Tag Archives: dancing

Mercury Machinewerk (Capital Hill/Seattle, WA)

The Merc
Mercury @ Machinewerks * 1009 East Union, Seattle, WA 98122 ~
~ https://www.machinewerks.org/ * https://www.facebook.com/groups/mercuryatmachinewerks/

One of Seattle’s last strong-holds of the Gothic/Industrial clubbing and music community as a central hangout most famous for such in the Pacific Northwest on the American side, it is a volunteer operated private club down-set underground in the Capital Hill Neighborhood of Seattle. They offer some of the regions best Gothic/Industrial and Electronic music DJs and dancing venue. As a private club, membership is mandatory for attendance, and guests can only visit under sponsorship of a member. To become a member, a visitor must be recommended for membership by a current member in good standing … and has to attend via 3 to 5 signed visits within a 6 month period before a member can sponsor a visitor for membership which costs a mere $10. They essentially have something going on every day, ranging from club nights – smoking and smoke free, themed parties, karaoke, and a oddities market. They have a great dance floor, pool room, and a fully stocked bar specializing in Black Orchids.

Rating: 5 stars out of 5

Share

Visit us at the 2012 ShakeFest at the infamous Charleville Castle!

2012 Shake Fest: Charleville Castle, Tullamore, Ireland
2012 Shake Fest: Charleville Castle, Tullamore, Ireland

This year, Technogypsie Productions, Pirate Relief, and The Tree Leaves’ Oracle & Folk Fellowship are helping with the production of “Shakefest by creating a children’s (and adults) fun area as the “Faerie Glen” with a Wishing Well, Rag Tree, and a Madhatter’s Tea Party and much much more. After hours, we’ll be doing a sorta- reunion for our Irish Core Effigy friends we camped with at Tir na nOg this year at the Burn. Childrens Madhatter’s Tea Party is around 1:30 pm, while the Adults Tea Party is at the Witching Hour. Costumes required to participate. Dress as Pirates, Faeries, or someone from Alice in Wonderland. Face painting, Faerie Art, stickers, candles, and Tarot Readings also available. Saturday, May 26, 2012 – Charleville Castle, Tullamore, Ireland – Faerie Glen & Madhatter’s area open from Noon until an hour or two after the witching hour …Note: If you are coming for the Evening activities, please arrive by 6 pm – for bands and entertainment as gates close early.

Share

Chrome: Transit Bar, Canberra, Australia

Chrome Goth Night
* Transit Bar * http://www.gothclublist.com/details/chrome.html * 7 AKUNA ST *
Canberra, Australia Capital Territory, Australia * P 02 6162 0899 * http://transitbar.com.au/ * ?

Eager for some darksome and divine music, I hunted out what could lie beneath the underground of Australia’s capital city … Canberra. A Google search provided promising tales of “Chrome” but came to realize upon arriving it’s night at the “Holy Grail” had vanished without a trace. Knowing that echoes of chatter that it was still located near the corners of Akuna and Bunda streets, we discovered it moved down the street to the infamous underground club … the Transit Bar, located underneath the Canberra YHA. From 9 pm until 5 am, Canberra’s only goth night raises the dead with their EBM, Industrial and dark elektro tunes with some goth on monday nights (instead of the previous saturdays). Video projections, laser lights, and good music was had. Oddly though, the bar was still quite normal with their casually dressed local bar patrons, but up towards the stage in the dance floor were alitter with some finely costumed gothy and cyber dressed dancers. Coming from North America and Germany goth clubs where everyone usually dresses up in their finest black garments, it was a little difficult getting used to the mix of color and normality into this cache of a music club treasure grove one is used to finding when searching for it in most cities. Oddly though, the music was not so industrial and gothic, but more darksome Burning Man raver music. Enjoyed none-the-less and eye candy galore, me and my host had a splendid time. Realizing the night has setup shop in this new location from their fabled old locale, not 100% sure if the night is still happening at the transit bar … could be completely “transit”-ional. Rating: 2.3 stars out of 5. ~ Leaf McGowan, April 25, 2011.

