Category Archives: SantaCon

Denver SantaCon 2016

Denver SantaCon 2016

Denver SantaCon 2016
~ Begin Union Station to Black Shirt brewery via Rail to Thirsty Lion to La Boheme to Wazee Supper Club, Denver, Colorado
https://www.facebook.com/events/1284973781560458/1337087499682419/ ~

Story coming soon …

Denver SantaCon 2016 ( http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=29647) – New Life in Colorado: Chronicle 26 – Chronicles of Sir Thomas Leaf and Prince Cian. Adventures in Colorado. Photos taken December 23, 2016. To read the adventures, visit http://www.technogypsie.com/chronicles/?p=21965. To read reviews, visit: www.technogypsie.com/reviews. All photos and articles (c) 2015/2016 Technogypsie.com – by Leaf McGowan and Thomas Baurley. All rights reserved. www.technogypsie.com/photography

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share

Union Station (Denver, CO)

Denver SantaCon 2016 ( http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=29647), Union Station

Union Station
~ Denver, Colorado ~

Write up coming soon ….

Denver SantaCon 2016 ( http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=29647), Union Station ( http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=29651); Denver, Co – New Life in Colorado: Chronicle 26 – Chronicles of Sir Thomas Leaf and Prince Cian. Adventures in Colorado. Photos taken December 23, 2016. To read the adventures, visit http://www.technogypsie.com/chronicles/?p=21965. To read reviews, visit: www.technogypsie.com/reviews. All photos and articles (c) 2015/2016 Technogypsie.com – by Leaf McGowan and Thomas Baurley. All rights reserved. www.technogypsie.com/photography

Denver SantaCon 2016 ( http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=29647), Union Station ( http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=29651); Denver, Co – New Life in Colorado: Chronicle 26 – Chronicles of Sir Thomas Leaf and Prince Cian. Adventures in Colorado. Photos taken December 23, 2016. To read the adventures, visit http://www.technogypsie.com/chronicles/?p=21965. To read reviews, visit: www.technogypsie.com/reviews. All photos and articles (c) 2015/2016 Technogypsie.com – by Leaf McGowan and Thomas Baurley. All rights reserved. www.technogypsie.com/photography

Denver SantaCon 2016 ( http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=29647), Union Station ( http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=29651); Denver, Co – New Life in Colorado: Chronicle 26 – Chronicles of Sir Thomas Leaf and Prince Cian. Adventures in Colorado. Photos taken December 23, 2016. To read the adventures, visit http://www.technogypsie.com/chronicles/?p=21965. To read reviews, visit: www.technogypsie.com/reviews. All photos and articles (c) 2015/2016 Technogypsie.com – by Leaf McGowan and Thomas Baurley. All rights reserved. www.technogypsie.com/photography
Denver SantaCon 2016 ( http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=29647), Union Station ( http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=29651); Denver, Co – New Life in Colorado: Chronicle 26 – Chronicles of Sir Thomas Leaf and Prince Cian. Adventures in Colorado. Photos taken December 23, 2016. To read the adventures, visit http://www.technogypsie.com/chronicles/?p=21965. To read reviews, visit: www.technogypsie.com/reviews. All photos and articles (c) 2015/2016 Technogypsie.com – by Leaf McGowan and Thomas Baurley. All rights reserved. www.technogypsie.com/photography
Denver SantaCon 2016 ( http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=29647), Union Station ( http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=29651); Denver, Co – New Life in Colorado: Chronicle 26 – Chronicles of Sir Thomas Leaf and Prince Cian. Adventures in Colorado. Photos taken December 23, 2016. To read the adventures, visit http://www.technogypsie.com/chronicles/?p=21965. To read reviews, visit: www.technogypsie.com/reviews. All photos and articles (c) 2015/2016 Technogypsie.com – by Leaf McGowan and Thomas Baurley. All rights reserved. www.technogypsie.com/photography
Denver SantaCon 2016 ( http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=29647), Union Station ( http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=29651); Denver, Co – New Life in Colorado: Chronicle 26 – Chronicles of Sir Thomas Leaf and Prince Cian. Adventures in Colorado. Photos taken December 23, 2016. To read the adventures, visit http://www.technogypsie.com/chronicles/?p=21965. To read reviews, visit: www.technogypsie.com/reviews. All photos and articles (c) 2015/2016 Technogypsie.com – by Leaf McGowan and Thomas Baurley. All rights reserved. www.technogypsie.com/photography
Denver SantaCon 2016 ( http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=29647), Union Station ( http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=29651); Denver, Co – New Life in Colorado: Chronicle 26 – Chronicles of Sir Thomas Leaf and Prince Cian. Adventures in Colorado. Photos taken December 23, 2016. To read the adventures, visit http://www.technogypsie.com/chronicles/?p=21965. To read reviews, visit: www.technogypsie.com/reviews. All photos and articles (c) 2015/2016 Technogypsie.com – by Leaf McGowan and Thomas Baurley. All rights reserved. www.technogypsie.com/photography
Denver SantaCon 2016 ( http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=29647), Union Station ( http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=29651); Denver, Co – New Life in Colorado: Chronicle 26 – Chronicles of Sir Thomas Leaf and Prince Cian. Adventures in Colorado. Photos taken December 23, 2016. To read the adventures, visit http://www.technogypsie.com/chronicles/?p=21965. To read reviews, visit: www.technogypsie.com/reviews. All photos and articles (c) 2015/2016 Technogypsie.com – by Leaf McGowan and Thomas Baurley. All rights reserved. www.technogypsie.com/photography

