Tag Archives: dining

Thirsty Lion (Denver, Co)

Denver SantaCon 2016 ( http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=29647); Thirsty Lion

Thirsty Lion
~ Denver, Colorado ~

Write up coming soon ….

Denver SantaCon 2016 ( http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=29647); Thirsty Lion ( http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=29655) – New Life in Colorado: Chronicle 26 – Chronicles of Sir Thomas Leaf and Prince Cian. Adventures in Colorado. Photos taken December 23, 2016. To read the adventures, visit http://www.technogypsie.com/chronicles/?p=21965. To read reviews, visit: www.technogypsie.com/reviews. All photos and articles (c) 2015/2016 Technogypsie.com – by Leaf McGowan and Thomas Baurley. All rights reserved. www.technogypsie.com/photography

Denver SantaCon 2016 ( http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=29647); Thirsty Lion ( http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=29655) – New Life in Colorado: Chronicle 26 – Chronicles of Sir Thomas Leaf and Prince Cian. Adventures in Colorado. Photos taken December 23, 2016. To read the adventures, visit http://www.technogypsie.com/chronicles/?p=21965. To read reviews, visit: www.technogypsie.com/reviews. All photos and articles (c) 2015/2016 Technogypsie.com – by Leaf McGowan and Thomas Baurley. All rights reserved. www.technogypsie.com/photography

Denver SantaCon 2016 ( http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=29647); Thirsty Lion ( http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=29655) – New Life in Colorado: Chronicle 26 – Chronicles of Sir Thomas Leaf and Prince Cian. Adventures in Colorado. Photos taken December 23, 2016. To read the adventures, visit http://www.technogypsie.com/chronicles/?p=21965. To read reviews, visit: www.technogypsie.com/reviews. All photos and articles (c) 2015/2016 Technogypsie.com – by Leaf McGowan and Thomas Baurley. All rights reserved. www.technogypsie.com/photography

Share

Poor Richards (Colorado Springs, Co)

Poor Richards

Poor Richards
~ Colorado Springs, Colorado ~

Write up coming soon ….

Poor Richards ( http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=29645) – New Life in Colorado: Chronicle 26 – Chronicles of Sir Thomas Leaf and Prince Cian. Adventures in Colorado. Photos taken December 23, 2016. To read the adventures, visit http://www.technogypsie.com/chronicles/?p=21965. To read reviews, visit: www.technogypsie.com/reviews. All photos and articles (c) 2015/2016 Technogypsie.com – by Leaf McGowan and Thomas Baurley. All rights reserved. www.technogypsie.com/photography

Poor Richards ( http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=29645) – New Life in Colorado: Chronicle 26 – Chronicles of Sir Thomas Leaf and Prince Cian. Adventures in Colorado. Photos taken December 23, 2016. To read the adventures, visit http://www.technogypsie.com/chronicles/?p=21965. To read reviews, visit: www.technogypsie.com/reviews. All photos and articles (c) 2015/2016 Technogypsie.com – by Leaf McGowan and Thomas Baurley. All rights reserved. www.technogypsie.com/photography

Poor Richards ( http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=29645) – New Life in Colorado: Chronicle 26 – Chronicles of Sir Thomas Leaf and Prince Cian. Adventures in Colorado. Photos taken December 23, 2016. To read the adventures, visit http://www.technogypsie.com/chronicles/?p=21965. To read reviews, visit: www.technogypsie.com/reviews. All photos and articles (c) 2015/2016 Technogypsie.com – by Leaf McGowan and Thomas Baurley. All rights reserved. www.technogypsie.com/photography

Share

Marilyn’s Pizza Parlor

Marilyn's Pizza (http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=29417&); Explorations around Manitou Springs, Colorado. New Life in Colorado: Chronicle 26 - Chronicles of Sir Thomas Leaf  and Prince Cian.  Adventures in Colorado. Photos taken December 18, 2016.  To read the adventures, visit   http://www.technogypsie.com/chronicles/?p=21965.   To read reviews, visit: www.technogypsie.com/reviews.  All photos and articles (c) 2015/2016 Technogypsie.com - by Leaf McGowan and Thomas Baurley. All rights reserved. www.technogypsie.com/photography.  Manitou Springs: http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=22613; Colorado: http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=22613.
Marilyn’s Pizza (http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=29417&)

Marilyn’s Pizza
~ 964 Manitou Ave, Manitou Springs, CO 80829 ~

A great little hole-in-the-wall restaurant and pizza parlor in the heart of Manitou Springs downtown next to the former Ancient Mariner and the Mate Factory. Friendly service and timely pizza with a variety of choices. We had the basic slice and a macaroni and cheese slice. Good eats. Rating 3 stars out of 5

