Category Archives: flash mobs

Colorado Springs Santa Con 2017

Santas at the Ancient Mariner, Manitou Springs, Colorado. 2017 Colorado Springs Santa Con: http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=34397. New Life in Colorado

2017 Colorado Springs Santa Con
~ The Santa Bus, Swirl Wine Bar, The Loop, Ancient Mariner, Kinfolks, The Royal, the Keg, the MAC (Santarchy Party) ~ Manitou Springs, Colorado ~
~ https://www.facebook.com/events/369686326784141/ / https://www.facebook.com/pg/SantaConCOS/ ~

Review by Leaf McGowan/Thomas Baurley, Technogypsie Productions ~

Story Coming Soon

If you would like to contact the author about this review, need a re-review, would like to advertise on this page, or have information to add, please contact us at technogypsie@gmail.com.

Santas grabbing drinks at the Royale, Manitou Springs, Colorado. 2017 Colorado Springs Santa Con: http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=34397. New Life in Colorado: Chronicle 26 – Chronicles of Sir Thomas Leaf and Prince Cian. Adventures in Colorado. Photos taken December 9, 2017. To read the adventures, visit http://www.technogypsie.com/chronicles/?p=21965. To read reviews, visit: www.technogypsie.com/reviews. All photos and articles (c) 2017. Technogypsie.com – by Leaf McGowan and Thomas Baurley. All rights reserved. www.technogypsie.com/photography. More info about Colorado Springs: http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=31051. Colorado Springs Santa Con: https://www.facebook.com/SantaConCOS/.

Continue reading Colorado Springs Santa Con 2017

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share

Boulder SantaCon 2017

Boulder SantaCon 12

Boulder Santa Con 12
Boulder, Colorado *
https://www.facebook.com/events/1785737221725663/ *

It’s that wonderful time of year when the red tide makes it’s way through Boulder Colorado … It is also the birthplace where I got my start frolicking with the Santa’s … So I recall …. Either-or Boulder, Colorado springs, or Denver.

This year in it’s 12th year there was two Santa crawls …. The early one starting out with dining Mexican fare then on to the gentlemen’s club next door. Onwards they took a sleigh ride on the public bus downtown for more fun.

Misfit toys handed out to all, candy canes, and holiday cheer aplenty. With boom boxes in place they had a spontaneous dance party on the bandstand in the city park.

More Coming soon …

Boulder SantaCon (http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=34233) — New Life in Colorado: Chronicle 26 – Chronicles of Sir Thomas Leaf and Prince Cian. Adventures in Colorado. Photos taken November 24, 2017. To read the adventures, visit http://www.technogypsie.com/chronicles/?p=21965. To read reviews, visit: www.technogypsie.com/reviews. All photos and articles (c) 2017. Technogypsie.com – by Leaf McGowan and Thomas Baurley. All rights reserved. www.technogypsie.com/photography. More info about Colorado Springs: http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=31051

Continue reading Boulder SantaCon 2017

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share

Denver SantaCon 2016

Denver SantaCon 2016

Denver SantaCon 2016
~ Begin Union Station to Black Shirt brewery via Rail to Thirsty Lion to La Boheme to Wazee Supper Club, Denver, Colorado
https://www.facebook.com/events/1284973781560458/1337087499682419/ ~

Story coming soon …

Denver SantaCon 2016 ( http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=29647) – New Life in Colorado: Chronicle 26 – Chronicles of Sir Thomas Leaf and Prince Cian. Adventures in Colorado. Photos taken December 23, 2016. To read the adventures, visit http://www.technogypsie.com/chronicles/?p=21965. To read reviews, visit: www.technogypsie.com/reviews. All photos and articles (c) 2015/2016 Technogypsie.com – by Leaf McGowan and Thomas Baurley. All rights reserved. www.technogypsie.com/photography

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share

Union Station (Denver, CO)

Denver SantaCon 2016 ( http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=29647), Union Station

Union Station
~ Denver, Colorado ~

Write up coming soon ….

Denver SantaCon 2016 ( http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=29647), Union Station ( http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=29651); Denver, Co – New Life in Colorado: Chronicle 26 – Chronicles of Sir Thomas Leaf and Prince Cian. Adventures in Colorado. Photos taken December 23, 2016. To read the adventures, visit http://www.technogypsie.com/chronicles/?p=21965. To read reviews, visit: www.technogypsie.com/reviews. All photos and articles (c) 2015/2016 Technogypsie.com – by Leaf McGowan and Thomas Baurley. All rights reserved. www.technogypsie.com/photography

Denver SantaCon 2016 ( http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=29647), Union Station ( http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=29651); Denver, Co – New Life in Colorado: Chronicle 26 – Chronicles of Sir Thomas Leaf and Prince Cian. Adventures in Colorado. Photos taken December 23, 2016. To read the adventures, visit http://www.technogypsie.com/chronicles/?p=21965. To read reviews, visit: www.technogypsie.com/reviews. All photos and articles (c) 2015/2016 Technogypsie.com – by Leaf McGowan and Thomas Baurley. All rights reserved. www.technogypsie.com/photography

Denver SantaCon 2016 ( http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=29647), Union Station ( http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=29651); Denver, Co – New Life in Colorado: Chronicle 26 – Chronicles of Sir Thomas Leaf and Prince Cian. Adventures in Colorado. Photos taken December 23, 2016. To read the adventures, visit http://www.technogypsie.com/chronicles/?p=21965. To read reviews, visit: www.technogypsie.com/reviews. All photos and articles (c) 2015/2016 Technogypsie.com – by Leaf McGowan and Thomas Baurley. All rights reserved. www.technogypsie.com/photography
Denver SantaCon 2016 ( http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=29647), Union Station ( http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=29651); Denver, Co – New Life in Colorado: Chronicle 26 – Chronicles of Sir Thomas Leaf and Prince Cian. Adventures in Colorado. Photos taken December 23, 2016. To read the adventures, visit http://www.technogypsie.com/chronicles/?p=21965. To read reviews, visit: www.technogypsie.com/reviews. All photos and articles (c) 2015/2016 Technogypsie.com – by Leaf McGowan and Thomas Baurley. All rights reserved. www.technogypsie.com/photography
Denver SantaCon 2016 ( http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=29647), Union Station ( http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=29651); Denver, Co – New Life in Colorado: Chronicle 26 – Chronicles of Sir Thomas Leaf and Prince Cian. Adventures in Colorado. Photos taken December 23, 2016. To read the adventures, visit http://www.technogypsie.com/chronicles/?p=21965. To read reviews, visit: www.technogypsie.com/reviews. All photos and articles (c) 2015/2016 Technogypsie.com – by Leaf McGowan and Thomas Baurley. All rights reserved. www.technogypsie.com/photography
Denver SantaCon 2016 ( http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=29647), Union Station ( http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=29651); Denver, Co – New Life in Colorado: Chronicle 26 – Chronicles of Sir Thomas Leaf and Prince Cian. Adventures in Colorado. Photos taken December 23, 2016. To read the adventures, visit http://www.technogypsie.com/chronicles/?p=21965. To read reviews, visit: www.technogypsie.com/reviews. All photos and articles (c) 2015/2016 Technogypsie.com – by Leaf McGowan and Thomas Baurley. All rights reserved. www.technogypsie.com/photography
Denver SantaCon 2016 ( http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=29647), Union Station ( http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=29651); Denver, Co – New Life in Colorado: Chronicle 26 – Chronicles of Sir Thomas Leaf and Prince Cian. Adventures in Colorado. Photos taken December 23, 2016. To read the adventures, visit http://www.technogypsie.com/chronicles/?p=21965. To read reviews, visit: www.technogypsie.com/reviews. All photos and articles (c) 2015/2016 Technogypsie.com – by Leaf McGowan and Thomas Baurley. All rights reserved. www.technogypsie.com/photography
Denver SantaCon 2016 ( http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=29647), Union Station ( http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=29651); Denver, Co – New Life in Colorado: Chronicle 26 – Chronicles of Sir Thomas Leaf and Prince Cian. Adventures in Colorado. Photos taken December 23, 2016. To read the adventures, visit http://www.technogypsie.com/chronicles/?p=21965. To read reviews, visit: www.technogypsie.com/reviews. All photos and articles (c) 2015/2016 Technogypsie.com – by Leaf McGowan and Thomas Baurley. All rights reserved. www.technogypsie.com/photography

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share

Thirsty Lion (Denver, Co)

Denver SantaCon 2016 ( http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=29647); Thirsty Lion

Thirsty Lion
~ Denver, Colorado ~

Write up coming soon ….