For more photos, tales, and information: Continue reading Chrome: Transit Bar, Canberra, Australia

Share

Dominion (Dublin, Ireland)

Dominion Resurrection
* Cellar of Murrays Bar * 33-34 O’Connell Street, Dublin 1, Ireland *
Every Saturday from 9.30 pm – 2.30 am in the cellar of the sports bar called “Murrays” is Ireland’s premiere and only Goth night. Only 3 until 11, afterwards 6 to enter. Darksome and divine, this small little hole is comfortable and roomie for those interested in the sub-culture to gather and dance their night away. I was quite curious how the Goth scene would be in Ireland and was quite pleased to hear some great music. The music was diverse from 80’s to electronic, goth, industrial, to medieval. The particular night I visited on July 3, 2010 – DJ’s Conor, Ozzy aka David Osborn, and Beo aka Christoph Heimann were playing. Good times. Good tunes. However, it was under-attended. There was about a dozen there and they all knew one another. It would appear a bit cliche’ish to those who are shy as I am (until I get to know people I’m actually a shy wallflower) so I’m just as guilty for not having made an attempt to make friends. Having to be at the airport at 4 am, I decided to call it an early night. But I’ll be back. Rating: 3.5 stars out of 5.

Share

Beltania 2010: Day 3 & 4 (Florence, Colorado)


The Handfasting Saturday @ Beltania 2010

Beltania 2010: Days 3-4
* Florence Mountain Park * Florence, Colorado * www.beltanefestival.com *
A beautiful sequel to my May Day festivities in Colorado as fond memories of last year’s festival whirl around my mind …. and the third year for the festival. Beltania is a family-friendly May Day Celebration and Music Festival held in Colorado each year. Its a time when the Earth Spiritualists, Neo-Pagans, and those of alternative religious paths like the New Age, Metaphysics, and other Earth-Based Spiritual Paths come together to celebrate the seasons, celebrate love, family, community, dance the may pole, do ritual, dance to music, and meet others of like-minds. This year the festival was held at the Florence Mountain Park just outside of Florence, Colorado which is about a half-hour drive from Colorado Springs, Colorado or Pueblo, Colorado. On 200 Acres of City and County Forest with a river, panoramic views of the mountains, and many clearings, there was plenty of room for attendees to camp, do ritual, have fire circles, drum circles, concerts, and a merchant area. Featured performances for the festival were The Gypsy Nomads, Lunar Fire, Kenny Klein, Tuatha, The Stone Walls, Heart Beat, Skean Dubh, Lara Jai and the Mountain Trance Medicine Band. Saturday there was a handfasting of the May King and Queen as well as the infamous May Pole dance that they hope to eventually become the breakers of the Guinness Book of World Records for the largest May Day Dance. The Event, while open to the public, was not ticketed at the gate – in order to attend you had to pre-purchase a ticket from the web site before the event. Children under 12 were free. Primitive and RV Camping was available for all attendees and merchants were offered spaces in the vending area. Beltania is held annually by the Living Earth Church, Inc.

Saturday and Sunday – Merchants were up and bustling throughout Saturday with prosperity in the air, we were slammed at the bodypainting booth knowing there were also two other booths doing face painting too that appeared quite busy. Today was the big day with an amazing procession of the May Queen on the May Pole around the Center of the Universe and the planting of the Pole. The actual handfasting of the May King and Queen added incredible love and passion to the ritual. The May Pole dance, while chaotic at moments (had two circles going around the pole and some reversal of directions causing weaving and energy tangles) – was stunningly beautiful, magical, enchanting, fertile, and quite prosperous – so much that it actually initiated some life-giving rains in the evening. Sweat lodges and incredible workshops I was told were abound and quite fantastic that I missed as was swamped with doing art with my comrades. The stage was teeming with some of the best performances around all day and night long starting with a children’s concert at noon, followed by Skean Dubh, then by Orpheus Choir, Pandora Celtica, Kenny Klein, Lara Jai, Mountain Trance Medicine Band, and an explosive re-set of The Gypsy Nomads. Then with a loss of a sense of time, Lunar Fire processed in and did a music ritual with fire spinning, dance, stilts, and ethereal performance as they hit stage with an enchantment captivating all around. What a most explosive day. At Midnight we hit the bembe-styled Drawing Down the Moon whre I got a good blessing of a cracked coconut atop my head – refreshing and purifying, cold and direct. On to the All night drumming and dancing around the Wild Meadows – we were awake until the light of day. Sunday was a beautiful day quite busy with the merchants winding down and closing up shop. I heard a few good workshops were held, again that I missed as I was busy breaking down camp and the booth. The Mother’s Day and Closing Ritual was extra special and involved alot of bonding and celebrating of our mother’s for giving birth to us all. It ended with a passing of the Bridgit’s flame from Ireland to individual candles to bring back to our hearths. Officially closing at noon the rest of the day was sweet farewells and much work at cleaning up site and breaking down camps. Saturday: Rating 4.5 Stars out of 5. Sunday: Rating: 3 Stars out of 5. [ About the Rating System ]