Marilyn's Pizza (http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=29417&); Explorations around Manitou Springs, Colorado. New Life in Colorado: Chronicle 26 - Chronicles of Sir Thomas Leaf  and Prince Cian.  Adventures in Colorado. Photos taken December 18, 2016.  To read the adventures, visit   http://www.technogypsie.com/chronicles/?p=21965.   To read reviews, visit: www.technogypsie.com/reviews.  All photos and articles (c) 2015/2016 Technogypsie.com - by Leaf McGowan and Thomas Baurley. All rights reserved. www.technogypsie.com/photography.  Manitou Springs: http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=22613; Colorado: http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=22613.
Marilyn’s Pizza (http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=29417&); Explorations around Manitou Springs, Colorado. New Life in Colorado: Chronicle 26 – Chronicles of Sir Thomas Leaf and Prince Cian. Adventures in Colorado. Photos taken December 18, 2016. To read the adventures, visit http://www.technogypsie.com/chronicles/?p=21965. To read reviews, visit: www.technogypsie.com/reviews. All photos and articles (c) 2015/2016 Technogypsie.com – by Leaf McGowan and Thomas Baurley. All rights reserved. www.technogypsie.com/photography. Manitou Springs: http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=22613; Colorado: http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=22613.

Continue reading Marilyn’s Pizza Parlor

Share

Grand Central Cafe, Portland, Oregon

Grand Central Cafe, Portland, Oregon:  http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=25903.  Life in the Gorge: Chronicle 22 - Chronicles of Sir Thomas Leaf, Lady Etain, and Prince Cian.  The Gorge/Columbia River, Oregon-Washington. Photos taken March 27, 2016.  To read the adventures, visit http://www.technogypsie.com/chronicles/?p=17903.  Hood River: http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=23683; The Dalles:  http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=24107; White Salmon:  http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=23677; Husum: http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=25039; Portland:  http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=281.  To read reviews, visit: www.technogypsie.com/reviews.  All photos and articles (c) 2015/2016 Technogypsie.com - by Leaf McGowan, Eadaoin Bineid and Thomas Baurley. All rights reserved.
Grand Central Cafe, Portland, Oregon: http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=25903.

Grand Central Bakery
~ 2230 SE Hawthorne Blvd Portland, OR 97214 ~ http://grandcentralbakery.com/ ~

We stopped at this Pacific Northwest Bakery chain while waiting to meet some friends. It had some tasty chai and great cross buns for the Easter holiday season. It was originally created by Gwen Bassetti at Seattle’s historic Pioneer Square, locally owned chain dedicated to artisan baking. An assortment of breads, baked goods, sandwiches, soups, teas, coffees, and juices can be found here. Her original sandwich start started in Seattle’s newly refurbished Grand Central Hotel Building where it changed names from Gwen’s roadside farm stand on Lopez Island in the 60’s to the Grand Central Bakery in 1989. Famous for her Como loaves. Rating: 4 stars out of 5

Grand Central Cafe, Portland, Oregon:  http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=25903.  Life in the Gorge: Chronicle 22 - Chronicles of Sir Thomas Leaf, Lady Etain, and Prince Cian.  The Gorge/Columbia River, Oregon-Washington. Photos taken March 27, 2016.  To read the adventures, visit http://www.technogypsie.com/chronicles/?p=17903.  Hood River: http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=23683; The Dalles:  http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=24107; White Salmon:  http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=23677; Husum: http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=25039; Portland:  http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=281.  To read reviews, visit: www.technogypsie.com/reviews.  All photos and articles (c) 2015/2016 Technogypsie.com - by Leaf McGowan, Eadaoin Bineid and Thomas Baurley. All rights reserved.
Grand Central Cafe, Portland, Oregon: http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=25903. Life in the Gorge: Chronicle 22 – Chronicles of Sir Thomas Leaf, Lady Etain, and Prince Cian. The Gorge/Columbia River, Oregon-Washington. Photos taken March 27, 2016. To read the adventures, visit http://www.technogypsie.com/chronicles/?p=17903. Hood River: http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=23683; The Dalles: http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=24107; White Salmon: http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=23677; Husum: http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=25039; Portland: http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=281. To read reviews, visit: www.technogypsie.com/reviews. All photos and articles (c) 2015/2016 Technogypsie.com – by Leaf McGowan, Eadaoin Bineid and Thomas Baurley. All rights reserved.

Continue reading Grand Central Cafe, Portland, Oregon

Share

Chocola Tree (Sedona, Arizona)