Denver SantaCon 2016 ( http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=29647); Thirsty Lion ( http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=29655) – New Life in Colorado: Chronicle 26 – Chronicles of Sir Thomas Leaf and Prince Cian. Adventures in Colorado. Photos taken December 23, 2016. To read the adventures, visit http://www.technogypsie.com/chronicles/?p=21965. To read reviews, visit: www.technogypsie.com/reviews. All photos and articles (c) 2015/2016 Technogypsie.com – by Leaf McGowan and Thomas Baurley. All rights reserved. www.technogypsie.com/photography

Denver SantaCon 2016 ( http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=29647); Thirsty Lion ( http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=29655) – New Life in Colorado: Chronicle 26 – Chronicles of Sir Thomas Leaf and Prince Cian. Adventures in Colorado. Photos taken December 23, 2016. To read the adventures, visit http://www.technogypsie.com/chronicles/?p=21965. To read reviews, visit: www.technogypsie.com/reviews. All photos and articles (c) 2015/2016 Technogypsie.com – by Leaf McGowan and Thomas Baurley. All rights reserved. www.technogypsie.com/photography

Denver SantaCon 2016 ( http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=29647); Thirsty Lion ( http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=29655) – New Life in Colorado: Chronicle 26 – Chronicles of Sir Thomas Leaf and Prince Cian. Adventures in Colorado. Photos taken December 23, 2016. To read the adventures, visit http://www.technogypsie.com/chronicles/?p=21965. To read reviews, visit: www.technogypsie.com/reviews. All photos and articles (c) 2015/2016 Technogypsie.com – by Leaf McGowan and Thomas Baurley. All rights reserved. www.technogypsie.com/photography

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share

Black Shirt Brewery (Denver, Co)

Denver SantaCon 2016 ( http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=29647); Black Shirt Brewery

Black Shirt Brewery
~ Denver, Colorado ~

Write up coming soon ….

Denver SantaCon 2016 ( http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=29647); Black Shirt Brewery ( http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=29657) – New Life in Colorado: Chronicle 26 – Chronicles of Sir Thomas Leaf and Prince Cian. Adventures in Colorado. Photos taken December 23, 2016. To read the adventures, visit http://www.technogypsie.com/chronicles/?p=21965. To read reviews, visit: www.technogypsie.com/reviews. All photos and articles (c) 2015/2016 Technogypsie.com – by Leaf McGowan and Thomas Baurley. All rights reserved. www.technogypsie.com/photography

Denver SantaCon 2016 ( http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=29647); Black Shirt Brewery ( http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=29657) – New Life in Colorado: Chronicle 26 – Chronicles of Sir Thomas Leaf and Prince Cian. Adventures in Colorado. Photos taken December 23, 2016. To read the adventures, visit http://www.technogypsie.com/chronicles/?p=21965. To read reviews, visit: www.technogypsie.com/reviews. All photos and articles (c) 2015/2016 Technogypsie.com – by Leaf McGowan and Thomas Baurley. All rights reserved. www.technogypsie.com/photography

Denver SantaCon 2016 ( http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=29647); Black Shirt Brewery ( http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=29657) – New Life in Colorado: Chronicle 26 – Chronicles of Sir Thomas Leaf and Prince Cian. Adventures in Colorado. Photos taken December 23, 2016. To read the adventures, visit http://www.technogypsie.com/chronicles/?p=21965. To read reviews, visit: www.technogypsie.com/reviews. All photos and articles (c) 2015/2016 Technogypsie.com – by Leaf McGowan and Thomas Baurley. All rights reserved. www.technogypsie.com/photography

Denver SantaCon 2016 ( http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=29647); Black Shirt Brewery ( http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=29657) – New Life in Colorado: Chronicle 26 – Chronicles of Sir Thomas Leaf and Prince Cian. Adventures in Colorado. Photos taken December 23, 2016. To read the adventures, visit http://www.technogypsie.com/chronicles/?p=21965. To read reviews, visit: www.technogypsie.com/reviews. All photos and articles (c) 2015/2016 Technogypsie.com – by Leaf McGowan and Thomas Baurley. All rights reserved. www.technogypsie.com/photography

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share

2012 Dublin Zombie Walk

2012 Dublin Zombie Walk
* Saturday, 4 August 2012 * St. Stephen’s Green to Temple Bar * 2 pm – 4 pm * Dublin, Ireland * http://www.dublinzombiewalk.com/ *

The living dead rose to masses ranging from 4,000 to quoted 10,000 undead splattering blood, guts, and moaning for brains as they walked a long route taking over the streets of Dublin’s historic city centre. These uncanny zombies were oozing with delight as they stopped at several points as a large mass dance party to Thriller and other tunes. Tumbling out of St. Stephen’s Green park, the zombies walked around the park, down Dawson street, down towards O’Connoll street, and wrapping up in Temple Bar. The city was in full support and corralled the zombies assisted by the Zombie Tactic Squad who made sure none of the zombies wandered off the streets onto the sidewalks. Fun was had for all. Unlike many other zombie crawls which are atypical flash mobs, this one with its thousands was done as a fundraiser to raise Euros for charities such as the Irish Cancer Society and Barnardos. As a former zombie crawl organizer from the States, i was highly impressed by its organization and success.

080412_001080412_002080412_003080412_004080412_005080412_006
080412_007080412_008080412_009080412_010080412_011080412_012
080412_013080412_014080412_015080412_016080412_017080412_018
080412_019080412_020080412_021080412_022080412_023080412_024

2012 Dublin Zombie Walk, a set on Flickr.

Via Flickr:
Saturday, August 4, 2012 : 2012 Dublin Zombie Walk, St. Stephen’s Green to Temple Bar in Dublin, Ireland. Photography by Leaf McGowan, www.technogypsie.com/photography.html (c) 2012 – technogypsie.com.

Continue reading 2012 Dublin Zombie Walk

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share

Chronicles: 9/19/10 – Painting A Zombie Army

Painting a Zombie Army:
The Werks


Sunday, 19 September 2010
* Denver, Colorado, United States of America *

After a evening of debauchery that led into the wee hours of the morning at Brethren Con, Sir Thomas Oisin Leaf slept in at Lady Allison’s parents royale home. Awakening and up by noon, he was soon off for a jolt of chai and wifi before preparing to assist with army of undead that was awakening at the Werks artist collective. He arrived a little late as many of the artists were already painting up zombies and some of the photographers were already in action with invasion shots. Sir Thomas bloodied up a soldier whom became recently turned to the undead. Sir David, the coordinator of the event, was busy creating gruesome guts and wounds all over the victims he was working on. The army of zombies were pretty intense as they attacked unsuspecting victims. Afterwards, Sir Thomas Leaf headed off in his vardo back south to Colorado Springs where he turned in early as he would be working in the archaeological lab processing remains of the dead all week. Such is a moment of time in the Chronicles of Sir Thomas Leaf.

