Category Archives: Diner

IHOP Southgate (Colorado Springs, Colorado)

IHOP – Southgate
~ 2290 Southgate Rd, Colorado Springs, Colorado 80906 ~ (719) 635-0777 ~

Out of the Colorado Springs locations, this International House of Pancakes is one of the best. Who doesn’t enjoy IHOP? Its a pancake house worth the wait that you’ll often be greeted with upon entering as IHOP has that reputation. Wide variety of pancakes and all-day breakfast selections, fresh fruit, and delicous fried goods. 24 hours of availability, it will satiate your appetite. Delivery is also fast and efficient. Friendly staff and good food.

Rating: 4 out of 5 ~ Review by Leaf McGowan/Thomas Baurley, Technogypsie Productions ~

If you would like to contact the author about this review, need a re-review, would like to advertise on this page, or have information to add, please contact us at technogypsie@gmail.com.

Like this review? want more? consider donating a chai, coffee, tea, or meal to the reviewer as a way to say “thank you! I want more …”





Continue reading IHOP Southgate (Colorado Springs, Colorado)

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share

Time Out Pizza, Ephrata, WA

Time Out Pizza ( http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=28303), Ephrata, WA (http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=25725); Northern Exposure: Chronicle 24 - Chronicles of Sir Thomas Leaf, Lady Etain, and Prince Cian.  Adventures in Washington. Photos taken March 22, 2016.  To read the adventures, visit  http://www.technogypsie.com/chronicles/?p=20007.   To read reviews, visit: www.technogypsie.com/reviews.  All photos and articles (c) 2015/2016 Technogypsie.com - by Leaf McGowan, Thomas Baurley. All rights reserved.
Time Out Pizza

Time Out Pizza, 1095 Basin St SW, Ephrata, Washingtonhttp://timeoutephrata.com/

A great little pizza parlor, with an amazing all you can eat pizza buffet at a great price. Trendy decor with an 80’s outlook, good service and friendly staff, the pizza is delicious and plentiful. We really enjoyed our lunch here (3/22/16). They’ve been serving slices here since 1995. They also offer pasta, sandwiches, hamburgers, wings, chicken, deserts, and a salad bar. For the sports enthusiasts, there are large screen TV’s for game time. The kids can get lost for hours in their game room. Owned and operated by Lloyd Burleson of Ephrata, Time Out has a family feeling. Good times! Rating: 5 stars out of 5.

Time Out Pizza ( http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=28303), Ephrata, WA (http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=25725); Northern Exposure: Chronicle 24 - Chronicles of Sir Thomas Leaf, Lady Etain, and Prince Cian.  Adventures in Washington. Photos taken March 22, 2016.  To read the adventures, visit  http://www.technogypsie.com/chronicles/?p=20007.   To read reviews, visit: www.technogypsie.com/reviews.  All photos and articles (c) 2015/2016 Technogypsie.com - by Leaf McGowan, Thomas Baurley. All rights reserved.
Time Out Pizza ( http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=28303), Ephrata, WA (http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=25725); Northern Exposure: Chronicle 24 – Chronicles of Sir Thomas Leaf, Lady Etain, and Prince Cian. Adventures in Washington. Photos taken March 22, 2016. To read the adventures, visit http://www.technogypsie.com/chronicles/?p=20007. To read reviews, visit: www.technogypsie.com/reviews. All photos and articles (c) 2015/2016 Technogypsie.com – by Leaf McGowan, Thomas Baurley. All rights reserved.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share

The Diner (Columbia, South Carolina)

031613-014

The Diner
* 4405 Fort Jackson Blvd * Columbia, SC 29209 * (803) 661-7676 * http://www.thedinercolumbia.com/ * http://www.facebook.com/TheDinerColumbiaSC *

Just off the beaten path outside Gate 1 of Fort Jackson is a nice friendly little artsy diner plainly labelled after its namesake. They are after the classic American diner experience and image, open for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. So far, we’ve only experienced their fantastic breakfast setting. Family owned and operated, they have an assortment of deals, specials, and offers from burgers to pancakes, fish to apple pie. They also cater. They are very kid friendly – so much that kids eat free on mondays. Military and senior citizen discounts apply as well. We’ve tried the pancakes, eggs, and french toast – all of which we were very pleased with. If you’re travelling through Columbia, this hot spot is just off the Interstate, and a great place to take a road break. Rating: 4.5 stars out of 5.