112413-010

Chocola Tree Organic Eatery
* 1595 West Hwy 89A, Sedona, Arizon 86336 *

As I try to live the healthier lifestyle, incorporating more vegan, vegetarian, and gluten-free into my diet, we were very happy to see a gluten-free vegan restaurant in Sedona. Though “Sedona” being “Sedona” amped up in price tags taking advantage of alternative travelers and tourists I met with what I expected – HIGH priced menu items for unforgivable quantity, quality, or measure. I’m not sure why these trendy spots feel they need to over-charge people who want to be healthy as it seems counter-productive to what the movement stands for in my opinion. New age is new age, and this would be one of the classic hotspots for that kind. Don’t get me wrong, the food was decent, but the manner of delivery is not. First off, everything was way over-priced – and would have been a place I normally would not even give a moment of my time. I was however with a group that wanted to try their food, so in we went. I figured I’d try to be minimalistic with price so was going to go for the coconut curry soup. But the waiter says “its cold – is that ok?” I said, “cold? can’t you heat it up?” and he said “No that’s how its served, we don’t have any way to heat it up here, we don’t use microwaves and we don’t have a stove top”. Okay, being health-conscious I get the “no microwave” but really? A restaurant without a stove top? really? In addition, the soup would not come with bread, even though the bowl of soup was in the $8-10 price range. Really? If I wanted some bread, I’d have to order it separately and it would cost $4-8. I was sickened with the concept. So I went with the Gluten-free waffles. They were good, the middle part. The edges were a bit hard. If they don’t have a stove top, I suppose it was done in a waffle maker. Anyhow – neo-hippie decor with southwestern style, staff was friendly (though full of themselves), and it was crowded. If you’ve a lot of money to toss out the window, into the New Age lifestyle, this would be the perfect place for you – I’m sure the minimalistic food would be perfect for your palate. Not mine. Will never return. They claim 100% organic and/or wild-crafted produce with a 95% seasonal menu. They state they use artesian spring fed source free of chlorine or fluoride water in their cooking and serving. Rating: 3 stars out of 5. Visited 11/24/2013.

112413-007

Continue reading Chocola Tree (Sedona, Arizona)

Share

Hadley’s Fish and Chips (Whitby, England)

Hadley's Fish n' Chips
Hadley's Fish n' Chips, Whitby, England

Hadley’s Fish and Chips
* 11 Bridge Street Whitby, North Yorkshire YO22 4BG, United Kingdom
01947 604 153 *

In the heart of the Yorkshire coast, in the little historic fishing village of Whitby, I couldn’t think of a better place where I’d crave fish n’ chips than this location. There were many places to choose from for such a scrumptuous meal … and i settled for Hadley’s Fish and Chips. I’m glad I did, as I was quite pleased. Fast service, quick turnaround, friendly staff, clean restaurant, and a delicious meal. Even came with a cup of tea and a slice of toast? Nonetheless, I was happy. Rating: 4 stars out of 5.

Hadley's Fish and Chips[/caption]>

Share

1780 Bar and Restaurant, Edinburgh, Scotland


1780 Bar and Restaurant
1780 Bar and Restaurant

1780 Bar and Restaurant
* 167 Rose Street, Edinburgh EH2 4LS, Scotland * 0131 255 1446 *

The five of us – one American, four Germans … on day 1 of exploring Scotland together were already at a quick start to disagree where to eat. Thai, Japanese, Irish, Mongolian, Indian … many choices, but no mutual agreement. So as we were wandering down Rose street at a time while most restaurants were already closed for lunch, we settled in on the 1780 Bar and Restaurant. Much to the advice of a patron at the restaurant across the street that closed the kitchen and went to only serving brews … recommended it for good eats. It was an interesting experience. I dined on the fish n’ chips with mushy peas … and thought it was mediocre. Bulmers cider was served up to us nice and cold, beers and ales for the others seemed to satisfy. Me, a silly American, expecting the Scottish to be as crazy about Pimms as the English, since it was my first trip to Scotland coming directly from England, I got a glare from one of the bartenders off-duty as I was ordering it with him mumbling “you couldn’t pay me to go through making that” but was countered by a lovely lady who knew how to make them, and damn good one at that. I quickly learned through that experience here, it wasn’t a Scottish choice. We sat out on the patio, and service was slow. Not sure I’d eat here again. I might pop in to taunt ordering a Pimms … Rating: 2 stars out of 5. Visited 8/2/2011

1780 Bar and Restaurant
1780 Bar and Restaurant

Share

Farmhouse cafe and bakery (El Prado, NM)

Farmhouse Cafe and Bakery

* 1405 Paseo Del Pueblo Norte, El Prado, NM 87529 * (575) 758-5683 *
(Located outside of Taos, New Mexico)

This cafe was a delightful gem as we pulled to the plaza in which its buried behind a few stores in as a “last chance” food stop heading from Taos towards the Rio Grande Gorge and Bridge. A snowy cold afternoon, we were surprised to find a gluten-free, free-range, organic bakery / cafe / restaurant with offerings to our required palate. I was a bit hesitant at first as the meal took a bit longer than I’m used to waiting for, but I was very pleased with the masterpiece we received. The food was delicious, wholeheartedly healthy, and satisfying. In addition we were blessed with the ability to meet the owner, and she graced us with a gift of some home-made flan since we had been waiting a bit. Definitely a location we’ll be dropping by in our future visits to Taos area. With offerings for vegans, vegetarians, free-rangarians, and the gluten-free crowd, you can’t go wrong with this farm-to-table venue. They also offer free wifi, outdoor dining, private party space, and a great cafe to read, relax, and socialize in. We were on-the-go, so were taking out so next time will definitely stay awhile.

According to taos news in their article about this new cafe to Taos, Micah Roseberry, the owner opened on August 21st of 2013 as she had been farming in Northern New Mexico for over 25 years and wanted to bring the farm directly to the table, and therefore Farmhouse cafe was born. All of the produce comes right from the farm outside of the restaurant or from her farm up in Cerro, as are the flowers, and those that do not come from her farm are delivered via organic free-range farms from the local community. She’s into community and building a local food system as her non-GMO organic market. They serve breakfast and lunch as well as a farmer’s market where locals can sell their produce every wednesday from 3-6 pm.

