grey by the steeper Trail 4 located by the Museum of Anthropology. It’s possible to walk along the entire stretch during low tide. Tower Beach has two tall concrete gun towers from WWII. The rainforest creates a boundary from Marine drive down through the cliffs up to the ocean’s edge in some places minus Wreck Beach proper with its large sand bar and banks. Bald Eagles, Kingfishers, Sea Lions, Seals, and nesting herons can often be seen here. There has been sightings of Orcas in the past. Wreck Beach proper has the most developed trail in the area leading down the bluff to the sand – the stairs number approximately 400 steps. Wreck Beach is also home to an enormous community of naturalists and nudists who caretake the beach and police the area making it safe. There are some legal vendors down below that sell clothing, drinks, snacks, sunscreen, sarongs, and cooked food. However, Wreck Beach is most notoriously known for its black market vending of alcohol, cocktails, marijuana, psilocybin mushrooms, and LSD. Local law enforcement police the area often to crackdown on the black market which is so openly available that contributes to Vancouver’s reputation of being the “Amsterdam of North America” even though none of the subtle wares and substances are legal in British Columbia. Its difficult for the police to crack down on the illegal substances here because the community that sells them keeps a watchful eye for them and warns everyone when they are spotted. Nudity is legal on the beach and its an openly ‘clothing optional’ family location. This is not a adult beach. Families, children, parents, teenagers, and adults can be found enjoying the beach. Most beach-goers go nude, regardless of age or sex. Often, the clothed will feel out of place. Because the beach is located by the University of British Columbia, alot of students can be found at the beach. Wreck beach is publically accessible. It can be accessed via road, water, and public buses. TransLink runs a number of bus routes (4, 9, 17, 25, 33, 41, 43, 44, 49, 84, 99, 258, and 480) to the UBC bus loop. From there it is a five-minute walk west, down University Boulevard, to UBC Gate 6 (from which Trail 6 takes it name). Turn right on N.W. Marine Drive and the trail is immediately to the left about 100 meters. From Highway 99, turn west on one of these roads: S.W. Marine Drive, 41st Avenue (which eventually merges onto S.W. Marine Drive) or 16th Avenue (which eventually ends at S.W. Marine Drive, then turn right). Alternatively, from the north only, take the 4th Avenue exit off the Granville Street Bridge (then from 4th Avenue, turn right on N.W. Marine Drive). From Highway 1, take the Grandview Highway exit (28A) westbound (this eventually becomes 12th Avenue), turn right (north) on Clark Drive, left again (west) on 6th Avenue (this eventually becomes 4th Avenue), and then turn right on N.W. Marine Drive. There are toilets at the top and base of the stairs. There is no running water. [synopsis composed with data from above wikipedia link] Since cameras are not allowed on wreck beach and often frowned upon often with threats to destroy the camera equipment – photos are limited to stock photos from the web that were designated for public viewing, photos displayed here come from stock photo collections that appear to have no copyright tags that came off free photo galleries. If a copyrighted photo wound up on this page, please contact darkleaves@gmail.com and we’ll be happy to remove it.

Wreck Beach rating: 5 stars out of 5.

Continue reading Wreck Beach (Vancouver, British Columbia)

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share

Wired Monk Cafe, Vancouver, BC


Wired Monk



Wired Monk Coffee Bistro * 2610 4th Avenue West * Vancouver, BC V6K 1P7, Canada * (604) 742-1752 * http://www.kitsmonk.com/

Artsy fine-elderly design coffee bistro with food and drinks, coffees, chai, teas, and pastries. Free wifi. Didn’t find the service that great, employees seemed bored and bitter. Not many plugs available for laptops. Service was still good. Wifi good. Plain and not a place I’d go out of my way to go back to. Rating: 2 stars out of 5.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share

Hell’s Kitchen (Vancouver, British Columbia)