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share

Thirsty Lion (Denver, Co)

Denver SantaCon 2016 ( http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=29647); Thirsty Lion

Thirsty Lion
~ Denver, Colorado ~

Write up coming soon ….

Denver SantaCon 2016 ( http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=29647); Thirsty Lion ( http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=29655) – New Life in Colorado: Chronicle 26 – Chronicles of Sir Thomas Leaf and Prince Cian. Adventures in Colorado. Photos taken December 23, 2016. To read the adventures, visit http://www.technogypsie.com/chronicles/?p=21965. To read reviews, visit: www.technogypsie.com/reviews. All photos and articles (c) 2015/2016 Technogypsie.com – by Leaf McGowan and Thomas Baurley. All rights reserved. www.technogypsie.com/photography

Denver SantaCon 2016 ( http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=29647); Thirsty Lion ( http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=29655) – New Life in Colorado: Chronicle 26 – Chronicles of Sir Thomas Leaf and Prince Cian. Adventures in Colorado. Photos taken December 23, 2016. To read the adventures, visit http://www.technogypsie.com/chronicles/?p=21965. To read reviews, visit: www.technogypsie.com/reviews. All photos and articles (c) 2015/2016 Technogypsie.com – by Leaf McGowan and Thomas Baurley. All rights reserved. www.technogypsie.com/photography

Denver SantaCon 2016 ( http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=29647); Thirsty Lion ( http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=29655) – New Life in Colorado: Chronicle 26 – Chronicles of Sir Thomas Leaf and Prince Cian. Adventures in Colorado. Photos taken December 23, 2016. To read the adventures, visit http://www.technogypsie.com/chronicles/?p=21965. To read reviews, visit: www.technogypsie.com/reviews. All photos and articles (c) 2015/2016 Technogypsie.com – by Leaf McGowan and Thomas Baurley. All rights reserved. www.technogypsie.com/photography

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share

Black Shirt Brewery (Denver, Co)

Denver SantaCon 2016 ( http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=29647); Black Shirt Brewery

Black Shirt Brewery
~ Denver, Colorado ~

Write up coming soon ….

Denver SantaCon 2016 ( http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=29647); Black Shirt Brewery ( http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=29657) – New Life in Colorado: Chronicle 26 – Chronicles of Sir Thomas Leaf and Prince Cian. Adventures in Colorado. Photos taken December 23, 2016. To read the adventures, visit http://www.technogypsie.com/chronicles/?p=21965. To read reviews, visit: www.technogypsie.com/reviews. All photos and articles (c) 2015/2016 Technogypsie.com – by Leaf McGowan and Thomas Baurley. All rights reserved. www.technogypsie.com/photography

