Category Archives: Thai

Wild Ginger Restaurant (Colorado Springs, Colorado)

Wild Ginger Thai Restaurant
~ 2628 W Colorado Ave, Colorado Springs, CO 80904 ~ (719) 634-5025 ~

Review by Leaf McGowan/Thomas Baurley, Technogypsie Productions Visited 2/14/2011 ~

One of my favorite Thai restaurants in Colorado Springs and Old Colorado City. Nestled just near the border of Old Colorado City and Manitou Springs off West Colorado Avenue is a decent-sized family restaurant called “Wild Ginger”. The service is great, the ambiance golden, and the dishes remarkable. The spice is quite right when you ask for Thai spice, the authentic cuisine is a delicacy in the heart of the wild West. Back in 2010-2011 I would frequent this lovely establishment monthly and sometimes weekly. Rating: 4.5 stars out of 5 (Visited for review 2/14/11)

If you would like to contact the author about this review, need a re-review, would like to advertise on this page, or have information to add, please contact us at technogypsie@gmail.com.

Wild Ginger (http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=36099) – 02.14.11 : A Thai Valentines. The Great Walkabout: http://www.technogypsie.com/chronicles/?page_id=114. From Colorado Springs to Australia, Europe, and back. Photos taken February 14, 2011. To read the adventures, visit http://www.technogypsie.com/chronicles/?p=17409. To read reviews, visit: www.technogypsie.com/reviews. All photos and articles (c) 2011 Technogypsie.com – by Leaf McGowan and Thomas Baurley. All rights reserved. http://www.technogypsie.com/chronicles/?p=34457

Continue reading Wild Ginger Restaurant (Colorado Springs, Colorado)

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share

Wok in a box


Wok in a Box
* www.wokcanberra.com.au/ * 3/88-96 Bunda Street * Canberra, Australia Capital Territory, Australia * 2601 * (02) 6162 0965 *

Wok in a Box gave us a quick evening snack at affordable prices. It is located in the heart of the city center. They offer a great menu selections with a range of Authentic Asian specialties such as Gyoza Dumplings, Teriyaki Chicken Bento, Udon Noodle Soup with Katsu Chicken and much more. I had the Pad Thai which was quite tasty. Rating: 3 stars out of 5.


Photos are copyrighted and cannot be reproduced without permission of authors Tom Baurley or Leaf McGowan. Photos can be purchased via Technogypsie.com at Technogypsie Photography Services for nominal use fees. Restaurants, Businesses, Bands, Performances, Venues, and Reviews can request a re-review if they do not like the current review or would like to have a another review done. If you are a business, performer, musician, band, venue, or entity that would like to be reviewed, you can also request one (however, travel costs, cost of service (i.e. meal or event ticket) and lodging may be required if area is out of reviewer’s base location at time of request).

These reviews are done by the writer at no payment unless it is a requested review and the costs for travel, service, and lodging was covered – in which case, expenditure reimbursement will not affect review rating or content. If you enjoy this review and want to see more, why not buy our reviewer a drink to motivate them to write more? or help cover the costs they went through to do this review?






Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share

US Thai (Denver, Colorado)


US Thai Cafe
5228 W 25th Ave * Edgewater, CO 80214 * (303) 233-3345 * http://www.usthaicafe.com/

A nice little hole-in-the-wall restaurant in Edgewater that serves some decent thai food. We had a variety of dishes, and while a big fan of peanut sauce can’t say they have the best, but I was pleased with the dishes I tried. Ok prices and pretty decent service. I’ll try this again before solidifying my review, but the experience was good. Rating 3 stars out of 5. visited 7/26/2008, 2/24/2011

A1A Thai Restaurant / US Thai: http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=2187. The Great Walkabout: http://www.technogypsie.com/chronicles/?page_id=114. From Colorado Springs to Australia, Europe, and back. Photos taken February 24, 2011. To read the adventures, visit http://www.technogypsie.com/chronicles/?p=17409. To read reviews, visit: www.technogypsie.com/reviews. All photos and articles (c) 2011 Technogypsie.com – by Leaf McGowan and Thomas Baurley. All rights reserved.

Continue reading US Thai (Denver, Colorado)

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share

Roadside Pad Thai

Roadside Pad Thai

Many travellers just don’t really get the picture of how simplistic cooking can be, especially when on the road. Its pretty easy to equipt your car, vardo, van, or better yet … RV with kitchen stuff. Basically all you need is pots n’ pans, a camping cooking stove, utensils, and ingredients. Patience and taking a moment out of your crunched travel schedule to actual “make” a healthy meal rather then succombing to pulling through a fast food drive thru and indulging in something that’s not good for you just because its fast or cheap.

