Category Archives: food

Poor Richards (Colorado Springs, Co)

Poor Richards

Poor Richards
~ Colorado Springs, Colorado ~

Write up coming soon ….

Poor Richards ( http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=29645) – New Life in Colorado: Chronicle 26 – Chronicles of Sir Thomas Leaf and Prince Cian. Adventures in Colorado. Photos taken December 23, 2016. To read the adventures, visit http://www.technogypsie.com/chronicles/?p=21965. To read reviews, visit: www.technogypsie.com/reviews. All photos and articles (c) 2015/2016 Technogypsie.com – by Leaf McGowan and Thomas Baurley. All rights reserved. www.technogypsie.com/photography

Poor Richards ( http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=29645) – New Life in Colorado: Chronicle 26 – Chronicles of Sir Thomas Leaf and Prince Cian. Adventures in Colorado. Photos taken December 23, 2016. To read the adventures, visit http://www.technogypsie.com/chronicles/?p=21965. To read reviews, visit: www.technogypsie.com/reviews. All photos and articles (c) 2015/2016 Technogypsie.com – by Leaf McGowan and Thomas Baurley. All rights reserved. www.technogypsie.com/photography

Poor Richards ( http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=29645) – New Life in Colorado: Chronicle 26 – Chronicles of Sir Thomas Leaf and Prince Cian. Adventures in Colorado. Photos taken December 23, 2016. To read the adventures, visit http://www.technogypsie.com/chronicles/?p=21965. To read reviews, visit: www.technogypsie.com/reviews. All photos and articles (c) 2015/2016 Technogypsie.com – by Leaf McGowan and Thomas Baurley. All rights reserved. www.technogypsie.com/photography

Print Friendly
Share

Marilyn’s Pizza Parlor

Marilyn's Pizza (http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=29417&); Explorations around Manitou Springs, Colorado. New Life in Colorado: Chronicle 26 - Chronicles of Sir Thomas Leaf  and Prince Cian.  Adventures in Colorado. Photos taken December 18, 2016.  To read the adventures, visit   http://www.technogypsie.com/chronicles/?p=21965.   To read reviews, visit: www.technogypsie.com/reviews.  All photos and articles (c) 2015/2016 Technogypsie.com - by Leaf McGowan and Thomas Baurley. All rights reserved. www.technogypsie.com/photography.  Manitou Springs: http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=22613; Colorado: http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=22613.
Marilyn’s Pizza (http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=29417&)

Marilyn’s Pizza
~ 964 Manitou Ave, Manitou Springs, CO 80829 ~

A great little hole-in-the-wall restaurant and pizza parlor in the heart of Manitou Springs downtown next to the former Ancient Mariner and the Mate Factory. Friendly service and timely pizza with a variety of choices. We had the basic slice and a macaroni and cheese slice. Good eats. Rating 3 stars out of 5

Marilyn's Pizza (http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=29417&); Explorations around Manitou Springs, Colorado. New Life in Colorado: Chronicle 26 - Chronicles of Sir Thomas Leaf  and Prince Cian.  Adventures in Colorado. Photos taken December 18, 2016.  To read the adventures, visit   http://www.technogypsie.com/chronicles/?p=21965.   To read reviews, visit: www.technogypsie.com/reviews.  All photos and articles (c) 2015/2016 Technogypsie.com - by Leaf McGowan and Thomas Baurley. All rights reserved. www.technogypsie.com/photography.  Manitou Springs: http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=22613; Colorado: http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=22613.
Marilyn’s Pizza (http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=29417&); Explorations around Manitou Springs, Colorado. New Life in Colorado: Chronicle 26 – Chronicles of Sir Thomas Leaf and Prince Cian. Adventures in Colorado. Photos taken December 18, 2016. To read the adventures, visit http://www.technogypsie.com/chronicles/?p=21965. To read reviews, visit: www.technogypsie.com/reviews. All photos and articles (c) 2015/2016 Technogypsie.com – by Leaf McGowan and Thomas Baurley. All rights reserved. www.technogypsie.com/photography. Manitou Springs: http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=22613; Colorado: http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=22613.

Continue reading Marilyn’s Pizza Parlor

Print Friendly
Share

Grand Central Cafe, Portland, Oregon

Grand Central Cafe, Portland, Oregon:  http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=25903.  Life in the Gorge: Chronicle 22 - Chronicles of Sir Thomas Leaf, Lady Etain, and Prince Cian.  The Gorge/Columbia River, Oregon-Washington. Photos taken March 27, 2016.  To read the adventures, visit http://www.technogypsie.com/chronicles/?p=17903.  Hood River: http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=23683; The Dalles:  http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=24107; White Salmon:  http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=23677; Husum: http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=25039; Portland:  http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=281.  To read reviews, visit: www.technogypsie.com/reviews.  All photos and articles (c) 2015/2016 Technogypsie.com - by Leaf McGowan, Eadaoin Bineid and Thomas Baurley. All rights reserved.
Grand Central Cafe, Portland, Oregon: http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=25903.

Grand Central Bakery
~ 2230 SE Hawthorne Blvd Portland, OR 97214 ~ http://grandcentralbakery.com/ ~

We stopped at this Pacific Northwest Bakery chain while waiting to meet some friends. It had some tasty chai and great cross buns for the Easter holiday season. It was originally created by Gwen Bassetti at Seattle’s historic Pioneer Square, locally owned chain dedicated to artisan baking. An assortment of breads, baked goods, sandwiches, soups, teas, coffees, and juices can be found here. Her original sandwich start started in Seattle’s newly refurbished Grand Central Hotel Building where it changed names from Gwen’s roadside farm stand on Lopez Island in the 60’s to the Grand Central Bakery in 1989. Famous for her Como loaves. Rating: 4 stars out of 5

Grand Central Cafe, Portland, Oregon:  http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=25903.  Life in the Gorge: Chronicle 22 - Chronicles of Sir Thomas Leaf, Lady Etain, and Prince Cian.  The Gorge/Columbia River, Oregon-Washington. Photos taken March 27, 2016.  To read the adventures, visit http://www.technogypsie.com/chronicles/?p=17903.  Hood River: http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=23683; The Dalles:  http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=24107; White Salmon:  http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=23677; Husum: http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=25039; Portland:  http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=281.  To read reviews, visit: www.technogypsie.com/reviews.  All photos and articles (c) 2015/2016 Technogypsie.com - by Leaf McGowan, Eadaoin Bineid and Thomas Baurley. All rights reserved.
Grand Central Cafe, Portland, Oregon: http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=25903. Life in the Gorge: Chronicle 22 – Chronicles of Sir Thomas Leaf, Lady Etain, and Prince Cian. The Gorge/Columbia River, Oregon-Washington. Photos taken March 27, 2016. To read the adventures, visit http://www.technogypsie.com/chronicles/?p=17903. Hood River: http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=23683; The Dalles: http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=24107; White Salmon: http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=23677; Husum: http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=25039; Portland: http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=281. To read reviews, visit: www.technogypsie.com/reviews. All photos and articles (c) 2015/2016 Technogypsie.com – by Leaf McGowan, Eadaoin Bineid and Thomas Baurley. All rights reserved.

