Tag Archives: fae

Cave of the Cats (Rathcrogan/Roscommon, Ireland)

Oweynagat Cave – Cave of the Cats – Gateway to the Underworld and the Morrigan’s Palace.

Oweynagat Cave – Cave of the Cats
– Gateway to the Underworld and the Morrigan’s Palace. Rathcrohan / Rosscommon, Ireland
GPS: 53.79677, -8.31038
Article/Research by Thomas Baurley/Leaf McGowan/Technogypsie Productions, 10 October 2017

One of my most favorite sites in Ireland is the “Cave of the Cats” underneath the realm of “Rathcrohan“. It is officially called “Oweynagat” and pronounced “Owen-ne-gatt”.
The Cave is also labelled “Uaimh na gCat”, Irish translating to “Cave of the Cats”. When I first visited this site we had a tremendously hard time finding it. We found where it was supposed to be, but it lay behind fencing on a farmer’s field. We knocked on the farmer’s door, and there was no answer. A neighbor saw us, asked what we were doing and who we were, and he showed us the entrance, giving us permission to enter. It was a small hole under some Fairy thorn trees. The Site is actually a natural narrow limestone cave that hosts a man-made souterrain at its entrance. This is seen by all as the official entrance to the Otherworld and home to the Morrigan or Medh. In the Medieval Period of Ireland, it was labeled “Ireland’s Gate to Hell”. It is a particular sacred site for the Pagan holiday and festival of “Samhain” or Halloween.

It is said that during the Feast of Samhain, the dead, their God/desses, and Spirits, would rise from their graves and walk the Earth. This cave is one of the main places where Spirits and the dead associated with the Fae and/or the Morrigan, would re-surface including creatures, monsters, and the un-dead. There exists an Irish legend based off the “Adventures of Nera” where a warrior is challenged to tie a twig around the ankle of a condemned man on Samhain eve, after agreeing to get him some water would discover strange houses and wouldn’t find water until the third house. Upon returning him back to captivity would witness Rathcroghan’s royal buildings destroyed by the spirits. After this he must follow the fairy host to the Sidhe where he meets a woman who tells him the vision he saw will happen a year from now unless his mortal comrades are warned. He leaves the Sidhe and informs Ailill of his vision who destroys the Sidhe in response.

Some believe the “síd” or the Sidhe of this tale is either the Mound of Rathcroghan or Oweynagat, the Cave of the Cats. It makes the most sense that the Cave of the Cats is where the destructive creatures and fae emerged. There was a triple-headed monster called the Ellen Trechen that went on a rampage across the country before being killed by Amergin, father of Conal Cernach. There have been tales of small red birds emerging from the cave withering every plant they breathed on before being hunted to their death by the Red Branch. There is also legends of herds of pigs with similar powers of decay emerging from the cave until hunted and killed by Ailill and Medb.

The name itself, “Oweynagat” is believed to refer to the Magical wild cats featured in the tale of “Bricriu’s Feast” that emerge from this cave to attack the three Ulster warriors before being tamed by Cúchulainn. Some also claim that the cave was named after Irusan, the King of the Cats, who is featured in Irish fairy tales and hailed from a cave near Clonmacnoise (her home). Another tale from the 18th century CE tells of a woman trying to catch a runaway cow that fell into this cave (nevermind the entrance being too small) and followed it into this cave. It is said the cow and woman emerged miles away in County Sligo, near Keshcorran. There is also a legend of a woman that was told to have killed a monster cat in this cave, turning the woman into a great warrior, and this is why its called “Oweynagat”, Cave of the Cats.

The Birthplace of Medb

It is also believed that this cave is the actual physical birthplace for Queen Medb. The legend states that the Fairy Queen/Goddess Étain who was fleeing her human husband with her fairy lover Midir came here. Midir wanted to visit a relative named Sinech (the large breasted one) who lived in the cave. Within the cave was said to be a great otherworldly palace where a maid servant named Crochan Crogderg (“Blood Red Cup”) lived, and she had granted Midir and Etain entrance. It was here that Crochan was believed to have given birth to a daughter named “Medb“.