One of my favorite meals on the road for the rest area dining experience is Pad Thai. “Reststop Pad Thai”.

What you need:

  • Pot for boiling water and rice noodles
  • Frying pan
  • Oil
  • spices …. I like cayenne, curry, ginger, garlic
  • spatula
  • camping stove with fuel and matches (or lighter)
  • strainer, plates or bowls, forks, napkins
  • Ingredients for the dish:
    • Rice Noodles
    • water
    • olive oil
    • cayenne, garlic, curry, ginger
    • potatoes and fresh vegetables
    • tofu or meat
    • 2 eggs
    • pad thai sauce

Boil water with rice noodles. Once soft, drain and rinse with cold water from your jug. Set aside in a bowl.

In frying pan, add olive oil, garlic, and sliced or chunked potatoes

Fry up tofu and or meat. Once potatoes and tofu (or meat) is lightly browned, add in vegetables.

Add ginger, curry, and cayenne to taste.

Add in two eggs/fry in with the tofu (meat) and veggies.

Stir frequently with spatula.

Add in rice noodles.

Use home-made pad thai sauce or store bought sauce. (can also get peanut sauce to go from Tokyo Joes)

Season and stir to taste.

Serve.

Continue reading Roadside Pad Thai

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share

Thai Basil (Colorado Springs, Colorado)


Thai Basil, North Academy, Colorado Springs

Thai Basil
* www.thaibasil.us * 7882 North Academy Boulevard * Colorado Springs, CO 80920-3920 *
(719) 268-1688 *

A little hole-in-the-strip-mall Thai chain restaurant in the northern part of Colorado Springs with some intriguing delicacies, decor, and taste. Its more a higher priced “artsy” fusion restaurant than actually a place to get an affordable true Thai meal. The food has style and looks fabulous, but its pretty generic Pan-Asian cuisine. But that’s to be expected with a chain. Chains are notorious for cookie-cutter menus, food, and offerings. Not to say that this place is a cookie-cutter replica of its Denver counterparts … the food is good, just not above average. The menu selections however are a bit more variable than other Thai restaurants in town, especially if you like Thai seafood. They do know how to spice their dishes in an extroadinary Thai hot – hell the receipt even mentions ‘Kill me already’. The atmosphere is good. For lunch i was instantly seated and service was swift and friendly. I enoyed the Mussels appetizer, Pad Thai (thai hot), and a Thai Ice Tea. Rating: 3 stars out of 5.


Mussels; Thai Basil, North Academy, Colorado Springs

Continue reading Thai Basil (Colorado Springs, Colorado)

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share

Ring of Fire (Eugene, Oregon)

Ring of Fire

* 1099 Chambers Street * Eugene, OR 97402-3706 * (541) 344-6475 * www.ringoffirerestaurant.com

A great Thai restaurant on the outskirts of downtown in Eugene, Oregon. Its been awhile since I’ve actually dined there (several years) but recently went for drinks with a friend and pleased by the fabulous service. Had the Thai Iced Tea that was spiked with Vodka. Menu and drinks were a bit pricey, but the ambiance worth its weight. Good service and friendly servers. Rating: 4 stars out of 5.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share

A Taste of Thai Spice (Colorado Springs, Colorado)

A Taste of Thai Spice

* off B Street & S. Academy, 1609 LaShelle Way, Colorado Springs, Colorado * 719.226.1999 *

A small hole-in-the-wall and kinda hard to get to, little Thai restaurant off Academy. Its worth the loop-arounds you have to drive to get to it. Quiet atmosphere, decorative, and extremely friendly staff. Pad Thai is pretty decent, and the Panang Curry is rather good. The Pad Khao King was good too. The Coconut soup and Thai Ice Tea rocks. The Peanut Chicken Skewers are very delicious. I haven’t tried many Thai restaurants in the Springs, but so far this is one of my favorites. Rated 4 stars out of 5.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share

Lady of the Rhine, Sect 2: Chapter 15, Part B (4/9) – The New Amsterdam Free Tour, pt. 2 – Begijnhof, Amsterdam Miracle, Dutch Courtyards & Paintings, Multatuli, The Bird