Crab n’ Avacado Bennie at Hell’s Kitchen


Hell’s Kitchen * 2041 4th Avenue West * Vancouver, BC V6J 1N3, Canada * (604) 736-4355 * http://www.hells-kitchen.ca/

Ah, Hell’s Kitchen. I’ve been wanting to try out this bar/restaurant for awhile. Glad I did. Its artsy, comfy, odd, and decorative in a modern kitch sense, with you-got-it … down under decor. Great service, great dishes, and decent prices. Several of the patrons were recovering from their saturday nights, so we weren’t alone at noon in that endeavor. The crab and avacado bennie was fabulous. The raspberry mimosa was good too. Rating: 4 stars out of 5.


Me, Stephanie, Ryan, Caitlin at Hell’s Kitchen

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share

Fritz European Frie House (Vancouver, British Columbia)


Fritz Fries


Fritz European Frie House * http://www.belgianfries.com/bfblog/?p=647 * 718 Davie Street * Vancouver, BC V6Z 1B6 * 604-684-0811

Ah Belgium Fries. Poutine. Gravy/Curds/Potatoes/Oh My! The french fries are to die for. The Poutine …. mmmm spectacular. But then again, I’m a big fan of Poutine, which is a Quebecoise dish I can’t get in the States. But popular in Canada, especially amongst the French Canadians. To the level that even most McDonalds in Canada serves it. But here? You’re getting your best poutine experience you can have outside of Quebec. Fries everywhere and a great place after clubbing to grab some good grub. Beats pizza. Lots of dipping sauces for your fries. Curries and peanut sauces are wonderful. Its a small place/hole-in-the-wall with very little space to dine, but at 3 am, that really doesn’t matter. Great place! Rating: 4 stars out of 5. Revisits: 7/4/09 – Fabulous as ever. Fritz’ just encourages my crazy cravings for poutine. Delicious! Rating: 5 stars out of 5.


Fritz Menu



Poutine

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share

Sanctuary Saturday (Vancouver, British Columbia)


Dancefloor at Sanctuary (Club 23 West)


Sanctuary Saturday @ Club 23 West * http://www.facebook.com/group.php?gid=2321964024 * 1st/3rd/5th Saturday every month @ Club 23 West: 23 West Cordova, Vancouver, British Columbia
Ah, back in the day when I first moved to Vancouver, this was the only Goth/Industrial club I could find in Vancouver when i first moved there during Y2K. At that time it was at the Purple Onion. This fabulous night was established in 1997 and is the longest-running night in Vancouver that’s dedicated to the Goth/Industrial/Underground and alternative music culture. DJ Pandemonium who started the night is still keeping it alive and beating serving the best of alternative/synth/electro/new wave/80’s/90’s/rock/goth/industrial/ebm/ and synthpop. Now joined with DJ’s R-Lex, Vortex, Contrasoma and periodic guests; its taken hold on Saturdays instead of Sundays in the infamous thriving ground of Sin City at its home in Club 23 West. Doors at 9 and the party lasts til 3 am. Free before 10, students free till 11, and two-for-one’s with cab receipt all night. $6 cover after 10, $1 off if dressed to impress. I’ve been a fan of this night since early 2000 attending every year since then, when I lived in Vancouver it was a weekly attendance, when living in Seattle it was a bi-monthly venture, and even when I was living in L.A., Miami, and Colorado … I still came back at least a half a dozen times throughout the year with Sanctuary and Sin City as driving forces to selecting calendar dates to visit. Its a must visit venue for anyone in the underground scene that wants a great place to dance, meet people, and slam some drinks down. Dress to impress! Now with two floors: upstairs and downstairs spinning the best in the dark scene. Rating: 5 stars out of 5. Previous reviews I’ve written: http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=17, http://thesinglelife.net/archives/2005/12/13/sanctuary-celebrities-vancouver-bc, http://wanderwords.com/archives/2006/11/04/272, http://www.virtualtourist.com/travel/North_America/Canada/Province_of_British_Columbia/Vancouver-903183/Nightlife-Vancouver-Celebrities-BR-1.html. Revisit on 7/4/2009 – Still amazing music and a fabulous dance floor. Still yet one of my most favorite nights!!! Thank you Isaac!!!