The Entrance

Nestled under a fairy tree in a farmer’s field (private property) is a small opening that really only looks large enough for a house cat to fit through. But if a human gets down on their hands and knees, can shimmy into this small hole, they will be presented with a small chamber that connects to a passageway that continually increases to a massive tunnel wider and higher than one could fathom. At the inner lintel of this entrance is an Ogham inscription that bears the words “VRAICCI…MAQI MEDVVI” translating to “FRAECH” and “SON OF MEDB”. Some also translate this to mean “The Pillar of Fraech son of Madb”. This is also seen as the birthplace of Medb. A second ogham inscription, barely visible, reads “QR G SMU” but has not been translated. This beginning chamber is actually a man-made souterrain at the entrance to a natural narrow limestone cave. The souterrain was originally contained within an earthen mound that was later damaged by a road construction project in the 1930’s. The souterrain is made of drystone walling, orthostats, lintels, and stones that measure approximately 10.5 meters from the entrance to the natural cave’s opening.

Oweynagat Cave – Cave of the Cats – entrance chamber

The Tunnel

After crawling on one’s hands and feet, the passage increases in width and height, eventually one can stand up, and eventually the tunnel becomes wide and tall enough that a small Giant could move through it. This is the passage of the Fae, and leads to the Morrigan’s Lair. As one continues down, they’ll find a caved in shamble that is behind a muddy pool of water. If one successfully climbs up and over it, the passage continues to another area that is caved in. Apparently workers on the surface planted a utility pole that collapsed this section of the tunnel. Beyond this is believed to be the Entrance to the Otherworld, and the Morrigan’s Lair. This is actually a natural limestone cave that has been mapped approximately 37 meters deep.

The Morrigan

The Queen of the Dark Fae, the Goddess of the Underworld, of Darkness, and Battle, rules the world of the Fae from this place. It is believed that every Samhain, she is pulled on a chariot out of the Cave of the Cats by a one-legged chestnut horse alongside various creatures such as those mentioned above. Some also say on occasion she leaves the cave with a cow, guided by a giant with a forked staff, to give to the Bull of Cúailgne. She is also known to take the bull of a woman named Odras who follows her into the cave before falling under an enchanted sleep upon awakening to see the Morrigan who repeatedly whispers a spell over her, turning her into a river, the same river that feeds the muddy pool at the shamble. Apparently the cave is seen as a portal through which the Morrigan would pass in order to work with Medb as Goddess of Battle. She drove her otherworldly cattle into the cave every sunset. The Morrigan was blamed to have stolen a herd of cattle who belonged to a woman named Odras, and upon following to Morrigan to retrieve them, was turned into a lake by the Goddess. As is the story of Nera, a servant of Medb who met a Fairy woman here in this cave. He married her, and she warned him of Medb’s palace being burnt to the ground next Samhain by the creatures of the otherworld. Upon hearing this, Medb stationed her forces in the cave each Samhain to protect Cruachan from destruction.

Rathcrohan is the legendary burial grounds of the Kings of Coannaught. The region covers approximately 518 hectares hosting more than 20 ring forts, burial mounds, megalithic tombs such as the Relig na Ri (burial ground of the Kings), Rath na dTarbh (For the Bulls), and the Rathbeg. The archaeological site is massive, with earthworks spread over the region with the Grave of King Dathi (Last Pagan King of Ireland) as a 2 meter high standing stone being one of the few physical landmarks left that can be seen. This is also the site of the mythical battle of the “Tain Bo Cuailgne” that remains in the hearts, minds, and folklore of the people of Tulsk and Rathcroghan recorded in the Ancient Irish Epic of the Tain Bo Cuiailgne, the “Cattle Raid of Cooley”. The Tain Bo tells the story of Queen Maeve of Connaught and her armies that pursued the Grat Brown Bull of Cooley, the mighty warrior Cuchulain who does battle with the armies here, and his foster brother Erdia as he defends the Brown Bull, and the province of Ulster. There is a “Tain Trail Cycling and Touring Route” that re-traces the journey that Queen Maeve and her armies traveled from her Royal Palace at Rathcroghan across Ireland to the Cooley Peninsula in County Louth, the home of the Brown Bull. Rathcrohan hosts over 60 National Monuments here.

Bibliography/References:

  • Druid School: Oweynagat Cave of the Cats. Website referenced January 2012.
  • Fenwick, J. et al 1977 “Oweynagat”. Irish Speleology 16, 11-14.
  • Hannon, Ed 2012 “Visions of the Past: Oweynagat Cave”. Website referenced 10/10/17 at https://visionsofthepastblog.com/2012/10/01/oweynagat-cave-souterrain-co-roscommon/.
  • Mulranney, R. n.d “Caves of Ireland: Oweynagat Cave of the Cats”. Website referenced 10/10/17 at https://cavesofireland.wordpress.com/home/caves/oweynagat-cave-of-the-cats-co-roscommon/.
  • Waddell, J. 1983 “Rathcroghan – A Royal Site”. Journal of Irish Archaeology 1.
  • Wikipedia n.d. “Rathcroghan”. Website referenced 10/10/17 at https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rathcroghan.