Part B


Entering the Begijnhof

Thursday, 9 April 2009
Amsterdam, The Netherlands

Sir Thomas Leaf was inspired by the healing energies of the plaza that was mythologically known for its healing and the bread that doesn’t burn. From the crazy wild partying city of Amsterdam – a walk through a door to another dimension – into a Dutch square where it was sacred, quiet, and tranquil. Intriguing thoughts about the key swarmed Leaf’s mind. He realized he is closer yet to discovering the ‘key of life’. After the tranquility, Kevin led the band to oogle over the Dutch masterpiece painting and learning about the seals and marks of Amsterdam. The tour ended at Anne Frank’s house where the story of “tolerant” Amsterdam stood up against the Nazis and the tragedies befell that struggle. Hungry for Thai food, Sir Thomas Leaf and Princess Brea headed over to the Asian District to try out the highly recommended “Bird Thai” restaurant which they quite enjoyed. Wandering back to the hostel for a nap and down time before exploring the nightlife with the New Amsterdam Tour’s Pub Crawl.

Read my telling and review about the Amsterdam Miracle and the Begijnhof / Chapel here …

Continue reading Lady of the Rhine, Sect 2: Chapter 15, Part B (4/9) – The New Amsterdam Free Tour, pt. 2 – Begijnhof, Amsterdam Miracle, Dutch Courtyards & Paintings, Multatuli, The Bird

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share

The Bird Thai Restaurant (Amsterdam, the Netherlands)



The Bird Thai Restaurant

Zeedijk 72, Amsterdam, Amsterdam (Noord-Holland) – +31 20 6201442 * www.thai-bird.nl
Highly recommended by the folks at New Amsterdam tours, as was told to check it out by both Stacey and Kevin, we decided to check it out. We had just missed the main restaurant but the waiter who addressed us was carrying food across the street to their smaller restaurant (called a snack bar) across the street – which was sooo packed it was hard to get in and sit. Everyone stated it was the best thai food in the world … I can’t make that claim, although they were good. I’ve had better pad thai in the States even. But still a highly recommended restaurant for Amsterdam. Its crowded and hard to get in as their reputation proceeds them. Rating: 4 stars out of 5.


Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share

Shrimp Swimming Rama


Leaf’s Shrimp Swimming Rama

Ingredients: Shrimp, fresh spinach leaves, garlic, chili pepper, salt, pepper, cardamom, peanut sauce

Fry up the shrimp with peanut oil, while boiling the spinach and garlic in a pan. Once the spinach is cooked, drain, and make a nest of spinach leaves in a bowl, put in the cooked shrimp, diced garlic, sprinking the rest of the herbs over it and drown in peanut sauce. Serve over rice or as is.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share

Tokyo Joe’s (Grant street, Denver, Colorado)


Peanut Skewers and Unagi Bowl at Tokyo Joe’s


Tokyo Joe’s * 1360 Grant Street * Denver, CO * 80203 * 303.830.7277 * http://www.tokyojoes.com/findus/6grant.html
As I’ve quit typical Amerikan fast-food, I’ve switched to some of the more healthy fast-food alternatives when in a rush and a need for a cost-effective meal that’s good for me. Colorado’s small (yet fastly growing) fast food Japanese chain, Tokyo Joes is upbeat and expanding. The food is good, fast, healthy, and affordable. How can you go wrong? In like-style of Noodles and Company in presentation and design, Tokyo Joes takes a different artistic approach. I adore their Unagi Rice Bowls, the California Rolls are delicious, and the chicken satay yummy. As usual, my experience is what I expect. Though seems each time I get the Unagi bowl of the last two years, I’m seeing less and less Unagi, and more rice. That sucks. But still the great dish I’ve come to be addicted to on each of my Denver weekend trips. It’s a great healthy fix. Rating 5 stars out of 5 (for fast food: Japanese quality 3 out of 5). Visited 2/14/09.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share

Blue Moon Asian Cuisine (Denver, Colorado)

Blue Moon Asian Cuisine * 2188 S Colorado Blvd * Denver, CO 80222 * (303) 782-4888

One of my favorite restaurants! An Ethnic Asian restaurant that offers Japanese sushi, Vietnamese noodles, Thai curries and Chinese stir-fry dishes; two-for-one sake and dollar sushi specials every day! The service is great, the ambiance perfect, and the sushi fabulous. The times I’ve tried the thai I was also very impressed with. One of the top restaurants in Denver. Rating: 5 stars out of 5.


Sushi!