Dancefloor at Sanctuary (Club 23 West)



Dancefloor at Sanctuary (Club 23 West)

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share

Cuppa Joe Coffee (Kitslano, Vancouver, British Columbia)


Cuppa Joes – Jericho Beach/Kitslano


Cuppa Joe’s Coffee Shop * 3744 West 4th Ave, Vancouver, BC * (604) 224-3687 * http://www.cuppajoecoffee.com/cajc/stores/kits.html

A great little local (but Vancouver chain) two story coffee house right off of 4th, conveniently located in Kitslano bordering Point Grey bordering Jericho Beach. Just a short jolt of a walk from the Vancouver HI. Free wifi internet just ask for the password at the counter. Great chai, pastries, and coffee. A Starbucks alternative. Carries organic and free trade. Always good music and apparently has great beer on tap (I’m not a beer drinker so can’t comment on that one). Staff and regulars are very friendly. Its an artsy joint with good music. Rating: 4.5 stars out of 5.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share

Jeremiah’s Pub (Vancouver, British Columbia)


Salmon Bennie


Jeremiah’s Neighbourhood Pub * 3681 4th Avenue West * Vancouver, BC V6R 1P2, Canada * (604) 734-1205 *

Its a typical Kitslano pub that is dime a dozen in the area, but has some of the best and prompt friendly service of your selections. Its only a five minute walk from Jericho Beach and its youth hostel, so great place to rest, chill, and recover from your travels. Its a favorite hotspot for Kitslano residents offering a sports bar atmosphere, lotto, pulltabs, Kino, and other gaming fun. Its decked in the style of a traditional English pub with two stories, hard wood floors and burgundy tones, but very Canadian. We dropped in on 12/27/08 for brunch around noon. They have a great brunch menu. I had the salmon bennie which was to die for. The Hangover sandwich is also very good. Bennies on croissants. Gotta love that more than the English muffin. Rating: 4 stars out of 5.


Jeremiahs’ Pub

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share

Indian Oven (Vancouver, B.C.)


Indian Oven


Indian Oven * 2006 4th Avenue * West Vancouver, BC V6J, Canada * (604) 730-5069 * http://www.theindianoven.com/

A rooftop/upper floor restaurant with nice views of Kitslano is a quaint Indian restaurant with style and grace. Great servie and friendly atmosphere. The food is delicious but very small portions for a high price. We went for the butter chicken, mateer paneer, and another dish, garlic naan, and rice pudding dessert. Good times. Rating: 3.5 stars out of 5.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share

UBC on Robson Square, Vancouver, British Columbia

UBC on Robson Square * 800 Robson Square * Vancouver, B.C. V6Z 3B7 * 604.822.3333 * http://www.robsonsquare.ubc.ca/

When I first went to the University of British Columbia, the only place I could attend college in Vancouver was their main campus over by Pacific Spirit Park / Wreck Beach / Spanish Banks just west of Jericho Beach. But during my Multimedia studies, UBC decided to open a branch at Robson Square. I remember it was desired as well as controversial. Visiting the School 6-7 years later, I saw major improvements and that the campus took over the underground area that resides below Robson Street. UBC of course offers stimulating arts and humanities courses, leading edge technology programs, live performances, international events, and public forums at this location while providing a unique and metropolitan environment for the student being beneath the Fashion and arts district of downtown Vancouver, British Columbia. The classrooms were high tech and spacious when I attended, I’m sure they’ve done nothing other than improve. In addition, UBC is now offering interactive online courses to working students who are too busy for a traditional classroom set-up. Recently Visited 3/22/08. Rating: 5 stars out of 5.