Continue reading Cave of the Cats (Rathcrogan/Roscommon, Ireland)

Share

Tiveragh Fairy Hill (Cushendall)

121213-083

The Tiveragh Fairy Hill
Cushendall, Northern Ireland

Legend and lore has it that this very broad sided hill with steep sides overlooking the small village of Cushendall in Northern Ireland is the gateway to Tir na nOg. A place very well known locally to be haunted by faeries, leprechauns, elves, and pixies … this giant hill is a natural fortress all in its own and easily seen to be claimed as a stronghold by the fae. Fairy tales mention many stories about it rising up on pillars during the twilight evening with glimmering meriment of faeries frolicking and dining. Many believe that the wee folk live in this hill that is accessed by a nearby cave. As the warning goes, if ye are mortal, regardless of how appeasing the faerie music may sound, if you wander within, you’ll never be seen again on this plane of existence. Time holds a whole different rhythm in Faerieworlds.

We however, of fae persuasion, did venture up the hill at the turn of twilight just as the sun was going down. We spied the hill with visions of faerie impressions while across the valley atop Ossian’s Grave – the Megalithic tomb believed to be the burial spot of the fabled poet and bard Oisin. Now Oisin was lured into fae, into Tir na nOg where he lived until he requested to return to the land of mortals to visit his family. Of course due to faerie time, he came back several hundred years later to find them all gone and deceased. He fell off his faerie steed and became a blind old man wandering these fields eventually dying. If the faerie tale is true, this would be the hill he would have rode out of and across the valley would have been his grave overlooking it … curiouser and curiouser. Midway along the way up the base of the hill is one of the most magnificent Faerie Thorn Trees I’ve ever encountered. As usual with these faerie hills, I always find a wee hole just big enough for the Victorian sized fae to enter within, usually lined with heavy rocks, making it look peculiarly like its a miniature mine rather than a animal hole. We climbed atop as the sun was going down, empowered by the feelings of the ancient ones. Archaeologically though, this may be a massive hillfort. I’m looking for those records and will post my findings here.

    On Tiv-ra Hill near Cushendall,
    I heard a commotion behind a wall,
    I stopped and looked over, and boys-o-boys!

    Now what do you think was making the noise?
    Twas a Hurley match – and may I choke -
    It was two wee teams of the Fairy folk
    That was rippling’ and tearing’ and weltin’ away
    In the light of the moon was bright as day.

    And their playing pitch was hardly as big
    As my Uncle Barney’s potato rig;
    And me there watchin’ them puck and clout
    At the back o’ the wall with my eyes stuck out.

    When all at once, like the squeal of a hare,
    A wee voice shouted, “Who’s that up there?”
    And a bit off a thing about nine – inch tall
    Came climbing up to the top of the wall.

    And he stood there; he stood about pot -size
    With his two wee fingers up at my eyes,
    And its God’s own truth that I’m speakin’ mind ye,
    ”Get out o’ that,” says he, “or Ill blind ye!”

    Aye that’s what he said, “I’ll blind ye,” says he,
    And by Jing what he said was enough for me,
    Did I run? Aye surely; I didnt miss -
    And I haven’t seen Tiveragh from that to this.

    ~ H.Browne

    The Fairy Hill Tiveragh is a fairy hill and near to Cushendall,
    And nobody goes there at night, no nobody at all.
    The hill is small, the sides are steep.
    And I have heard it said That flickering lights go in and out While everyones in bed.
    And on the top two hawthorns grow, A white one and a red.
    ~ John Irvine Desmond

~ Yours truly, Leaf McGowan

Continue reading Tiveragh Fairy Hill (Cushendall)

Share

Lost Girl: Season 1

Lost Girl: Season 1
(Television NR: Showcase, 2010)
Creator: M.A. Lovretta. Starring: Anna Silk, Kris Holden-Ried and Ksenia Solo; and many others.


