Category Archives: Seattle

Bremerton, Washington

Bremerton

The largest city on the Kitsap Peninsula is “Bremerton”, Washington. It has a population of approximately 41,000 residents (2018 Census). It is the current home to the Bemerton Annex of Naval Bases Kitsap and the Puget Sound Naval Shipyard. It has a straight connection to downtown Seattle via two ferries carrying vehicles and walk-on passengers back and forth for a 60 minute ride, and a 28 minute fast ferry for passengers and limited bicycles being located right across the Sound from each city landing in the heart of downtown Bremerton. The City’s historic center is being revitalized with fancy new buildings replacing the older foundations. Tourism has the Harborside Fountain Park, a boardwalk, a restored 1942 art deco Admiral Theater, breweries, coffee shops, art galleries, restaurants, and multiple naval history Museums attracting visitors from all over. Nestled within Bremerton is the historic town known as Charleston that was built to house and entertain sailors which was annexed in 1927.

In the 1890’s the area now called “Bremerton” was within the historical territory of the Suquamish Tribe, where the land was made available for non-Native settlements by the 1855 Treaty of Point Elliott. It was designed and planned by the German immigrant Seattle entrepreneur William Bremer in 1891. That same year the Navy Lieutenant Ambrose Barkley Wyckoff bought 190 acres of waterfront land on the Sinclair Inlet which was originally owned by the Bremer family. Disputes over the land occures and three years earlier the U.S. Navy commission determined that Point Turner between the protected waters of the Sinclair and Dyes inlets would be the best site in the Pacific Northwest to create a massive shipyard. Bremer and his brother-in-law Henry Hensel purchased the undeveloped land near Point Turner at the inflated price of $200/acre and in 1891 arranged the sale of 190 acres to the Navy at $50/acre knowing the occupation would bring in jobs, money, and prosperity. In 1900 Bremerton became known as the “Navy Yard of Puget Sound” which spread to the Orient. 1901 saw Bremerton becoming incorporated by the State of Washington with Alvyn Croxton in 1901 becoming the first mayor. Unfortunately the Navy Secretary Charles Darling moved all repair and maintenance work on the ships to the Mare Island Navy Yard in California in 1902 because Bremerton became rife with prostitution, robberies, opium dens, and crime, throwing Bremerton into financial difficulties. By 1904 the city revoked all liquor licenses encouraging Darling to re-establish the Navy Yard as a port of call. The saloons came back two years later. There are two ships dry-docked known as the “Iowa coming up the Sound” and the “Torpedoboat Rowan”. During World War I numerous submarines were constructed at the Navy Yard and a third drydock added 4,000 more employees. In 1918 the city of Manette, east of Bremerton was annexed, then Charleston was absorbed into Bremerton, and growth expanded in the city. In 1942 the Admiral Theater was opened as a cinema then a playhouse / banquet hall by the 1990s. 80,000 more residents moved into the area for World War II production of ships for the Pacific War effort. By the 1950’s and 60’s more stability grew in the area and permanent settling occurred of many Government families, establishing more schools, bridges, and infra-structure. The USS Missouri was assigned to the Pacific Reserve Fleet in 1955 and stationed here, bringing in tourism and attractions – so that hundreds of thousands of tourists annually could walk the “surrender deck” where the Japanese surrender treaty was signed at the end of WWII. The ship was re-commissioned in 1985 and decommissioned in 1992. The new Trident submarine fleet and the Bangor Ammunition Depot 12 miles northwest moved closer to Silverdale and farther from Bremerton in the 70s. By 1978 most of the downtown area was seen as a blighted area falling into disrepair. The 80s saw unfettered growth with commerce, department stores, retail businesses, and other properties on the increase. By 2010 many buildings became vacant. The decommissioned USS Missouri was voted to stay in Bremerton as a museum ship and tourist attraction, then moved to the Pearl Harbor Naval Base in Hawaii by 1998. 1992 saw building of the Waterfront Boardwalk and Marina with a downtown revitalization project, the destroyer USS Turnery Joy became part of public tours bringing replaced tourism. In 2000 the waterfront multi-model bus/ferry terminal was constructed and in 2004 a hotel and conference center complex was built. The Norm Dicks Government Center was also built with housing, government offices, and a City Hall. 2007 came a newly expanded Marina, boardwalk extensions from USS Turner Joy to Evergreen Park. The same year the 2.5 acre Harborside Fountain Park was opened, more condos and buildings, a five large copper-ringed fountains, wading pools, and park.

The climate hosts a Mediterranean climate with warm dry summers with wet semi-mild winters, average rainfall at 51.74 inches and snowfall ranging from 0 to 46 inches a year.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share

Clarion Hotel – Renton, Washington

Clarion Hotel
3700 E Valley Rd, Renton, WA 98055 ~ (425) 251-9591 ~

I found a semi-affordable room at the Clarion in Renton. They didn’t charge the extreme deposits that the Seattle area is well known for as a typical hotel scam. I booked them through Hotels.com and got my free nights in order. It was a quick and simple check-in. The rooms were clean, tidy, and decorative though a little rough around the edges with closer inspection. Mini-fridge, microwave, and coffee pot – free WiFi, HBO, and cable. Everything worked perfectly. I got quiet rest and relaxation. My son had plenty space to play in the room. The breakfast buffet was good, but exactly the same every morning (no mixing it up) with Biscuits and Gravy, scrambled eggs, hash fried potatoes, sausages, bacon, cereals, waffles (minis and large), yogurts, juices, coffee, and tea. Breads, biscuits, muffins, and pastries. I was content. The only problem I had with the facility is that there is only one entrance to enter through, the side and back doors were not accessible for entrance and with difficult parking towards the front, this was a pain. Otherwise, no complaints. Rated: 4 stars out of 5 Visited 1/26-1/30/19