022313-002

031613-010

022313-003

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share

Hungry Jacks

Hungry Jack’s
* Australia * www.hungryjacks.com.au *

One who first looks at the “Hungry Jacks” logo might get confused because it awfully looks identical to the “Burger King” logo in the States. That’s because “Hungry Jacks” is part of the “Burger King” Franchise. It has been operating in Australia as “Hungry Jacks” since its first Perth store opened in April 1971. It rapidly took over since that date. Within 10 years, there was 26 stores in 3 states. They even took over the near-dead “Wendy’s” Hamburger chain stores in Victoria when they purchased them in 1986. So why not just call it “Burger King”? When Burger King expanded into Australia it found that “Burger King” as a name was already trademarked by a takeaway food shop in Adelaide. Therefore, the Burger King franchisee Jack Cowin, had to operate Burger King under a different name. Cowin selected “Hungry Jack” after one of Pillsbury’s US pancake mixture products. By 1990, “Competitive Foods” was permitted to franchise Hungry Jack’s as independent businesses. It was around this time that Burger King was trying to expand in Australia and wanted all stores under their “Burger King” logo. But because the “Hungry Jack” trademark had 30 years of heritage, it made more sense to keep it as a separate brand. It is also known as “HJ’s”, “Hungry’s”, or “Hungie’s” and stands as an exclusive Australian master fast food franchisee of Burger King wholly owned subsidiary of Competitive Foods Australia, privately held under Jack Cowin. In 1991 Burger King took Hungry Jack’s Pty Limited to court as it wasn’t meeting up to terms with its franchise agreement in opening a certain number of stores each year as promised. After the Australian trademark on the Burger King name lapsed in 1996, Burger King made a claim that Hungry Jacks violated its conditions for renewal and wanted to terminate the agreement and thereby in partnership with Royal Dutch Shell’s Australian division began opening its own stores in 1997. Jack fought back in 2001 claiming Burger King violated the conditions of the master francising agreement and the Supreme Court of New South Wales agreed with Cowin, awarding him with 46.9 million Australian dollars. This led to Burger King terminating its operations in the country and in July 2002 transferred its assets to its New Zealand franchise group – Trans Pacific Foods. They agreed in 2003 to re-name these locations to “Hungry Jack’s”. Today there are over 300 Hungry Jack stores throughout all states of Australia and is known as a well-established Australian brand. Most of the new stores have a 1950’s theme, with music played from this era occasionally through a 1950’s style jukebox with associated contemporary pictures and memorabilia as part of the decor. Many of the larger sit-down style restaurants have their seats and tables laid out in a 1950’s diner style. The only Burger King trademarks sold at Hungry Jack’s are the “Whopper” and the “TenderCrisp” sandwiches, all others go by generic names such as “hamburger”, “veggie burger”, or “grilled chicken burger”.

Continue reading Hungry Jacks

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share

Pie Face

Pie Face *
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia * www.pieface.com.au *

A great little hole-in-the-wall chain counter/restaurant with fast service dishing out pies for Australians since 2003. First founded in Sydney, “Pie face” greets its hungry customers with a happy face on the pie crust face filled like a pot pie with yummy delicious veggies and/or meats. It was founded by Betty Fong and Wayne Homschek. Originally fashion designers, they first served pies to their audience to get everyone in the mood for their fashion show, and got such great applause for their pies, decided to open a business. The pies are custom made for their customers, and all hand made and baked. Delicious! I’ve enjoyed these fabulous little fast tasty pies in Melbourne, Brisbane, and obviously is also available in Sydney. Rating : 4.5 stars out of 5. Review by Leaf McGowan.