Continue reading Grand Central Cafe, Portland, Oregon

Print Friendly
Share

~ Tandoori House (Dublin, Ireland)

Tandoori House
* 1 All Saints Park, Raheny, Dublin, Ireland * Open 17:00 – 23:30 * http://www.tandoorihousetakeaway.com/ *

After a long drive across Ireland, we ‘couldn’t be bothered’ about cooking up a meal, so decided to see what we could find online for delivery in our area. We found this little gem with excellent service, fast delivery, delicious food, and affordable selections. Indian food at its finest. Much enjoyed and we were quite satisfied. Rating: 4 out of 5 stars. Experienced 12/20/2013 (Yelp Review)

Print Friendly
Share

In-N-Out Burgers

112413-003

In-N-Out Burgers

I was first introduced to In-and-Out when I was living in Los Angeles as a paid audience member and extra for Hollywood, needing fast food, “in” and “out”. I was introduced to their un-advertised attraction, the leaf wraps. Those were back in the days when I had no problems with fast food or the health consequences of having that kind of diet. I have since made motions to thin out (and someday totally eliminate) fast food from my diet. Me and my wife are on the gluten-free path, so the idea of a leaf wrap sandwich when there was no other open food options sounded perhaps ‘healthier’ than some of the alternatives. While ditching the gluten by skipping the bun, it still was a mild option to the the extremes that is fast food. Traveling through the American Southwest we were curious to give it a gander. Personally in terms of fast food, its not much different than the others, though the quality outside of the lettuce was good tasting but same as most fast food. We were surprised they didn’t advertise the lettuce wrap option on their menu and that its more a “word-of-mouth” item, especially since its an element that makes them stick out from the others. The In-N-Out Burger chain is regional, with locations throughout California, Arizona, Nevada, Utah, and Texas. It was founded by Harry and Esther Snyder in Baldwin Park, California in 1948. Their grandchild Lynsi Torres currently runs the operation. It is not franchised nor public, and has distribution centers in California; Phoenix, Arizona; Draper, Utah; and Dallas, Texas. They have not changed this practice in order to maintain quality and customer consistency. They are one of the few fast food chains in the U.S. to pay their employees higher than the state and federal mandated minimum wage guidelines. They offer three burger varieties – hamburgers, cheeseburgers, and the “Double-Double” (their trademarked double meat, double cheese). They also sell french fries, milkshakes (vanilla, chocolate, and strawberry), and typical fountain drinks. Burgers come with lettuce, tomato, optional onions, and their special sauce (like McDonald’s, a variant of thousand islands dressing). They do however have a secret menu available at most In-N-Outs. These can be found on their web site. These include a 3×3 (three patties, three slices of cheese), a 4×4 (four patties and four slices of cheese), 20×20, Neapolitan shakes, grilled cheese sandwich (no meat, two slices of melted cheese), Protein style (wrapped in lettuce – all ingredients of a burger just no buns), and Animal style (animal style: burger cooked in thin layer of mustard, lettuce, tomato, pickles, grilled onions, and extra spread – hot peppers option. Animal fries come with two slices of melted cheese, spread, and grilled onions on top). Their decor is red, white, and yellow branding – white building exterior and uniforms, red for the roof and aprons/hats, yellow for the roof’s decorative band and iconic zig-zag in the logo. They also plant palm trees often to form an “X” in front of the restaurants. One problem with In-N-Out is its secret proselytizing of Christianity. They print discreet references to Bible verses on their paper containers such as the Double-Double burger wrapper and the drink cup. These consist of the book, chapter, and number of the verse not the actual text of the passage. This came into play during the 1980’s when Rich Snyder was president, as a reflection of the Christian beliefs he held. Because of their fundamentalist Christian practices and the fact that the food is not healthy (not company specific – fast food overall), I will no longer frequent this company. For those of you desiring junk food and not minding the Christian fundamentalism, enjoy your GMO beef. Rating: 2 stars out of 5.

112413-001

Continue reading In-N-Out Burgers

Print Friendly
Share

Chocola Tree (Sedona, Arizona)

112413-010

Chocola Tree Organic Eatery
* 1595 West Hwy 89A, Sedona, Arizon 86336 *

As I try to live the healthier lifestyle, incorporating more vegan, vegetarian, and gluten-free into my diet, we were very happy to see a gluten-free vegan restaurant in Sedona. Though “Sedona” being “Sedona” amped up in price tags taking advantage of alternative travelers and tourists I met with what I expected – HIGH priced menu items for unforgivable quantity, quality, or measure. I’m not sure why these trendy spots feel they need to over-charge people who want to be healthy as it seems counter-productive to what the movement stands for in my opinion. New age is new age, and this would be one of the classic hotspots for that kind. Don’t get me wrong, the food was decent, but the manner of delivery is not. First off, everything was way over-priced – and would have been a place I normally would not even give a moment of my time. I was however with a group that wanted to try their food, so in we went. I figured I’d try to be minimalistic with price so was going to go for the coconut curry soup. But the waiter says “its cold – is that ok?” I said, “cold? can’t you heat it up?” and he said “No that’s how its served, we don’t have any way to heat it up here, we don’t use microwaves and we don’t have a stove top”. Okay, being health-conscious I get the “no microwave” but really? A restaurant without a stove top? really? In addition, the soup would not come with bread, even though the bowl of soup was in the $8-10 price range. Really? If I wanted some bread, I’d have to order it separately and it would cost $4-8. I was sickened with the concept. So I went with the Gluten-free waffles. They were good, the middle part. The edges were a bit hard. If they don’t have a stove top, I suppose it was done in a waffle maker. Anyhow – neo-hippie decor with southwestern style, staff was friendly (though full of themselves), and it was crowded. If you’ve a lot of money to toss out the window, into the New Age lifestyle, this would be the perfect place for you – I’m sure the minimalistic food would be perfect for your palate. Not mine. Will never return. They claim 100% organic and/or wild-crafted produce with a 95% seasonal menu. They state they use artesian spring fed source free of chlorine or fluoride water in their cooking and serving. Rating: 3 stars out of 5. Visited 11/24/2013.