Its an expose of the Faerie world hidden within the human world where the season follows on the sensual charismatic Bo who never really felt at home with the humans tortured by not being able to experience love with them as she drains them to death during sex. She soon discovers she is a Succubus and is not alone, but in a world of the Genus Fae and without a tribe. She’s pushed to choose a tribe with the Dark Fae or the Light Fae, and decides to stay neutral. She becomes a renegade and teams up with a gothy girl human sidekick who becomes an investigator for the abnormal while figuring out who Bo’s mom is and her faerie origins. Falling in love with a Lycanthrope, at ends with the Morrigan, fighting off various species of Fae while keeping things secret from the human world. Full of mythology and faerie lore blended into the modern human world … this is a treasure and an action packed series. A must see for any faerie enthusiast. Rating: 5 stars out of 5

Season 1:

  • Episode 1: It’s a Fae, Fae, Fae, Fae World (September 2010)
  • Episode 2: Where There’s a Will, There’s a Fae (19 September 2010)
  • Episode 3: Oh Kappa, My Kappa (26 September 2010)
  • Episode 4: Faetal Attraction (3 October 2010)
  • Episode 5: Dead Lucky (17 October 2010)
  • Episode 6: Food for Thought (24 October 2010)
  • Episode 7: ArachnoFaebia (31 October 2010)
  • Episode 8: Vexed (7 November 2010)
  • Episode 9: Fae Day (14 November 2010)
  • Episode 10: The Mourning After (21 November 2010)
  • Episode 11: Faetal Justice (28 November 2010)
  • Episode 12: (Dis)Members Only (5 December 2010)
  • Episode 14: Blood Lines (12 December 2010)

Share

Faerie Trees

Faerie Trees

United Kingdom and Ireland

Faerie trees are mythical hotspots of otherworldly and/or faerie activity. Faerie trees are seen as the haunts of Faeries. They are fiercely protected by the Fae. It is believed that any human foolish enough to pass by a host-tree late at night will find their arms bruised or pinched by small faerie fingers. Three thorn trees growing closely together are especially potent. Thorn trees hung with ribbons or rags are good gifts to faeries of the tree. Faerie trees are most associated with the Oak, Ash, and Thorn. Sometimes it is associated with the Rowan tree. Others claim its the Elder, Blackthorn, Hazel, and/or Alder. The trees most twisted together are the most notorious of faerie trees – and this is common amongst the Elder. If two thorns and an elder are found together it warns of great danger as do Oak, Ash, and Thorn. In the British Isles, the Rowan is believed to protect one from witchcraft and enchantment. Its berries opposite its stalk display tiny five pointed stars or pentagrams which are notable protective symbols. Color red, as in the flavor of the berry, is also seen as a protection against enchantment. The tree is believed to afford protection to the dwellings by which it grew and often people would take branches of the tree to be carried for personal protection from witchcraft. The belief in them go back to classical mythology, whereas legends tell us that ‘Hebe’, the Goddess of youth, once dispensed rejuvenating ambrosia to the Gods from her magical chalice. When she lost this cup to demons, the Gods sent an eagle to recover the cup. The feathers and drops of blood which the eagle bled in the fight, fell to the earth, whereas each one of them turned into a Rowan tree – the legendary Faerie Tree. It is because of this it is believed that the Rowan derived the shape of its leaves from eagle’s feathers and its berries look like the droplets of blood. The Rowan is also prominent in Norse mythology as being the tree from where the first woman was made. The Mountain Ash were also associated as Faerie Trees which are the most well-known of the Rowan. The wood of the Rowan is often used for staves, wands, divining rods, and walking sticks. Berries are often used to make alcoholic drinks.


Share

Faeries and the Fae …


The Tree Leaves’ Oracle icon flower fairy

The Victorian Flower Fairy or Nature Sprite
Flower Fairies are believed to be the fairy spirit essence of various flowers; they are portrayed as tiny creatures that rarely are larger than 20 cm. tall. Most of these depictions come from Victorian art and is a common ‘model’ for what most people think of what is a fairy. They live in tree tops, marshes, forests, gardens, fields, and waysides. It is believed by many that when a seed sprouts a flower fairy is born. Each flower fairy lives upon its host plant and not found too far from it. They sleep within the flower. As the flower grows so does the fairy. The flower fairy exists to tend and watch over the flower. If the flower dies, so too does the fairy. Disembodied spirits, elves, fairies or daemons; often the term used for the Air elemental known as sylphs, or as the name of the elementals of Spirit. Flower fairies are often also referred to as nature sprites or spirits. Some define sprites as a being who are beginning a course of evolutionary growth and in the elemental states of their growth. In some ways, this is the concept, in the life of a flower, what makes a flower fairy a sprite. Examples: http://www.flowerfaeries.com/flowerfairies.shtml; http://www.flowerfairies.com/US_version/home.html.