Our first visit awards this great cafe a 4 1/2 stars out of 5. 11/22/2013.

Share

Dream Dinners : Quick meals for the weekender traveler

031513-005

Dream Dinners @ Pigly Wiggly

* http://dreamdinners.com/ *

We first discovered this little “making life easier” treat when my co-workers and company chipped in and got us $100 worth of “Dream Dinners” – a service we’ve never heard of before until this event. As we were in recovery mode from the birth of our baby … they generously helped out with making meals easy on us. The service is brilliant, as they make meals easy to do especially for when you don’t have much time to gather ingredients and cook. Realized quickly the meals would be grand for taking on outings, picnics, and camp-outs. The company was founded on a mission of bringing together families around the dinner table, providing everything needed to assemble great dinners to enjoy with meal preparation times under an hour. Here in Columbia, South Carolina they are based out of the Pigley Wigley grocer stores. Rating: 4 stars out of 5.

031513-004

Share

Charleston Marina Variety Store and Seafood Restaurant

Marina Variety Store and Seafood Restaurant
* 17 Lockwood Dr – Ste E * Charleston, SC 29401-1160 * 843-723-6325 * http://www.varietystorerestaurant.com/ *

Mom was in the downtown Roper hospital so this was an easy to walk to location while caretaking and visiting her, but it wasn’t very quick on the service, even though decent on the wallet. Scenic views of the municipal marina, The Marina Variety store has a semi-decent variety of dishes and meals offered, and decent prices. It has been offering fine food since 1963 including breakfast, lunch, and dinner. This has been my second visit. Each time I was pleased with the food, dissatisfied by how long it took for the food to come out. The Crab cakes are delicious as are the sweet potatoe fries. Three bean salad mediocre. Overall, I had a good meal with my wife … Rating 3.5 stars out of 5.

101212-006

Continue reading Charleston Marina Variety Store and Seafood Restaurant

Share

Rose Pub (Savannah, Georgia)

040613-013

Rose Pub
* R.O.S.E Public House * 125 E. Broughton Street, Savannah, Georgia 31401 * +(1)(912) 200-4258 *

Stumbling around Savannah with our newborn baby and family from Ireland, we sought out a restaurant to satiate our palate. Looming before us, like an old theater converted to a gastro-pub, was the Rose Pub. a nice older style pub and restaurant with friendly staff, good food, and fabulous hospitality. The beer battered fish and chips were very good. We enjoyed our server, who was originally from London, and had a good time catching up with our out of country family. Good times! Rated: 4.5 stars out of 5.

040613-007

Continue reading Rose Pub (Savannah, Georgia)

Share

The Diner (Columbia, South Carolina)

031613-014

The Diner
* 4405 Fort Jackson Blvd * Columbia, SC 29209 * (803) 661-7676 * http://www.thedinercolumbia.com/ * http://www.facebook.com/TheDinerColumbiaSC *

Just off the beaten path outside Gate 1 of Fort Jackson is a nice friendly little artsy diner plainly labelled after its namesake. They are after the classic American diner experience and image, open for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. So far, we’ve only experienced their fantastic breakfast setting. Family owned and operated, they have an assortment of deals, specials, and offers from burgers to pancakes, fish to apple pie. They also cater. They are very kid friendly – so much that kids eat free on mondays. Military and senior citizen discounts apply as well. We’ve tried the pancakes, eggs, and french toast – all of which we were very pleased with. If you’re travelling through Columbia, this hot spot is just off the Interstate, and a great place to take a road break. Rating: 4.5 stars out of 5.

022313-002

031613-010

022313-003

Share

Little Ass Burrito (Dublin, Ireland)

Little Ass Burrito, Rathgar, Dublin, Ireland
Little Ass Burrito, Rathgar, Dublin, Ireland

Little Ass Burrito
* 32-A Dawson Street (formerly: 1 Upper Rathmines Rd * Dublin, Ireland * 6 * (01) 4062614 * www.littleass.ie * Mon-Thu, Sun 11:00 – 22:00 * Fri-Sat 11:00 – 4:00 *