112413-007

Continue reading Chocola Tree (Sedona, Arizona)

Print Friendly
Share

Hadley’s Fish and Chips (Whitby, England)

Hadley's Fish n' Chips
Hadley's Fish n' Chips, Whitby, England

Hadley’s Fish and Chips
* 11 Bridge Street Whitby, North Yorkshire YO22 4BG, United Kingdom
01947 604 153 *

In the heart of the Yorkshire coast, in the little historic fishing village of Whitby, I couldn’t think of a better place where I’d crave fish n’ chips than this location. There were many places to choose from for such a scrumptuous meal … and i settled for Hadley’s Fish and Chips. I’m glad I did, as I was quite pleased. Fast service, quick turnaround, friendly staff, clean restaurant, and a delicious meal. Even came with a cup of tea and a slice of toast? Nonetheless, I was happy. Rating: 4 stars out of 5.

Hadley's Fish and Chips[/caption]>

Print Friendly
Share

Cork Butter Museum

Cork Butter Museum
Cork Butter Museum

Cork Butter Museum
O’ Connell Square, Shandon, Cork, Ireland
+353 (0) 21 4300600 * www.corkbutter.museum

One of the most intriguing and interesting museums in Cork is the Butter Museum. My fiancee was quick to take me up the hill to this unsual museum that covers the history of Ireland’s most important food export and the world’s largest butter market. It’s definitely worth a gander and is enriching with the history of farming, commerce, and finance in Ireland. It doesn’t just focus on the food culture of early Ireland, but also covers the growth of Cork as a food trade center. The history of butter making is covered with a feature audio-visual presentation on Irish Butter, as well as a plethera of artifacts throughout history used in butter and food production. It can be done in about an hour, and only will cost you about 4 Euros to wander about. Rating: 3 stars out of 5.

Butter Churn
Butter Churn

Print Friendly
Share

Farmhouse cafe and bakery (El Prado, NM)

Farmhouse Cafe and Bakery

* 1405 Paseo Del Pueblo Norte, El Prado, NM 87529 * (575) 758-5683 *
(Located outside of Taos, New Mexico)

This cafe was a delightful gem as we pulled to the plaza in which its buried behind a few stores in as a “last chance” food stop heading from Taos towards the Rio Grande Gorge and Bridge. A snowy cold afternoon, we were surprised to find a gluten-free, free-range, organic bakery / cafe / restaurant with offerings to our required palate. I was a bit hesitant at first as the meal took a bit longer than I’m used to waiting for, but I was very pleased with the masterpiece we received. The food was delicious, wholeheartedly healthy, and satisfying. In addition we were blessed with the ability to meet the owner, and she graced us with a gift of some home-made flan since we had been waiting a bit. Definitely a location we’ll be dropping by in our future visits to Taos area. With offerings for vegans, vegetarians, free-rangarians, and the gluten-free crowd, you can’t go wrong with this farm-to-table venue. They also offer free wifi, outdoor dining, private party space, and a great cafe to read, relax, and socialize in. We were on-the-go, so were taking out so next time will definitely stay awhile.

According to taos news in their article about this new cafe to Taos, Micah Roseberry, the owner opened on August 21st of 2013 as she had been farming in Northern New Mexico for over 25 years and wanted to bring the farm directly to the table, and therefore Farmhouse cafe was born. All of the produce comes right from the farm outside of the restaurant or from her farm up in Cerro, as are the flowers, and those that do not come from her farm are delivered via organic free-range farms from the local community. She’s into community and building a local food system as her non-GMO organic market. They serve breakfast and lunch as well as a farmer’s market where locals can sell their produce every wednesday from 3-6 pm.

Our first visit awards this great cafe a 4 1/2 stars out of 5. 11/22/2013.

Print Friendly
Share

Dream Dinners : Quick meals for the weekender traveler

031513-005

Dream Dinners @ Pigly Wiggly

* http://dreamdinners.com/ *

We first discovered this little “making life easier” treat when my co-workers and company chipped in and got us $100 worth of “Dream Dinners” – a service we’ve never heard of before until this event. As we were in recovery mode from the birth of our baby … they generously helped out with making meals easy on us. The service is brilliant, as they make meals easy to do especially for when you don’t have much time to gather ingredients and cook. Realized quickly the meals would be grand for taking on outings, picnics, and camp-outs. The company was founded on a mission of bringing together families around the dinner table, providing everything needed to assemble great dinners to enjoy with meal preparation times under an hour. Here in Columbia, South Carolina they are based out of the Pigley Wigley grocer stores. Rating: 4 stars out of 5.

031513-004

Print Friendly
Share

Charleston Marina Variety Store and Seafood Restaurant

Marina Variety Store and Seafood Restaurant
* 17 Lockwood Dr – Ste E * Charleston, SC 29401-1160 * 843-723-6325 * http://www.varietystorerestaurant.com/ *

Mom was in the downtown Roper hospital so this was an easy to walk to location while caretaking and visiting her, but it wasn’t very quick on the service, even though decent on the wallet. Scenic views of the municipal marina, The Marina Variety store has a semi-decent variety of dishes and meals offered, and decent prices. It has been offering fine food since 1963 including breakfast, lunch, and dinner. This has been my second visit. Each time I was pleased with the food, dissatisfied by how long it took for the food to come out. The Crab cakes are delicious as are the sweet potatoe fries. Three bean salad mediocre. Overall, I had a good meal with my wife … Rating 3.5 stars out of 5.

101212-006

Continue reading Charleston Marina Variety Store and Seafood Restaurant

Print Friendly
Share

Boiled Peanuts – a southern U.S. specialty

050413-020

Boiled Peanuts

I was first initiated into this redneck snack when moving to Tallahassee, Florida for University. I was abhorred by the idea, but fighting resistance of trying things odd, I came to love them. They are very popular in any region where peanuts are found to grow. It is the practice of boiling green and raw peanuts, rather than fully mature nuts. They are not fully dried as is done with roasted peanuts or those for oil, butter, etc. They are boiled in salt or cajun flavoring, and develop a strong salty taste with a consistency that is very soft very similar to peas. You can find them being hawked on the roadside by vendors when driving down country roads in the southern United States. This became a folk food in the southern USA, and were called “goober peas” since the 19th century. Some believe they were brought by African slaves and were prepared liek a fish fry in a social gathering setting, often accompanying fried green potatoes, fried fish, okra, black eyed peas, collard greens, and barbecque or cajun food. They can also be found as street foods and snacks in Indian, Indonesia, the Phillipines, Thailand, Central and South America, Nigeria and Ghana, as well as many other parts of Africa. In China they are boiled with salt and star anise, and made into a soup in Taiwan. They are known to contain antioxidants and therefore very good for you – with over four times the antioxidants of raw or roasted peanuts.