Photos and videos below the cut:

Continue reading Chronicles: 9/19/10 – Painting A Zombie Army

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share

The Tree Leaves Oracle & Folk Fellowship

The Tree Leaves’ Oracle and Folk Fellowship
* www.treeleavesoracle.org * 1991 – Present * Livejournal Community * Facebook Group *

Founded in 1991 as an underground Neo-Pagan newsletter, evolving into an arts and crafts wandering business, “Tree Leaves” eventually mutated into a cooperative / collective of folk enthusiasts, folklorists, artists, musicians, religionists, and culturalists who seek to preserve folk and tree lore, culture, ways, religion, art, music, and beliefs. As a cooperative, members network together, share ideas, theories, concepts, art, techniques, and lore to help one another preserve traditions, knowledge, and beliefs that have been generated in the past, present, and future. Tree Leaves sprouted from an entity known as “The Tree Leaves’ Oracle”. (The Tree Leaves’ Oracle started as a community newsletter and grew into a journal. It became an organization, a store, a company, and was reduced back to a journal offered by the Folk Fellowship to it’s membership. From 2007-2008 it became a faerie and art store in historic Manitou Springs, Colorado.)

When “The Tree Leaves’ Oracle” started out as a Tallahassee Florida publication in 1991 it very quickly shifted into a nomadic arts/crafts/oils/ and herbal sachets nomadic peddling business founded at the Saturday Market in Eugene, Oregon that same year. In 1993 a not-for-profit special-interest group was formed for the study of folklore and the offering of folk artist networking as a avenue for drum circles, talent shows, classes, and discussion groups. This special-interest group became known as “The Tree Leaves’ Folk Fellowship”. Tree Leaves soon took off on it’s own and escaped the financial support of “The Tree Leaves’ Oracle”. In fact, as the “The Tree Leaves Oracle, Inc.” collapsed as a corporation, the Folk Fellowship was still holding activities and networking several hundred enthusiasts of folk culture (and a membership base of a couple hundred). The Tree Leaves Folk Fellowship was officially born and founded as a separate entity in November of 1995 with conceptual activities sprouting in 1994. Through membership dues and support, the fellowship offered it’s collective a bi-annual journal called The “Tree Leaves’ Oracle”, a quarterly newsletter known as “Tree Talk”, an annual membership directory, a web site, and a board of Directors and volunteers who actively organized activities, events, and question/answer support for those seeking answers about folk culture. Because of difficulties with volunteer support, The Tree Leaves’ Folk Fellowship closed it’s person-to-person activities and community support on September 1st of 1998. By October 1, 1998 Tree Leaves had mutated into a internet organization that operated on a strictly cyber-basis. (although Tree Leaves’ Folk Fellowship forest groups still held activities in their local areas) The official organization stopped holding events, printing paper publications, and no longer offered telephone or person-to-person guidance & support. After careful consideration of the expenses involved in becoming a non-profit tax-exempt organization, Tree Leaves decided to remain not-for-profit and allow other organizations to donate support and funding for it’s operation and existence. The journal, website and former newsletters were shortly made available for free online. Their folk journal is sporadically still published online for free viewing by anyone with internet access. From 1998 to 2000, Tree Leaves was adopted by the research and design firm known as “Leafworks, Inc.” (a company now defunct). From the death of Leafworks, Tree Leaves operated under the wings of Wandering Leaf Designs. Reproduction of all cyber published materials was available for a nominal printing or reproduction cost through copyright held by Wandering Leaf, LLC. (now defunct)

Continue reading The Tree Leaves Oracle & Folk Fellowship

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share

“The Dead Are Rising, End Times Are Near”

“The Dead Are Rising, End Times Are Near”

AP Press, 8 October 2010 – Mike Huntchecker

Paranoia and concern is filling the streets as gurus, priests, and preachers warn that the “End Times Are Near”. As as prophesied by Paul when he said, “…he hath appointed a day, in the which he will judge the world…” (Acts 17:31 KJV) and “…there shall be a resurrection of the dead, both of the just and unjust.” (Acts 24:15 KJV). ” “The Dead are believed to be crawling out of the grave this entire month, ready for judgement, as predicted by the Christian Bible.” says Reverend Fakehacker of the First Pentacoastals International. “They are coming, just you wait”. “They will entire the pearly gates first, before the living – The just and unjust. The Good samaritans and the murderers. They will rise and attack those that need to come to heaven with them, forcing the living to become the walking dead. The day of judgement, they will all crawl together to be judged before the living does.” “I’m excited”, says Reverend Fakehacker, “It’s time, it’s time.”

Conspiracy theorists disagree with the biblical prophesies. They claim it to be evidence of the result of governmental biological testing with the tetrodotoxin feH1N1 virus that has been causing annual outbreaks of the dead walking the streets looking to dine on brains. “It’s true”, says Colorado resident conspiratist Jacob Alzheimer “they are coming, they have been here, and the virus will spread”. “Look at what happened in Manitou and Colorado Springs, Boulder, and Denver last year … there were thousands walking the streets. Bolt your doors and do not let their vapor, saliva, or blood get into your system or you’ll become one.”

Our press did some research into his claims, and indeed, for the last 4-5 years, Colorado has been bombarded with these outbreaks. The numbers appear to be growing, even though governmental containment and coverup appears strong.


click for full view

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share

Another feH1N1z Outbreak in Manitou Springs – Spring Strike – May 1, 2010


photo by Technogypsie.com (c) 2010

Zombies Awaken in Another Manitou Springs Outbreak, This time during the Spring Flu Season
Saturday, May 1st, 2010: 3 pm MST – National Press

It was an innocent sunny day in Manitou. Festivities of life, joy, love, and flowers being celebrated all over the country. This is May Day after all. A time when one would expect a gathering of folks in the park to be doing a May Pole dance – not being attacked by the living dead. Manitou Springs seems to annually suffer from the epidemic of the feH1N1z virus that attacks its host by tremors, spasms, arteries popping, spraying blood, until the convulsing patient falls dead. After death they slowly come to life with a ravenous appetite for blood and brains. This time 87 infected came crawling out of Soda Springs Park in search of brains and gore. They moaned, groaned, crawled, and attacked as they wandered for flesh along Manitou Avenue before deciding to descend upon the Townhouse Lounge. They were quickly quieted by the life-saving arrival of the Zombie Tactical Defense squad from Denver, in league with the Denver Hearse Club – ready to cart off the bodies to burn into ash. Fully armed and ready for termination – the zombies quickly dissolved into the woodwork faster than they were infected. There was no room for failure. A few lingering undead, pretending to be survivors from the infection, pretended to be normal by celebrating a birthday of an undead girl named Jackie turning 10 this weekend. Birthday cake, food, and drinks – the zombies dispersed, and the Hearse club, Zombie Tactical Defense Squad, and others headed off to Sonic for a celebration of victory until the next outbreak. Rumor has it some of the zombies escaped to Dublin, Ireland and infection is starting to spread there. More news as it breaks.


photo by Broken Glass Photography (c) 2010


Video by Michael Bliss

Photos by Kevin Kreck at Colorado Springs Gazette


Continue reading Another feH1N1z Outbreak in Manitou Springs – Spring Strike – May 1, 2010

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share

Easter Bunny vs. Jesus Christ Pillow Fight (2010: Denver)

International Pillow Fight Day: Denver 2010: Easter Bunny vs. Jesus
* Denver Art Museum * Denver, Colorado * April 3, 2010 *
http://www.pillowfightday.com/2010/denver-colorado

I was all excited to partake another annual celebration of the International Pillow Fight Day … but alas, calendars crossed up … Me and my comrad Fachan Lee hightailed it to Denver from Colorado Springs as we had left “Ron English’s ‘Ascension of Santa Christ‘” video shoot and figured we’d show up as Santa types to the “Easter Bunny vs. Jesus Christ” pillow fight. We heard about 30-40, Bunny and J.C. types gathered in front of the Denver Art Museum for a fun pillow fight that according to the web – the Easter Bunny was victorious. Luckily there were some straggling rabbits and robed beings walking down the street with their pillows so we were able to do a couple of ‘make-up’ pillow fights with some of the participants and have some grub with them at the local diner. Afterwards, a few of us invaded the Denver Art Gallery. Good times.