Billing themselves as “tex mex” this fine restaurant has never disappointed. As I’m more the fan of Mexican fare than “Tex Mex” this fusion stand is one of Dublin’s finest Burrito bars. However, my favorite little burrito stand has moved down to Dawson street, which is sad that its less convenient for me and more convenient for the rest of Dublin. It is also a much smaller and uncomfortable space as it was in Rathmines. (Formerly: (1 Upper Rathmines Rd * Dublin, Ireland * 6) Good thing I do my (c)office often at the Dawson street Starbucks so I could frequent them more often. Same owners, staff, and creative whizzes – the food hasn’t changed if not gotten better. Always a special treat when in Dublin. A place to go out of your way for. Which we did again on December 8th, 2013 while traveling through Dublin. In the former location at 1 Upper Rathmines Road you’d find Little Ass Burrito as A great little hole-in-the-wall, just down the street from the Swan Center and around the corner from Tesco this litte Mexican-fusion Burrito bar. A popular joint amongst the Rathgarians and the Rathminers … it was a great spot to grab a bit especially after pub-crawling, clubbing, or city exploits. Even more so now that it is off Dawson street. In Rathmines, it stood to be a little stand with an eating bar with stools, and a large backroom that wasn’t used. Today its an even smaller hole-in-the-wall, much more like a kiosk – with a couple stools to sit inside, and two tables out front. As a widely expert connoisseur of Mexican fare … its the closest you’ll get to true Mexican taste so far what I’ve found in my exploits of Ireland so far … fusion aside. The Super Batata (Roasted sweet potatoes, pinto beans, jack cheese, sour cream, rice, and coriander) with the Mango salsa is not only to “die for” but extremely addicting. In addition, they support local markets and sources for their ingredients so definitely a plus for this crew. Coffee and beer also readily available. Top 5 stars out of 5. [rating:5] ~ Reviewed Leaf McGowan 3/14/12; 12/8/13

The Super Batata

Continue reading Little Ass Burrito (Dublin, Ireland)

Share

Burritos & Blues (Dublin)

Burritos and Blues
* 2 Wexford street * 2 Dublin, Ireland * http://burritos.ie/ * http://www.facebook.com/pages/Burritos-and-Blues/ * Phone +353 14254022 *

As a recent transplant to Dublin, Ireland from America’s Southwest, one of the culinary facets i miss the most from the move is the lack of good Mexican food. But through my wanderings I’ve stumbled upon the trendy explosion of “Burrito bars” in Dublin. Stumbling upon my currently favorite … Little Ass Burrito in Rathgar, we decided to wander about and explore some of the other bars. Next stop was “Burritos & Blues” which was quite tasty, affordable, and entertaining. They indeed had a version of my current favorite addiction of a sweet potato vegetarian burrito that has me quite fixated with Little Ass Burrito. Though so far, Burritos & Blues would be my 2nd favorite burrito bar in the city sofar and their sweet potato burrito is quite tasty. Burritos and Blues has a bit more seating and restaurant flavor, but a “Subway-like” presentation of “fixing your own burrito” as you stand in line and tell them what ingredients and fixin’s you want in your tortilla wrap of goodness. Music is quite good and bouncy, Blues obviously the predominant flavor available, and a wall of posters of events around town to give the nightlife seeker some ideas of where to go. The spicy sauce however is a wallup … best for the Mexican hot conneuseur. Rating: 4.5 stars out of 5. [rating:4.5] ~ Reviewed by Leaf McGowan

Photos are copyrighted and cannot be reproduced without permission of authors Tom Baurley or Leaf McGowan. Photos can be purchased via Technogypsie.com at Technogypsie Photography Services for nominal use fees. Restaurants, Businesses, Bands, Performances, Venues, and Reviews can request a re-review if they do not like the current review or would like to have a another review done. If you are a business, performer, musician, band, venue, or entity that would like to be reviewed, you can also request one (however, travel costs, cost of service (i.e. meal or event ticket) and lodging may be required if area is out of reviewer’s base location at time of request).

These reviews are done by the writer at no payment unless it is a requested review and the costs for travel, service, and lodging was covered – in which case, expenditure reimbursement will not affect review rating or content. If you enjoy this review and want to see more, why not buy our reviewer a drink to motivate them to write more? or help cover the costs they went through to do this review?






Share

Gilligan’s Seafood Restaurant (Mt. Pleasant, SC)

Gilligan's Seafood Restaurant

Gilligan’s Seafood Restaurant

* 1475 Long Grove Drive Mount Pleasant, SC 29464 * 843-849-2244 * http://www.gilligans.net/ *

My mom’s favorite seafood restaurant in Mt. Pleasant, South Carolina has become my choice of seafood dining as well. Introduced to me as her “country club”, I found a very friendly, hospitable restaurant with fabulous service. Now on my third visit to this great place within the last 4 months, I’ve come to be a great fan of their “All you can eat Oyster clusters” dish. I have yet to try the “All you can eat Shrimp” but I imagine it’s just as grand. I’ve had the crab legs and sampled my mom’s seafood platter. Everything was scrumptuous. The free hushpuppies they serve when you sit down are to die for. Overlooking the “seaside park” and man-made lake, nestled into a shopping village, this is a great relaxing spot for dining. While menu prices are higher end, the amount of food you get for the price makes up for it. In addition to “fine” or “messy” seafood dining, Gilligan’s is also committed to local Shrimpers by serving 100% domestic wild-caught shrimp, focusing on freshness, and never serving imports. They are also a Platinum Partner for seafood sustainability with their products – by only serving sustainable seafoods deemed as such from the South Carolina Aquarium. They’ve agreen not to serve or sell Chilean sea bass, orange roughy or imported shark, and only buy sustainable preferably local. Their first choice is “Lowcountry Local” as based from the organization to support independent, locally owned businesses in the Lowcountry while assisting to educate the public on the importance of supporting our local economy, environmental sustainability, and social responsibility. In addition, they participate in Oyster shell recycling, teaming up with the South Carolina Department of Natural Resources with a goal to conserve South Carolina’s oyster beds with an integrated oyster shell recycling program in all of their restaurants to help sustain the growth and propogation of local oysters. Every shell from the winter is replanted by the DNR back into the estuarine environment. Most excellent restaurant. Rating: 5 stars out of 5. ~ Thomas Baurley