Continue reading Faeries and the Fae …

Share

Three Wishes Faerie Festival (Bodmin, Cornwall, UK)

The Three Wishes Faerie Festival
* http://www.3wishesfaeryfest.co.uk/ * Colliford Lake, Bodmin Moor, Bodmin, Cornwall, England * June 18-21, 2010 *

One of Europe’s most infamous and exciting Faerie Festivals, Three Wishes does not disappoint in the Realms of Enchantment. It was my first (of hopefully many) Three Wishes Faerie Fests. A gathering place for the faery clans to meet with the mortal humans in heartland of the historic faerie tromping grounds of history … in Bodmin Moor, on the shores of Colliford Lake (where the Lady of the Lake presented King Arthur with Excalibur) right in the magical lands of Cornwall. Just taking an adventure in Cornwall is mystical enough … but adding a visit to Three Wishes definitely added to the charm of the exciting quest. A three day festival for kids, families, and adults with an assortment of fun. A whole different world than the infamous American Faerieworlds, you’ll find many of the same mystical folks and kindred wandering around. Set in the heart of Midsummer, a portal is opened into the realms of the fae where those curious can come out to play with the good neighbours and see the “little people” close-up. Why Three Wishes? According to the web site, Karen Kay – the founder and creator of this magical event, was out in her garden hanging out laundry to dry when she noticed a single dandelion seed head standing strong and tall amongst a recently cut lawn – and as she watched it, three of the little seed heads appearing like faeries flew up into the blue sky … and thence, Three Wishes was born. This annual three day festival in the heart of Cornwall has been growing by leaps and bounds sounding the horn for fae from all corners of the world to gather each year around the Summer Solstice. Concerts, artists, fashion shows, workshops, art exhibitions, forest walks, games, exploration areas, food, drink, festivities, friendship, kid parades, drumming, meditation, yoga, late night parties, wishing wells, clottie trees, and frolick abound. Sunday ended with a early morning greeting of the sun with a Druidic rite to welcome in the sun. What a mesmerizing time!

Continue reading Three Wishes Faerie Festival (Bodmin, Cornwall, UK)

Share

National Leprechaun Museum – Dublin

National Leprechaun Museum, Dublin, Ireland
National Leprechaun Museum, Dublin, Ireland

National Leprechaun Museum – Dublin
Twilfit House, Jervis Street, Dublin 1, Ireland *leprechaunmuseum.ie
My very first time in Ireland and only a few hours in Dublin, I get off the bus, wander off O’Connell and lo’ and behold there is the National Leprechaun Museum. I was of course in awe since I’m a faerie fanatic and consumed with folklore about the little people. I’m aware that this museum has caused quite a stir in Ireland, especially since a good portion of the Irish population doesn’t like being tied with the imagery of this mythological creature. Legend be legend, and history be such of that – Leprechauns have chosen to root themselves in Ireland – and in my opinion, the Irish need to welcome the stingy little bugger with open arms – because as trouble-making as this fae can be, they have a fun history and iconography. Of course this is from the mouth of an American, and it was the Irish immigrants to America that really stirred this creature to life in the folk tales brought over to the American shore. Then you have lots of comical approaches to embrace the bugger in a humorous light especially with being branded on the General Mills cereal “Lucky Charms”. The Museum is not that old, as it was established just this year on March 10, 2010. The National Leprechaun Museum is dedicated to the history and lore about “Leprechauns”. It is located in a large building between Jervis Street and Middle Abbey Street in Dublin, Ireland. It is most likely the very first leprechaun museum in the world and was referred to by the Irish Times as “The Louvre of Leprechauns”. Directed by Tom O’Rahilly, the concept was started in 2003, as a “story telling” oral-tradition tourist attraction designed for the “leprechaun experience” rather than “a commercial venture”. The only real ‘museum’ part of the ‘museum’ is in the foyer, where you are given a brief synopsis of the history of leprechauns, its iconography, definition, and references in popular culture. The rest of the museum is an interactive guided tour involving several different mythological room with voiceovers exploring the myths and legends in the eyes of a leprechaun. After the introduction, you enter in through a secret door and go through a tunnel full of optical illusions shrinking you to the size of a leprechaun, then go through a wooden replica of the Giant’s Causeway in County Antrim, Northern Ireland and into a room where items such as furniture become unusually large to give you the effect you’ve shrunk in size. Onward into a room sheltered with umbrellas from falling rain onward through into a room with a rainbow that leads into a room with a crock of gold and a tree stump. You are enlightened and warned with the tale of one’s man attempt to catch a leprechaun. More rooms exist that talk about the Children of Lir, Fairy Forts, and Newgrange; also one with a well and gigantic tree trunks. Like any museum of its kind, it empties out into a giftshop. Now unfortunately I was called out of the museum in a rush to attend to and was only able to catch the introduction and foyer – which was well done. I’ll finish this review when I go back for the interactive part later this month.