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share

Dollar Rental Cars – SEATAC

Dollar Rental Cars

SeaTac Airport, International Blvd, Sea-Tac/Seattle, Washington
Dollar Rental Cars – Web Site

On Saturday January 26, 2019 I had went to the Fox Car Rentals to pick up my reserved car – they informed me that they were out of cars, but Dollar was assisting them, it would only cost me 5 cents extra a day for the rental with them. I agreed, walked next door to a lineup, and waited to talk to an agent. She convinced me to go with their insurance which after a recent experience with Enterprise, decided it made sense. Of course this made the rental twice as expensive. Instead of the $190 rental total, I found a debit for $250 on my debit card. Okay, $50-60 deposit I presume. As of 1/30/19 that appears to be true, but I’ve had experiences with Dollar before with their $250 debits. We’ll see if they’ve fixed it. The agent was friendly and after filling out paperwork, guided me downstairs to get the car. Nice Black Toyota Corolla, so I was happy. Drove out and it was a quick paperless experience. The rental held up and had no mechanical issues, car was nice and smooth sailing. On 1/30/19 I filled it up, turned it in, quick check-in and they would email me my receipt. I was content. Rating: 5 stars out of 5. More about Dollar here: http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=40074.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share

Starbucks – Benson Hills; Renton, Washington

17901 108th Ave SE, Renton, WA 98055 ~ Phone: (425) 235-7948 ~ Starbucks web site ~

This has become one of my favorite Starbucks in the Renton Washington area. Staff is always friendly and hospitable, quick to assist and meet customer’s needs. WiFi is great as well as seating. No code locks on the bathrooms so one less hassle to deal with. Parking lot with ample spaces, next to the Fred Meyer’s so a quick in-and-out. Rating: 5 stars out of 5 Visited: 1/28/19, 1/29/19, 1/30/19. More info about Starbucks: http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=2345.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share

Starbucks – SeaTac – D Wing

Starbucks

SeaTac International Airport – D Wing, Seattle, Washington

A nice little booth servicing the new D Gates Wing for D21-D26 Gates. After a bad experience waiting in line for Anthony’s Fish Restaurant I decided to give my money to Starbucks instead at my gate. I got in line, the cashier fumbled adding money to my Starbucks card, but friendly and sweet apologized. I grabbed my sandwiches for the flight (which were over-priced compared to usual Starbucks) and awaited my Chai Creme Frappacino. Another newbie Barista, didn’t know how to make them, and stumbled to get it right. She was friendly and nice as well, apologized, and had great customer service. That makes it alright, you know. Got my order and everything perfectly. Rating: 4 stars out of 5.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share

Anthony’s Fish Restaurant – SEATAC

Seattle-Tacoma International Airport – SEA
17801 International Blvd

Seattle, WA 98158
Phone number: (206) 431-3000 ~ www.anthonys.com
~

Just in – 1/30/19 at 11:40 am – SeaTac airport, was hoping for some last fresh seafood before leaving Seattle for Denver, and I walk up to the concierge for seating, she ignores me, and attends to the gentleman behind me. I then interrupt, she says “go seat yourself” and points to the interior. Okay, so I do, looking for seating and then ask a friendly cooking staff and she says – oh no, you have to go up front and put your name on the list. So I do, and ask if its going to be a long wait, (new concierge) and she’s un-excited, depressed, and blah – it’ll be a few minutes (plenty of open tables). I moved on. Bad customer service. Looked nice, but hey we’ve got flights to catch. Otherwise the restaurant looks nice, offerings look tasty, and it looked like a nice place to wait for one’s flight. Guess I’ll never know, as I have not a chance to t try them out all due to poor personnel. Unlikely I’ll be going out of my way to review this restaurant again. Rating: 2 stars out of 5. Review on Yelp here.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share

Dick’s Drive-In

Dick’s Drive-In

~ Seattle Washington based chain ~

The infamous iconic Seattle-based fast food burger joint / drive-in, Dick’s is a major Seattle attraction. It was founded by Dick Spady, H. Warren Ghormley, and Dr. B.O.A. Thomas in 1954 within the Wallingford neighborhood on N.E. 45th street. A second one was opened in Capital Hill during 1955. In 1960 one was opened in Crown Hill, followed by one in Lake City in 1963, and a fifth in Queen Anne 1974. They opened a sixth location in Edmonds off 220th street and Hwy 99 in 2011. They opened a 8th location in December 2018 in Kent, Washington off Highway 99. There is no customer seating available at any of the locations except the Queen Anne which has indoor tables but no drive-in.

They boast a simple low-cost menu that gives them their fame – fast food staples such as hamburgers, hand-cut french fries, and hand-made milk shakes. They are notable for the “Dick’s Deluxe” which includes the burger, lettuce, mayonnaise, and chopped pickles. They don’t allow substitutions and all burgers are cooked to well done. They have been cited as being really good to their employees, even offering them matched 401(k), 100% employer-paid medical, and a $22,000 college tuition scholarship after 6 months of employment. They were voted the “most life-changing burger joint in America” in 2013 Esquire.com.