All you can eat Oysters

Photos are copyrighted and cannot be reproduced without permission of authors Tom Baurley or Leaf McGowan. Photos can be purchased via Technogypsie.com at Technogypsie Photography Services for nominal use fees. Restaurants, Businesses, Bands, Performances, Venues, and Reviews can request a re-review if they do not like the current review or would like to have a another review done. If you are a business, performer, musician, band, venue, or entity that would like to be reviewed, you can also request one (however, travel costs, cost of service (i.e. meal or event ticket) and lodging may be required if area is out of reviewer’s base location at time of request).

These reviews are done by the writer at no payment unless it is a requested review and the costs for travel, service, and lodging was covered – in which case, expenditure reimbursement will not affect review rating or content. If you enjoy this review and want to see more, why not buy our reviewer a drink to motivate them to write more? or help cover the costs they went through to do this review?






Share

Kas Bah, Dusseldorf, Germany


Kas Bah


Kas Bah * Rheinort 2 * 40213 Dsseldorf, DE * Telefon: 0211 / 8693888 * .ffnungszeiten: Mo – Do, 12:00 – 01:00 Uhr; Fr – Sa, 12:00 – open end; So, 12:00 – 01:00 Uhr; .Happy Hour: Mo – So: 17:00 – 20:00 Uhr *

http://www.bartime.de/location.kasbah.9.456.html

A great little Morroccon cafe in the heart of old town Dusseldorf. My visit to this decent-sized place was with some local friends I was visited as we were looking for a quiet place to chat and catch up before making a night out on the town. Some of the cities finest cocktails, desserts, and bar-time snacks can be found here. An incredible ambience, hospitable staff, and a great place to hang out while visiting this famous city. A must visit location. While I can’t comment on the food as the only item I personally ordered was the hot chocolate with a shot a bailey’s Irish cream, I’ve been told the menu items here are fabulous. Rating: 4 stars out of 5.

Photos are copyrighted and cannot be reproduced without permission of authors Tom Baurley or Leaf McGowan. Photos can be purchased via Technogypsie.com at Technogypsie Photography Services for nominal use fees. Restaurants, Businesses, Bands, Performances, Venues, and Reviews can request a re-review if they do not like the current review or would like to have a another review done. If you are a business, performer, musician, band, venue, or entity that would like to be reviewed, you can also request one (however, travel costs, cost of service (i.e. meal or event ticket) and lodging may be required if area is out of reviewer’s base location at time of request).

These reviews are done by the writer at no payment unless it is a requested review and the costs for travel, service, and lodging was covered – in which case, expenditure reimbursement will not affect review rating or content. If you enjoy this review and want to see more, why not buy our reviewer a drink to motivate them to write more? or help cover the costs they went through to do this review?






Share

Sushi Kim’s (Brisbane, Australia)

Sushi Kim’s
* 388 Queen St. (Wharf St.), Brisbane, Queensland, Australia 4000 *

Just as you’re walking down Queen Street from the Queen Street Mall as it turns to Wharf Street, enroute to Eagle Pier, on the left hand side is a small little tiny sushi mart that has incredibly affordable, delecious, and fresh sushi and rolls (made every two hours) (cheap as $2 per foll) that are also very volumptuous. Its mainly a takeaway for the local business and workers crowd. Not only is it fast to get but friendly staff and owner. Rating: [rating:4] (four stars out of 5) ~ Thomas Baurley, 4/28/11.

MORE INFORMATION, PHOTOS, AND LINKS:
Continue reading Sushi Kim’s (Brisbane, Australia)

Share

Hasmis Kebabs and Turkish Kitchen (Canberra, Australia)

Hasmis Kebabs Turkish Kitchen
* 11-13 East Row * Canberra, Australia Capital Territory, Australia * 2601 * 02 6249 7783 *

We popped into this hole-in-the-wall quick Turkish cuisine spot near the Phoenix for some lunch fare. While the service was average, the food wasn’t anything to write home about. All three of us felt the fare was unsatisfactory. The restaurant and take-away offers pizza, turkish cuisine, and indian fare. They are open late at night, often serving the bar crowds. They have outdoor dining and free wi-fi. Family owned, Ridvan Sadil and his family took over the business early in 2010. Not so hot. Rating: 2 stars out of 5. Visited 4/24/11 – review by Leaf McGowan.