Denver SantaCon 2016 ( http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=29647); Black Shirt Brewery ( http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=29657) – New Life in Colorado: Chronicle 26 – Chronicles of Sir Thomas Leaf and Prince Cian. Adventures in Colorado. Photos taken December 23, 2016. To read the adventures, visit http://www.technogypsie.com/chronicles/?p=21965. To read reviews, visit: www.technogypsie.com/reviews. All photos and articles (c) 2015/2016 Technogypsie.com – by Leaf McGowan and Thomas Baurley. All rights reserved. www.technogypsie.com/photography

Denver SantaCon 2016 ( http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=29647); Black Shirt Brewery ( http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=29657) – New Life in Colorado: Chronicle 26 – Chronicles of Sir Thomas Leaf and Prince Cian. Adventures in Colorado. Photos taken December 23, 2016. To read the adventures, visit http://www.technogypsie.com/chronicles/?p=21965. To read reviews, visit: www.technogypsie.com/reviews. All photos and articles (c) 2015/2016 Technogypsie.com – by Leaf McGowan and Thomas Baurley. All rights reserved. www.technogypsie.com/photography

Denver SantaCon 2016 ( http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=29647); Black Shirt Brewery ( http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=29657) – New Life in Colorado: Chronicle 26 – Chronicles of Sir Thomas Leaf and Prince Cian. Adventures in Colorado. Photos taken December 23, 2016. To read the adventures, visit http://www.technogypsie.com/chronicles/?p=21965. To read reviews, visit: www.technogypsie.com/reviews. All photos and articles (c) 2015/2016 Technogypsie.com – by Leaf McGowan and Thomas Baurley. All rights reserved. www.technogypsie.com/photography

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share

The Ascension of Santa Christ

“The Launching of Santa Christ”
Artist Ron English * Saturday, April 3, 2010 * America The Beautiful Park * Colorado Springs, Colorado *
Mid-morning the sunny, yet windy day at the infamous “America the Beautiful” Park in Downtown Colorado Springs saw its green dotted with jolly red creatures, elves, Easter Bunnies, and other freaky characters bouncing around with large helium filled red balloons. Struggling with the wind, these seasonally festive animated beings tied numerous balloons to what appeared to be a ‘passed out’ Santa. Indeed it was a life-size artistic image of Ron English’s “Santa Christ” and this was his newest artistic creation and publicity stunt for the celebration of “Easter”. It was a festive and fun time. Very inspirational. Fun was had by all as we chased around the “Santa Christ” icon as it bobbed up and down along the park until it floated away into the sky beyond the giant Stargate and up and between the obelisk pillars into the clear blue skies where it will turn many bewildered heads of the “W.T.F.” nature …. Afterwards, the numerous Santas, festive characters, and the Easter Bunny enjoyed frolicking down the streets of Downtown Colorado with booze and grub from Phantom Canyon. Good times ….

Continue reading The Ascension of Santa Christ

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share

100 Santas Needed in Colorado Springs for Video Shoot

April 4th, 2010 : Colorado Springs, Colorado

A large handful of you have responded to the big SantaChrist/Ron English/Electric Illuminati event coming to Colorado Springs. I appreciate your response but we still need many, many SANTAS to reach 100.

Please email Douglas at douglas@rouse66.com to confirm your participation.

Your Santa costume does not need to be elaborate, nor authentic. Think of it more as a sea of red and white and if there are 100 or more people wearing red and white the effect could be quite astonishing. It doesn’t even need to be a Santa outfit specifically, but something celebrating or resembling Santa would be awesome. For ten bucks at the thrift shop you can get a sweet outfit (hint: Saturday’s at the ARC everything is 50% off).
Facebook | Santa Christ video shoot for Ron English

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share

Misfit Toys (2009)