Continue reading Easter Bunny vs. Jesus Christ Pillow Fight (2010: Denver)

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share

The Ascension of Santa Christ

“The Launching of Santa Christ”
Artist Ron English * Saturday, April 3, 2010 * America The Beautiful Park * Colorado Springs, Colorado *
Mid-morning the sunny, yet windy day at the infamous “America the Beautiful” Park in Downtown Colorado Springs saw its green dotted with jolly red creatures, elves, Easter Bunnies, and other freaky characters bouncing around with large helium filled red balloons. Struggling with the wind, these seasonally festive animated beings tied numerous balloons to what appeared to be a ‘passed out’ Santa. Indeed it was a life-size artistic image of Ron English’s “Santa Christ” and this was his newest artistic creation and publicity stunt for the celebration of “Easter”. It was a festive and fun time. Very inspirational. Fun was had by all as we chased around the “Santa Christ” icon as it bobbed up and down along the park until it floated away into the sky beyond the giant Stargate and up and between the obelisk pillars into the clear blue skies where it will turn many bewildered heads of the “W.T.F.” nature …. Afterwards, the numerous Santas, festive characters, and the Easter Bunny enjoyed frolicking down the streets of Downtown Colorado with booze and grub from Phantom Canyon. Good times ….

Continue reading The Ascension of Santa Christ

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share

100 Santas Needed in Colorado Springs for Video Shoot

April 4th, 2010 : Colorado Springs, Colorado

A large handful of you have responded to the big SantaChrist/Ron English/Electric Illuminati event coming to Colorado Springs. I appreciate your response but we still need many, many SANTAS to reach 100.

Please email Douglas at douglas@rouse66.com to confirm your participation.

Your Santa costume does not need to be elaborate, nor authentic. Think of it more as a sea of red and white and if there are 100 or more people wearing red and white the effect could be quite astonishing. It doesn’t even need to be a Santa outfit specifically, but something celebrating or resembling Santa would be awesome. For ten bucks at the thrift shop you can get a sweet outfit (hint: Saturday’s at the ARC everything is 50% off).
Facebook | Santa Christ video shoot for Ron English

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share

Misfit Toys (2009)

Misfit Toys 2009
Following is a photogallery of some of the misfit toys I’ve constructed for the 2009 Santacons. What is a Santacon? What are Misfit Toys? you might ask?
SantaCon is a pub crawl meets flash mob or a mass gathering of people dressed in their various interpretations of Santa Claus, Reindeer, Elves, and winter fantasy creatures. Dressed in costumes and performing mischief, merriment, and festivity in the streets, bars, malls, stores, and establishments around the world. Nearly every city has them. Its all about fun, festivity, spontaneity, creativity, and improv art. They have been labelled Naughty Santas, Cheapsuit Santas, Santarchy, Santa Rampage, Red Tide, the Red Menace and Santapalooza, SantaCon events are noted for cheerfully bawdy and harmless behavior, including the singing of naughty Christmas carols, and the giving of small gifts and free hugs to random strangers. In Japan there is more of the “doing good” principle and they have contributed to the community through such activities as Santa litter-picking outings. Some participants see SantaCon as a postmodern revival of Saturnalia, while others see the event as a precursor of the flash mob. For others it is about spreading the real spirit of Christmas in the form of love, generosity, fun and celebration with ones fellows. The first SantaCon was held in San Francisco in 1994 by the Cacophony Society. “Misfit Toys” on the other hand are those gifts that the naughty santas hand out. Most of them are mischievious or naughty in theme, but most santas carry regular toys for the kids. Misfit Toy making parties are common pre-parties to Santacon, and are based alot around the Rudolph stories about the Island of Misfit Toys where in the tales there is an island sanctuary where defective and unwanted toys are sent. Misfit toys are constructed with various toy parts from many different toys merged together to create an ingenious “WTF” creation. Some of the infamous misfit toys from Rudolph’s land were: King Moonracer – a winged lion who acts as the island’s ruler who flys around hunting for unwanted toys. Charlie-In-The-Box is a misnamed, but otherwise seemingly normal jack-in-the-box who acts as the island’s sentry. A Spotted Elephant is a polka dotted elephant and also is the island’s bellhop. “A Dolly for Sue (as she calls herself)” is a seemingly normal girl rag doll with red hair and a red gingham (checkered) dress who is suffering depression from feeling unloved, Bird Fish is a toy bird who swims instead of flies; A misfit cowboy who rides an ostrich; Trainer, a train with square wheels on its caboose; A toy boat that sinks rather than floats; a squirt gun that shoots grape jelly; an airplane that can’t fly, a bear that rides a bike, and “a scooter for Jimmy”. Of course these are extremely lame in comparision to what Santacon revelers create. Of course these are all fun unwinding party moments for the world Santa population to let loose before they have to go deliver toys to good boys and girls around the world …
Continue reading Misfit Toys (2009)

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share

10/24/09: Fourth Zombie Outbreak in Denver: Fourth Annual Denver Zombie Crawl

Fourth Zombie Outbreak in Denver
uWorld News Press: October 24, 2009: 2300 – Denver, Colorado
It happened again. For the fourth year in a row. Growing in masses. From Hundreds to literally thousands. Its no longer a crawl, but an invasion … disorder, chaos, anarchy. Zombies populating the 16th street mall. Infectuous virus signs everywhere. It appeared to me to have about 2,000 zombies crawling the mall this year, though the pack leader claims about 4,000 trying to give the Freemont Seattle Guiness Book of World Records a challenge. Could it be? This year, Colorado has been over-run with the cantagion of this zombie feH1N1z virus. Perhaps the quarantine and immunization clinic in Colorado Springs did not work? Could zombies have escaped the Littleton, Manitou Springs, and Colorado Spring outbreaks this year? Can the virus really populate that quickly? It was sheer madness. There was a rally at Skyline Park with events until the zombies took over. They got bored with the activities at Skyline Park, so the zCDC squad was unable to contain or quarantine them in that sector of the city. They crawled in disorder randomly up both sides of the 16th street mall, attacking innocent citizens and devouring their brains. Some musical zombies broke out into thriller-like dancecapades throughout. Blood splattered the streets, the walls, the windows of the establishments. The buses were smeared by marks of the undead. In fact, so bad, that the city billed the zombies $1,000 fine for clean up. Is this the end? Has the zombie apocalypse reached us?

Fourth Annual Denver Zombie Crawl
* www.eyeheartbrain.com * Every October * 16th Street Mall * Denver, Colorado *
It was madness and it took its toll. Thousands of zombies descended on the 16th Street Mall this Saturday, October 24, 2009. There was an estimated 2,000-4,000 zombies participating in the zombie crawl. Though with that many people, it lost its ‘crawl’ effect, and was more of a chaotic ‘invasion’ of the mall as zombies went every which way, rather than the usual mass going in one direction. Tons of victims attacked, phenomenal dance performances in Michael Jackson Thriller style sporadically took place throughout the crawl, the buses attacked with bloody handprints, and general blood bath. It was a blast chaos or not. The event started at Skyline Park with makeup 101, costume contests, and other promotional events, dances, and festivity. Then at 6 pm, they crawled up and down the 16th street mall, some of which met back at Skyline Park for a local goth band playing live. There were advertised zombie bowling, zombie balls, zombie proms, and zombie parties afterwards. It was a fun-filled time. The costumes were amazing. The event takes place every October. Details can be found at www.eyeheartbrain.com.