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share

Mae Phim Thai Cuisine (Seattle, WA)


Mae Phim Thai Cuisine, Seattle, Washington


Mae Phim Thai Cuisine * http://www.maephim.com/ * 94 Columbia St
Seattle, WA 98104, * (206) 624-2979


A great little hole-in-the-wall Thai cafe with great and quick service, friendly staff, and delicious food. Its notorious for those three facets. It was started in 1993 and has been proudly serving downtown Seattle’s bustling epicenter. The Thai ice tea and chicken satay are to die for. Rating : 4 stars out of 5.


Chicken Satay and Thai Ice Tea, plus Peanut Sauce

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share

Green Leaves Vegan Restaurant, Los Angeles, California


Green Leaves Restaurant

1769 Hillhurst Ave. Los Angeles, CA. 90027 * 323.664.2345 • 323.668.2345 * Open Daily 11:00 am. – 12:00 am. * http://www.greenleavesvegan.com/
Nestled in Los Feliz is a hole-in-the-wall restaurant that will fulfill all of your palate’s desires … and in a healthy, organic, and vegan sensation. Friendly staff and very clean restaurant, Green Leaves’ is a great place to hang out for brunch, dinner, or late night fare. Invigorating coconut milk right from the shell, and tofu and seitan spiced just right, and their specialization of thai cuisine is to die for. My visit on the fourth of july for brunch welcomed me refreshment after a crazy night and hangover that was refreshed by the spice and coconut milk – rehydrating me perfectly and naturally. I had the Coconut Milk, the Tofu Pad Thai, and split an order of deep fried soy chicken legs served with house sauce. Hard to tell it wasn’t chicken and sooo much more tasty. Excellent restaurant. Rating: 5 stars out of 5.

A re-visit on 10/3/15 was awe-inspiring that the food was just as delicious as we remembered from past visits. I thoroughly enjoyed the vegan chicken drumstick dinner and rice, the vegan chicken satay, and a young coconut drink. It was just what i needed. This is by far one of my favorite restaurants in California, and potentially on the West Coast. Rating: 5 stars out of 5.

Continue reading Green Leaves Vegan Restaurant, Los Angeles, California

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share

Thai Culpeper, Culpeper, Virginia

Thai Culpeper
Thai Culpeper

Thai Culpeper * 401 S. Main St., Culpeper, VA 22701 * (540) 829-0777

Right on historic main street in the heart of Culpeper Virginia, located within the historic Lord Culpeper Hotel resides a fusion of old Virginia architecture and Asian cuisine. The staff was very pleasant and quick and the food divine. I tried the fresh Seafood Pad Thai that was riddled with mussels, scallops, shrimp, and squid – it was one of the best Pad Thai I’ve had in awhile. If I can find it again, I’ll be back if ever in the area again. Rating 5 stars out of 5. Visited 5/23/08.

seafood pad thai
Seafood Pad Thai and Thai ice tea
Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share

The Naam, Vancouver, British Columbia

The Naam
2724 4th Avenue West * Vancouver, BC V6K 1R1, Canada * (604) 738-7151 * In Kitsilano near the beach
I remember the Naam vividly from when I used to live in Vancouver, and from every trip I’ve made to this gorgeous city ever since. After all, where else could you find a full service Vegetarian restaurant open 24 hours and 7 days a week but in Kitslano? It is and was always a popular venue for after clubbing fare as well. Always crowded and servicing the most excellent food, it’s worth the wait. It’s been around forever it seems, and is the city’s oldest natural foods restaurant. “Funky” decor with wooden tables and a wooden floor with a garden patio for summertime seating. Every night from 7-10 they boast live music such as blues, folk, and jazz. Everything on the menu is fabulous, and if memory serves me my favorite dishes are the Thai and Naam Dragon Bowls, Thai Noodles, Buddha’s Feast, and Crying Tiger Stir Fry. The Naam Burrito Wrap is also fabulous. On this particular re-visit I had the Buddha’s Feast, topped with cashews and was in palatable heaven. Top that off with a Chai shake, and I was good as gold. Rating: 5 stars out of 5.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share

Papaya Tree Thai, London, England

Papaya Tree Thai 209 Kensington High Street, London W8 6BD * www.papaya-tree.co.uk
A small simple Thai restaurant down a set of stairs into a basement restaurant offset from Kensington High Street. Part of London culinary pop culture since the 60’s and rumored to have been one of the first thai restaurants in London and that the original owners were officials from the thai embassy in Queens Gate, London. Now under new management since 1997 they claim they have the freshest ingrediences flown in twice a week from Thailand. The staff was friendly, the service great, the food excellent. Will return to again when I’m in London. Rating 5 stars out of 5.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share