050413-021

Continue reading Boiled Peanuts – a southern U.S. specialty

Print Friendly
Share

Leopald’s Ice Cream Parlor (Savannah, Georgia)

040613-018

Leopold’s Ice Cream Parlor
* 212 E Broughton St * Savannah, GA 31401 * (912) 234-4442 * http://www.leopoldsicecream.com/ *

As we were exploring the streets of Savannah on a hot spring day, we spied an ice cream shop around the corner with a long long line wrapping about its front. This was Leopolds VeriBest ice cream that is billed to be absolutely a one-of-a-kind. They make all the flavors right in the shop, one batch at a time, using top-secret family recipes handed down from the original Leopold brothers. This Ice Cream dates to 1919 when three Greek immigrant brothers came to America. Peter, George, and Basil Leopold learned the art of candy and dessert making from their uncle, perfected the formulas and created this world famous brand. They set up shop in Savannah Georgia on the corner of Gwinnett and Habersham, making them one of Savannah’s most famous hot spots. The original parlor closed in 1969 and the original fixtures were stored by Peter’s child Stratton who was pursuing a Hollywood career. Then in 2004, Stratton and his wife Mary reopened the shop on Broughton street which was designed by Academy Award nominated set designer Dan Lomino. The shop holds set props, posters, the original fixtures, a black marble soda fountain and a wooden interior phone booth.

040613-022

Continue reading Leopald’s Ice Cream Parlor (Savannah, Georgia)

Print Friendly
Share

The Diner (Columbia, South Carolina)

031613-014

The Diner
* 4405 Fort Jackson Blvd * Columbia, SC 29209 * (803) 661-7676 * http://www.thedinercolumbia.com/ * http://www.facebook.com/TheDinerColumbiaSC *

Just off the beaten path outside Gate 1 of Fort Jackson is a nice friendly little artsy diner plainly labelled after its namesake. They are after the classic American diner experience and image, open for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. So far, we’ve only experienced their fantastic breakfast setting. Family owned and operated, they have an assortment of deals, specials, and offers from burgers to pancakes, fish to apple pie. They also cater. They are very kid friendly – so much that kids eat free on mondays. Military and senior citizen discounts apply as well. We’ve tried the pancakes, eggs, and french toast – all of which we were very pleased with. If you’re travelling through Columbia, this hot spot is just off the Interstate, and a great place to take a road break. Rating: 4.5 stars out of 5.

022313-002

031613-010

022313-003

Print Friendly
Share

Little Ass Burrito (Dublin, Ireland)

Little Ass Burrito, Rathgar, Dublin, Ireland
Little Ass Burrito, Rathgar, Dublin, Ireland

Little Ass Burrito
* 32-A Dawson Street (formerly: 1 Upper Rathmines Rd * Dublin, Ireland * 6 * (01) 4062614 * www.littleass.ie * Mon-Thu, Sun 11:00 – 22:00 * Fri-Sat 11:00 – 4:00 *

Billing themselves as “tex mex” this fine restaurant has never disappointed. As I’m more the fan of Mexican fare than “Tex Mex” this fusion stand is one of Dublin’s finest Burrito bars. However, my favorite little burrito stand has moved down to Dawson street, which is sad that its less convenient for me and more convenient for the rest of Dublin. It is also a much smaller and uncomfortable space as it was in Rathmines. (Formerly: (1 Upper Rathmines Rd * Dublin, Ireland * 6) Good thing I do my (c)office often at the Dawson street Starbucks so I could frequent them more often. Same owners, staff, and creative whizzes – the food hasn’t changed if not gotten better. Always a special treat when in Dublin. A place to go out of your way for. Which we did again on December 8th, 2013 while traveling through Dublin. In the former location at 1 Upper Rathmines Road you’d find Little Ass Burrito as A great little hole-in-the-wall, just down the street from the Swan Center and around the corner from Tesco this litte Mexican-fusion Burrito bar. A popular joint amongst the Rathgarians and the Rathminers … it was a great spot to grab a bit especially after pub-crawling, clubbing, or city exploits. Even more so now that it is off Dawson street. In Rathmines, it stood to be a little stand with an eating bar with stools, and a large backroom that wasn’t used. Today its an even smaller hole-in-the-wall, much more like a kiosk – with a couple stools to sit inside, and two tables out front. As a widely expert connoisseur of Mexican fare … its the closest you’ll get to true Mexican taste so far what I’ve found in my exploits of Ireland so far … fusion aside. The Super Batata (Roasted sweet potatoes, pinto beans, jack cheese, sour cream, rice, and coriander) with the Mango salsa is not only to “die for” but extremely addicting. In addition, they support local markets and sources for their ingredients so definitely a plus for this crew. Coffee and beer also readily available. Top 5 stars out of 5. [rating:5] ~ Reviewed Leaf McGowan 3/14/12; 12/8/13

The Super Batata

Continue reading Little Ass Burrito (Dublin, Ireland)

Print Friendly
Share

The Shamrock 99

Ah, the wonderful world of Dairy 99. I was introduced to this wonderful frozen treat by my friend Vanessa when we were hiking across the Yorkshire Dales. Ever since I’ve been addicted and converted. I don’t know if it is the pure rich fresh dairy cream taste that the UK, Ireland, and Scotland is so well known for, or if its that iconic delicious Cadbury chocolate flake sticking out of it. As an American, I was addicted to the Dairy Queen chocolate dipped soft serve so sought after in the States on a hot summer’s date. But there really is no comparison. I was taught the “99” specifically was a special British treat … but since that date have found the custom and dessert abundant in Ireland as well as Scotland. Generally “99” is code word for a soft-serve ice cream cone with a Cadbury flake of chocolate. Its origins are not really known for the utilization of “99” but apparently that number sequence is a proprietary name in the United Kingdom. So while its a popular term for the treat, just as “Coke” is often for “soda”, it is a specific type of ice cream treat. The Original ice cream contained Cadbury’s “99 flake” (which was produced specially by Cadbury for the ice cream market). Some say, the “99” is an allusion to an elite guard of 99 soldiers in the service of the King of Italy. But I don’t know how that urban myth has anything to do with the UK? Nonetheless, the term is very common in Ireland as well as the UK, and the Irish take a different twist on it, especially during St. Patrick’s Day festivities, as with everything, they add a bit of green to the cone and the cream. Rating: 5 stars out of 5. [Rating:5] ~ Leaf McGowan.