Continue reading Pie Face

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share

Hamburger Marys

Hamburger Mary’s Diner
1202 Davie Street
Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 1N3

Rated: **** 1/2

Hamburger Mary's

(Review by Leaf McGowan, 11/5/01):
“An excellent restaurant with organic meat entries. Right in the heart of Davie street village (gay district of Vancouver), this hamburger joint has a warm and welcoming staff and excellent service. A fabulous burger joint with fresh food, and excellent selections. I had the Organic beef California burger – came laden with lettuce, tomatoe, mayo, ketchup, avacado, onions, pickles, and a good serving of fries. The coca cola came in an old fashion shake steel cup which kept it ohhhh so cold. Top place. Will visit many times more. The burger, fries, and coke all for $11.75 CAN. ”

Continue reading Hamburger Marys

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share

Sushi Ring (Colorado Springs, Colorado)

Sushi Ring

* 1861 South Nevada Avenue * Colorado Springs, CO 80905 * (719) 635-5550 *

A great litle hole-in-the-wall down by Southgate in the southern part of Colorado Springs where you can get all you can eat sushi for a price. If you’re not up for that price of $24.95 all you can eat – then you can order a la carte. Quick delivery and sensational tastes. The little restaurant has a diner style with Elvis impressionism. It is open mondays through friday 11 am to 9 pm and saturdays from noon to 9 pm, and sundays noon to 8 pm. Its not a typical sushi restaurant as it has the kitch of the Elvis era. This is in part because the owner is a former “Elvis” impersonator known as Takashi “Elvis” Kishimoto. Rating: 4.5 stars out of 5. One of my favorites.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share

Red Mullet (Bristol, England)


Red Mullet
* 65 Baldwin Street * Bristol BS1 1QZ * 07941 112005

In search of Fish and Chips, I was led to this fast house by a local pub that had just closed down its grill. Being from Colorado it was pretty essential that my first day in Britain this year would be embraced by a meal of fish n’ chips. The Red Mullet is not just a Fish n’ Chips house, but a quick grill for a variety of dishes including Thai and Indian. Its a family run diner that is cheap and affordable with quality food. The fish and chips were very good and friendly service as well. Wanting to cater to more the dining crowd rather than the bar crowd, they recently went through refurbishment to make it a more diner experience than a fast grill. Rating: 4 stars out of 5.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share

Breakfast King (Denver, CO)

Breakfast King
* 1100 S. Santa Fe Dr./300 W. Mississippi Ave * Denver, Colorado 80223 * (303) 733-0795 * 24 Hours *

The Breakfast King looks like a typical old-fashioned chain diner, but its a unique infamous greasy spoon of Denver sub-culture. All American roadside diner, with classic 70’s style decor, bright orange booths, and a large menu of selections. The Westword calls it a “culinary time capsule” that still serves Coney Island hot dogs, chiliettes, and other classic foods. I second their observations. Located right next to I-25 its definitely a great stop off for weary travellers and a great place for breakfast after a night of clubbing. The service is fast, friendly, and the classical diner atmosphere you’d expect from the diner age. I had the Pancake sandwich with scrambled eggs inside … delicious. Visited 1/17/2010. Rating: 4 stars out of 5.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share

King Chef’s Diner (Colorado Springs, Colorado)

King Chef’s Diner
* 131 E. Bijou St., Colorado Springs, Colorado * 719.636.5010 * http://www.kingschefdiner.com/
My first experience at the King Chef’s was pretty good and tasty. While I only got the “enormous” pancake scramble sandwich, I found the place to be reasonably priced, with large portions, friendly staff, and good service. Its nice to have a diner right in the heart of Colorado Springs. I’m guessing its a new addition to the downtown scene, a bar/club stumble from the Springs’ main clubs, and having late night hours. They were brilliant in choosing this location. They are known for their green chili dishes. Apparently there is a smaller diner outlet (13 seat original purple castle) on Costilla in downtown that is also a popular place (but with little seating) that I’ve somehow missed over the last four years partying downtown. This larger Bijou Street location has plenty of seating any day of the week and are now open late on fridays and saturday nights. Apparently they are known for their burgers, burritos, melts, and chili dishes. Rating: 4 stars out of 5.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share