As much as I desire to quit fast food, this is one staple in Seattle I often still visit as the food is affordable and tasty. Most locations are quite busy and always involve a line-up and obscene traffic. The wait is worth it though in most instances. The shakes are to die for. Rating: 4.5 stars out of 5 Fast Food – Low.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share

Mercury Machinewerk (Capital Hill/Seattle, WA)

The Merc
Mercury @ Machinewerks * 1009 East Union, Seattle, WA 98122 ~
~ https://www.machinewerks.org/ * https://www.facebook.com/groups/mercuryatmachinewerks/

One of Seattle’s last strong-holds of the Gothic/Industrial clubbing and music community as a central hangout most famous for such in the Pacific Northwest on the American side, it is a volunteer operated private club down-set underground in the Capital Hill Neighborhood of Seattle. They offer some of the regions best Gothic/Industrial and Electronic music DJs and dancing venue. As a private club, membership is mandatory for attendance, and guests can only visit under sponsorship of a member. To become a member, a visitor must be recommended for membership by a current member in good standing … and has to attend via 3 to 5 signed visits within a 6 month period before a member can sponsor a visitor for membership which costs a mere $10. They essentially have something going on every day, ranging from club nights – smoking and smoke free, themed parties, karaoke, and a oddities market. They have a great dance floor, pool room, and a fully stocked bar specializing in Black Orchids.

Rating: 5 stars out of 5

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share

Lunch Box Laboratory

Lunch Box Laboratory

Seattle, Washington and surrounding region

http://www.lunchboxlab.com/

I have yet to try out this establishment. I have only observed the restaurant from doing deliveries for them through partner companies. The company was created in 2011 by John Schmidt’s Neighborhood Grills and Arnold Shain. The first location was in Seattle’s South Lake Union neighborhood offering experimental cuisine and a full bar with ecclectic cocktails. They took on a 80’s imagery with classic 80’s arcade games, outdoor seating, and expansions of their lunchbox menu. They became popular from the “As Seen on TV Dork Burger”, “Burger of the Gods”, “Astronaut’s Manmosa, “Buffalo Chicken Roll Ups”, “Classic Merican Mac and Cheese”, “Drunken Elvis” liquor infused shake.

Rating: Unrated – Yet to be rated

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share

Sizzle Pie

Sizzle Pie
National Chain Restaurant – USA

A great Pizza chain with locations around America that offers various Pizza pies and Italian treats, most notable for its Vegan Pizza Pies and Draft Beer. They host music and late-night hours. I’ve only experienced the Union Street location in Seattle after clubbing and found their pizza divine. They are also available for home delivery through seamless, postmates, trycavair, and GrubHub. They boast their principle that Pizza is for everyone and work hard to making a selection for everyone’s dietary preferences from vegan, meat, and veggies. Sizzle Pie was founded by Matt Jacobson and Mikey McKennedy off East Burnside street in 2011 as a never-ending pizza party where everyone is welcome. Rating: 4.5 stars out of 5

Locations visited:

    <
  • Sizzle Pie, 1009 E Union St, Seattle, WA 98122 : Phone: (206) 325-7437 Rating: 4.5 stars out of 5

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share

Renton, Washington

Essentially a sub-urb of southern Seattle, Renton is determined though as its own city in the heart of King County, Washington. Renton has an estimated population of 101,200 (2016 census). It is located approximately 11 miles southeast of Seattle’s city center. Renton is geographically located along the southeastern shore of Lake Washington hosting the connection of the lake with the Cedar River.

Originally the area where Renton now embraces was once a popular fishing area for Native American peoples. The first Euro-American settlers came to the area in the 1860’s. The infamous settlers Henry and Diana Tobin were one of the first Euro-American settlers in the area. The Seattle and Walla Walla Railroad was one of the first cities to be accessed enrout to Seattle carrying coal for entrepreneurs such as Erasmus M. Smithers who became the founder of the town in 1875. It was named after Captain William Renton, the local lumber and shipping merchant by Smithers although Smithers discovered coal there. The early Euro-American settlers started industries of timber, coal, and clay production in the area. The city was incorporated in 1901. The town became flooded on several instances by the Black and Cedar Rivers. The 1916 lowering of the Lake Washington Ship Canal reduced the surface of Lake Washington several feet eliminating lake drainage through the Black River. The Cedar river was used to divert waters into Lake Washington instead of the Black River. The population increased substantially during World War II with the Boeing production of the B-29 Superfortress. Interstates I-5, I-405, and SR 167 created a confluence in Renton bringing more traffic and tourism to the area creating a hub for shopping, entertainment, and dining specifically the Southcenter Mall in Tukwila and the Landing by Boeing. Today it is the final assembly point for Boeing 737 airplanes as well as for technology companies, healthcare, and manufacturing such as with Paccar, Boeing, Kaiser Permanente, IKEA, Providence Health, and Wizards of the Coast. The Seattle Seahawks have a training center here. The public library was built over the Cedar River in 1966 stretching 80 feet across the river connecting to Liberty Park and offering a unique spot to watch salmon in the river.

Renton is bordered to the North by Newcastle and Lake Washington, Cougar mountain to the east and May Valley, City of Kent to the South, and Tukwila to the West. It boasts a warm-summer Mediterranean climate with warm and dry summers mixed with cloudy wet and cool winters. It is within a partial rain shadow shielding it from coastal summers.

Renton has been home and birthplace to many notable people such as Jimi Hendrix (who lived here and is buried in the Greenwood Memorial Park), Brandon Roy, Jamal Crawford, Clint Eastwood (was a lifeguard at Renton’s Kennydale Beach), Joshua Farris, Sam Longoria, Avery Garrett, Sean Kinney (Alice in Chains), Emily Rose, Zach LaVine, and others.