Saturday @ Beltania 2010

Continue reading Beltania 2010: Day 3 & 4 (Florence, Colorado)

Share

80’s Thursdays at Thunder & Buttons

80’s Thursday at Thunder & Buttons * 2415 W Colorado Ave * Colorado Springs, CO 80904-3021* (719) 447-9888 * www.thunderandbuttons.com *


DJ Gypsy spinning 80’s at Thunder and Buttons


A new night in the works getting Colorado Springs back into the 80’s flair with the amazing DJ Gypsy enchanting all with some of the best of the era. Definitely a much needed new night for the area. A saloon hosts the night that is named after some local history. In 1888 a Colorado City resident named Prairie Dog O’Byrne had a carriage pulled by two elk he named ‘Thunder’ and ‘Buttons’. His infamous partner from the Red light district Laura Bell would race this carriage up and down the very street where this saloon is located. This saloon was established and named in their honor. Established in 1978 it burnt down 10 years later. It was re-established in 2004 by an Air Force Academy graduate as Thunder and Buttons II. It now hosts a pretty popular bar and grill with various entertainment nights such as this 80’s night to mark up its calendar for fun and frolick. DJ Gypsy is definitely providing a good draw of music and charm to spice up everyone’s thursday nights. I hope this night continues as it is definitely a blessing for the local scene. Looking forward to more fine evenings having a blast to the past.

Share

7.17.09: Cronicles of STL: Chapter 7: ‘Dreamtime Festival – Day 2’



Leaf bodypainting tribal designs

[ Back to Chapter 6: Dreamtime, Day 1 ]   [ Chapter 7: Dreamtime, Day 2 ]   [ Chapter 8: Dreamtime, Day 3 ]

From the journal of Sir Thomas “Rymour Oisin” Leaf: The 17th of Quintilis (Julius Caesar’s “July”) in the good year 2009 of the Common Era


“The mesmerizing festival that is Dream Time. I had some most excellent dreams last night, falling asleep after a great party dancing away at the Saucer crash to my favorite 80’s. Then passing out under the stars to the calm yet very alive desert night. Awaking early, I was off to the tent to setup art for the day. Was a very busy day for bodypainting. Didn’t do too many tarot readings but my friend in the booth next door did. Faith came by early in the morning and dotted me up with some aboriginal white dots. Thank you! Was very swamped with bodypainting requests. It got very very hot. Kathy came and joined me for a long day painting and did an amazing tribal design on my back. Thank you! Did a few designs through the day on myself as well, and with how hot and blazing the sun was with me forgetting to use sunblock, left a semi-permanent bodyart burn on my back – kinda cool the tribal designs transferred over. So many visits to the showers and the pond. This poor Pisces was sweltering! The vendors seemed to do ok, the merchant area had its on/off times of being busy and not. We had a grasshopper join us throughout the day as a resident blessing mate … and I fed it a pistachio. It loved it. Gnawed on it for hours. My best friend Viktoria came by for a visit while she was helping David string lights. Got a chance to hang out with my lovely friends from the Pacific Northwest, Dana and Wendy. Got to spend a lovely day with Dana. What an amazing woman! As darkness fell, we grabbed Wendy and the three of us frolicked throughout the festival grounds – viewing a cool Adam and Eve comedy spoof made by some Denver film-makers, watched some amazing Didgeridoo performances on main stage, fire ritual and spinning, and some great massages. We capped off the evening to some extremely wild dancing at the UFO crash party with the Space cowboys. What a great day!!! Some interesting workshops about 2012 were revealed and the Mayan prophecy. Lots to think about. I had quite intriguing dreams through the night.”