Continue reading 10/24/09: Fourth Zombie Outbreak in Denver: Fourth Annual Denver Zombie Crawl

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share

The Third Annual Colorado Springs Zombie Crawl and 80’s Dance Party

Flash News Update: Colorado Springs 3rd Infection


photograph by Steve Carlin

The Third Annual Colorado Springs Zombie Crawl and 80’s Dance Party
Every October * Downtown Colorado Springs, Colorado *
Every year, the zombie clans of Manitou Springs, Colorado Springs, Denver, and surrounding areas take over the streets of majorly populated city centers in Colorado. Some say it’s an active re-occuring flu-like flesh-eating variant of the swine flu, others say it’s a zombie apocalypse, while many just embrace it as a new annual tradition around the world. Yes, Zombie crawls happen in almost every major city on the globe. They are growing phenomenally in population and occurence. Some say this is a sign that the end times are near and is a training routine for the zombie apocalypse. Are you prepared? Basically a Zombie Crawl is either an organized or unorganized assembly or flash mob of people dressed like zombies or the undead. Its primarily advertised by word of mouth, the internet, and social networks as it is meant to be a surprise event on the public. It is a mass group improv theatrical performance. It mutates annually to involve not only the living dead, but zombie hunters, and victims. Some are staged as spoof political rallies organized “to raise awareness of zombie rights”. Often you find a combination of all the above. The First zombie walk to hit North America, took place in 2001 on the streets of Sacremento, California. This replicated in 2002. Then October 2003 the zombies hit Toronto, Ontario. Frequency started to occur throughout North American cities. On October 29, 2006, 894 participants gathered at the Monroeville Mall in Pittsburgh, which served as the set of the classic zombie film Dawn of the Dead setting the Guiness Book of World Records. A zombie march in Brisbane, Australia on May 25, 2008 set an unofficial record of over 1500 participants according to media reports. On June 21, 2008, a zombie march took place in Chicago with a reported of over 1,550 zombies, setting a new unofficial record. Close to 50 cities worldwide participated in World Zombie Day on October 26, 2008 with over 7,500 zombies estimated. On October 30, 2008, Grand Rapids, Michigan, became the largest site of zombies anywhere in the world. Even though the official tally was at 3,370 zombies, well over 4,000+ zombies showed up to this event. [wikipedia] On 3 July 2009, a zombie walk in the Fremont neighboorhood of Seattle broke the previous record set by Grand Rapids – Guinness World Records officially recorded 3,894 zombies, though local news claimed 4,277 participants (I was there and have to say there were hundreds of zombies who didn’t want to stand in line for the official registration count so I believe the latter).


photograph by Jeff Kallaus

After attending the 2006 Denver 1st annual Zombie Crawl, Leaf McGowan decided to start and become founder of the Manitou Springs, Colorado on October 17, 2007 [roughly 45 zombies]; and continuing with the one in Colorado Springs, Colorado on October 28, 2007 [with 67 zombies] that was put on by his shop “The Tree Leaves Oracle.” In addition to the Tree Leaves’ Oracle, the Manitou Springs Crawl was also sponsored by the Ancient Mariner where the after party was held. The Colorado Springs one was also sponsored by the Underground Bar’s Goth Night. It was so successful that he continued them in 2008. [ Manitou Springs 2008 Zombie Crawl and Party with est. 70 zombies ] [ Colorado Springs 2nd Annual Zombie Crawl & 80’s Party with 150+ zombies ] The 2008 Manitou Springs after-crawl social was held at the Ancient Mariner and the 2008 Colorado Springs crawl party was held again at the Underground with the amazing 80’s tunes by DJ Gypsy. This year, the crawls and parties took place again – in Manitou Springs on October 12th with 45 zombies braving freezing cold ice-rain conditions and ending their party at the Townhouse Lounge that hosted live entertainment and drink specials for the brave souls bearing winter conditions. This year’s Colorado Springs Zombie crawl took place on Friday, October 23, 2009 at the Underground Bar on the corner of Kiowa and Nevada. They openened their doors for the crowds to have a warm place to do make-up and costume help at 6:30 pm, from which they crawled from at 8 pm down Nevada, Bijou, Tejon, and Kiowa – returning back to the Underground for a spectacular 80’s dance party with music by the amazing DJ Gypsy. The party lasted until 1:30 am. It was estimated to have had 209+ participants this year. This year’s crawls came out to be a complete success with no known injuries, accidents, or issues. To become part of next year’s crawls, with a possible addition of a Spring crawl, visit the following network sites: http://www.treeleavesoracle.org/events/zombie.html; Manitou Springs: http://www.myspace.com/manitouzombiecrawl or http://www.facebook.com/group.php?gid=139839019208; Colorado Springs: www.myspace.com/coloradospringszombiewalk or http://www.facebook.com/group.php?gid=139839019208. Also in Colorado, organized by completely different Monsters is the Denver Annual Zombie Crawl and the new Boulder Zombie Crawl.


photograph by Steve Carlin

Continue reading The Third Annual Colorado Springs Zombie Crawl and 80’s Dance Party

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share

10.23.09: uWorld News Press – 3rd Zombie Outbreak in Colorado Springs

Third Zombie Outbreak in Colorado Springs
uWorld News Press: October 24, 2009: 0300 – Colorado Springs, Colorado


photograph by Steve Carlin


This has been the 3rd reported outbreak of zombie virus (feH1N1z) in Colorado Springs. This small city thought they were done with it. But each year, it seems to re-surface. First in 2007 with roughly 65 contaminated, the disease reared its ugly head again in 2008 with 150+ infected, this outbreak this year is purported to have over 209+ ill with the virus (estimated from the uCDC’s head count of unique faces in photographic evidence of the outbreak). It is feared that it could spread in mass quantity to Denver later this afternoon if not properly quarantined.


photograph by Steve Carlin


Apparently, a lab technician involved in the spread of the virus in Manitou Springs two weeks prior, who was believed to be in remission and over cantagion re-infected and began on a rampage through the day at his lab eating the brains of his co-workers and neighbours. He setup a fake vaccination clinic at the Underground at 110 N. Nevada in downtown Colorado Springs with the false advertisement of having a cure and preventative for the disease. He even had a doctor endorse it. However, it was a staged trap. Everyone who entered the Underground became infected enmass, and within hours burst through the door of the Underground onto the streets of quiet Colorado Springs. Families, women, children, men, and city workers were infected. Tamed and gentle ‘zombies’ still infected from the previous year passed out fliers for solidarity and unity amongst zombies. A bloodbath still occured in the depths of the Underground nonetheless. The crowd of flesh craving zombies crawled down Nevada, Bijou, and all along Tejon streets of the downtown area. Passerbys and citizens didn’t know what to think – from terror and screams to smiles and kodak moments. More of Colorado Springs became infected. The uCDC quarantined as many as they could back into the Underground for containment and treatment with cocktail specials laced with antidotes. The zombie mashing tunes of DJ Gypsy kept the zombies contained on the dancefloor while the bar entertained the rest. It was quite an affair until 2 am when the antidotes finally set in. However, it is believed several zombies escaped containment and treatment currently enroute for Denver.


photograph by Jeff Kallaus

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share

10.10.09: feH1N1z 2009 Outbreak in Manitou Springs, Colorado


Photo by Jacob Allison

New Viral H1N1 Strain Breaks Out in Manitou Springs; Causing Sufferer to Desire Human Flesh
Leaf McGowan, underWorld Syndicate News: Saturday, October 10, 2009

No one really knows what happened. We’ve seen this strain before, in fact this is the third time it struck the quiet little artsy community of Manitou Springs. A lab technician from the CDC stumbled out of the medical facility under Cheyenne Mountain by NORAD and got into his car. Given the ice storms that were plummeting the area, no one in their right minds would brave the roads and the sheer ice sheets out and about. The Colorado Springs Police Department issued not to travel if you could help it. But this lab technician, drenched in blood, and highly infected with the fe [flesh eating] H1N1 z[zombification] strain of the Swine flu that has been a serious epidemic this year. This mutation that he was infected with, causes the body to convulse, lose body functions, the flesh appear to be decaying as if splattered by acid, and causes the victim to crave human flesh, blood, and more importantly raw human brains and intestines. This lab technician, joined by several others infected from last year, appeared to be spreading the disease in Soda Springs Park. Soda Springs Park turned into a bloodbath. Soon the 40 or so citizens in the park began to shiver, tremble, shake, and moan. A mob of them crawled foot-dragging, stumbling, and groaning for blood, brains, and guts as they progressed down historic Manitou Avenue. Around the Dulcimer shoppe, a hippie girl wearing a peace-symbol cap screamed in horror down towards Black Cat Books. About 5 more zombies came out of the woodwork and joined the mob of flesh eating corpses. The zombies double-backed across the street following this hippie chick until she dodged into the Townhouse Lounge at the address of 907 Manitou Avenue.