Entertainment:



Dining:

Lodging:

Shopping:

Schools:


  • Albert Talley Senior High School
  • Apollo Elementary School
  • Benson Hill Elementary School
  • Briarwood Elementary School
  • Bryn Mawr Elementary School
  • Campbell Hill Elementary School
  • Carriage Crest Elementary School
  • Cascade Elementary School
  • Dimmitt Middle School
  • Fairwood Elementary School
  • Glenridge Elementary School
  • Hazelwood Elementary School
  • Hazen High School
  • Highlands Elementary School
  • Honeydew Elementary School
  • Kennydale Elementary School
  • Lakeridge Elementary School
  • Liberty High School
  • Lindbergh High School
  • Maplewood Heights Elementary School
  • Maywood Middle School
  • McKnight Middle School
  • Meeker Middle School
  • Nelson Middle School
  • Northwood Middle School
  • Renton High School
  • Renton Park Elementary
  • Ridgewood Elementary School
  • Risdon Middle School
  • Sartori Elementary School
  • Sierra Heights Elementary School
  • Talbot Hill Elementary School
  • Tiffany Park Elementary School

Transportation:

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share

Grand Central Cafe, Portland, Oregon

Grand Central Cafe, Portland, Oregon:  http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=25903.  Life in the Gorge: Chronicle 22 - Chronicles of Sir Thomas Leaf, Lady Etain, and Prince Cian.  The Gorge/Columbia River, Oregon-Washington. Photos taken March 27, 2016.  To read the adventures, visit http://www.technogypsie.com/chronicles/?p=17903.  Hood River: http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=23683; The Dalles:  http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=24107; White Salmon:  http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=23677; Husum: http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=25039; Portland:  http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=281.  To read reviews, visit: www.technogypsie.com/reviews.  All photos and articles (c) 2015/2016 Technogypsie.com - by Leaf McGowan, Eadaoin Bineid and Thomas Baurley. All rights reserved.
Grand Central Cafe, Portland, Oregon: http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=25903.

Grand Central Bakery
~ 2230 SE Hawthorne Blvd Portland, OR 97214 ~ http://grandcentralbakery.com/ ~

We stopped at this Pacific Northwest Bakery chain while waiting to meet some friends. It had some tasty chai and great cross buns for the Easter holiday season. It was originally created by Gwen Bassetti at Seattle’s historic Pioneer Square, locally owned chain dedicated to artisan baking. An assortment of breads, baked goods, sandwiches, soups, teas, coffees, and juices can be found here. Her original sandwich start started in Seattle’s newly refurbished Grand Central Hotel Building where it changed names from Gwen’s roadside farm stand on Lopez Island in the 60’s to the Grand Central Bakery in 1989. Famous for her Como loaves. Rating: 4 stars out of 5

Grand Central Cafe, Portland, Oregon:  http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=25903.  Life in the Gorge: Chronicle 22 - Chronicles of Sir Thomas Leaf, Lady Etain, and Prince Cian.  The Gorge/Columbia River, Oregon-Washington. Photos taken March 27, 2016.  To read the adventures, visit http://www.technogypsie.com/chronicles/?p=17903.  Hood River: http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=23683; The Dalles:  http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=24107; White Salmon:  http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=23677; Husum: http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=25039; Portland:  http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=281.  To read reviews, visit: www.technogypsie.com/reviews.  All photos and articles (c) 2015/2016 Technogypsie.com - by Leaf McGowan, Eadaoin Bineid and Thomas Baurley. All rights reserved.
Grand Central Cafe, Portland, Oregon: http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=25903. Life in the Gorge: Chronicle 22 – Chronicles of Sir Thomas Leaf, Lady Etain, and Prince Cian. The Gorge/Columbia River, Oregon-Washington. Photos taken March 27, 2016. To read the adventures, visit http://www.technogypsie.com/chronicles/?p=17903. Hood River: http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=23683; The Dalles: http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=24107; White Salmon: http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=23677; Husum: http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=25039; Portland: http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=281. To read reviews, visit: www.technogypsie.com/reviews. All photos and articles (c) 2015/2016 Technogypsie.com – by Leaf McGowan, Eadaoin Bineid and Thomas Baurley. All rights reserved.

Continue reading Grand Central Cafe, Portland, Oregon

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share

Days Inn, Federal Way, Seattle Washington

Days Inn ( http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=28459), Federal Way, Washington. Exploring the Olympic Peninsula. Northern Exposure: Chronicle 24 - Chronicles of Sir Thomas Leaf, Lady Etain, and Prince Cian.  Adventures in Washington. Photos taken March 24, 2016.  To read the adventures, visit  http://www.technogypsie.com/chronicles/?p=20007.   To read reviews, visit: www.technogypsie.com/reviews.  All photos and articles (c) 2015/2016 Technogypsie.com - by Leaf McGowan, Thomas Baurley. All rights reserved.
Days Inn ( http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=28459), Federal Way, Washington. Exploring the Olympic Peninsula. Northern Exposure: Chronicle 24 – Chronicles of Sir Thomas Leaf, Lady Etain, and Prince Cian. Adventures in Washington. Photos taken March 24, 2016. To read the adventures, visit http://www.technogypsie.com/chronicles/?p=20007. To read reviews, visit: www.technogypsie.com/reviews. All photos and articles (c) 2015/2016 Technogypsie.com – by Leaf McGowan, Thomas Baurley. All rights reserved.