Continue reading 7.17.09: Cronicles of STL: Chapter 7: ‘Dreamtime Festival – Day 2’

Share

Lunar Fire 6/28/09 at Owsleys, Denver, Colorado

Lunar Fire http://www.lunarfire.com/
Rooted with the infamous band “Kan’nal” this mystical array of musical talent, vocals, costumes, dance, and theater divinely constructed into a remarkable stage performance youll never forget. Amazing performance like always on 6/28/09 in Denver at Owsleys. As always, this awesome band from the Otherworlds, takes a weave of magical evolution with high energy, fire dancing, spectacular theatrics, and an earth shaking experience. Theyve been dubbed Tribal Gypsy Hop bringing in multi-lingual lyrics, rap, hip hop, disco, trance guitar, bass funk, and massive tribal percussion. Lunar Fire embodied the definition of Dance Party wherever they play. The majority of the audience crowd danced and moved to the amazing rhythms of this fantastical force. Lunar Fire is beginning to hit international popularity, with 100 performances in over three countries. They have performed at many festivals including Dream Time Festival, Burning Man, 3 sided Whole, and High Sierra Music Festival. Gilly Gonzales on hand drums and kit; Tierro on guitars; Rodolfo Escobar III on bass, Mateo on cajon and sound engineering, Lisa Wimberger on congas and African drums; Teresita on mic and dance; and dancers Akayate from Kannal; Tiffany of Artsmyths; MaQi of Maqi healing arts, and Katchi of Kataliktic Inc bring to the stage an amazing performance. What an absolutely otherworldly enchanting entity. As always, I’m blown away by this band who always draws me into dancing up a storm – and that says alot, I don’t often dance to bands being one of those only hitting the floor on a dancefloor at a club. But this band definitely turns me into a whirling dervish. Rated: 5 stars out of 5.

Incredible angelic faeries dancing in the pyschedelic lights … Owlesleys, Denver, CO 6/28/09
Continue reading Lunar Fire 6/28/09 at Owsleys, Denver, Colorado

Share

Lipgloss 8 year Anniversary Party


Lipgloss Eight Year Anniversary w/ Guest DJ Thieves Like Us
* La Rumba * 99 W. 9th Ave * Denver, Colorado * NO COVER! * 6/26/2009 *http://www.facebook.com/event.php?eid=94455353845&ref=mf
Eight Magical Years has Tyler and Michael brought us magic and frolick on the floors of La Rumba and Denver downtown. So tonight’s their birthday bash for a proud and stomping 8 years! Presented by Eydea Worx, The Onion, Yelp & Denver3 this was a time to celebrate. Partying from Friday, June 26, 2009 at 9:00pm until Saturday, June 27, 2009 at 2:00am the house was crowded with a familiar and excited crowd deep in the midst of a good reason to party! DJ’s boyhollow and Tyler Jacobson combined with their special guest DJ Andy of Thieves Like Us (Paris/Kitsune Records) merged with big screen visuals by An-Ism the audience and patrons were mesmerized with dancing spirit. As there was no cover for the night, the floors packed in by midnight. The birthday also saw into birth their recession special drinks of $3 vodka wells to the $2 PBR’s and Gin/Tonics. Sweet. My place to party. Thanky you Tyler and Michael for 8 amazing years!!!
Rating: 5 stars out of 5.