Photo by Jacob Allison

The Zombies poured into the front doors of the Townhouse Lounge to find warmth, brains, blood, and a feast. The friendly staff at the Lounge welcomed in the blood drenched crowd as the CDC induced the food with a antidote to pacify the zombies from desiring human flesh, brains, and guts. However, it took a little while for the antidote to trigger, so some zombies feasted on the patrons. The local band “John Wise” tried to lullaby the zombies with some great zombie and monster themed compilations. Rumors have already spread that some of the zombies escaped to the local town of Colorado Springs, Colorado. Plans for the CDC to contain the infected are already in plans and a quarantine location established for containment in a couple of weeks. Estimates reveal that by December 21, 2012 the Zombie Apocalypse of the feH1N1z strain will extinct the human race. Only the living dead will populate the earth. How’s that for the turning of the age of enlightenment and transformation?


Photo by Jacob Allison

Continue reading 10.10.09: feH1N1z 2009 Outbreak in Manitou Springs, Colorado

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share

Freemont Zombie Crawl 2009 – Videos

Semi-Official Red, White, and Dead Freemont Zombie Crawl 2009 Video:


This is it, the semi-official video of the World Record 2009 Fremont, Seattle zombie walk. And contrary to the rumors, yes, we did break the record. We expect official certification of that this w…
http://www.youtube.com/v/HBd6zFXoeZw&hl=en&fs=1&

Record numbers of zombies invade Seattle’s Fremont neighborhood — July 3, 2009. Don’t get caught off-guard on Z-Day! http://www.zombiesurvivalwi…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oNxVx0C3gYs

A huge crowd at the 2009 Fremont Zombie Walk dancing to Michael Jackson’s Thriller. They’d had one lesson right before this video was taken. Pictures from the walk: http://www.flickr.com/photo…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UgbQPArFNNM

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share

7/3/09: Guiness Book of World Records Zombie Outbreak in Freemont

Friday, 3 July 2009 – Part II
Seattle, Washington

We were two innocent weary travellers coming in from Colorado for a friend’s bachelor party when we walked into a tragedy. Apparently the military was at it again shipping containers of waste and one of them rolled out of the truck into the nearby canal which of course broke open oozing out some toxic chemicals that apparently re-animates the dead and causes the living to become brain starving walking corpses. It all started when we found a parking spot along the canal when out of the bushes we were lunged at by a wild madwoman who clawed, scratched, and bit after me. She tore open my flesh and and before I knew it I hit the concrete. Julia went to get help. She got two of Seattle’s finest police officers to report the crime and get me help. I had passed out and as I awoke I felt really hungry and famished. I was craving red meat. Alot of red meat. The police officers took down my statement and deemed me “scratched and bruised up, but not requiring medical attention” and left us be. I turned cold, started cramping, and my eyes glazed over. All of a sudden Julia looked like the most delicious meal on the planet. I set forth to devour her. She didn’t know what to do. Especially when looking all around us were hundreds of other citizens from all walks of life apparently plagued with the same virus I was infected with, and soon for Julia to be plagued with. She tried to run, but I captured her, and I tore into her flesh.

She convulsed and met death. Shaking. Trembling. Before long she stumbled back to her feet in dire search for flesh and brains. We started to stumble and crawl down around the theater grounds with “thousands” of other zombies. Our friends were infected as well. There was no stopping this madness. Every human life that came into contact became plagued with the virus. The city began to quarantine the streets. Paranoia was running wild. Guiness Book of World’s Records came to record this as the world’s largest zombie infestation. The press came, and slowly became infected. It was madness. We got stuck wandering around in circles around the Freemont Outdoor Theater which was conveniently across the street from my friend’s bachelor party. He called me, heard me moan, and out of fear that something was wrong, came to investigate. He too became infected.

Eventually, Mary, a witch friend of mine, fed us over a dozen drinks of intoxicating concoctions that cleared the virus from the systems of our party. We breathed normal again, though extremely drunk and hungover. While we ‘technically’ died, we were revived and are symptom clear as of this date over a month later. However, we had to be carted off semi-unconsciously from the event. It was sheer madness. It took about a month to recover from the illness. Apparently nearly 4,000 were infected and many have not recovered. Most have been quarantined at a base in the Nevada desert called “Area 51”.

Guiness Book of World Records: Freemont Zombie Walk
http://parkingspace27.blogspot.com/2009/06/guinness-world-record-at-stake-zombie.html & http://fremontoutdoormovies.com/
July 3rd, 2009 at the Freemont Outdoor Theater * 3501 Phinney Ave North * Seattle, Washington 98103

Sponsored by Freemont Outdoor Cinema and Xbox 360
http://fremontoutdoormovies.com/2009/07/zombies-flock-to-for-brains-for-shaun-of-the-dead/
http://fremontoutdoormovies.com/2009/07/guinness-world-record-broken-in-fremont-3848-zombies/
Photos: http://www.nightzero.com/ * http://fremontoutdoormovies.com/2009/07/red-white-dead-photo-booth-presented-by-night-zero/

Around 5:00 pm, hundred upon thousands of Seattle citizens gathered together at the Freemont Outdoor Theater for the Red, White, and Dead Zombie Party which was co-hosted by Mark Rahner and Robert Horton, experts in Zombie Culture and Authors of the Zombie Comic “Rotten”. They were set on gathering over 5,000 zombies together to invade Freemont as crawling rotting corpses of flesh in order to beat the Guiness Book of World Records for the largest attended zombie walk. They succeeded with 3,848 zombies. They started with a line-up for zombies to scribe their attendance for the record from 5-7 pm. Followed by photoshoots by Night Zero and inclusion in their stories/comics. Then the crawl began at 8 pm and ending with a outdoor viewing of “Shaun of the Dead” at 9:45 pm. A can drive was also done for the Solid Ground drive to help end hunger in Seattle. They also had a zombie workshop from 6-8 pm on “How I Learned to Stop Worrying and Love the Apocalypse” Survival Kit presented by Night Zero Troupe who also ran the photo booth and essential guide to survival in the new Apocalypse in Seattle on how to hunt zombies. Then at 7:30 was the “Fashionably Undead” zombie fashion show where zombies shuffled down the catwalk strutting their stuff and slowly falling apart. At 8:30 there was a large group “Thriller Dance”. In addition, attendees had the opportunity to meet cult author S.G. Browne of the zombie novel “Breathers”. Local filmmakers also presented a behind the scenes look at their new zombie movie “Zombies of Mass Destruction” (www.zmdthemovie.com).

Continue reading 7/3/09: Guiness Book of World Records Zombie Outbreak in Freemont

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share

Tokyo Zombies (R: 2005)

Tokyo Zombies (R: 2005)

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0451954/
Japanese with English sub-titles

Directed by: Sakichi Sat. Starring: Tadanobu Asano … Fujio; Sho Aikawa … Mitsuo (as Sh Aikawa); Erika Okuda … Yoko; Arata Furuta … Ishihara; Hina Matsuoka … Fumiyo, and many more.

A comical pair who spend their free time wrestling, accidentally have part in their bosses heart attack, and decide to dump his body, during which encounter a rise in the walking dead populations. Chemicals in Black Fuju where they dump the body cause the dead to rise. Tokyo is in for some zombie troubles. Very little blood as it was meant as a comedy. There is not much more I can say about this film other than it lacked keeping my attention and it was too long. Following the sub-titles under a poor plot was really a struggle. It was a waste of time even though it had its amusing moments. Rating: 1 stars out of 5.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share

12.20.08 Adventures of Sinterklaas: PNW 2008: Sinterklaas does Seattle SantaCon, Part 3: Lusty Lady, Pike’s Brewery, and Beyond …

Saturday, 20 December 2008 – Part III
Seattle, Washington


The Lusty Lady

After the Public Library and skipping a couple of places we hit the Lusty Lady. It looked like a strip club, but it wasn’t. Peeping booths instead with live strippers at the other side. All the other santas piled into the closets. Too crowded to even peep. Of course they yelled if we had booze on us we better leave quickly or we’d be arrested. I did have a flask of wine in my santa bag so I quickly exited. The Lusty Lady quickly kicked us santas out and we immediately headed to the Pikes Market Brewery which appeared to be several bars in one. Hit there by 4:30 pm. I met some locals and gave them some naughty misfit toys, and at this point I would say I far more than simply toasted. Things are getting a little foggy at this point.