Days Inn – Federal Way
34827 Pacific Hwy S, Federal Way, WA 98003– Federal Way, Tacoma-Seattle, Washington


+1 800-329-1992

Right near the King County Aquatic Center, WIld Waves Theme Park, and close proximity to the Sea-Tac Airport, the Days inn at Federal Way is a comfortable rest stop off Interstate 5. The hotel offers a free continental breakfast, parking, free wi-fi, and late checkout. It is across the street from a shopping area with sushi, fast food, and other shops. The hotel also has a 24-hour business center, free coffee/tea, and a 24 hour front desk. There are approximately 54 rooms in the hotel all with wifi, coffee makers, free local calls, ironing boards, desks, and TV with satellite. We enjoyed our stay for two nights. It was a rest away from home well needed. Rated 4 stars out of 5.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share

The History of Wandering Leaf Designs or “Wandering Leaf, LLC”

Wandering Leaf Designs, also known as “Wandering Leaf, LLC” was a web studio located in the region of North America’s Pacific Northwest – servicing its clients in the United States & Canadian provinces. A Limited Liability Company, Wandering Leaf Designs provided their clients with top-notch web designs, logos, art, graphics, wireless / nomadic technologies, and hot spots of interest from 2000 until 2004. “Wandering Leaf Designs” was founded after the closure of “Leafworks, Inc.. “Wandering Leaf Designs” was closed when its C.E.O., organizer, lead designer/developer, and mover/shaker left the .dotcom industry to return to his passion of “Archaeology & Anthropology”. Once on the trail to doing work at the Camano Beach Excavation, Miami Circle’s “Icon Brickell” project, and finally to be the GIS Specialist/Curator for the U.S. Army’s Cultural Resource Management Program at Fort Carson, he no longer had the time to continue operating “Wandering Leaf Designs”, much of which was the lasting demise of the “.dotcom” collapse that started in the late 1990’s into the early Y2K era. The Company closed shortly after his absence.

Continue reading The History of Wandering Leaf Designs or “Wandering Leaf, LLC”

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share

Trader Joe’s (Queen Anne, Seattle, WA)


Trader Joes – Galer Street, Seattle, WA, USA
~Review by Leaf McGowan/Thomas Baurley, Technogypsie Productions ~

Trader Joe’s * 112 Galer Street, Seattle, WA 98119 * (206) 378-5536 * Website: http://www.traderjoes.com/locations/map/135.asp *
Trader Joes is my most favorite grocery store, though this location is not one of its better stores in the selection and space venue. Still, good enough for the fix I needed today. Trader Joes is a “Unique Grocery Store” with a unique selection of goods, groceries, and food stuffs from all over at very low prices. Originally a small outlet in California, it has quickly grown in popularity from coast-to-coast. When I live in a city where there is a Trader Joes, that’s the only place I shop. Rated: (storewide: 5 stars out of 5, this store: 4 out of 5) I of course grabbed some of my favorites for the camping venture this weekend: Vanilla soy milk, Chai, panang curry thai tuna, cashew butter, blackberry jelly, homemade wheat bread, macadamian carmel popcorn, the famous $2.95/bottle wines, and other munchies. Visited again on 7/5/09.

To Learn more: Visit our main page about the Trader Joe’s Chain.

If you would like to contact the author about this review, need a re-review, would like to advertise on this page, or have information to add, please contact us at technogypsie@gmail.com.

Like this review? want more? consider donating a chai, coffee, tea, or meal to the reviewer as a way to say “thank you! I want more …”





Continue reading Trader Joe’s (Queen Anne, Seattle, WA)

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share

Freemont Zombie Crawl 2009 – Videos

Semi-Official Red, White, and Dead Freemont Zombie Crawl 2009 Video:


This is it, the semi-official video of the World Record 2009 Fremont, Seattle zombie walk. And contrary to the rumors, yes, we did break the record. We expect official certification of that this w…
http://www.youtube.com/v/HBd6zFXoeZw&hl=en&fs=1&

Record numbers of zombies invade Seattle’s Fremont neighborhood — July 3, 2009. Don’t get caught off-guard on Z-Day! http://www.zombiesurvivalwi…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oNxVx0C3gYs

A huge crowd at the 2009 Fremont Zombie Walk dancing to Michael Jackson’s Thriller. They’d had one lesson right before this video was taken. Pictures from the walk: http://www.flickr.com/photo…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UgbQPArFNNM

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share

7/3/09: Guiness Book of World Records Zombie Outbreak in Freemont

Friday, 3 July 2009 – Part II
Seattle, Washington

We were two innocent weary travellers coming in from Colorado for a friend’s bachelor party when we walked into a tragedy. Apparently the military was at it again shipping containers of waste and one of them rolled out of the truck into the nearby canal which of course broke open oozing out some toxic chemicals that apparently re-animates the dead and causes the living to become brain starving walking corpses. It all started when we found a parking spot along the canal when out of the bushes we were lunged at by a wild madwoman who clawed, scratched, and bit after me. She tore open my flesh and and before I knew it I hit the concrete. Julia went to get help. She got two of Seattle’s finest police officers to report the crime and get me help. I had passed out and as I awoke I felt really hungry and famished. I was craving red meat. Alot of red meat. The police officers took down my statement and deemed me “scratched and bruised up, but not requiring medical attention” and left us be. I turned cold, started cramping, and my eyes glazed over. All of a sudden Julia looked like the most delicious meal on the planet. I set forth to devour her. She didn’t know what to do. Especially when looking all around us were hundreds of other citizens from all walks of life apparently plagued with the same virus I was infected with, and soon for Julia to be plagued with. She tried to run, but I captured her, and I tore into her flesh.

She convulsed and met death. Shaking. Trembling. Before long she stumbled back to her feet in dire search for flesh and brains. We started to stumble and crawl down around the theater grounds with “thousands” of other zombies. Our friends were infected as well. There was no stopping this madness. Every human life that came into contact became plagued with the virus. The city began to quarantine the streets. Paranoia was running wild. Guiness Book of World’s Records came to record this as the world’s largest zombie infestation. The press came, and slowly became infected. It was madness. We got stuck wandering around in circles around the Freemont Outdoor Theater which was conveniently across the street from my friend’s bachelor party. He called me, heard me moan, and out of fear that something was wrong, came to investigate. He too became infected.