Misfit Toys 2009
Following is a photogallery of some of the misfit toys I’ve constructed for the 2009 Santacons. What is a Santacon? What are Misfit Toys? you might ask?
SantaCon is a pub crawl meets flash mob or a mass gathering of people dressed in their various interpretations of Santa Claus, Reindeer, Elves, and winter fantasy creatures. Dressed in costumes and performing mischief, merriment, and festivity in the streets, bars, malls, stores, and establishments around the world. Nearly every city has them. Its all about fun, festivity, spontaneity, creativity, and improv art. They have been labelled Naughty Santas, Cheapsuit Santas, Santarchy, Santa Rampage, Red Tide, the Red Menace and Santapalooza, SantaCon events are noted for cheerfully bawdy and harmless behavior, including the singing of naughty Christmas carols, and the giving of small gifts and free hugs to random strangers. In Japan there is more of the “doing good” principle and they have contributed to the community through such activities as Santa litter-picking outings. Some participants see SantaCon as a postmodern revival of Saturnalia, while others see the event as a precursor of the flash mob. For others it is about spreading the real spirit of Christmas in the form of love, generosity, fun and celebration with ones fellows. The first SantaCon was held in San Francisco in 1994 by the Cacophony Society. “Misfit Toys” on the other hand are those gifts that the naughty santas hand out. Most of them are mischievious or naughty in theme, but most santas carry regular toys for the kids. Misfit Toy making parties are common pre-parties to Santacon, and are based alot around the Rudolph stories about the Island of Misfit Toys where in the tales there is an island sanctuary where defective and unwanted toys are sent. Misfit toys are constructed with various toy parts from many different toys merged together to create an ingenious “WTF” creation. Some of the infamous misfit toys from Rudolph’s land were: King Moonracer – a winged lion who acts as the island’s ruler who flys around hunting for unwanted toys. Charlie-In-The-Box is a misnamed, but otherwise seemingly normal jack-in-the-box who acts as the island’s sentry. A Spotted Elephant is a polka dotted elephant and also is the island’s bellhop. “A Dolly for Sue (as she calls herself)” is a seemingly normal girl rag doll with red hair and a red gingham (checkered) dress who is suffering depression from feeling unloved, Bird Fish is a toy bird who swims instead of flies; A misfit cowboy who rides an ostrich; Trainer, a train with square wheels on its caboose; A toy boat that sinks rather than floats; a squirt gun that shoots grape jelly; an airplane that can’t fly, a bear that rides a bike, and “a scooter for Jimmy”. Of course these are extremely lame in comparision to what Santacon revelers create. Of course these are all fun unwinding party moments for the world Santa population to let loose before they have to go deliver toys to good boys and girls around the world …
Continue reading Misfit Toys (2009)

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share

12.20.08 Adventures of Sinterklaas: PNW 2008: Sinterklaas does Seattle SantaCon, Part 3: Lusty Lady, Pike’s Brewery, and Beyond …

Saturday, 20 December 2008 – Part III
Seattle, Washington


The Lusty Lady

After the Public Library and skipping a couple of places we hit the Lusty Lady. It looked like a strip club, but it wasn’t. Peeping booths instead with live strippers at the other side. All the other santas piled into the closets. Too crowded to even peep. Of course they yelled if we had booze on us we better leave quickly or we’d be arrested. I did have a flask of wine in my santa bag so I quickly exited. The Lusty Lady quickly kicked us santas out and we immediately headed to the Pikes Market Brewery which appeared to be several bars in one. Hit there by 4:30 pm. I met some locals and gave them some naughty misfit toys, and at this point I would say I far more than simply toasted. Things are getting a little foggy at this point.

 
Santas piling into the peeping booth.

Food, dancing, frolicking, fun, boozin’, toyin’, and rockin’ pursued. Catching up with friends and meeting new faces. We spent an hour or two there it seemed. Apparently the Santa mob had splintered by this point and others were at another location. I think it was the split-off from the Public Library that did it. Nobody knows if the cops ever showed up there or the Lusty Lady, both places were gossipped to have called the cops. Then a mosh pit happened in the back of Pikes Brewery. Then our Santas splintered off yet again and apparently I was with the misled Santas and we went to Nightlite. The others went to Triple Door, Gameworks, and Westlake Center where apparently a massive snowball fight happened around 6:30. Graham and Becca left for a Yule dinner while I continued to frolick. By 8:30 we hadn’t moved from Nightlite and it was then I discovered I was with the unofficial Santa splinter. So now that all the Santa’s were regrouping at the Nightlite, I was getting hungry and ready for food. Ran into my friend Avery and caught up with him, convinced them they needed food too, and they drove me to Bill’s off Broadway for pizza and to see if Anita and Jason were there as that was the last place they stated they were going. Grabbed pizza and the exact last emptying of the santa bag of misfit toys. From there we got word the Santas were moving to the Chapel Bar by 9:30, so I headed off ahead to blend back in. Found Stephanie and crew, and Anita and Jason joined with as well. We all partied there for about an hour and headed over to the Lesbian bar “Wild Rose” and then off to “the Cuff”. Around that time I was plastered and everything seems foggy as I now try to recollect. Graham and Becca called that they were heading home and asked if I wanted a ride, and they were soon by in a flash. I don’t even remember decloaking my santa suit and passed out immediately upon arrival to my bed. Egads. These SantaCons … what a wild party.