Continue reading Hasmis Kebabs and Turkish Kitchen (Canberra, Australia)

Share

Asian Cafe, Canberra

Asian Cafe
* Melbourne Building
32 West Row * City * Canberra, * 2601 * Australia Capital Territory, Australia * (02) 6262 6233 *

Hungry from running around between the museums and sights in Canberra, I eagerly went for some Asian cuisine at the Asian cafe in the Melbourne building just across from the Canberra Museum and Art Gallery. Very spacious, very comfortable, fast and friendly service with a good assortment of Malaysian and Chinese dishes to choose from. They only serve lunches and dinners from 11:30 am – 2:30 pm, 5 pm until 9:30 or 10:30 on the weekends. Entrees range from $-11.80, with main dishes from 12.80 to 22.80 AUD, so definitely higher priced than normal (or what I’m used to). They are BYOB (wine only) and offer a $6 corkage per bottle. Rating 3.5 stars out of 5.

Continue reading Asian Cafe, Canberra

Share

US Thai (Denver, Colorado)


US Thai Cafe
5228 W 25th Ave * Edgewater, CO 80214 * (303) 233-3345 * http://www.usthaicafe.com/

A nice little hole-in-the-wall restaurant in Edgewater that serves some decent thai food. We had a variety of dishes, and while a big fan of peanut sauce can’t say they have the best, but I was pleased with the dishes I tried. Ok prices and pretty decent service. I’ll try this again before solidifying my review, but the experience was good. Rating 3 stars out of 5.

Continue reading US Thai (Denver, Colorado)

Share

Hamburger Marys

Hamburger Mary’s Diner
1202 Davie Street
Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 1N3

Rated: **** 1/2

Hamburger Mary's

(Review by Leaf McGowan, 11/5/01):
“An excellent restaurant with organic meat entries. Right in the heart of Davie street village (gay district of Vancouver), this hamburger joint has a warm and welcoming staff and excellent service. A fabulous burger joint with fresh food, and excellent selections. I had the Organic beef California burger – came laden with lettuce, tomatoe, mayo, ketchup, avacado, onions, pickles, and a good serving of fries. The coca cola came in an old fashion shake steel cup which kept it ohhhh so cold. Top place. Will visit many times more. The burger, fries, and coke all for $11.75 CAN. ”

Continue reading Hamburger Marys

Share

Marrakech Grill, Denver, Colorado


Marrakech Cafe
* 2286 South Colorado Boulevard, Denver, CO 80222 * (303) 759-3611 *
A large fancy Lebanese and Middle Eastern restaurant just south of downtown Denver. The food is delicious and good service. I had the Lamb curry and it was quite nice. Hummus was tasty as was the salad. The waittress was friendly and on top of things. Rating: 4 stars out of 5.
?


Continue reading Marrakech Grill, Denver, Colorado

Share

The Ginger Man

The Ginger Man
* 40 Fenian St * Dublin 2, Co. Dublin, Ireland * 01 6766388 *

A great little pub on Fenian Street behind the Davenport Hotel. Traditional Irish Pub on the interior with a nice front patio seating section. I stumbled in for a brief lunch and a pint of cider finding hospitality and relaxation. It was bustling with locals, students, and professionals so wound up sharing a table with a couple locals. Service was decent speed and friendly while I was there, but I heard that once packed it can get slow. I sat out in the front outdoor patio as it was a nice day. The Shepherd’s Pie I ordered was quite tasty. Rating: 4 stars out of 5.

Share

Farrington’s Pub of Temple Bar (Dublin)

Farrington’s Pub of Temple Bar
* 28 Essex St E * Dublin 2, Co. Dublin, Ireland * 01 671 5135 * http://www.thesmithgroup.ie/farringtons/index.html *

A late night meal with some friends after a crazy road trip around Ireland found fellowship, cheers, and relaxation at the Farrington’s Pub in Temple Bar. Even though we arrived late to the upper restaurant/bar and was just about the cease food serving, they found patience to take care of us as most of our party settled in on the Traditional Irish breakfast for dinner. A very pleasant pub mixing style of a Victorian bar with elements over 120 years old downstairs and a modern comfortable lounge on the 2nd floor, this unique pub is located in the heart of Dublin’s Temple Bar district and is named after the character “Farrington” in Jame Joyce’s “The Dubliners”. The pub is open mondays through thursdays from 10:30 to 23:30, and fridays and saturdays from 10:30 until 2:30, and sundays from 12:30 until 23:00. In addition to pub dining, they have luxury accommodation available in 5 ensuite bedrooms upstairs.

Continue reading Farrington’s Pub of Temple Bar (Dublin)

Share

Fan’s Cantonese Restaurant (Dublin)

Fan’s Cantonese Restaurant
* 60 Dame Street * DUBLIN 2, Ireland * 01 6794263 *
A higher end costing Cantonese restaurant, there was an affordable lunch special that we did imbibe. The food was decent, the place seemed clean, and the service was good. The ambiance was more lush than a typical Cantonese restaurant. Oddly they served french fries with my friends sweet n’ sour dish. Thought that was strange. Rating: 3 stars out of 5.