Continue reading The Shamrock 99

Print Friendly
Share

Burritos & Blues (Dublin)

Burritos and Blues
* 2 Wexford street * 2 Dublin, Ireland * http://burritos.ie/ * http://www.facebook.com/pages/Burritos-and-Blues/ * Phone +353 14254022 *

As a recent transplant to Dublin, Ireland from America’s Southwest, one of the culinary facets i miss the most from the move is the lack of good Mexican food. But through my wanderings I’ve stumbled upon the trendy explosion of “Burrito bars” in Dublin. Stumbling upon my currently favorite … Little Ass Burrito in Rathgar, we decided to wander about and explore some of the other bars. Next stop was “Burritos & Blues” which was quite tasty, affordable, and entertaining. They indeed had a version of my current favorite addiction of a sweet potato vegetarian burrito that has me quite fixated with Little Ass Burrito. Though so far, Burritos & Blues would be my 2nd favorite burrito bar in the city sofar and their sweet potato burrito is quite tasty. Burritos and Blues has a bit more seating and restaurant flavor, but a “Subway-like” presentation of “fixing your own burrito” as you stand in line and tell them what ingredients and fixin’s you want in your tortilla wrap of goodness. Music is quite good and bouncy, Blues obviously the predominant flavor available, and a wall of posters of events around town to give the nightlife seeker some ideas of where to go. The spicy sauce however is a wallup … best for the Mexican hot conneuseur. Rating: 4.5 stars out of 5. [rating:4.5] ~ Reviewed by Leaf McGowan

Photos are copyrighted and cannot be reproduced without permission of authors Tom Baurley or Leaf McGowan. Photos can be purchased via Technogypsie.com at Technogypsie Photography Services for nominal use fees. Restaurants, Businesses, Bands, Performances, Venues, and Reviews can request a re-review if they do not like the current review or would like to have a another review done. If you are a business, performer, musician, band, venue, or entity that would like to be reviewed, you can also request one (however, travel costs, cost of service (i.e. meal or event ticket) and lodging may be required if area is out of reviewer’s base location at time of request).

These reviews are done by the writer at no payment unless it is a requested review and the costs for travel, service, and lodging was covered – in which case, expenditure reimbursement will not affect review rating or content. If you enjoy this review and want to see more, why not buy our reviewer a drink to motivate them to write more? or help cover the costs they went through to do this review?






Print Friendly
Share

Gilligan’s Seafood Restaurant (Mt. Pleasant, SC)

Gilligan's Seafood Restaurant

Gilligan’s Seafood Restaurant

* 1475 Long Grove Drive Mount Pleasant, SC 29464 * 843-849-2244 * http://www.gilligans.net/ *

My mom’s favorite seafood restaurant in Mt. Pleasant, South Carolina has become my choice of seafood dining as well. Introduced to me as her “country club”, I found a very friendly, hospitable restaurant with fabulous service. Now on my third visit to this great place within the last 4 months, I’ve come to be a great fan of their “All you can eat Oyster clusters” dish. I have yet to try the “All you can eat Shrimp” but I imagine it’s just as grand. I’ve had the crab legs and sampled my mom’s seafood platter. Everything was scrumptuous. The free hushpuppies they serve when you sit down are to die for. Overlooking the “seaside park” and man-made lake, nestled into a shopping village, this is a great relaxing spot for dining. While menu prices are higher end, the amount of food you get for the price makes up for it. In addition to “fine” or “messy” seafood dining, Gilligan’s is also committed to local Shrimpers by serving 100% domestic wild-caught shrimp, focusing on freshness, and never serving imports. They are also a Platinum Partner for seafood sustainability with their products – by only serving sustainable seafoods deemed as such from the South Carolina Aquarium. They’ve agreen not to serve or sell Chilean sea bass, orange roughy or imported shark, and only buy sustainable preferably local. Their first choice is “Lowcountry Local” as based from the organization to support independent, locally owned businesses in the Lowcountry while assisting to educate the public on the importance of supporting our local economy, environmental sustainability, and social responsibility. In addition, they participate in Oyster shell recycling, teaming up with the South Carolina Department of Natural Resources with a goal to conserve South Carolina’s oyster beds with an integrated oyster shell recycling program in all of their restaurants to help sustain the growth and propogation of local oysters. Every shell from the winter is replanted by the DNR back into the estuarine environment. Most excellent restaurant. Rating: 5 stars out of 5. ~ Thomas Baurley

All you can eat Oysters

Photos are copyrighted and cannot be reproduced without permission of authors Tom Baurley or Leaf McGowan. Photos can be purchased via Technogypsie.com at Technogypsie Photography Services for nominal use fees. Restaurants, Businesses, Bands, Performances, Venues, and Reviews can request a re-review if they do not like the current review or would like to have a another review done. If you are a business, performer, musician, band, venue, or entity that would like to be reviewed, you can also request one (however, travel costs, cost of service (i.e. meal or event ticket) and lodging may be required if area is out of reviewer’s base location at time of request).

These reviews are done by the writer at no payment unless it is a requested review and the costs for travel, service, and lodging was covered – in which case, expenditure reimbursement will not affect review rating or content. If you enjoy this review and want to see more, why not buy our reviewer a drink to motivate them to write more? or help cover the costs they went through to do this review?






Print Friendly
Share

Kas Bah, Dusseldorf, Germany


Kas Bah


Kas Bah * Rheinort 2 * 40213 Dsseldorf, DE * Telefon: 0211 / 8693888 * .ffnungszeiten: Mo – Do, 12:00 – 01:00 Uhr; Fr – Sa, 12:00 – open end; So, 12:00 – 01:00 Uhr; .Happy Hour: Mo – So: 17:00 – 20:00 Uhr *

http://www.bartime.de/location.kasbah.9.456.html

A great little Morroccon cafe in the heart of old town Dusseldorf. My visit to this decent-sized place was with some local friends I was visited as we were looking for a quiet place to chat and catch up before making a night out on the town. Some of the cities finest cocktails, desserts, and bar-time snacks can be found here. An incredible ambience, hospitable staff, and a great place to hang out while visiting this famous city. A must visit location. While I can’t comment on the food as the only item I personally ordered was the hot chocolate with a shot a bailey’s Irish cream, I’ve been told the menu items here are fabulous. Rating: 4 stars out of 5.

Photos are copyrighted and cannot be reproduced without permission of authors Tom Baurley or Leaf McGowan. Photos can be purchased via Technogypsie.com at Technogypsie Photography Services for nominal use fees. Restaurants, Businesses, Bands, Performances, Venues, and Reviews can request a re-review if they do not like the current review or would like to have a another review done. If you are a business, performer, musician, band, venue, or entity that would like to be reviewed, you can also request one (however, travel costs, cost of service (i.e. meal or event ticket) and lodging may be required if area is out of reviewer’s base location at time of request).

These reviews are done by the writer at no payment unless it is a requested review and the costs for travel, service, and lodging was covered – in which case, expenditure reimbursement will not affect review rating or content. If you enjoy this review and want to see more, why not buy our reviewer a drink to motivate them to write more? or help cover the costs they went through to do this review?