Twede’s Cafe & Twin Peaks (North Bend, Washington)


Twede’s Cafe, North Bend, Washington

Twede’s Cafe
* 137 W North Bend Way * North Bend, WA 98045 * 425-831-5511 * http://twedescafe.com/ * Hours: M-Th 6:30am-8:00pm ; F,Sa 6:30am-9:00pm ; Su 6:30am-7:00pm *
I’m not sure why I have an attraction to this place outside of the expected charm. I’m definitely a big fan of Twin Peaks, and the novelty of coming here once for that was enough, but there is an ‘odd’ charm about this place, even though its changed substantially since the filmings and had been burnt down as well. The food is pretty decent and you get enormous portions, though the menu is more expensive than it used to be. Everyone raves about the “Cherry Pie” – which is good, but not out-of-this-world good that everyone states, and certainly not worth the price you pay for it. I guess that whole ritual eating of the cherry pie is again part of the film novelty. The Cafe was originally called “Thompson’s Cafe” and was built in 1941 by Roy Thompson. The cafe lasted through World War II, the Depression, and the boom swings of the timber industry of Washington. The Cafe changed names to “Mar-T Cafe” as a pitstop for tourists and locals in the 1950’s. It was in 1990 that David Lynch chose it and the Snoqualmie Valley as a location for his series “Twin Peaks”. It was this series that immortalized his cafe and made the cherry pie famous as well as the “Damn fine cup o’ coffee!” saying in these parts. The cafe burnt down in 2000, but was rebuilt and remodeled becoming a significant part of “Historic downtown North Bend”. Besides the movie trivia, cherry pie, and coffee … the cafe is notorious for its large portions, home-cooked food, burgers, Big breakfasts, and home-style dinners. On this visit, I went for the Hot Cakes, sausage, and Hash Browns. Good stuff. Rating: 4 stars out of 5.

Twin Peaks Cup O’ Coffee

Continue reading Twede’s Cafe & Twin Peaks (North Bend, Washington)

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share

Ollie’s Trolley (Washington, DC)


Ollie’s Trolley


Ollie’s Trolley
* www.olliestrolleydc.com * 425 12th St NW
Washington, DC 20004 * (202) 347-6119

A little historic Burger and sandwich joint right off 12th near the National Mall is a burger shack/diner called “Ollie’s Trolley” which is a DC Landmark institution for the last 30 years. Family owned and operated, voted best for its burgers and seasoned fries as well as its shakes. Brightly lit and vivrant, not hard to miss. I had the Crab Cake burger which was fabulous, but wasn’t that impressed by the infamous seasoned fries. Cheap and affordable. Rating: 4.25 stars out of 5. Visited 2/21/09.


Crab Cake sandwich, fries, and coke

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share

Alki Cafe (Seattle, WA)


Alki Cafe

Alki Cafe * 2726 Alki Ave SW * Seattle, WA 98116 * (206) 935-0616 * http://alkicafe.home.comcast.net/~alkicafe/

A wonderful medium-sized cafe right on Alki Beach in West Seattle with full views of the mini-Liberty Goddess statue and the bay. They are open daily from 8:00 am til 8:30 pm. They have plenty of seating in their two rooms, each with views of the ocean. The service is prompt and friendly, and the food delicious. On 12/29/08 I ordered the Salmon sandwich which was perfect and hit the spot wonderfully. Rating: 4 stars out of 5.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share

Pike’s Place Market (Seattle, Washington)


Pike’s Market, Seattle, Washington


Pike’s Place Market * http://www.pikeplacemarket.org/ * 1531 Western Ave * Seattle, WA 98101 * Pikes Place / 1st Ave