Continue reading Fan’s Cantonese Restaurant (Dublin)

Share

Yak and Yeti (Truro, Cornwall, England)

Yak and Yeti
* 10 Kenwyn St * Truro TR1 3DJ * Cornwall, England * 01872 272363 858085 * yakandyetitruro.co.uk *
It was my first night wandering around Truro, during my first vacation in Cornwall. Truro was a quiet town and unfortunately, many of the restaurants closed by 6/6:30 pm … and just as I was about to settle for some more English standard pub fare, I spied this little gem. Himalayan\Nepalese\Indian Cuisine – and they were open – much later than most restaurants in Truro. According to the web site, it apparently stays open until 11:30 pm. (23:30) While the staff didn’t seem to be that great with their English, the service was great, prompt, friendly, and efficient. The food was quite tasty and a welcoming break from the English meals I had been dining on pretty solid since this trip to Europe. I feasted on the lamb tikka masala … it was quite excellent. Definitely a pleasing dining experience. Rating: 4 stars out of 5.

Continue reading Yak and Yeti (Truro, Cornwall, England)

Share

The King’s Head (Chacewater, UK)

The Kings Head Hotel
* 0843-208-6749 * http://www.thekingshead-chacewater.co.uk * Chacewater, Truro, Cornwall, England, TR4 8PY *

Chacewater has only three pubs – and the King’s Head Pub and Motel is not only one of its most famous establishments, but one of its more popular lodging stays. It is a Traditional English Pub with accomodation upstairs. The King’s Head is located in the small village of Chacewater located outside of Truro, Cornwall, England. The pub has origins to the 17th century but stands strong with modern renovation and service. The pub consists of a modern yet traditional public house that was built originally in the 17th century and operating as a pub since 1826. Located 4 miles from Redruth and 6 miles from Truro. The bar serves traditional pub food including jacket potatoes, sandwiches, steaks, and fare. There are also vegetarian options. THe rooms are doubles that come with a TV, alarm clock, tea and coffee making facilities, iron and ironing board, and a choice of en-suite or shared facilities. Rooms range from 20-25 a person and comes with breakfast. My dining and lodging experience at the Kings’ Head was comfortable and pleasant. Rooms were clean, food was good, service was pleasant. I had the Prawn Cocktail and the Sunday Lunch which came with fresh succulent meats served with roast potatoes, Yorkshire pudding, a selection of seasonal vegetables and condiments. Rating: 3.75 stars out of 5 for the food, 4 stars out of 5 for the lodging.

Continue reading The King’s Head (Chacewater, UK)

Share

The Pirate Inn (Penzance, UK)

Pirate Inn
www.thepirateinnpenzance.com * Alverton, Penzance, Cornwall TR18 4PS * United Kingdom *
01736 366 094

More aesthetic on the outside than on the inside, this moderately sized restaurant lured me through its doorway. Not quite the pirate atmosphere as I was expecting … i found a family restaurant with a friendly staff running around with sports/games on the television. Disenchanted that I wasn’t greeted by pirates … I took my seat for some grub – pleased by the food and the service. No credit cards accepted, strictly Great Britain Pounds only. Owned and operated by Jackie and Brendon Hichens, this restaurant is apparently a bit of a landmark for modern Penzance. They also have a large grassed area where families could dine outdoors and kids can play in the playground. The establishment is also dog friendly and also has wheel chair access. Most of the main dishes range from 7-15 GBP. Every second sunday they host a quiz night, thursdays for live music, folk night on tuesdays, and tv for sports. They brandish a pool table. They claim to have the best sunday roast in town and have the choice of 6 ales to choose from. My dish was average – nothing to brag about at home, but the service was grand. Rating: 2.7 stars out of 5.

Continue reading The Pirate Inn (Penzance, UK)

Share

Red Mullet (Bristol, England)


Red Mullet
* 65 Baldwin Street * Bristol BS1 1QZ * 07941 112005

In search of Fish and Chips, I was led to this fast house by a local pub that had just closed down its grill. Being from Colorado it was pretty essential that my first day in Britain this year would be embraced by a meal of fish n’ chips. The Red Mullet is not just a Fish n’ Chips house, but a quick grill for a variety of dishes including Thai and Indian. Its a family run diner that is cheap and affordable with quality food. The fish and chips were very good and friendly service as well. Wanting to cater to more the dining crowd rather than the bar crowd, they recently went through refurbishment to make it a more diner experience than a fast grill. Rating: 4 stars out of 5.

Share

Tomo Sushi II (Colorado Springs)


Tomo Sushi II, North Academy, Colorado Springs

Tomo Sushi II
* http://eatattomo.com/ * 975 N Academy Blvd * Colorado Springs, CO 80909 * 719-597-2422 *

A little hole-in-the-strip-mall Sushi chain restaurant in the northern part of Colorado Springs with standard Japanese fare. Good atmosphere, good service, and for a lunch rush not bad timing. I went with the lunch Bento Box which consisted of 1 pc jumbo shrimp and 3 pcs of vegetable tempura, gyoza, miso soup and salad, 4 pcs California Roll, 1 Tuna nigiri, 1 Salmon nigiri, 1 Shirome nigiri, and 1 shrimp nigiri – not badly priced but the sushi and other dishes didn’t stand out as anything above and beyond most sushi restaurants. Rating: 3 stars out of 5.


Sushi Lunch Bento Box

Share