Print Friendly
Share

Tayto

Tayto Crisps
Tayto Crisps

Tayto Crisps

I find the whole British (count that Irish, Welsh, and Scottish) use of the term “Crisps” for “Chips” pretty humorous, but that’s probably because I’m American where crisps are called “chips”. You know, those “deeply fried” light slivers of potatoes we add to our calorie-infested food type called “junk food”. We serve them as a snack, appetizer, or side dish. They are cooked, salted, and “enhanced” with herbs, spices, chemicals, and artificial additives. Ok, and seasonings. The Americans, Australians, New Zealander’s, Canadians, Singapore, South African, and Jamaican English call them “potato chips” or “chips”, the British and Hiberno English call them “crisps”, and Indian English call them “chips” or “wafers”. But the terminology is not as funny to me as much as the iconography and slogans I’ve seen on Irish crisps. The first time I experienced Irish crisps was with the Hunky Dorys Crisps during my first trip to Ireland in 2010.

So upon my newly acquired Irish friendship circle, every one of them raved about “Taytos”. “Have you had Taytos?” they would say. I’d reply … “No I haven’t.” That was changed one day by my Irish fiancee who broadened my horizons on this dastardly deadly snack. I have to say, they are quite yummy, though high calorie and not good for you in any regard (as with all other “potato chips” … excuse me “crisps”.) The “Taytos” are considered a cultural phenomena of Ireland, so much that many Irish call these “chips” or “crisps” simply “taytos”.

These “Tayto” crisps are made in Ulster at the 500 year old infamous Tayto Castle where the mighty O’Hanlon clan once resided. After much turmoil, battles, siezes, and a very interesting history, the castle was bought in 1955 by Irish businessman Thomas Hutchinson. The following year, he decided to make a new potato product called “crisps” and began manufacturing them right there in that very castle. By 1964, Tayto created various different flavored crisps such as “Smoky Bacon” and “Prawn Cocktail” which became their most popular. To promote the crisps was invented the comical potato-head called “Mr. Tayto” who has become a well loved face across Northern Ireland (and the Republic of Ireland as well). If you ask me, seems to be a rip-off of Mr. Potatohead which was developed in 1949 and popularized by 1952. The mascot “Mr. Tayto” was used in numerous advertising campaigns, even up to this date. In 2007 during the Irish General Election, they ran a advertising campaign with Mr. Tayto as a fake election candidate and even claimed some really did vote for him, causing spoiled votes in the Carlow-Kilkenny constituency. This led to Tayto getting fined during the campaign for littering due to their fake election posters posted in public places. In 2009 Tayto Ltd. published the book “The Man Inside the Jacket” as a fictional autobiography of “Mr. Tayto”.

The company is split between a Northern Ireland plant and a Republic of Ireland plant. Both companies operate entirely separately even though they have a similar range of products. The Northern Ireland manufacturer is called “Tayto” Limited based out of Tandragee in County Armagh and was formed in 1956. They employ over 300 at their plant in the Tandragee Castle representing the largest and most popular “crisp” brand in Northern Ireland and the third largest in the United Kingdom. They licensed the name and recipes of “Tayto” in the Republic of Ireland. In 2006, the Northern Ireland Tayto acquired Corby and Scunthorpe sites of the former Golden Wonder business producing mini Pringles for Proctor and Gamble. By 2007 they acquired Sirhowy Valley Foods Ltd who make “Real Crisps” products. In 2008 they acquired Red Mill Snack foods pushing them to become the 3rd largest crisp manufacturer in the United Kindgom. In 2009 they acquired Jonathan Crisp, the trading name of Natural Crisps Ltd. They produce their signature brand of “Cheese and Onion” flavored crisps like their counterpart in Ireland. They also offer “beef & onion”, “ready salted”, “smoky bacon”, “salt & vinegar”, “worcester sauce”, “prawn cocktail”, “spring onion”, “roast chicken”, and “pickled onion” flavored crisps. The Republic of Ireland plant claims it was founded by Joe Murphy in 1954. This company was owned by Cantrell & Cochrane (based in Coolock County Dublin) then outsourced by Largo Foods in 2005 until they were purchased by Largo Foods in 2006 for 62.3 million euro. They too, offer the Tayto crisps in various flavors, as “Cheese & Onion”, “Salt & Vinegar”, “Smokey Bacon”, “Ready Salted”, “Prawn Cocktail”, and the limited edition “Tex Mex”. By the 2000’s they attempted to target the health food market with low fat and salt crisps they originally branded as “Honest” and currently refer to these as the “Happy and Healthy range”. In this range they also sell “Nuts and Popcorn Range”, “Popcorn Pleasure”, “Salted Peanuts”, “Dry roasted Peanuts”, “Bacon Fries”, “Snacks Range”, “Snax”, “Mighty Munch”, “Chipsticks”, “Ketchips”, “Waffles”, “Wheelies”, “Jonny Onion Rings”, “Snaps”, “Happy and Healthy Range”, “Treble Crunch Farmhouse Cheddar & Spring Onion”, “Treble Crunch Sour Cream & Onion”, “Velvet Crunch”, “Sharing Range”, “Bistro Cheese & Onion”, “Bistro Caribbean Chutney”, “Occasions Thai Sweet Chilli”, “Occasions Mature Cheddar Cheese and Red Onion”, “Occasions Tortillas Nacho Cheese”, and “Occasions Tortilla Original Cool”. They opened a theme park called “Tayto Park” in Ashbourne, County Meath.

Bibliography/Recommended reading:


  • Baurley, Thomas; McGowan, Leaf; et al. “Hunky Dorys Crisps” 2010: Technogypsie.com Productions; Colorado Springs, Colorado. www.technogypsie.com.
  • Tayto. Website referenced January 2012. http://www.tayto.com/.
  • Tayto Crisps. Website referrenced January 2012. http://www.taytocrisps.ie/.

  • Wikipedia: The Free Encyclopedia ~ “Tayto”. Web site referenced January 2012. en.wikipedia.org. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tayto_(Republic_of_Ireland) & http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tayto_(Northern_Ireland)/


Photos are copyrighted and cannot be reproduced without permission of authors Tom Baurley or Leaf McGowan. Photos can be purchased via Technogypsie.com at Technogypsie Photography Services for nominal use fees. Restaurants, Businesses, Bands, Performances, Venues, and Reviews can request a re-review if they do not like the current review or would like to have a another review done. If you are a business, performer, musician, band, venue, or entity that would like to be reviewed, you can also request one (however, travel costs, cost of service (i.e. meal or event ticket) and lodging may be required if area is out of reviewer’s base location at time of request).