Eventually, Mary, a witch friend of mine, fed us over a dozen drinks of intoxicating concoctions that cleared the virus from the systems of our party. We breathed normal again, though extremely drunk and hungover. While we ‘technically’ died, we were revived and are symptom clear as of this date over a month later. However, we had to be carted off semi-unconsciously from the event. It was sheer madness. It took about a month to recover from the illness. Apparently nearly 4,000 were infected and many have not recovered. Most have been quarantined at a base in the Nevada desert called “Area 51”.

Guiness Book of World Records: Freemont Zombie Walk
http://parkingspace27.blogspot.com/2009/06/guinness-world-record-at-stake-zombie.html & http://fremontoutdoormovies.com/
July 3rd, 2009 at the Freemont Outdoor Theater * 3501 Phinney Ave North * Seattle, Washington 98103

Sponsored by Freemont Outdoor Cinema and Xbox 360
http://fremontoutdoormovies.com/2009/07/zombies-flock-to-for-brains-for-shaun-of-the-dead/
http://fremontoutdoormovies.com/2009/07/guinness-world-record-broken-in-fremont-3848-zombies/
Photos: http://www.nightzero.com/ * http://fremontoutdoormovies.com/2009/07/red-white-dead-photo-booth-presented-by-night-zero/

Around 5:00 pm, hundred upon thousands of Seattle citizens gathered together at the Freemont Outdoor Theater for the Red, White, and Dead Zombie Party which was co-hosted by Mark Rahner and Robert Horton, experts in Zombie Culture and Authors of the Zombie Comic “Rotten”. They were set on gathering over 5,000 zombies together to invade Freemont as crawling rotting corpses of flesh in order to beat the Guiness Book of World Records for the largest attended zombie walk. They succeeded with 3,848 zombies. They started with a line-up for zombies to scribe their attendance for the record from 5-7 pm. Followed by photoshoots by Night Zero and inclusion in their stories/comics. Then the crawl began at 8 pm and ending with a outdoor viewing of “Shaun of the Dead” at 9:45 pm. A can drive was also done for the Solid Ground drive to help end hunger in Seattle. They also had a zombie workshop from 6-8 pm on “How I Learned to Stop Worrying and Love the Apocalypse” Survival Kit presented by Night Zero Troupe who also ran the photo booth and essential guide to survival in the new Apocalypse in Seattle on how to hunt zombies. Then at 7:30 was the “Fashionably Undead” zombie fashion show where zombies shuffled down the catwalk strutting their stuff and slowly falling apart. At 8:30 there was a large group “Thriller Dance”. In addition, attendees had the opportunity to meet cult author S.G. Browne of the zombie novel “Breathers”. Local filmmakers also presented a behind the scenes look at their new zombie movie “Zombies of Mass Destruction” (www.zmdthemovie.com).

Continue reading 7/3/09: Guiness Book of World Records Zombie Outbreak in Freemont

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share

Southwest Airlines

Southwest Airlines

http://www.southwest.com/

Originally Air Southwest, it changed its name to Southwest Airlines in 1971 servicing their first flight on June 18, 1971. Southwest Airlines is headed by Gary C. Kelly. Kelly has served as the airline’s CEO since 2004, replacing James F. Parker, who had been the CEO for the last 3 years. Southwest Airlines is currently the largest American based low-cost airline with headquarters in Dallas, Texas servicing its most numerous flights to Las Vegas. Southwest carries the largest number of passengers each year than any other airline and owns the second largest passenger fleet of aircraft in the world. They host over 3,500 flights daily. Southwest is also one of the world’s most profitable airlines, posting profits for the 25th consecutive year in January 2008. They became popular for their short hops, no-frills service, and simple fare structure which is what they still remain famous for. They manage their own website and refuse to syndicate with the multi-fare search engines like kayak.com, orbitz.com, priceline, etc. Tickets cannot be purchased through common online venues like Orbitz or Travelocity; a minority are booked through travel agents. Most of Southwest’s tickets are issued directly by the airline over the phone or online at the company’s website which features Web-only fare discounts. They are well known for their rapid turnaround keeping its aircraft on the ground for a short twenty minutes to maximize profits. Southwest Airlines currently flies to 64 destinations throughout the United States. The airline will add its 65th destination in March 2009 when it begins service from Minneapolis/St. Paul, Minnesota and it’s 66th destination will be in New York at LaGuardia Airport. Unlike other major airlines, Southwest allows passengers to change reservations without additional cost. While this provides flexibility to customers, Southwest does not allow same-day standby travel on a different flight (usually a free service at other airlines) without upgrading to maximum fare. Customers are not assigned seats; rather, they are assigned to one of three “boarding groups” depending on their check-in time (earlier check-ins get to board earlier), and are left to choose their own seats on the plane, which helps the airline to board passengers faster. Southwest historically allowed three pieces of luggage to be checked in free as opposed to the limit of two on the domestic flights of some other U.S. airlines. Starting January 29, 2008, passengers will be able to check up to two bags for free. A third bag will be checked for a $25 . You may also check a 4th through 9th bag for a charge of $50 a piece and any other pieces after that are $110 a piece. Unlike most services today, they still serve snacks on board even short flights. Southwest has had their fair share of lawsuits and legal pressures, the most recent in March 2008 when the Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) inspectors submitted documents to the United States Congress, alleging that Southwest allowed 117 of its aircraft to fly carrying passengers despite the fact that the planes were “not airworthy” according to air safety investigators. In some cases the planes were allowed to fly for up to 30 months after the inspection deadlines had passed, rendering them unfit to fly. Records indicate that thousands of passengers were flown on aircraft deemed unsafe by federal standards. Southwest declined comment at the time, and US Representative James Oberstar advised a hearing would be held. On March 12, 2008, Southwest Airlines voluntarily grounded 44 planes to check if they needed further inspection. Federal Aviation Administration claims that Southwest Airlines flew almost 60,000 flights without fuselage inspection. Southwest Airlines could be facing a $10.2 million fine if they violated FAA regulations. There have also been rumors that the FAA knew about Southwest Airlines violations but decided not to fine the airline because it would disrupt the service of Southwest. Regardless Southwest has had only three major incidents of note and has never had a passenger fatality due to an accident. My flights to the Pacific Northwest with Southwest over the Xmas holidays of 2008 were spectacular from Denver to Portland, and Seattle to Denver. Mucho thanks to Southwest for everything they do. Rating: 5 stars out of 5.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share

