Tag Archives: Halloween

Emma Crawford Coffin Races

Emma Crawford Coffin Races 2017

Every October, the city of Manitou Springs Colorado comes together to celebrate a facet of macabre history of the village – the day that Emma Crawford’s coffin came racing down the mountain. To celebrate it, residents and visitors alike come dressed up in Halloween costumes and the main street is shut down for a “coffin race” for all to see.

Emma Crawford moved to Manitou Springs in the 1800’s seeking a cure for her struggle with tuberculosis. Since the Springs of Manitou were notorious for curing TB, it was a good place for her to be. In 1890 though, the illness got the best of her, and she passed away. Her wish upon her death was to be buried on top of Red Mountain, overlooking the village.

Friends, family, and villagers honored her request, hauled her body up the mountain, and buried her atop the mountain. However, as is common with this region susceptible to floods and weather … Several years of rain and harsh weather chewed away at the top soil above her grave and eventually her remains slid down the mountain into the canyon below where two young boys discovered her name plate and silver handles of her casket.

Annually Manitou celebrates the event and the woman with parades, parties, concerts, and a city event.

15th Annual Emma Crawford Races, 2009

23rd Annual Emma Crawford Races, 2017


Emma Crawford Coffin Races 2017 (http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=34079), Manitou Springs, Colorado. New Life in Colorado: Chronicle 26 – Chronicles of Sir Thomas Leaf and Prince Cian. Adventures in Colorado. Photos taken October 28, 2017. To read the adventures, visit http://www.technogypsie.com/chronicles/?p=21965. To read reviews, visit: www.technogypsie.com/reviews. All photos and articles (c) 2017. Technogypsie.com – by Leaf McGowan and Thomas Baurley. All rights reserved. www.technogypsie.com/photography. More info about Colorado Springs: http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=31051

Share

Rock Creek Farm Corn Maze, Denver, CO

Rock Creek Farm Corn Maze ( http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=28063) - Halloween Fun 2016 - Sir Thomas and the Prince, Denver, Colorado. New Life in Colorado: Chronicle 26 - Chronicles of Sir Thomas Leaf  and Prince Cian.  Adventures in Colorado. Photos taken October 30, 2016.  To read the adventures, visit   http://www.technogypsie.com/chronicles/?p=21965.   To read reviews, visit: www.technogypsie.com/reviews.  All photos and articles (c) 2015/2016 Technogypsie.com - by Leaf McGowan and Thomas Baurley. All rights reserved. www.technogypsie.com/photography
Rock Creek Farm Corn Maze

Rock Creek Farm Corn Maze
~ 2005 S US Highway 287,
Broomfield, Colorado ~ (303) 465-9565 ~ https://www.facebook.com/RockCreekFarm/ ~

This year, for Halloween fun, we joined together with some close friends and high tailed it to the Rock Creek Farm for their miles of corn mazes to explore. It was my son’s first experience tromping around such custom-styled, aerial view famed mazes such as these. Rock Creek has hundreds of acres of pumpkin patches and corn fields ready to explore and enjoy for the Fall holidays. The U-Pick-Em pumpking fields are great places to get your festivity decor and pumpkins. They have a petting farm with pigs, ponies, goats, donkeys, chickens, and other farm animals. They have bouncy houses and inflatable slides, rolling balls, and other games to partake in. Many activities are free, others were a bit pricey. They did put a lot of work into creating these fields. We had a great time. Rating: 3.5 stars out of 5

Rock Creek Farm Corn Maze ( http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=28063) - Halloween Fun 2016 - Sir Thomas and the Prince, Denver, Colorado. New Life in Colorado: Chronicle 26 - Chronicles of Sir Thomas Leaf  and Prince Cian.  Adventures in Colorado. Photos taken October 30, 2016.  To read the adventures, visit   http://www.technogypsie.com/chronicles/?p=21965.   To read reviews, visit: www.technogypsie.com/reviews.  All photos and articles (c) 2015/2016 Technogypsie.com - by Leaf McGowan and Thomas Baurley. All rights reserved. www.technogypsie.com/photography
Rock Creek Farm Corn Maze ( http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=28063) – Halloween Fun 2016 – Sir Thomas and the Prince, Denver, Colorado. New Life in Colorado: Chronicle 26 – Chronicles of Sir Thomas Leaf and Prince Cian. Adventures in Colorado. Photos taken October 30, 2016. To read the adventures, visit http://www.technogypsie.com/chronicles/?p=21965. To read reviews, visit: www.technogypsie.com/reviews. All photos and articles (c) 2015/2016 Technogypsie.com – by Leaf McGowan and Thomas Baurley. All rights reserved. www.technogypsie.com/photography