A fabulous street mall and interior mall complex of shops, gifts, food, produce, restaurants, cafes, bars, and entertainment. Home to many street performers, and just watching the fishermen sell their sole provides humongous entertainment as one visits this historic venue and tourist attraction of downtown Seattle. 9 acres long, and over a hundred years old, its home to unique and interesting stories from immigration, to internment, gentrification, and urban renewal. It is because of this that its often referred to as the “Soul of Seattle”. Between 1906 and 1907, the cost of onions increased tenfold. Outraged citizens, fed up with paying price-gouging middlemen too much for their produce, found a hero in Seattle City Councilman Thomas Revelle. Revelle proposed a public street market that would connect farmers directly with consumers. Customers would “Meet the Producer” directly, a philosophy that is still the foundation of all Pike Place Market businesses. On August 17, 1907, Pike Place Market was born. Since that date this market is internationally recognized as America’s premier farmer’s markets and hosts over 200 year-round commercial businesses, 190 craftspeople, and 120 farmers who rent table space by the day. Over 240 street performers and musicians; and 300 apartment units, most of which house low-income elderly people. “The Market,” as the locals affectionately say, attracts 10 million visitors a year, making it one of Washington’s most frequently visited destinations. Every time i visit downtown I stroll through this wonderful venue. Its top rate. Rating : 5 stars out of 5.


Pike’s Place Market, Seattle, Washington

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share

Flying Star Cafe, Albuerqueque, New Mexico

,,,,,

Flying Star

Flying Star Cafe (Knob Hill – Albuerqueque, New Mexico)
www.flyingstarcafe.com * 3416 Central SE * Albuquerque, NM 87106 * Phone: 505-255-6633 * Fax: 505-232-8432 * HOURS: Sunday-Thursday 6:00am-11:00pm; Friday & Saturday 6:00am-Midnight
A large artsy/chic restaurant/cafe in the heart of historic and trendy Knob Hill district of Albuerqueque is a great place for getting your brew and grub for breakfast, lunch, or dinner. Up to the counter you order just like most cafe’s, but tempted with hand made breads, desserts, and pastries while you’re perusing the menu up above. On this particular visit I went for the French Onion soup in a bread bowl and a large cold chai. My friend Vikki went for a butternut squash dish with a new chai latte they were offering and little Trinity went for the pancakes and hot chocolate. We were all quite satisfied with our choices. Jean and Mark Bernstein, both born and raised in New York, came out west with dreams of opening a restaurant … with the exquisite delicacy tastes of New York in mind. They also wanted a large meeting place where solitaries or groups could hang out and lounge. In November 1987, they opened this particular store as their first, on old Route 66. Over the last 20 years their popularity has spread to 8 locations throughout Albuerqueque. Excellent. Rating 5 stars out of 5. Visited 11/30/08.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share

Granville Street, Vancouver, British Columbia

Granville Street * Vancouver, British Columbia * http://www.granvillestreet.com/

Ah Granville street, oh how I have missed thee. So many memories from the days that I used to roam around this artsy and entertainment bustling center of downtown Vancouver. I also remember back in the day when the city of Vancouver wanted to relocate all of the nightclubs in the city to just this street which of course never succeeded. During the years that I lived in Vancouver this was one of my shopping and dining tromping grounds. I’d hit up the coffee shops, the restaurants, and even some of the nightlife with shows at the Vogue, Gothic cheers at one of the pubs, and when Luvafair first moved to the Plaza for some britpop and 80’s fun. For the visitor or resident of Vancouver, this is a hotspot of activity for pub crawling, club dancing, unique and alternative culture shopping, arts, shows, concerts, and as well as some of Vancouver’s notorious seediness and pandhandlers. Rating: 4.5 stars out of 5. Visited almost daily during my last visit 3/26-3/31 as I was staying nearby, and quite often when I was living in Vancouver.