Santas invading the floor of the Chapel

Continue reading 12.20.08 Adventures of Sinterklaas: PNW 2008: Sinterklaas does Seattle SantaCon, Part 3: Lusty Lady, Pike’s Brewery, and Beyond …

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share

Seattle Santacon: Part 2 – Pictures

Saturday, 20 December 2008 – Part II
Seattle, Washington


Tony: “What Aboot it?”

Enroute to 88 Keys Dueling Piano and Sports Bar the Santas did their first chaotic split of different routes which became a theme of the evening. This many Santas and it’ll continuously splinter. We made it to 88 Keys where we had paid the bar to open early for a private “Santas Only” party. Everyone that could chipped in $5 to help cover the costs which I suppose went over the amount as there were flowing pitchers of beer for most Santas. We ran into our good friend Tony around here tagging around with him for the rest of the evening. Service was a little rough at 88 keys as they were understaffed probably because they didn’t expect a 200 strong Santa invasion. Once the music began, much humor and fellowship embedded the building. A comical pianoist with lots of audience participation as can be seen in this YouTube video i shot.

Santas helped unload the delivery truck for the bar so that food could be served. Then fellowship and song invaded the hall as many adrunken santas indulged in their booze. Happiness and joy amidst for hours. Then came the call “Ho! Ho! Ho! Santa’s Gotta Go!” and off we wandered hitting some more bars, halls, sights, on to the Seattle Public Library.

As we approached the Seattle Public Library, all santas had their fingers to their noses with a “shhhh” under their breath as we were entering the quiet zone. You never saw 200 santas come quiet, slowing proceeding up the elevators to the top floor where our fearless leader started to read us the story of “How the Grinch stole Xmas” … we were quiet and behaved. But some obnoxiously rude and jerky librarian came and told us we could not have story time that we weren’t quiet enough. So they became even quieter. Then she grew impatient and wanted us to leave, she called the cops, so we were about to leave and she had the nerve to try to stop of us complying by leaving. A mass exodus of santas out of the library. We were going to hit a couple of hotels, but were unwelcomed, so went to the Lusty Lady for some cheap time thrills.


Story time at the Seattle Public Library

Continue reading Seattle Santacon: Part 2 – Pictures

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share

12.20.08 Adventures of Sinterklaas: PNW 2008: Sinterklaas does Seattle SantaCon, Part 1

Saturday, 20 December 2008 – Part I
Seattle, Washington


Ready to Roll

Twas 5 days before Christmas, when all through the house
Not a creature was stirring, not even a mouse.
Sinterklaas crawled out of bed after a nightmare,
with some fears that the snows would prevent SantaCon from being there.
Graham and Becca were nestled all snug in their beds,
While visions of a normal day danced in their heads.
And Becca in her morning sunshine awoke and said hello, and Graham in his cap,
Had just settled their brains for a long winters nap.
When out on in the living room there arose such a clatter,
Sinterklaas Leaf did his best to pursuade the matter.
Luring the two of them away to SantaCon in a flash,
Tore open their closets looking for Santa-like outfits and threw up the sash.
The streets were covered with the new-fallen snow
Gave the lustre of mid-day to objects below.
When, what to my wondering eyes should appear,
But now 3 mythical santa-types stumbled down the walk with no fear.
With Becca as the driver, so lively and quick,
right at her side sat ol’ St Nick.