Continue reading Rock Creek Farm Corn Maze, Denver, CO

Share

Trick or Treat Main Street Parker, Colorado 2016

Trick or Treating Main Street Parker, Colorado (http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=28095). New Life in Colorado: Chronicle 26 - Chronicles of Sir Thomas Leaf  and Prince Cian.  Adventures in Colorado. Photos taken October 31, 2016.  To read the adventures, visit   http://www.technogypsie.com/chronicles/?p=21965.   To read reviews, visit: www.technogypsie.com/reviews.  All photos and articles (c) 2015/2016 Technogypsie.com - by Leaf McGowan and Thomas Baurley. All rights reserved. www.technogypsie.com/photography
Trick or Treating Main Street Parker

Trick or Treating Celebration
~ Parker, Colorado ~

Each year, downtown Parker Colorado puts on a street block event along mainstreet closing off the streets for vendors and local businesses to hand out trick-or-treating treats and candies from their booths to the local kids and attendees of the fest. They have a mini-corn maze, performers, actors, music, and information/goods from the businesses in the area. Its a free event with a great attendance. My son came home with a bucket load of treats. Good times and a nice scenic downtown sector. This year (2016) was held on Halloween itself (10/31/16). Rating: 3 stars out of 5

Trick or Treating Main Street Parker, Colorado (http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=28095). New Life in Colorado: Chronicle 26 - Chronicles of Sir Thomas Leaf  and Prince Cian.  Adventures in Colorado. Photos taken October 31, 2016.  To read the adventures, visit   http://www.technogypsie.com/chronicles/?p=21965.   To read reviews, visit: www.technogypsie.com/reviews.  All photos and articles (c) 2015/2016 Technogypsie.com - by Leaf McGowan and Thomas Baurley. All rights reserved. www.technogypsie.com/photography
Trick or Treating Main Street Parker, Colorado (http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=28095). New Life in Colorado: Chronicle 26 – Chronicles of Sir Thomas Leaf and Prince Cian. Adventures in Colorado. Photos taken October 31, 2016. To read the adventures, visit http://www.technogypsie.com/chronicles/?p=21965. To read reviews, visit: www.technogypsie.com/reviews. All photos and articles (c) 2015/2016 Technogypsie.com – by Leaf McGowan and Thomas Baurley. All rights reserved. www.technogypsie.com/photography

Continue reading Trick or Treat Main Street Parker, Colorado 2016

Share

Shandon Center Samhain Dragon Parade 2011

http://www.dragonofshandon.com/ * Dragon of Shandon Samhain Parade in Cork, Ireland on Halloween * Monday, October 31, 2011. This year’s parade featured creations from hundreds of community group participants, Irelands largest articulated sellotape Dragon, scary characters, musicians and an illuminated river parade by Naomhóga Chorcaí and Meithal Mara up the River Lee.

Share

Radical Societies ‘makeup’ Halloween / New Years’ Eve Party (Denver, Colorado)

Photos from Radical Societies ‘makeup Halloween’ New Year’s Eve Party
Denver, Colorado * January 31, 2009

Continue reading Radical Societies ‘makeup’ Halloween / New Years’ Eve Party (Denver, Colorado)

Share

7.25.09: Cronicles of STL: Chapter 15: ‘Halloween Comes Early This Year’


[ Back to Chapter 14: The Ghost of Briarhurst Manor ]   [ Chapter 15: Halloween Comes Early This Year ]   [ Chapter 16: Renaissance Faire ]


Pirate for Early Halloween

From the journal of Sir Thomas “Rymour Oisin” Leaf: The 25th of Quintilis (Julius Caesar’s “July”) in the good year 2009 of the Common Era