These reviews are done by the writer at no payment unless it is a requested review and the costs for travel, service, and lodging was covered – in which case, expenditure reimbursement will not affect review rating or content. If you enjoy this review and want to see more, why not buy our reviewer a drink to motivate them to write more? or help cover the costs they went through to do this review?






Print Friendly
Share

Sushi Kim’s (Brisbane, Australia)

Sushi Kim’s
* 388 Queen St. (Wharf St.), Brisbane, Queensland, Australia 4000 *

Just as you’re walking down Queen Street from the Queen Street Mall as it turns to Wharf Street, enroute to Eagle Pier, on the left hand side is a small little tiny sushi mart that has incredibly affordable, delecious, and fresh sushi and rolls (made every two hours) (cheap as $2 per foll) that are also very volumptuous. Its mainly a takeaway for the local business and workers crowd. Not only is it fast to get but friendly staff and owner. Rating: [rating:4] (four stars out of 5) ~ Thomas Baurley, 4/28/11.

MORE INFORMATION, PHOTOS, AND LINKS:
Continue reading Sushi Kim’s (Brisbane, Australia)

Print Friendly
Share

Starbucks


Starbucks, Brisbane, Australia

Starbucks
* International ~ (NASDAQ: SBUX) ~ Starbucks.com *

While a mega-international coffeehouse chain, with its own brand of coffee, and clearly with much consumer conspiracy and debatable controversies especially towards small business, I’d have to say, still to this day, Starbucks is my most favorite (and used) coffee shop in the world. That mere statement gets me a face back-slap from many of my activist anti-corporation friends every time I say I’m at a Starbucks, but they have yet proved to me anything wrong with this giant other than being a giant that pushes out small cafes. But do they really? Are they really that bad? Certainly, they are over-priced. A smaller coffee shop will get me a latte for a cheaper price. (though that usually involves less liquid than I’d get from Starbucks) When I think of reliability, a place while traveling where I can lounge out for hours (and not buy anything if I choose), get online for free, and know the place will most likely be open (at least daytime hours) … Starbucks I can rely on worldwide. (I’m even at one in Ireland as I type this)

For the backpacker, world traveler, telecommuter, and techno-Gypsy … Starbucks is a God(dess)-send. I mean that from the bottom of my heart. I don’t know how many smaller cafes I’ve been to that I’ve felt ripped, rushed, given sloppy service, and/or couldn’t get online reliably. For a traveler, that is a must. For a budget traveler, a Starbucks can be not only a relief, but a place of security. It is a home far from home, and an office away from your office. The company is based from one of my old hometown’s … Seattle, Washington – and wasn’t a giant back in the day. It too, had its days as a small coffee shop. So do we stop frequenting a business because it becomes world famous and humongous (currently largest coffeehouse in the world)? I think not. Deeper, we need to really look at if the company keeps its ideals or has evolved into “Big Bad Business”. In my experience, I’ve never seen anything bad come from Starbucks. Can someone enlighten me otherwise with facts and figures? Until then – I’d say Starbucks is high on my praise list. Obviously world populations agree as they are bustling across the planet with over 17,000 stores internationally in 55+ countries, 11,000 of which are in their home nation of the U.S.A.

Some would claim the big draw to Starbucks is their own brand of unique coffee. I personally can’t comment on that as I don’t do coffee – hate it with a passion … think it smells nasty and tastes like burnt charcoal wood. I’m a tea person myself, so personally I can say Starbucks has amongst the best chai options in the world, and while not always easy to find in some countries, 90% of the time always has it. Perhaps that’s a big draw for me as a tea person and not a coffee person traveling world-wide in finding a good cup-o-different than a cup-o-Joe. Though my coffee connoisseur friends claim Starbucks internationally is amongst the best. They sell drip brewed coffee, espresso-based hot drinks, hot chocolate, teas, smoothies, and other cold drinks, offer sandwiches (hot or cold) and panini, pastries, muffins, doughnuts, salads, snacks, and an area of gift shopping from cds, mugs, tumblers, coffee beans, teas, and branded- gifts. Their coffee is so popular, you can find their ice cream and coffee in many grocery stores around the world. I’m not a coffee drinker so I’m a Starbucks lover for their Chai, most notably their Chai Crme Frappuccino. Don’t forget about the Starbucks Secret Menu as well.

Read the Rest of the Story, Photos, Bibliography:
Continue reading Starbucks

Print Friendly
Share

Transit Bar, Canberra, Australia

Transit Bar
* 7 AKUNA ST *
Canberra, Australia Capital Territory, Australia * P 02 6162 0899 * http://transitbar.com.au/ * ?

A great little hole-in-the-wall bar down below the Canberra YHA Hostel on Akuna street. Delving into a mix of indie, rock n’ roll, and general alternative nights and gigs, the Transit Bar provides a good heap of fun for the alternative crowd in Canberra. Restless from the Bush, this is a fun place to be when seeking some upbeat fun in the Australian Capital Territory. I had the pleasure of visiting the club/bar a couple of times during my visit, one for the Indie rock band “The Holidays” and another night for the Electro Gothy night called “Chrome”. Good drink prices and a great place to party with the international backpacking crowd. Rating: 3.5 stars out of 5. ~ Leaf McGowan, April 23-25, 2011.

For more photos, tales, and information: Continue reading Transit Bar, Canberra, Australia

Print Friendly
Share

Hasmis Kebabs and Turkish Kitchen (Canberra, Australia)

Hasmis Kebabs Turkish Kitchen
* 11-13 East Row * Canberra, Australia Capital Territory, Australia * 2601 * 02 6249 7783 *

We popped into this hole-in-the-wall quick Turkish cuisine spot near the Phoenix for some lunch fare. While the service was average, the food wasn’t anything to write home about. All three of us felt the fare was unsatisfactory. The restaurant and take-away offers pizza, turkish cuisine, and indian fare. They are open late at night, often serving the bar crowds. They have outdoor dining and free wi-fi. Family owned, Ridvan Sadil and his family took over the business early in 2010. Not so hot. Rating: 2 stars out of 5. Visited 4/24/11 – review by Leaf McGowan.