Share

80’s Night (fridays) at the Underground (patio) : Colorado Springs, Colorado


DJ Gypsy

80’s Night on the Patio @ the Underground
* 110 N. Nevada, Colorado Springs, Colorado * 719.578.7771

http://www.undergroundbars.com/


Running for a couple of months now, and growing in popularity, is a night full of dance and frolick upstairs at the Underground on fridays. Downstairs DJ’s TJR, LL Bishop, Tony G, Mike Devious, and Hauss spinning in the main room while DJ Gypsy brings back the old favorites of the 80’s upstairs. Seems the main populace of the club on fridays go up to the patio for the fun and dance as this night of visiting and dancing on 5/15/2009, the downstairs was empty and the patio was saturated. DJ Gypsy knows how to bring back the 80’s. The night is still growing and young, but definitely a hit for the 80’s crowd. I can’t really comment on the downstairs or the DJ’s down below as the dance floor in the lower level on this evening was empty and everyone was upstairs so I didn’t spend much time listening to the djs there. But the top level was top-quality. Rating: 4.5 stars out of 5 for the music & the DJ. 2.5 stars for the location: The patio gets a bit smoky for those with allergies, and the dance space is small. Tip for the Underground – if you move DJ Gypsy downstairs, I think you’d be filling your club night with alot of patrons and a pretty decent bar intake as the dj experience was fabulous and high quality. I’ll be back. Overall rating for the night experience: 3 stars out of 5. Review at: Wanderwords.com, Virtualtourist.com, Technogypsie.com.

Share

Exposure at Club Liv (Thursdays, Washington, D.C)


Exposure @ Club LIV

Exposure @ Club Liv * http://www.exposure-dc.com/ * 2001 11th Street NW Washington DC 20001 * 18+ event | cover $5.00 21+/$7 18-21 * open 9:00 PM – 2:00 AM
Nestled in Club Liv on thursdays resides a dark alternative night playing dark synthpop, goth, and industrial by DJ’s Ras DNA, Mindcage, Missguided, Purevil, and Vlad. The night was slow to pickup, but by midnight had about 20-30 perhaps. Plenty of room to dance, drinks were small but potent, and very pricy from what I’m used to in my wanderings. I liked the nightclub space and couches. Everyone was very friendly and social. The music was good. We had a drunken good time. Rating: 3 stars out of 5.
Continue reading Exposure at Club Liv (Thursdays, Washington, D.C)

Share

Danse Macabre (Colorado Springs, Colorado)


Danse Macabre * Thursdays * The Rocket Room * 230 Pueblo Avenue * Colorado Springs, Colorado * 719.447.4990

A great new goth/industrial/neo-folk night in the Springs area. Each thursday at the infamous Rocket Room. Free cover, 21+. Medium size venue with a very tiny dancefloor, but excellent drink prices and service. The mesmerizing compilations dj’ed by Blue Girl enchants your soul and puts you at peace. Its a new spin to the Goth/EBM/Industrial club selection in that Blue Girl specializes in new and old school Goth, Dark Wave, Industrial, Neo-Folk, and Pagan music. Its a perfect mixer and evening to start your weekend early or build up your energy for the weekend. My most favorite weekly night in the Springs. Rating: 5 stars out of 5.

Share

Sanctuary Saturday (Vancouver, British Columbia)


Dancefloor at Sanctuary (Club 23 West)