6/23/10: I returned to finish my tour of the Museum. The interactive remaining part of the museum, as you walk through the hidden door from the only part of the place that is a Museum – the rest is meant to be an amusement area centered for kids. However, its severely lacking in entertainment value. You walk down a lighted tunnel to shrink to the size of a Leprechaun, hang out in what is meant to be a living room where you are diminished in size, go through the Giant’s causeway, through an umbrella field which I really didn’t get, on to the Pot of Gold chamber, the wishing well, rainbow chambers, and trails. There is interesting folklore – that was the value to the visit for me and anyone who adores Faerie history and lore – but for the uninterested tourist, the museum would be a waste of your Euros. The staff is however very knowledgable about the lore and Faerie fanatics would benefit from paying the 10 Euro fee just to pick the brains of the staff. The interactive map of the Otherworldly history of Ireland is fabulous and the only real attractive piece I found in the museum.

Continue reading National Leprechaun Museum – Dublin

Share

.30.09: STL Cronicles/Hearth Quest: Chapter 20: ‘Dreaming about Faerie Homes, Hollow Hills, Skara Brae’


From the journal of Sir Thomas “Rymour Oisin” Leaf: Tuesday, The 30th of Quintilis (Julius Caesar’s “July”) in the good year 2009 of the Common Era


“While sleeping during the rest after losing my vardo and continuing onwards with the journey to Faerieworlds, Me and Hanna decided to stay at her house for the night before our journey to the Dark Crystal House at Breitenbush. I had some very vivid dreams about my RV, vardo, vehicle situation, my cottage, and future homes. I also started thinking about Faerie homes and these dreams prompted me to write about them.”

The Dwellings of Faeries
by Leaf McGowan

Throughout history legend and lore has placed faeries deep within the dark woods, living in tree trunks, in mushrooms, in the tree tops, in homes beneath the mounds, under the sea, within the sky realms of the Gods, and the dark fiery realms of the Devils. But really where do they live? what shelters them from the weather? Are they cave dwellers? Well, then again there are hundreds of thousands of different varieties and species of faeries … this article cannot cover all of their dwellings, so I’m going to focus on those who live beneath the faery mounds or hills. Of course, Faeries inhabit a invisible realm to the human eye that some believe is overlapping this dimension like layers of an onion. Faerie gateways and portals allow mortals and fae to walk between the worlds. Some say this veil is failing and soon, their homes and our homes will share the same dimension. Legends, folklore, and tales from around the world describe the fae in many different respects. Sometimes faeries are good, sometimes they are bad, and most often they are the shades inbetween. Some species of fae have been known to kidnap humans either as babies or young adults. Sometimes for a short period, and others forever. There are tales speaking of these abductions that are quite classics in our oral and folk traditions. You have the 19th century Ballad “Lady Isabel and the Elf-Knight”, “Tam Lin”, “Sir Orfeo”, “Sir Degare”, “Thomas the Rhymer”, “Tale of Oisin”, “Rip Van Winkle”, “King Herla”, “Oberon and Titania”, Johann Heinrich Fussli’s “Prince Arthur and the Fairy Queen”, and many others. Since faeries have the ability to shape-shift and change form, they are also known to use magic to make themselves invisible to human sight. Their form of payment is also unreliable, as faerie gold can appear to be gold when paid, but as soon as the payer leaves, could turn back into leaves, twigs, flowers, cakes, or other items. Some say their dwellings and homes have the same characteristics. It is all about the faery illusions and trickery.