Granville
Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share

Kitto Japanese House, Vancouver, British Columbia

Kitto Japanese House * 833 Granville Street, Vancouver, British Columbia * 604-687-6622
Kitto is in the heart of Granville street just around the corner from Robson. Its a busy, brisk, and small joint right off the main drag known as Granville where many of the nightclubs, bars, unique shops, and entertainment reside. The combo’s are pretty good and its recommended to finish off the meal is some good green tea ice cream. This particular visit (I’ve been here many times) I was running late and joining my group of friends after they were half done with their food. I had to tell a waitress twice i wanted to order, but once it got through i was a new addition to the table, they were really quick with getting my food out. The Unagi was pretty good as well as the Vegetable tempura. They also have a good selection of Vegetarian dishes and sushi. The fish tastes pretty fresh. Average price of Sushi $10-20. Review: 4 stars out of 5. Visited 3/22/08.


Sushi crew
Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share

The Naam, Vancouver, British Columbia

The Naam
2724 4th Avenue West * Vancouver, BC V6K 1R1, Canada * (604) 738-7151 * In Kitsilano near the beach
I remember the Naam vividly from when I used to live in Vancouver, and from every trip I’ve made to this gorgeous city ever since. After all, where else could you find a full service Vegetarian restaurant open 24 hours and 7 days a week but in Kitslano? It is and was always a popular venue for after clubbing fare as well. Always crowded and servicing the most excellent food, it’s worth the wait. It’s been around forever it seems, and is the city’s oldest natural foods restaurant. “Funky” decor with wooden tables and a wooden floor with a garden patio for summertime seating. Every night from 7-10 they boast live music such as blues, folk, and jazz. Everything on the menu is fabulous, and if memory serves me my favorite dishes are the Thai and Naam Dragon Bowls, Thai Noodles, Buddha’s Feast, and Crying Tiger Stir Fry. The Naam Burrito Wrap is also fabulous. On this particular re-visit I had the Buddha’s Feast, topped with cashews and was in palatable heaven. Top that off with a Chai shake, and I was good as gold. Rating: 5 stars out of 5.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share

Le Peep, Denver, Colorado

Le Peep
999 18th St. * Major Cross Streets: 18th and Champa * Shopping Center: Denver Place Building * Denver, Colorado * Phone: 303-244-0360 * lepeep.com
It’s a chain, but it’s wholesome and has good food and service. They claim “fresh. simple. elegant”. Well it is a little more elegant than most diners, but it’s a diner. The food was fresh. The orange juice tasty. “The Gypsy” skillet dish was delicious. It was a good breakfast. Located two streets down from Denver’s infamous 16th street Mall, it had a good location and satisfied our palettes for brekkie. Rating 4 stars out of 5.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share

Tom’s Diner, Denver, Colorado

Tom’s Diner
601 E. Colfax Ave. * Denver, CO * 80203 * 303-861-7493
Apparently one of Denver’s legendary dives, this diner certainly isn’t as crowded as Denver Diner for after clubbing fare. According to Westword, it’s the “absolute best spot for watching Denver’s insomniac-freak community while eating decent diner grub.” Which i do have to agree with … located across from Bender’s and down the street from Cafe Netherworld, the food wasn’t bad. The waiter was friendly, and we had a good time sobering up at the location. So if you’re out partying and you wanna stumble from the clubs … this place has it all. Rating 4.2 stars out of 5.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share

Kokoro Japenese Food, Denver, CO

Kokoro Restaurant

Kokoro Japanese Food
Quick, Delicious Japenese Food * 555 Broadway, Denver, Colorado * (6th & Broadway) * http://kokorodenver.ypguides.net *
A fast, delicious and healthy alternative for those in a rush … service is quick, and take-out even quicker. Sit down or fly out … you won’t be disappointed. Dining in is fabulous … wonderful and friendly staff, good food, good prices, and good sake. Sit down have done the Unagi bowl which is fabulous … good rolls … strong sake. With a Happy hour you couldn’t find anywhere … affordable and tasty. Must visit. Rating 5 stars out of 5. 6/26/09: A repeat visit with a date provided great food, sake, and affordable dining with Unagi, California rolls, Ramen, and lots of sake. Lovin’ this restaurant! Rating: 5 stars out of 5. 1/17/2010 Visit: A Sunday late evening visit proved to be just as delicious – quiet – and the Unagi bowls are to die for. Unagi bowls and sake a combination can’t be beat. Rating 5 Stars out of 5.