Sanctuary Saturday @ Club 23 West * http://www.facebook.com/group.php?gid=2321964024 * 1st/3rd/5th Saturday every month @ Club 23 West: 23 West Cordova, Vancouver, British Columbia
Ah, back in the day when I first moved to Vancouver, this was the only Goth/Industrial club I could find in Vancouver when i first moved there during Y2K. At that time it was at the Purple Onion. This fabulous night was established in 1997 and is the longest-running night in Vancouver that’s dedicated to the Goth/Industrial/Underground and alternative music culture. DJ Pandemonium who started the night is still keeping it alive and beating serving the best of alternative/synth/electro/new wave/80’s/90’s/rock/goth/industrial/ebm/ and synthpop. Now joined with DJ’s R-Lex, Vortex, Contrasoma and periodic guests; its taken hold on Saturdays instead of Sundays in the infamous thriving ground of Sin City at its home in Club 23 West. Doors at 9 and the party lasts til 3 am. Free before 10, students free till 11, and two-for-one’s with cab receipt all night. $6 cover after 10, $1 off if dressed to impress. I’ve been a fan of this night since early 2000 attending every year since then, when I lived in Vancouver it was a weekly attendance, when living in Seattle it was a bi-monthly venture, and even when I was living in L.A., Miami, and Colorado … I still came back at least a half a dozen times throughout the year with Sanctuary and Sin City as driving forces to selecting calendar dates to visit. Its a must visit venue for anyone in the underground scene that wants a great place to dance, meet people, and slam some drinks down. Dress to impress! Now with two floors: upstairs and downstairs spinning the best in the dark scene. Rating: 5 stars out of 5. Previous reviews I’ve written: http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=17, http://thesinglelife.net/archives/2005/12/13/sanctuary-celebrities-vancouver-bc, http://wanderwords.com/archives/2006/11/04/272, http://www.virtualtourist.com/travel/North_America/Canada/Province_of_British_Columbia/Vancouver-903183/Nightlife-Vancouver-Celebrities-BR-1.html. Revisit on 7/4/2009 – Still amazing music and a fabulous dance floor. Still yet one of my most favorite nights!!! Thank you Isaac!!!


Dancefloor at Sanctuary (Club 23 West)



Dancefloor at Sanctuary (Club 23 West)

Share

Malediction Society, Hollywood, California

  Malediction Society Sundays * http://www.myspace.com/maledictionsociety or maledictionsociety.com * The Monte Cristo – 3100 Wilshire Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90010


Malediction


Another great night at the Monte Cristo by djs Xian and Amanda Jones. Tonight’s party as well as the first sunday of each month is astrologically themed balls and this particular night for the sign of Cancer. Xian spinning what she knows best … Neoclassical Darkwave, Industrial, EBM, Synthpop, Steampunk, Neovictorian. Plus the night is enamoured with the infamous absinthe bar. Tarot readers and photographers. It’s been a while since I’ve been back to Los Angeles, but by and far, one of my favorite LA club nights next to Ruin. Thanks Xian and Amanda! fabulous night … a night to die for. Rating 5 stars out of 5.


Malediction dancefloor


Malediction Bar
Share

Perversion, Hollywood, California


Perversion

Perversion Hollywood
Boardners * 1652 Cherokee Ave, Hollywood, California * Thursdays * 2 Dance areas * Industrial, Goth, Alternative, and Bondage * 18+ * Full Bar * 10-2

It’s been a few years since I’ve been to Perversion. They are now at a much better location – Boardners, the home to the infamous Bar Sinister and the new location suits Perversion so much better than many of the previous locations I attended. Packed wall to wall with Goths and those dressed in black, it was a madhouse meat market of the gothic array. The Bondage show is back if full spectrum with Sal from the Dungeon at Blue, an Absenthe lounge upstairs, live performances, sexy doms, and incredible dance music downstairs with Bractune and Amanda spinning the main room with industrial techno, dark tekno, and noise. Bruce spins out on the patio a nonconformist mix of Goth, Dark Wave, Alternative, and Indie. The downset to the night is how crowded it often is, at least the evening of 7/3/08 where it was packed and space was difficult to find or obtain on the dance floor to get your frustrations out. The bars as well were packed, and drinks often hard to obtain. Other than the sardine-like environment (and its a humongous club space – just hundreds of patrons) it’s an excellent place to hang on a thursday night in Hollywood. Rating: 4 stars out of 5.


Perversion

Share

Lipgloss @ La Rumba (Denver, Colorado)

“Lipgloss” @ Club La Rumba
Every Friday – 99 W. 9th Ave. 303 -572-8006 One block west of Broadway $5 Cover after 10 21+ Only $2 G&Ts $2 PBRs
http://www.denver3.com/index.html