 
Santas piling into the peeping booth.

Food, dancing, frolicking, fun, boozin’, toyin’, and rockin’ pursued. Catching up with friends and meeting new faces. We spent an hour or two there it seemed. Apparently the Santa mob had splintered by this point and others were at another location. I think it was the split-off from the Public Library that did it. Nobody knows if the cops ever showed up there or the Lusty Lady, both places were gossipped to have called the cops. Then a mosh pit happened in the back of Pikes Brewery. Then our Santas splintered off yet again and apparently I was with the misled Santas and we went to Nightlite. The others went to Triple Door, Gameworks, and Westlake Center where apparently a massive snowball fight happened around 6:30. Graham and Becca left for a Yule dinner while I continued to frolick. By 8:30 we hadn’t moved from Nightlite and it was then I discovered I was with the unofficial Santa splinter. So now that all the Santa’s were regrouping at the Nightlite, I was getting hungry and ready for food. Ran into my friend Avery and caught up with him, convinced them they needed food too, and they drove me to Bill’s off Broadway for pizza and to see if Anita and Jason were there as that was the last place they stated they were going. Grabbed pizza and the exact last emptying of the santa bag of misfit toys. From there we got word the Santas were moving to the Chapel Bar by 9:30, so I headed off ahead to blend back in. Found Stephanie and crew, and Anita and Jason joined with as well. We all partied there for about an hour and headed over to the Lesbian bar “Wild Rose” and then off to “the Cuff”. Around that time I was plastered and everything seems foggy as I now try to recollect. Graham and Becca called that they were heading home and asked if I wanted a ride, and they were soon by in a flash. I don’t even remember decloaking my santa suit and passed out immediately upon arrival to my bed. Egads. These SantaCons … what a wild party.


Santas invading the floor of the Chapel

Continue reading 12.20.08 Adventures of Sinterklaas: PNW 2008: Sinterklaas does Seattle SantaCon, Part 3: Lusty Lady, Pike’s Brewery, and Beyond …

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share

Seattle Santacon: Part 2 – Pictures

Saturday, 20 December 2008 – Part II
Seattle, Washington


Tony: “What Aboot it?”

Enroute to 88 Keys Dueling Piano and Sports Bar the Santas did their first chaotic split of different routes which became a theme of the evening. This many Santas and it’ll continuously splinter. We made it to 88 Keys where we had paid the bar to open early for a private “Santas Only” party. Everyone that could chipped in $5 to help cover the costs which I suppose went over the amount as there were flowing pitchers of beer for most Santas. We ran into our good friend Tony around here tagging around with him for the rest of the evening. Service was a little rough at 88 keys as they were understaffed probably because they didn’t expect a 200 strong Santa invasion. Once the music began, much humor and fellowship embedded the building. A comical pianoist with lots of audience participation as can be seen in this YouTube video i shot.

Santas helped unload the delivery truck for the bar so that food could be served. Then fellowship and song invaded the hall as many adrunken santas indulged in their booze. Happiness and joy amidst for hours. Then came the call “Ho! Ho! Ho! Santa’s Gotta Go!” and off we wandered hitting some more bars, halls, sights, on to the Seattle Public Library.

As we approached the Seattle Public Library, all santas had their fingers to their noses with a “shhhh” under their breath as we were entering the quiet zone. You never saw 200 santas come quiet, slowing proceeding up the elevators to the top floor where our fearless leader started to read us the story of “How the Grinch stole Xmas” … we were quiet and behaved. But some obnoxiously rude and jerky librarian came and told us we could not have story time that we weren’t quiet enough. So they became even quieter. Then she grew impatient and wanted us to leave, she called the cops, so we were about to leave and she had the nerve to try to stop of us complying by leaving. A mass exodus of santas out of the library. We were going to hit a couple of hotels, but were unwelcomed, so went to the Lusty Lady for some cheap time thrills.


Story time at the Seattle Public Library

Continue reading Seattle Santacon: Part 2 – Pictures

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share

12.20.08 Adventures of Sinterklaas: PNW 2008: Sinterklaas does Seattle SantaCon, Part 1

Saturday, 20 December 2008 – Part I
Seattle, Washington


Ready to Roll

Twas 5 days before Christmas, when all through the house
Not a creature was stirring, not even a mouse.
Sinterklaas crawled out of bed after a nightmare,
with some fears that the snows would prevent SantaCon from being there.
Graham and Becca were nestled all snug in their beds,
While visions of a normal day danced in their heads.
And Becca in her morning sunshine awoke and said hello, and Graham in his cap,
Had just settled their brains for a long winters nap.
When out on in the living room there arose such a clatter,
Sinterklaas Leaf did his best to pursuade the matter.
Luring the two of them away to SantaCon in a flash,
Tore open their closets looking for Santa-like outfits and threw up the sash.
The streets were covered with the new-fallen snow
Gave the lustre of mid-day to objects below.
When, what to my wondering eyes should appear,
But now 3 mythical santa-types stumbled down the walk with no fear.
With Becca as the driver, so lively and quick,
right at her side sat ol’ St Nick.


Me, Graham, Becca stuffed in a truck

Graham taking the lead in Becca’s moving truck he came,
spinning down Queen Anne hill on the ice came the trucks.
Wil all whistling and shouting “Ho Ho Ho, Santa’s Gotta Go” and called them by name!
“Now Dasher! now, Dancer! now, Prancer and Vixen!
On, Comet! On, Cupid! on, on Donner and Blitzen!
To Georgetown we go to the gas station at the Costco mall!
Now dash away! Dash away! Dash away all!”
several trains blocked our way so no wild hurricane fly,
Meeting with this obstacle, there was no mount to the sky.
So an hour late we made it to House of Hong where our numbers grew,
With bags full of misfit Toys, and over a hundred of St Nicholas too.


Outside the House of Hong

And then, in a twinkling, out opened the doors
as waitresses were prancing and pawning of dim sum across the floors.
As we drew into our mouths and head, and was turning around,
Down the mouths of 100+ St Nicholas came with a sound.
100+ of us dressed all in fur, from ours heads to our foot,
And some of our clothes were all tarnished with snow, ice, and soot.
A bundle of Toys, candy canes, and treats we had flung on our back,
we looked like peddlers, just opening our packs.
Our eyes-how they twinkled! our dimples how merry!
Our cheeks were like roses, our noses like a cherry!
our droll little mouth was drawn up like a bow,
And our beards of our chins were as white as the snow.
The stumps of our cigs n’ pipes we held tight in our teeth,
for those of that smoke it encircled their heads like a wreath.
as they shivered outside with their broad faces and little round belly,
That shook when they laughed, like a bowlful of jelly!


Me and Ragdoll at 88 Keys

The santas were chubby and plump, along in companionship with jolly old elves,
And we laughed when we saw each other, in spite of ourself!
A wink of our eyes and a twist of our heads,
Soon gave us knowledge we had nothing to dread.
Whe we hit Seattle Public Library we spoke not a word, but went straight to the top floor to do our work,
And started reading how the Grinch stole Christmans and out came a librarian who was a jerk.
even though all the santas were laying their fingers aside of their nose,
In deep silence and politeness iving her a nod, she still called the police so down the escalator we rose!


Reading the Grinch stole Xmas at Seattle Public Library

He sprang to the streets with snowballs in hand, to our mob who gave a whistle,
And away they all flew like the down of a thistle.
But we heard them exclaim, ere we drove out of sight,
“Happy Christmas to all, Ho! Ho! Ho! Santa’s Got to go! and to all a good-night!”