Me, Graham, Becca stuffed in a truck

Graham taking the lead in Becca’s moving truck he came,
spinning down Queen Anne hill on the ice came the trucks.
Wil all whistling and shouting “Ho Ho Ho, Santa’s Gotta Go” and called them by name!
“Now Dasher! now, Dancer! now, Prancer and Vixen!
On, Comet! On, Cupid! on, on Donner and Blitzen!
To Georgetown we go to the gas station at the Costco mall!
Now dash away! Dash away! Dash away all!”
several trains blocked our way so no wild hurricane fly,
Meeting with this obstacle, there was no mount to the sky.
So an hour late we made it to House of Hong where our numbers grew,
With bags full of misfit Toys, and over a hundred of St Nicholas too.


Outside the House of Hong

And then, in a twinkling, out opened the doors
as waitresses were prancing and pawning of dim sum across the floors.
As we drew into our mouths and head, and was turning around,
Down the mouths of 100+ St Nicholas came with a sound.
100+ of us dressed all in fur, from ours heads to our foot,
And some of our clothes were all tarnished with snow, ice, and soot.
A bundle of Toys, candy canes, and treats we had flung on our back,
we looked like peddlers, just opening our packs.
Our eyes-how they twinkled! our dimples how merry!
Our cheeks were like roses, our noses like a cherry!
our droll little mouth was drawn up like a bow,
And our beards of our chins were as white as the snow.
The stumps of our cigs n’ pipes we held tight in our teeth,
for those of that smoke it encircled their heads like a wreath.
as they shivered outside with their broad faces and little round belly,
That shook when they laughed, like a bowlful of jelly!


Me and Ragdoll at 88 Keys

The santas were chubby and plump, along in companionship with jolly old elves,
And we laughed when we saw each other, in spite of ourself!
A wink of our eyes and a twist of our heads,
Soon gave us knowledge we had nothing to dread.
Whe we hit Seattle Public Library we spoke not a word, but went straight to the top floor to do our work,
And started reading how the Grinch stole Christmans and out came a librarian who was a jerk.
even though all the santas were laying their fingers aside of their nose,
In deep silence and politeness iving her a nod, she still called the police so down the escalator we rose!


Reading the Grinch stole Xmas at Seattle Public Library

He sprang to the streets with snowballs in hand, to our mob who gave a whistle,
And away they all flew like the down of a thistle.
But we heard them exclaim, ere we drove out of sight,
“Happy Christmas to all, Ho! Ho! Ho! Santa’s Got to go! and to all a good-night!”

Continue reading 12.20.08 Adventures of Sinterklaas: PNW 2008: Sinterklaas does Seattle SantaCon, Part 1

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share

2008 Boulder SantaCon – Black Friday 11/28/08

Black Friday, 28 Novembre, 2008

Boulder, Colorado


Vodka in Hand, Ready for SantaCon

Ah, what a day. The story to be told on Black Friday leading to irresponsibility and debauchery. Uggh. I have a headache just thinking about it. The morning awaking in the cottage, nestled up against Cheyenne Mountain, with snow covering the ground and the roads a bit icy, deer prancing in the yard looking for splotches of grass peering through the icy cover. I packed up my red coat with white fluffy lining, white beard, and red santa hat … bag of misfit toys and packed it into the Matrix. Awoke and rustled Doug from the couch and off in a jiffy we were in Manitou to meet Jess and Cody for crepes and goodies at the European Cafe. Delicious. A walk around downtown Manitou Springs to find they were not really amped or open for Black Friday. A sigh of relief, and off in a bolt, I was onwards to Denver to meet up with Viktoria for a massage to start out the day. We grabbed some veggie cuisine at the Krishna temple Govinda buffet and after a delicious fill and a muscle relaxing massage, was off to Denise’s to don the red coat. Vodka bottle in hand I was released of any responsibilities as was given the gift of a non-drinking designated driver who would care for Santa in his plight of drunken debauchery. ‘Tis always a danger when Sinterklaas is given a sleigh he doesn’t have to drive and a bagful of booze and misfit toys where there is no limitation or responsibility of care, and soon enough felt the pangs of that evolution, as he ended his night hugging a tree as a bad santa would when the booze doesn’t agree with the body in it flows.