“Arrrgghh, yeee matey! I’ve been able to sleep! So nice to have a day to be able to sleep in abit. Before I was to wander off to my adventures, I went up the hill to my landlord’s castle for a delicious barbeque. Ribs, Chicken, smokies, salads, and desserts oh my! It was a grand feast for sure. Got to meet lots of my neighbours and some from further up in the foothills of Cheyenne Mountain and NORAD drew me a map leading me into the woods for a future adventure of a historic homestead, mountain lion’s den, and airplane crash fucilage. Sweet. I have yet to explore ye old Cheyenne Mountain State Park even though its been my backyard for more than a fortnight’. I just have to find the time to hike it soon, before winter befalls me. More tales of the cougars in our hood getting into the trash and tromping through people’s yards. As I headed down the hill to my serfly cottage I spied the local wild turkeys gobbling through the yard with hatchlings following close by. Sooo cool. Then on to Party #2, as I hit Mark and Pam’s housewarming. More wonderful food and spread. Got to catch up with the co-workers and then get a tour of the rebuilt house that sprung forth from the ashes of their formerly burnt down palace. A few hours later I was back at the cottage donning my pirate outfit, painting on makeup, and braiding my hair with exotic beads. Then into my ship for a drive up to Denver. I met up with PJ, Mark, and the lovely Christina for bevvies and grub. My seafaring friend Eric from the Seattle ports with the captive maiden Julia came to join us. Frolick, laughter, and jokes spun the clock away for soon enough I was off like a boot to the burner warehouse party ‘Halloween Comes Early This Year’ at Bat Country. The decor was outdone and enchanting at best, with a warm kindling hearth ablaze on the patio. Pretty hot and steamy inside the depths of the cave with skeletons, zombies, and ghosts dancing to amazing music. Due to the summer heat though much time was spent outside by the fire. Met up with Shawn and his wife for some partying fun. DJ Milk joined in the festive frolick as he drove the dancefloor mad. Flirtations abound I lasted until 4. Groggy, recovering, and sleepy I was, bestowed with the best of blessings for a good night’s rest under the Brian Froud Faeries collage to bring intriguing dreams as I passed out on PJ’s comfy bed. Thank you PJ for a place to crash! I owe ya plenty!”


plunder and pillage

Continue reading 7.25.09: Cronicles of STL: Chapter 15: ‘Halloween Comes Early This Year’

Share

7.23.09: Cronicles of STL: Chapter 13: ‘The Four Horsemen’, 80’s @ Thunder and Buttons, Preparing for Halloween


[ Back to Chapter 12: The Otherworld ]   [ Chapter 13: The Four Horsemen ]   [ Chapter 14: Briarhurst Manor ]

From the journal of Sir Thomas “Rymour Oisin” Leaf: The 23rd of Quintilis (Julius Caesar’s “July”) in the good year 2009 of the Common Era


“Early to rise and finding relief at work as the end of the week approaches and the computer woes finally see resolution so that we can actually get some stuff done. I returned home after work to find relaxation in watching the movie ‘The Four Horsemen’ which was a pretty intriguing movie. In addition started to put together my halloween costume of being a pirate for this weekend’s burner party “Halloween comes Early this year” which i figure I’d wear since my plans for the following day would be a pirate for the Renaissance Faire. Evening revealed a much increased need for dancing as I ventured out to old historic Colorado City to see my friend Shelby DJ an 80’s night at Thunder and Buttons. Popped on my parachute pants and a black bowling shirt and went to dance. There wasn’t many people dancing but certainly got to hear my favorites. Viktoria called and was potentially arriving tonight, but alas she had some delays in her journey and wouldn’t make it until friday. Once home it was time to pass out with the ‘Four Horsemen of the Apocalypse’ running through my head.”

My review of “The Horsemen”


DJ Gypsy spinning 80’s at Thunder and Buttons
My Review of 80’s night at Thunder and Buttons II

Continue reading 7.23.09: Cronicles of STL: Chapter 13: ‘The Four Horsemen’, 80’s @ Thunder and Buttons, Preparing for Halloween

Share