Continue reading Hasmis Kebabs and Turkish Kitchen (Canberra, Australia)

Print Friendly
Share

Kangaroo Meat

Kangaroo Meat

During my trip to Australia, I had the unique experience of trying Kangaroo. It was interesting that Kangaroo is not commonly eaten by the white/European population as much as it is by the Australian Aborigines. I actually introduced the dish to my host at the time. The meat of the kangaroo has numerous health and environmental benefits over traditional meats and described as having a stronger wild meat flavor. The tender meat is very high in protein and low in fat (less than 2%), has a very high concentration of conjugated linoleic acid (CLA) which is well known to be anti-carcinogenic and anti-diabetes, reduces obesity, and atherosclerosis. Traditionally, and currently, it is used by the Aboriginees for meat, bone, and tendons. They were once hunted by the (now extinct) thylacine, marsupial lion, Megalania, and the Wonambi. Kangaroos are not farmed for meat, but are hunted for meat, hides, sport, and to regulate grazing lands. While I’m not much of a meat-eater (as a free-rangerian most of the meat I eat is free-range, organic fed, or wild game) it is my 2nd favorite meat, next to Ostrich. Rating: 5 stars out of 5. Article/Review 11/14/2011 by Thomas Baurley, Technogypsie.com

Continue reading Kangaroo Meat

Print Friendly
Share

The Fish Shack

The Fish Shack
* 87/105 Petrie Plaza Canberra, Australia Capital Territory, Australia * 2601 * (02) 6248 5885 *

As I was on my way to see “Thor”, i was hungry for a quick and affordable dinner, so I settled for the “Fish Shack” across from the theater … and i was very impressed with the offerings. I’m a total sucker for seafood, as well as fish n’ chips. But when I saw they had soft shell crab sandwiches, or with chips, I was sold. The owner was pleasant, friendly, and a great guy. He even let me swap out the chips for sweet potatoe chips much to my ecstatic pleasure. Price of the meal was very affordable in Australian standards, and they have an extensive seafood menu. If they are busy, there is a wait, it takes time to make a good dish and they were also brand new when I hit them – so are in their learning curve with getting the food out faster. The food was delicious and I was very satisfied with my experience. Rating: 5 stars out of 5. Visited 4/23/11.

Continue reading The Fish Shack

Print Friendly
Share

Asian Cafe, Canberra

Asian Cafe
* Melbourne Building
32 West Row * City * Canberra, * 2601 * Australia Capital Territory, Australia * (02) 6262 6233 *

Hungry from running around between the museums and sights in Canberra, I eagerly went for some Asian cuisine at the Asian cafe in the Melbourne building just across from the Canberra Museum and Art Gallery. Very spacious, very comfortable, fast and friendly service with a good assortment of Malaysian and Chinese dishes to choose from. They only serve lunches and dinners from 11:30 am – 2:30 pm, 5 pm until 9:30 or 10:30 on the weekends. Entrees range from $-11.80, with main dishes from 12.80 to 22.80 AUD, so definitely higher priced than normal (or what I’m used to). They are BYOB (wine only) and offer a $6 corkage per bottle. Rating 3.5 stars out of 5.

Continue reading Asian Cafe, Canberra

Print Friendly
Share

The Phoenix, Canberra

The Phoenix
* 21 East Row * Canberra, Australia Capital Territory, Australia * 2601 * (02) 6247 1606 * http://www.lovethephoenix.com/ *

Although this amazing Irish Pub is one of the few bars/pubs I visited while in Canberra, it is by far my favorite. Introduced to me by Sir Bluey, the place was like home to me when I wandered Canberra on my own, and while hanging with Bluey in downtown Canberra. The Phoenix has been serving Canberra for over 16 years and undoubtedly has the best pints in town, a great festive atmosphere, and a unique decorated environment. It has a very home-like hang-out feel and charm, with real character and art within its dark interior and welcoming couches, chairs, sofas, and tables to relax at. Unlike many Irish pubs, the Phoenix doesn’t buy into the plastic leprechauns and tacky green icons that so many do, it has its own style and decor with odd antiques, mysterious art, and historic wooden furniture. They have a wide selection of beers and ciders, from foreign to local brews, including Kilkenny, Guinness, Magners, and Murphys as well as a stocked bar. They also host quite a few bands and local entertainment. They have stand-up nights called “Bootleg Night” and on various sundays, have a arts and crafts market. What a wonderful pub! Rating: 5 stars out of 5. Visited 4/21/11, 4/22/11, 4/23/11.

Continue reading The Phoenix, Canberra

Print Friendly
Share

Wok in a box


Wok in a Box
* www.wokcanberra.com.au/ * 3/88-96 Bunda Street * Canberra, Australia Capital Territory, Australia * 2601 * (02) 6162 0965 *

Wok in a Box gave us a quick evening snack at affordable prices. It is located in the heart of the city center. They offer a great menu selections with a range of Authentic Asian specialties such as Gyoza Dumplings, Teriyaki Chicken Bento, Udon Noodle Soup with Katsu Chicken and much more. I had the Pad Thai which was quite tasty. Rating: 3 stars out of 5.


Photos are copyrighted and cannot be reproduced without permission of authors Tom Baurley or Leaf McGowan. Photos can be purchased via Technogypsie.com at Technogypsie Photography Services for nominal use fees. Restaurants, Businesses, Bands, Performances, Venues, and Reviews can request a re-review if they do not like the current review or would like to have a another review done. If you are a business, performer, musician, band, venue, or entity that would like to be reviewed, you can also request one (however, travel costs, cost of service (i.e. meal or event ticket) and lodging may be required if area is out of reviewer’s base location at time of request).

These reviews are done by the writer at no payment unless it is a requested review and the costs for travel, service, and lodging was covered – in which case, expenditure reimbursement will not affect review rating or content. If you enjoy this review and want to see more, why not buy our reviewer a drink to motivate them to write more? or help cover the costs they went through to do this review?






Print Friendly
Share

Bay Marlin Fish n’ Chips




Inner Boatsman/ Bay Marlin Fish n’ Chips
* Shop 8, Bridge Plz *
Batesman Bay, New South Wales, Australia * 2536 * (02) 4472 3244 *

In the historic boatshed is Bay Marlin’s Fish n’ Chips seafood shop and restaurant. Great place to grab some fish and chips, walk over to the docks, and glance at the boats, while feeding the seagulls. In the heart of downtown Batesman Bay its a good place to wrap up your day wandering around the Sapphire Coast. Good fish n’ chips! Rating: 4 stars out of 5.



Photos are copyrighted and cannot be reproduced without permission of authors Tom Baurley or Leaf McGowan. Photos can be purchased via Technogypsie.com at Technogypsie Photography Services for nominal use fees. Restaurants, Businesses, Bands, Performances, Venues, and Reviews can request a re-review if they do not like the current review or would like to have a another review done. If you are a business, performer, musician, band, venue, or entity that would like to be reviewed, you can also request one (however, travel costs, cost of service (i.e. meal or event ticket) and lodging may be required if area is out of reviewer’s base location at time of request).

These reviews are done by the writer at no payment unless it is a requested review and the costs for travel, service, and lodging was covered – in which case, expenditure reimbursement will not affect review rating or content. If you enjoy this review and want to see more, why not buy our reviewer a drink to motivate them to write more? or help cover the costs they went through to do this review?






Print Friendly
Share