Invading Maceys santa seat

A short drive from Broomfield to Boulder, we found the La Casa Mexican restaurant in the strip mall where the Santa Clauses and Elves were to gather. Bags of candy canes and naughty toys in hand, we walked through the doors to find a handful of santas already imbibing in the two-for-one Margarita’s and beer that they offered exclusively to those donned in Xmas cheer. Afterall Thanksgiving is over, and its time for the red caped wonders to unwind and prepare for December’s payload of chimney swooping and gift giving chores. Every 10 minutes the restaurant was invaded by mystical misfits of North Pole origin. Some of the patrons who were seated in the territory were soon outnumbered and scared from their seats, unaware what toil was soon to take place. Drinking and merriment with chorus of ho-ho-ho’s; Santa was in da house with Elvis santas, credit card santas, elves, reindeer, and comical santas galore. A few children dining with their parents were confused as to why there were so many santas together some quite frightenely dazed by the red glare and glimmer. Especially as misfit toy plunder was dished out on the tables for each santa to grab and add to their bags.

The fearless Santa leader with antique boom-box in hand, led the red crowd into the parking lot for some mischievious broadcasts of bad santa humor and songs as we paraded away to the city mall around the corner. A security truck spied the sleigh of 75+ santas entering in Macey’s and organized their ambush for our exit on out. Parading through Macey’s – quite dead for Black Friday, we hit santa’s booth and invaded it for a photo session, then on out of the store with intent of visiting and shopping around the rest of the mall, was met with intense discrimination for being red skinned and white haired … a security cop with a cowboy hat tried to stop the crowd and warn for us NOT to give out anything to anyone. Aggravated and irritated that this crowd wasn’t paying him much attention, told the merry-makers this is private property and we were not welcome. So off we complied and deciding not to wait for the bus, headed over to a bar afterwhich security, for some unknown reason, since we were listening, called the cops and sent them flashing after us. Full in our right, to dress as we wish, and walk where we wanted, we headed on off for more margaritas and salsa. Dance party in the bar with frolick and flirtations flying.

dancing in the bar

Continue reading 2008 Boulder SantaCon – Black Friday 11/28/08

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share

12.22.07 Denver SantaCon

Twas’ two days before Xmas eve, when all through the streets of Denver, not a creature was stirring, not even a city rat. When all of a sudden there was a loud clatter, of a mass of drunken santas invading the streets. Piling on the Shopper’s Special party bus as a sleigh ride of cheer, only to find a short disappoint of a bus with no gear. An hour or so later, the sleigh was in motion, and liquor was sloshed, for the first stop at a dive called noneothere than Bar, Bar. The patrons were happy to see the red team, as more whiskeys and rum were induced as a glorious gleem … onwards to the state Capitol for some protesting for the righteous, take care of your santas or there will be no gifts that will matter. “I’m for it”, “I’m against it”, were flying around, as the first wedding was disturbed on the steps when we walked around.

Then onwards to to a gas station for the sleigh to be filled, stomachs a grumblin’ with chips and pop spilled. Then on to Dandy Dan’s for some naked good cheer, as clothes came off and misfit toys were tipped here. The sleigh soon delivered us to the Brown Palace Hotel (1892) … one of Denver’s most luxurious … where we were denied entrance, but slipped on back through … disturbed yet another wedding, as we made our way to the bar … for some more good cheer.

Then to the “There Coffee Bar and Lounge” at 1526 E. Colfax picking up even more naughty santas than ever … as some of our Misses Clauses climbed up on the bar, and did a fantastic strip tease for us all … We then snuck into the Arboretum’s Xmas display … the Blossom of Light’s until we were escorted out … back onto the bus for some disco and dancing fun … on to a Trannie bar for some lovely drag shows … and Carmines on Penn … then to a male strip club called “Boyz Town Denver”, we wound up towards the end at a after-party where we were greeted by the Denver fire department who couldn’t stand a campfire in the backyard so near, after extinguishing it, a cool band in the basement, and more booze aflow … the rest is all hazy, but it was a good show.

the photo gallery from the naughty night of chaos

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share