Continue reading 12.20.08 Adventures of Sinterklaas: PNW 2008: Sinterklaas does Seattle SantaCon, Part 1

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share

2008 Boulder SantaCon – Black Friday 11/28/08

Black Friday, 28 Novembre, 2008

Boulder, Colorado


Vodka in Hand, Ready for SantaCon

Ah, what a day. The story to be told on Black Friday leading to irresponsibility and debauchery. Uggh. I have a headache just thinking about it. The morning awaking in the cottage, nestled up against Cheyenne Mountain, with snow covering the ground and the roads a bit icy, deer prancing in the yard looking for splotches of grass peering through the icy cover. I packed up my red coat with white fluffy lining, white beard, and red santa hat … bag of misfit toys and packed it into the Matrix. Awoke and rustled Doug from the couch and off in a jiffy we were in Manitou to meet Jess and Cody for crepes and goodies at the European Cafe. Delicious. A walk around downtown Manitou Springs to find they were not really amped or open for Black Friday. A sigh of relief, and off in a bolt, I was onwards to Denver to meet up with Viktoria for a massage to start out the day. We grabbed some veggie cuisine at the Krishna temple Govinda buffet and after a delicious fill and a muscle relaxing massage, was off to Denise’s to don the red coat. Vodka bottle in hand I was released of any responsibilities as was given the gift of a non-drinking designated driver who would care for Santa in his plight of drunken debauchery. ‘Tis always a danger when Sinterklaas is given a sleigh he doesn’t have to drive and a bagful of booze and misfit toys where there is no limitation or responsibility of care, and soon enough felt the pangs of that evolution, as he ended his night hugging a tree as a bad santa would when the booze doesn’t agree with the body in it flows.

Invading Maceys santa seat

A short drive from Broomfield to Boulder, we found the La Casa Mexican restaurant in the strip mall where the Santa Clauses and Elves were to gather. Bags of candy canes and naughty toys in hand, we walked through the doors to find a handful of santas already imbibing in the two-for-one Margarita’s and beer that they offered exclusively to those donned in Xmas cheer. Afterall Thanksgiving is over, and its time for the red caped wonders to unwind and prepare for December’s payload of chimney swooping and gift giving chores. Every 10 minutes the restaurant was invaded by mystical misfits of North Pole origin. Some of the patrons who were seated in the territory were soon outnumbered and scared from their seats, unaware what toil was soon to take place. Drinking and merriment with chorus of ho-ho-ho’s; Santa was in da house with Elvis santas, credit card santas, elves, reindeer, and comical santas galore. A few children dining with their parents were confused as to why there were so many santas together some quite frightenely dazed by the red glare and glimmer. Especially as misfit toy plunder was dished out on the tables for each santa to grab and add to their bags.

The fearless Santa leader with antique boom-box in hand, led the red crowd into the parking lot for some mischievious broadcasts of bad santa humor and songs as we paraded away to the city mall around the corner. A security truck spied the sleigh of 75+ santas entering in Macey’s and organized their ambush for our exit on out. Parading through Macey’s – quite dead for Black Friday, we hit santa’s booth and invaded it for a photo session, then on out of the store with intent of visiting and shopping around the rest of the mall, was met with intense discrimination for being red skinned and white haired … a security cop with a cowboy hat tried to stop the crowd and warn for us NOT to give out anything to anyone. Aggravated and irritated that this crowd wasn’t paying him much attention, told the merry-makers this is private property and we were not welcome. So off we complied and deciding not to wait for the bus, headed over to a bar afterwhich security, for some unknown reason, since we were listening, called the cops and sent them flashing after us. Full in our right, to dress as we wish, and walk where we wanted, we headed on off for more margaritas and salsa. Dance party in the bar with frolick and flirtations flying.

dancing in the bar

Continue reading 2008 Boulder SantaCon – Black Friday 11/28/08

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share

150+ more infected in Colorado Springs, Colorado


Cadavre of Zombies crawling down Tejon
photo by Technogypsie.com (Leaf) (c)2008

Living Dead Virus spreads from Denver to Colorado Springs, another 150+ infected downtown
Allied Press, October 24, 2008: 8:00 pm MST

Throughout the last two weeks a deadly, highly spreadable, infective disease based on a biological warfare elemental virus that is derived from the Haitian Tetrodotoxin was released earlier this month in the mountainous cities and towns of Colorado on the east-side of the Rockies. First reports of a moderate release initiating in a Manitou Springs zombie infection on October 4th. Another mass epidemic of about 700 city dwellers in Denver erupted during the Denver 16th Street Mall Infection on October 18th. Apparently club-goers were infected at the Underground Pub in downtown Colorado Springs at the infamous Underground Bar and Pub on the corner of Tejon and Nevada. Around 5:00 pm, one of the infectees authorities were searching for blamed in the Manitou epidemic was spotted staggering into the bar. By 6 pm, there were another 10 infected, and by 7 pm, there were over 50 zombies shambling around the pub imbibing food, drink, brains, and splattering themselves with blood. First goes the body functions, then the brains, then the limbs, dragging and crawling with a stumbling limp. Everyone in the vicinity went pale and gushed blood. At 8 pm, there were over 150 zombies staggering in search of blood along Nevada, down Bijou, along Acacia Park, down to Boulder, and all along downtown evening hotspots on Tejon street. Victims were attacked along the entire route, converted to more brain-hungry zombies. Police quieted a young frantic school girl who was screaming “Help” at the top of her lungs. Club-goers, diners, and patrons to downtown didn’t know what to think about this surprise mass of living dead littering the streets of their quiet town. Virus epidemic returned to the Underground where DJ Gypsy found a methodology to calm the attacks and congeal the zombies together in a barred basement so they wouldn’t attack anymore victims until authorities could quarantine and contain the infection from further spread in Colorado. Apparently 80’s music sent most of the zombies into convulsions; dazed and confused stasis under songs like Michael Jackson’s Thriller, The Time Warp, Oingo Boingo’s Weird Science, and other great 80’s classics. Containment lasted till about 1:30, authorities haven’t released news of the infected’s destiny or current location. According to Zombiewalk.com mass epidemics have been bursting in every city in America and the world at grandiouse scales of thousands infected.


Leaf attacking Cyndi’s brains
photo by Gamp (Guy) (c)2008


Julia being devoured at the Underground Bar
photo by Gamp (Guy) (c)2008

Continue reading 150+ more infected in Colorado Springs, Colorado

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share

Denver infected with Living Dead Virus (3rd Annual Zombie Crawl, Denver, CO)


Zombies attacking city bus on 16th street Mall
photo by Technogypsie.com (Leaf) (c)2008

Tetrodotoxin based Virus spreads to Denver, consumes 600-700 on the 16th street Mall
Allied Press, October 18, 2008: 6:00 pm MST

Shoppers and tourists came upon a surprise as stragglers from the Manitou Springs zombie infection arrived from the Springs around 5:00 pm, spreading a deadly virus that re-animates the dead and turns the living into the walking dead. First goes the body functions, then the brains, then the limbs, dragging and crawling with a stumbling limp. Infection spread at the corner of 16th Street and Glenarm in front of the Hard Rock Cafe. Everyone walking into the perimeter around that corner went pale and gushed blood. Police stood in bands across the street prepared for the attack. An ambulance was parked on the opposite corner. First there were 20, turned 40, turned 80, turned 100, 200, then 400, then 600+. 80’s style spandex hot zombie girls broke out in a adlib choreographed performance piece of “Thriller” and then buses were attacked, stores covered with bloody handprints as a good majority locked their doors, and patrons out dining on patios were overwhelmed with a lack of appetite at the maggot dropping, flesh dripping, recently deceased walking by their tables. Double Daughter’s Salotto and Two Fisted Mario’s found an invasion of hungry zombies as a mad doctor stabilized the zombies. Apparently, infections have been found in Colorado Springs and an outbreak is expected this friday downtown along Tejon. Lock your doors, stay inside. This virus is deadly.


Zombies attacking 16th street Mall
photo by Technogypsie.com (Leaf) (c)2008

Continue reading Denver infected with Living Dead Virus (3rd Annual Zombie Crawl, Denver, CO)

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share