UBC/Robson Square
Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share

Tokyo Joes, Vancouver, British Columbia

Tokyo Joes * 955 Helmcken Street * Vancouver BC V6Z 2S5 * 604.689.0073

An interesting little Japanese restaurant chain in Vancouver. It’s odd because there is a really chic chain called Tokyo Joes in Denver Colorado that’s upbeat and expanding. Seeing this little plain joint in Vancouver when used to the really artsy one in Colorado was kind of a “huh?” slap across the cheek. So now i ponder is this the original one and the Colorado folks ripped the idea off of them, or did the Vancouver folks rip off the Denver folks. Curious. I’ve heard its good in Vancouver but didn’t get a chance to try it out. I know the un-associated ones in Denver are fabulous and to the point that I’m a Joe-addict.


Hmmm … Tokyo Joes? Was this first or the Denver chain? similiar stuff on the menus …
Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share

Granville Street, Vancouver, British Columbia

Granville Street * Vancouver, British Columbia * http://www.granvillestreet.com/

Ah Granville street, oh how I have missed thee. So many memories from the days that I used to roam around this artsy and entertainment bustling center of downtown Vancouver. I also remember back in the day when the city of Vancouver wanted to relocate all of the nightclubs in the city to just this street which of course never succeeded. During the years that I lived in Vancouver this was one of my shopping and dining tromping grounds. I’d hit up the coffee shops, the restaurants, and even some of the nightlife with shows at the Vogue, Gothic cheers at one of the pubs, and when Luvafair first moved to the Plaza for some britpop and 80’s fun. For the visitor or resident of Vancouver, this is a hotspot of activity for pub crawling, club dancing, unique and alternative culture shopping, arts, shows, concerts, and as well as some of Vancouver’s notorious seediness and pandhandlers. Rating: 4.5 stars out of 5. Visited almost daily during my last visit 3/26-3/31 as I was staying nearby, and quite often when I was living in Vancouver.


Granville
Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share

Wall Centre, Vancouver, British Columbia


Sheraton Vancouver Wall Centre Hotel * 1088 Burrard Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z 2R9 * 604-331-1000

I can only compliment the architectural design of this building as I didn’t stay here during my visit to Canada, nor have I ever. But for those who enjoy architectural design and monuments, the Wall center is some eye candy in that arena. Its located within walking distance from the fashion and commerce districts of Vancouver possessing a dynamic view of the ethereal supernatural beauty that Vancouver is well known for – from the heights of its uppermost floors one can see all of Vancouver, the Bay, the harbour, Canada Place, Grouse and Cypress mountain. This building is a monument of mirrored glass windowns with a soothing courtyard holding spectacular gardens, cascading water, and Roman-styled hand-laid paving stones mixing modern architecture with classical beauty. From the outside, this looks like a plush and comfortable place to stay. For more information, see www.sheratonvancouver.com. Rating of architectural design: 4 out of 5; Rating of Hotel: Unknown. Viewed 3/22/08.



Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share

Kitto Japanese House, Vancouver, British Columbia

Kitto Japanese House * 833 Granville Street, Vancouver, British Columbia * 604-687-6622
Kitto is in the heart of Granville street just around the corner from Robson. Its a busy, brisk, and small joint right off the main drag known as Granville where many of the nightclubs, bars, unique shops, and entertainment reside. The combo’s are pretty good and its recommended to finish off the meal is some good green tea ice cream. This particular visit (I’ve been here many times) I was running late and joining my group of friends after they were half done with their food. I had to tell a waitress twice i wanted to order, but once it got through i was a new addition to the table, they were really quick with getting my food out. The Unagi was pretty good as well as the Vegetable tempura. They also have a good selection of Vegetarian dishes and sushi. The fish tastes pretty fresh. Average price of Sushi $10-20. Review: 4 stars out of 5. Visited 3/22/08.


Sushi crew
Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share