Continue reading Kokoro Japenese Food, Denver, CO

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share

Woodpecker’s Roadhouse (near Oberhausen, Germany)

Woodpecker’s outside of Oberhausen, Germany
Zur Grafenmhle 147, 46244 Bottrop, Germany – 02045/410048 * http://www.wochenende.de/anzeigen.php?oid=B&uid=bc&id=105
A pretty cool roadhouse aux German interpretation ‘American’-style. Very pleasant pub/restaurant with an extremely friendly staff. The ambiance has much American memorabilia and supposedly the restaurant has very good food – and big burgers. We went only for drinks the night I visited, which were more potent than usual as I’ve found in Germany as I am used to strong drinks coming from the Pacific Northwest and the mile high Denver. I went with a Long Island Ice Tea and a B-52, both very good, though weaker than their American counterparts as they contain less alcohol in the mix. Woodpecker’s seemed to be very busy, lots of cheery people, and the wall screen was playing “Happy Tree Friends” – quite nice! My friends from Germany wanted to show me this American roadhouse since they will be bartending there some day in the near future. A very good experience! As far as roadhouses go, I’d give it a 5 star (out of 5). From the patio space and the fact it’s nestled nicely into the woods off the highway, looks like a very popular hangout joint for the outdoors and travelling folk, including motorbikers. Great place!


Woodpecker’s Roadhouse
Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share

Denver Diner

Denver Diner
740 West Colfax, Denver, Colorado * 303.825.5443. Denverdiner.com.
A blast from the past with decor to match, along the old route 40, in downtown Denver – Denver Diner has some great dishes and offerings and gives the diner ambiance we all adore and they offer late night dining. It’s the hip place to be after clubbing during the weekends as the club zombies invade the joint. Everyone knows the place as its the hangout afterhours. Great breakfasts! Rating 4 stars out of 5. Visited 12/15/06. Multiple times in 2006, 2007, and 2008. Visited 7/18/08.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share

~ Cafe @ Netherworld (Denver, Colorado)

Cafe @ Netherworld * http://ra.ntw.net/netherworld.com/ * 1278 Pennsylvania St., Denver, CO 80203

Denver’s only full service Cyber Cafes … an incredible hotspot of local activity from dancing, art gallery, poetry readings, a full bar, a full service restaurant, pool hall, the best jukebox in Denver, free wireless, and a venue for many events. Definitely a must-visit and must-hangout place to go in Denver’s downtown. Conveniently located and home to a friendly and great staff, you won’t be disappointed with this great place. Rating: 5 stars out of 5.

previous visits I tried out the internet service and the food …. Several WiFi networks to choose from, their home based network is the fastest in the joint – just get the username and password from the barista. The food – absolutely delicious …. previously I had the club with Cajun fries; The Nether burger; the Taco Salad … all spectacular! and delicious …. hit the spot. Iced chai with a shot of Baileys Irish Cream is my now usual drink of choice … makes the afternoon go by so nicely … not everyday you get a bar and a cafe and a restaurant all condensed into one … fabulous! Friendly staff and great service. A must …. (visited 6/16/06, 7/06, 8/06, 9/06, 10/12/06, 7/18/08, 2/14/09, 6/28/09) Recent visit, trying the artichoke dip … delicious! 7/18/08 Visit – the Appetizer sampler/combo – not bad. 6/28/09: Since this lovely establishment serves liquor as well as chai, and great food and free WiFi – it’s become a usual hangout for me to do chai n’ WiFi, meet up with friends, and do tarot readings … also become my favorite place for chai n’ WiFi fixes because I can add Bailey’s Irish Cream to my iced chai! Sweet! and the bartenders are fabulous with whipping that up.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share