Alki Beach (Seattle, Washington)


Alki Beach

Alki Beach * West Seattle, Washington
http://www.seattle.gov/parks/park_detail.asp?ID=445
Alki Beach is a long beach strip that runs that runs from Alki Point to Duwamish Head on Elliott Bay. A wonderful location for joggers, rollerbladers, beachcombers, sunbathers, bicyclists, and volleyball players. Equipt with plenty of parking, picnic tables, bathhouses, art studio, and a restroom – there is also a monument to commemorate the arrival of the first white settlers on the beach in November 13, 1851. This is where Chief Seattle and his tribe greeted them and assisted in building their cabins. North end of the beach is protected by a bulkhead and flanked by cottages with spectacular views of Puget Sound, the Olympic mountains, ferries, sailboats, as well as downtown Seattle. Popular spot by Seattleites for swimming, the water temperature from 46 to 56 degrees Fahrenheit. Over by cafes and shops that dot the landscape along Alki beach is a small replica of the original Statue of Liberty that was a gift from Reginald H. Parsons and the Seattle Council of the Boy Scouts of America in 1952. The statue has become such a symbol of liberty and courage that it became a place to mourn, to reflect, and to leave mementos after the terrorist attacks of September 11, 2001. One of the great sites of Seattle that most tourists don’t know about. Rating: 3 stars out of 5. Visited 12/29/08.
Continue reading Alki Beach (Seattle, Washington)

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share

Alki Cafe (Seattle, WA)


Alki Cafe

Alki Cafe * 2726 Alki Ave SW * Seattle, WA 98116 * (206) 935-0616 * http://alkicafe.home.comcast.net/~alkicafe/

A wonderful medium-sized cafe right on Alki Beach in West Seattle with full views of the mini-Liberty Goddess statue and the bay. They are open daily from 8:00 am til 8:30 pm. They have plenty of seating in their two rooms, each with views of the ocean. The service is prompt and friendly, and the food delicious. On 12/29/08 I ordered the Salmon sandwich which was perfect and hit the spot wonderfully. Rating: 4 stars out of 5.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share

Tully’s Coffee (Seattle, WA)

Tully’s Coffee * 1401 4th Ave * Seattle, WA 98101 * 206-625-0600 * http://www.tullys.com/

Tully’s Coffee, another Seattle favorite like Starbucks, that is slowly growing to be a large world chain – most notorious for its coffee. Tully’s opened its doors in 1992, they boast proudly about their handcrafted blends that are different than the rest. They also claim to be the last independent pedigreed-Seattle coffee company even though they are spreading quickly. They claim community is the big part of their stores. My visit to Tully’s at this location on 12/29/08 went very well, but not much different than a Starbucks experience. The chai and the pumpkin loaf I tried, not much different. However they do have free wifi internet, so my wifi n’ chai experience was much nicer than the pay per hour that Starbucks has. Rating: 4.5 stars out of 5.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share

Pike’s Place Market (Seattle, Washington)


Pike’s Market, Seattle, Washington


Pike’s Place Market * http://www.pikeplacemarket.org/ * 1531 Western Ave * Seattle, WA 98101 * Pikes Place / 1st Ave

A fabulous street mall and interior mall complex of shops, gifts, food, produce, restaurants, cafes, bars, and entertainment. Home to many street performers, and just watching the fishermen sell their sole provides humongous entertainment as one visits this historic venue and tourist attraction of downtown Seattle. 9 acres long, and over a hundred years old, its home to unique and interesting stories from immigration, to internment, gentrification, and urban renewal. It is because of this that its often referred to as the “Soul of Seattle”. Between 1906 and 1907, the cost of onions increased tenfold. Outraged citizens, fed up with paying price-gouging middlemen too much for their produce, found a hero in Seattle City Councilman Thomas Revelle. Revelle proposed a public street market that would connect farmers directly with consumers. Customers would “Meet the Producer” directly, a philosophy that is still the foundation of all Pike Place Market businesses. On August 17, 1907, Pike Place Market was born. Since that date this market is internationally recognized as America’s premier farmer’s markets and hosts over 200 year-round commercial businesses, 190 craftspeople, and 120 farmers who rent table space by the day. Over 240 street performers and musicians; and 300 apartment units, most of which house low-income elderly people. “The Market,” as the locals affectionately say, attracts 10 million visitors a year, making it one of Washington’s most frequently visited destinations. Every time i visit downtown I stroll through this wonderful venue. Its top rate. Rating : 5 stars out of 5.