Map of Skara Brae

Many Welsh thought Faerieland was North of their mountainous land or the rocky west peninsula of Pembrokeshire. Others say it moved to an island in the Irish Channel off the Pembrokeshire coast. Some sailors reported seeing it through the ages but then it would disappear. The faeries who lived there were reportedly frequent visitors to the markets of Laugharne and Milford Haven. The Irish called the phantom Island Hy Breasail; for the Brits it was the Isle of Man. (Brian Froud) Many folk tales tell of faeries that live in the sdhe (fairy mounds), and to many a Irish will say, the original inhabitants of Ireland were the Fae and when battled by with humans retreated to the depths of the earth underneath the sidhe. Throughout Celtic lore, there exist descriptions of a diminutive race of people who were driven into hiding by the invading humans. Some portrayed this race as spirits while others saw them as a different race who dwelled in the Otherworld which they placed on hidden islands or underground. Each hill legendarily had its own King and Queen who usually owe fealty to a ‘Higher King’. Some actually assigned them living in well known ancient burial mounds that dotted the landscape. But predominant in the literature are vivid descriptions of the fae living in side, hill homes, ancient barrows, and cairns. The Tuatha de Danaan, the first faeries of the Celtic world, are believed to inhabit several Otherworld realms including Emain Ablach (The Island of Apples, the Fortress of Apples, the Land of Promise, or the Isle of Women); Mag Mell (the Pleasant Plain); and Tir na nOg (The Isle of Beauty, or the Land of the Young). The King Arthur tales often depict Emain Ablach as being Avalon. But most mesmerizing of the Island histories are the remains at Skara Brae in the Orkney Islands that are a series of underground rooms that some believe to the be ‘Elfland’ described in ‘Childe Rowland’. Leslie Grinsell, a U.K. archaeologist, discovered some earthworks in 1934 in his survey of Surrey while investigating some barrows. In the yard of Lord Camrose’s place at Chertsey, were earthworks that could be seen in the yard reputed to be faery mounds, they turned out to be a line of wheelbarrows daily ready for inspection. He investigated the Barrow Hills on the Chertsey-Egham border where three mounds appearing as threm burghen in the charter of 672-4 of the county list as Chertsey nos. 1-3, discovered them to be natural hillocks with no archaeology present. He discovered quite quickly, just because Old English literature refers to a site as a beorh it was not necessarily a gravemound or a faery mound.

Continue reading .30.09: STL Cronicles/Hearth Quest: Chapter 20: ‘Dreaming about Faerie Homes, Hollow Hills, Skara Brae’

Share

7.27.09: Cronicles of STL: Chapter 17: ‘Flower Fairies and Preparations for Faerieworlds’



Twig the Renaissance Fairy

From the journal of Sir Thomas “Rymour Oisin” Leaf: Monday, The 27th of Quintilis (Julius Caesar’s “July”) in the good year 2009 of the Common Era


“Up early another day as I had been packing all last night for Faerieworlds. I was into the lab by 7:00 am getting everything wrapped up for my absence. Work was difficult, bombarded with tasks, and overwhelmed by the amount of stuff needing completion – not to mention all the packing I have to do. Faerie wings, foliage, bodypaints, groceries, and trip itinerary. Definitely inspired by Flower Fairies … perhaps it was the mesmerizing beauty and mystery of Twig? This trip will be a leap of faith knowing that the universe will make it happen. Afterall, at Trolls et Legendes in Belgium I was lured to attend this year’s Faerieworlds by the lovely Kimmy of Woodland with an amazing offer of being her guest if I can make it to the Pacific Northwest. How could I turn down that? Additionally, I had a wonderful offer from my old high school best friend David who lives in Hawaii to be shown around the Big Island. Coincidentally airline tickets to Hawaii was under $300 from Portland, just a hop and a skip from Faerieworlds. Another good high school friend Kit had a buddy pass I could have for free island hopping in Hawaii. The lovely mermaids Wendy and Kyndra offered me some rest and relaxation in the Dark Crystal house at Breitenbush. This appears to be the vacation of a lifetime. Of course, my bank account didn’t agree. Last minute shuffling of funds and payroll advances and I began my leap of faith into the hidden realms of Faeries, Hot springs, and volcanoes … I could scratch by with this trip, fingers crossed nothing goes wrong, for there is no room for failure. I shall trust the God/desses that the journey will flow like a leaf in the wind …. I passed out about 1:00 am. Exhausted. All the final packing will need to be completed in the morning. I leave tomorrow for the Oregon Trail ….”

Continue reading 7.27.09: Cronicles of STL: Chapter 17: ‘Flower Fairies and Preparations for Faerieworlds’

Share

7.21.09: Cronicles of STL: Chapter 11: ‘The Faerie Great Awakening, Otherkin, Faeids, Faeries, gardening, domesticus’



flowers in my garden blooming

[ Back to Chapter 10: Mayan Prophecy ]   [ Chapter 11: Faerie Great Awakening ]   [ Chapter 12: The Otherworld ]

From the journal of Sir Thomas “Rymour Oisin” Leaf: The 21st of Quintilis (Julius Caesar’s “July”) in the good year 2009 of the Common Era