DJ’s Michael Trundle and Tyler JacobsonHip shaking, drunken fumbling, frantic and wild dancing, arm swinging, spine tingling, hop around fun. Friday’s fun on February 9th, was definitely a blast with mesmerizing music favorites. Indie – Brit Pop – Electroclash – 80’s – Alternative – Pop. Fun was had by all. DJ’s Michael and Tyler made La Rumba shake. Guest DJ Mike Joyce of the Smiths, enchanted with his musical spire. His sets were fantastic and kept the dancefloor phenomenally moving. What a great night! If you’re ever in Denver, never miss this night. The Denver3.com. Rating: 5 stars out of 5. I’ve been frequent visitor (especially in 2008) on fridays as I quite enjoy this night as one of the best. Recent attendance 7/18/08. Excellent job Michael and Tyler! Lip Gloss


dancefloor


Dj’s Michael and Tyler


DJ’s Michael and Tyler, guest DJ Mike Joyce of the Smiths

Continue reading Lipgloss @ La Rumba (Denver, Colorado)

Share

Disco for the Damned, Colorado Springs, Colorado


“Disco for the Damned”
Disco for the Damned
@ The Underground
110 N Nevada St, Downtown Colorado Springs, Colorado

The dark dance tradition continues in Colorado Springs as the most recent (2007) version of Goth night takes on a new venue Sunday nights at the Underground in downtown Colorado Springs. With the fabulous talents of the Springs’ dark DJ’s : four in a row – featuring madness from DJ Lokus, DJ Lynk, DJ DCM8, and Mz Liz. Industrial, Goth, EBM, and other devilish deviations are served on a red hot platter ready to send your aural senses into sensory overload.

Decent drinks, great dance floor, good patronage, and a local community. The night is eternally evolving and its a great mix. 18-20 is $5 cover, while 21 plus is free entrance. There is a smoking patio upstairs that is covered and has heat lamps, while another outside patio is by the front door. If dark music or EBM is your fancy, come out and check this crew for a pleasurable dance sensation. Rating: 3 3/4 stars out of 5. Visited 8/5/07. (review will evolve as the club evolves, as experiences are totaled, the rating will mutate.)


Gary in the middle of dance, greeting the camera
Share

Blondie’s (Colorado Springs, Colorado)

ondie�s Sports Bar and Grill
* 24 N. Tejon, Colorado Springs, Colorado *

I’ve been to Blondie’s a few times. Originally set out with an alternative zing, but has since degraded to a standard yuppie bar with your normal mainstream folk. It started out as a sports bar with blonde waitresses, plasma TVs, pool tables and live music three or four nights a week. My timing must be off as I’ve never seen live entertainment at the club and the place, while double-story, is too tight and small with the crowds it gets in. Mobility in the place can be difficult at times without banging elbows. Especially the dance floor which is placed in the middle of the walkway between the downstairs bar and the bathrooms which makes dancing difficult and obnoxious when you constantly have a stream of folks walking through it. Upstairs is a nice patio with a fire pit, and is probably the only saving grace of the joint as everyone likes a fire on a cold Colorado night to socialize around. But more and more, mainly the clientele, I’ve lost interest in this place. It does connect with Rum Bay. You can easily walk between the bars as you like through the Red martini bar and on into Rum Bay. The music is ok, and has declined in flavor. Stage dancers are a feature of the lower level dance floor. Rating: 3 stars out of 5. Visited 01/15/2010.

Former Review:
24 N. Tejon, Colorado Springs, Colorado
Article about opening
is meant to be a sports bar with blonde waitresses, plasma TVs, pool tables and live music three or four nights a week. It includes 2,900 square feet — the old Gray Rose women’s apparel store before it became a motorcycle shop — and will have a large deck out the back door that it will share with the Wildcats club inside Rum Bay. The second level is the Red Martini which is a combination martini, wine and cigar bar with an outdoor deck overlooking Tejon Street. First visit, I like the ambience, though the patrons are your typical clubsters, fakesters, and party crowd that you find at every other mainstream club. But the music was good (80’s on this friday night) and a small dance floor, with paid beautiful dancers in black bikinis stage dancing, and the drinks were good – waittresses were blonde, and friendly. I’ll return. Rating: 3.75 stars out of 5. (For the Springs in of itself, really a 4.50 based on first impressions, since there is not much to speak of in the Springs with an alternative zing … )

Share