Pike’s Place Market, Seattle, Washington

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share

The Chapel Bar (Seattle, WA)


The Chapel Bar, Seattle


The Chapel Bar
1600 Melrose Avenue * Seattle, WA 98122 * P 206.447.4180 * F 206.447.9777 * info@chapelseattle.com
* http://www.chapelseattle.com/


Off of Melrose in the edge of Capital Hill merging into downtown lies a old church nestled into a block with businesses and apartment buildings that has been converted to a exquisite martini bar. It was built in the 1920’s as part of the Butterworth’s Mortuary as a place to honor the physical world passing into the spiritual world. Its is off this theme that the bar still thrives – bringing together people to honor one another, but in a different way. Its both a bar and a restaurant, serving fine food, fine spirits, and merging in culture, arts, and music. The drinks while higher priced are fabulously delicious. I haven’t tried the food but I’ve heard excellent things. This is a top-notch establishment. Rating: 5 stars out of 5.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share

Mae Phim Thai Cuisine (Seattle, WA)


Mae Phim Thai Cuisine, Seattle, Washington


Mae Phim Thai Cuisine * http://www.maephim.com/ * 94 Columbia St
Seattle, WA 98104, * (206) 624-2979


A great little hole-in-the-wall Thai cafe with great and quick service, friendly staff, and delicious food. Its notorious for those three facets. It was started in 1993 and has been proudly serving downtown Seattle’s bustling epicenter. The Thai ice tea and chicken satay are to die for. Rating : 4 stars out of 5.


Chicken Satay and Thai Ice Tea, plus Peanut Sauce

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share

Hana Sushi (Capital Hill, Seattle, WA)

Hana Sushi * 219 Broadway E, Seattle, Washington. 206-328-1187. Mon-Sat 11 am-10 pm, Sun 4-10 pm.

In the heart of Capital Hill lies this little inexpensive hole-in-the-wall Sushi joint notorious for being fast, efficient, quality, dependable, and cost-effective. Always a place i tend to visit when up on the hill. The bento medleys are always good here, as are the sushi platters. Delicious sushi. Great Sake, pretty decent service. Rating: 4.5 stars out of 5.


Anita and Jason outside of Hana Sushi

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share

New Saigon Vietnamese Restaurant II (Seattle, WA)


Meatball Pho, Red Bean Bubble Tea, Egg rolls

New Saigon Vietnamese Restaurant II * 1529 6th Ave. * (between Pike St & Pine St) * Seattle, WA 98101 * (206) 623-0212

A nice little hole-in-the-wall Vietnamese restaurant under the shopping complexes that make up the fashion district of downtown Seattle. Its stairs down into the basement. Very friendly staff, decent prices, and good offerings. I had the meatball pho, ordered egg rolls, and a red bean bubble tea – all of which were spectacularly delicious. Great experience and perfect for a cold winter day. Spiced nice. Rating : 4 stars out of 5.


Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share

12.20.08 Adventures of Sinterklaas: PNW 2008: Sinterklaas does Seattle SantaCon, Part 3: Lusty Lady, Pike’s Brewery, and Beyond …

Saturday, 20 December 2008 – Part III
Seattle, Washington


The Lusty Lady

After the Public Library and skipping a couple of places we hit the Lusty Lady. It looked like a strip club, but it wasn’t. Peeping booths instead with live strippers at the other side. All the other santas piled into the closets. Too crowded to even peep. Of course they yelled if we had booze on us we better leave quickly or we’d be arrested. I did have a flask of wine in my santa bag so I quickly exited. The Lusty Lady quickly kicked us santas out and we immediately headed to the Pikes Market Brewery which appeared to be several bars in one. Hit there by 4:30 pm. I met some locals and gave them some naughty misfit toys, and at this point I would say I far more than simply toasted. Things are getting a little foggy at this point.

 
Santas piling into the peeping booth.

Food, dancing, frolicking, fun, boozin’, toyin’, and rockin’ pursued. Catching up with friends and meeting new faces. We spent an hour or two there it seemed. Apparently the Santa mob had splintered by this point and others were at another location. I think it was the split-off from the Public Library that did it. Nobody knows if the cops ever showed up there or the Lusty Lady, both places were gossipped to have called the cops. Then a mosh pit happened in the back of Pikes Brewery. Then our Santas splintered off yet again and apparently I was with the misled Santas and we went to Nightlite. The others went to Triple Door, Gameworks, and Westlake Center where apparently a massive snowball fight happened around 6:30. Graham and Becca left for a Yule dinner while I continued to frolick. By 8:30 we hadn’t moved from Nightlite and it was then I discovered I was with the unofficial Santa splinter. So now that all the Santa’s were regrouping at the Nightlite, I was getting hungry and ready for food. Ran into my friend Avery and caught up with him, convinced them they needed food too, and they drove me to Bill’s off Broadway for pizza and to see if Anita and Jason were there as that was the last place they stated they were going. Grabbed pizza and the exact last emptying of the santa bag of misfit toys. From there we got word the Santas were moving to the Chapel Bar by 9:30, so I headed off ahead to blend back in. Found Stephanie and crew, and Anita and Jason joined with as well. We all partied there for about an hour and headed over to the Lesbian bar “Wild Rose” and then off to “the Cuff”. Around that time I was plastered and everything seems foggy as I now try to recollect. Graham and Becca called that they were heading home and asked if I wanted a ride, and they were soon by in a flash. I don’t even remember decloaking my santa suit and passed out immediately upon arrival to my bed. Egads. These SantaCons … what a wild party.


Santas invading the floor of the Chapel

Continue reading 12.20.08 Adventures of Sinterklaas: PNW 2008: Sinterklaas does Seattle SantaCon, Part 3: Lusty Lady, Pike’s Brewery, and Beyond …

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share