“Interesting dreams last night as I absorbed what speakers, tribesman, and friends from Dreamtime and other communities keep talking about with the Mayan Prophecy. Early into the laboratory to work on archaeology with loads of computer issues that I also needed to straighten out for my team as the database and network access kept breaking connectivity. Apparently their system and technology is failing them and is just simply going to hell which of course doesn’t alleviate my stress level. I’m already ready for another vacation! After work, I returned to my enchanted cottage to absorb the beauty of the plants starting to produce in my garden – lettuce, tomatoes, pumpkins, herbs, and flowers. Of course with all the recent travels the weeds have gotten out of hand, so a portion of the afternoon was spent weeding and giving the plants attention and care. In the evening I started to contemplate ‘other’ alternative community prophecies about changes to come, transitions, and perhaps connections to 2012. This of course brought me to spend the evening on contemplation about the Otherkin and Faerie realms beliefs about the ‘Great Awakening’ as there were quite a few references to ‘Great Awakening’ and ‘Quickening’ in the ‘Mayan and 2012 prophecies’. Looking for connections and lead-ins, but what the hippies, cults, religions, and movements refer to as ‘the Great Awakening’ in their mythos is quite different than what the ‘Otherkin’, ‘Faeries’, and ‘Otherworldly spirits’ describe as their ‘Great Awakening’. So in order to keep the two separate, even if they might be describing the same thing, I’ll describe below what I’ve heard, read, written, and been exposed to as ‘The Faerie Great Awakening’ even if it does involve more than just the Faerie realm. Much of this is described in detail within my upcoming book about Faeids and Otherkin so in a way, these festivals, theories, interviews, discussions, and networking has acted as a ‘muse’ to me to get me back into writing. While all of this may be portrayed as ‘fantasy’, ‘science fiction’, ‘pseudo-science’, ‘mythology’, ‘folklore’, and ‘hogwash’ … to many I’ve discussed and networked with (including over 100 interviews) – many believe this to be the ‘truth’, ‘reality’, ‘prophecy’, and ‘the future’. Make of it what you will.”

Fairy Faith Brian Froud interview excerpt
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oYY1sdXmJwI

Continue reading 7.21.09: Cronicles of STL: Chapter 11: ‘The Faerie Great Awakening, Otherkin, Faeids, Faeries, gardening, domesticus’

Share

Brian Froud & Wendy Froud

Brian and Wendy Froud
Gallery at Trolls et Legendes Festival in Mons, Belgium: 4/11/09 – 4/12/09
www.worldoffroud.com
Brian Froud is one of the world’s most reknown faerie artists. Teamed together with his wife, this duo brings a window into the faerie world and its many “good neighbours” through art, writing, film, and figure. Brian Froud was born in Winchester in 1947 and came to blossom with his art and specialty of faeries, goblins, and kindred – painting the spirit and soul of what he sees. He graduated with Honours from Maidstone College of Art in 1971 with a degree in Graphic Design. Working in London first with magazine covers, zines, and children books – he soon fruitioned into his own artist. He’s most famously known for “Faeries”, “Goblins”, “The World of Faeries”, “Lady Cottington’s Pressed Fairies”, “The Runes of Elfland”, “The Faeries Oracle”, “Good Faeries / Bad Faeries”, and “Strange Stains and Mysterious Smells”. Utilizing acryllic paint, colored pencils, watercolors, poster paint, and other artistic mediums for his fantastical images. He’s also known for his creative work and imagery in film with “Labyrinth” and “The Dark Crystal”. It was on the set of “The Dark Crystal” that Brian met his soon-to-be bride Wendy Midener. Brian’s wife Wendy, a puppet designer, is inspired by the same realm as she creates puppets, sculptures, and figurines – some of which have been used by “The Muppet Show” and “Star Wars”. She’s the responsible artist behind “Yoda” and the “Gelflings”. Their son Toby Froud was the baby who starred in the film “Labyrinth” of which whom Brian served as conceptual designer on. Brian and Wendy Froud are by far, amongst my most favorite artists. A big Thank you to the Froud’s for their incredible imagery, inspiration, and portal to the land of the fae. Rating: 5+ stars out of 5.

Continue reading Brian Froud & Wendy Froud

Share

Sandrine Gestin

Sandrine Gestin
Gallery at Trolls et Legendes Festival in Mons, Belgium: 4/11/09 – 4/12/09
http://www.sandrinegestin.com/
Another inspiring artist who presented at the Festival was Sandrine Gestin who has been displaying her fantasy art for the last three Trolls & Lgendes. Her inspiration comes from the legends of Brittany, as well as epic and fantasy stories. Her artwork is characterized with the feminine and androgynous beings from the world of Fae, with magic and charisma charming the viewer with her visual poetry. Excellent art. Rating: 5 stars out of 5.

Continue reading Sandrine Gestin

Share