Tag Archives: Lunar Fire

Chronicles: July 5-28, 2010: Pirates, Environment, Portal, Road to Faerie


Me and Faerie Twig

Journeys around Colorado, July 5-28, 2010

As we join back with Sir Thomas Rhymer Oisin Leaf McGowan on his journey between the worlds we see that much contemplations about the dimensions, wanderlust, adventures, and concerns about the Earth has been swarming around in his mind and his concerns. He begins to feel restless and out of place. He begins to feel change stir and action begin to ignite with new plans and adventures amidst.

Around the middle of July, Sir Thomas Leaf, accompanied Lady Absinthe Alli to view The Portal. A multimedia extravaganza of mystical lore, myths, legends, with sacred visions, and insight of times past to future events to become. Later that weekend, He joined Quartermaster Q, Absinthe Alli, and Lady Cristina to enter the village of Larkspur for their 2010 Colorado Renaissance Faire. The adventure party was beset on finding goods for their life journeys and style as well as much merriment to be had at the Pirate Pub for comedy, song, and festive mead drinking. Watching the knights joust, the Washing Wenches doing their shenanigans, and admiring fine garments. Barbaric devouring of turkey legs and roasted artichokes. Much much more mead was imbibed by the crew.

Before exiting the Renaissance Faire, Sir Thomas Leaf encountered the gorgeous and ethereal Fairy Twig who granted him a magical stone as a charm for his next journey. That evening, lucid trance dancing was had by Lady Cristina and Sir Thomas Leaf as they partook of the musical visions of Lunar Fire at Cervantes.

Discussions of projects to be had with Pirate Relief were set into forward action during these weeks as plans to adddress the great Pacific Garbage Patch (aka Trash Island), involvement in the upcoming Brethrencon, and travels for the road to Faerie for more omens and insight about Faerie Renaissance to come.

The world is coming to some transitions and levels of dangerous concern as its inhabitants are not being aware of sustainability, ecological awareness, recycling, and environmental disasters such as Garbage Island and The Gulf Oil Spill, wars in Iraq, Afghanistan, Recessions, and natural disasters.

Ideas brewed between the crew of Pirate Relief as they learned the stories of Captain Charles Moore who had stumbled upon the monstrosity of the Vortex in the middle of the Pacific Ocean. Not only are there several of these vortexes, but some of them are larger square acreage than the entire United States. No one seems to be addressing these issues, rather just mark and track them with no real set plans on addressing a cleanup. Pirate Relief not quite sure what they can do about it has beset to start investigating some ideas for implementing a cleanup. Ideas around the Plastic bottle island in Mexico and the successful arrival of Plastiki: the catamaran built of 12,000 water bottles that sailed from California to Australia set into much inspiration about future projects.

A weekend of camping and relaxing on the river outside of Leadville led to many contemplations about life, journeys, transitions, and quests. Accompanied by Lady Cristina and her son, fun adventures were had by all as merriment was found celebrating birthdays of dear friends, music, food, story, and song. Sir Thomas Leaf gained some vision about what he wanted out of his future and his upcoming quests.

Blessings of Lady Kimmy, Lady Kelly, and Sir Emilio made the journey possible for Sir Thomas Leaf to visit the land of Faerieworlds again this year. Discussions with his crew, Sir Thomas Leaf and Pirate Relief’s Booty Girl (treasurer – she who counts the booty) Absinthe Alli, and her daughter princess Astranna decided to make the trek to the land of Faerie. On Wednesday, 28 July 2010 after Sir Thomas’ work in the Curation lab and Absinthe Alli’s work in the accounting office – they set off on the road to Faerie late that evening as they drove in Absinthe Alli’s carriage from Colorado through the rolling plains of Wyoming ….


Colorado Renaissance Faire






This Journey is quite expensive & took quite a bit of personal sacrifice to make happen.
Any contribution, $1, $5, $10+ will help more than you can believe
and will add more adventures, photos, stories, and reviews for your pleasure …

Photos and videos below the cut:

Continue reading Chronicles: July 5-28, 2010: Pirates, Environment, Portal, Road to Faerie

Share

Lunar Fire @ Cervantes * 7/18/10

Lunar Fire @ Cervantes * 18th of July, 2010 *
A evening of fun at Cervantes watching one of my favorite Colorado acts: Lunar Fire perform the night away. Entertained by art, merchants, and face painting by David and Kathy, the evening was a good time had by all. Lunar Fire blends incredible musical talent, vocals, costumes, dance, and theater into a remarkable stage performance you’ll never forget. As always, this awesome band from the Otherworlds, comprised of members of the world famous shamanic rock band “Kan’nal”, the music takes a weave of magical evolution with high energy, fire dancing, spectacular theatrics, and an earth shaking experience. They’ve been dubbed “Tribal Gypsy Hop” brining in multi-lingual lyrics, rap, hip hop, disco, trance guitar, bass funk, and massive tribal percussion. Lunar Fire embodied the definition of “Dance Party” wherever they play. The majority of the audience crowd danced and moved the the amazing rhythms of this fantastical force. Lunar Fire is beginning to hit international popularity, with 100 performances in over three countries. They have performed at many festivals including Dream Time Festival, Burning Man, 3 sided Whole, and High Sierra Music Festival. Gilly Gonzales on hand drums and kit; Tierro on guitars; Rodolfo Escobar III on bass, Mateo on cajon and sound engineering, Lisa Wimberger on congas and African drums; Teresita on mic and dance; and dancers Akayate from Kan’nal; Tiffany of Artsmyths; MaQi of Maqi healing arts, and Katchi of Kataliktic Inc bring to the stage an amazing performance. What an absolutely otherworldly enchanting entity. Combined with performing arts the show was stunning and aesthetic though not one of their best. While many of their performances have been a 5 out of 5, this particular one got a rating : 4 stars out of 5.

Continue reading Lunar Fire @ Cervantes * 7/18/10

Share

7.18.09: Cronicles of STL: Chapter 8: ‘Dreamtime Festival – Day 3’



Blue Man handpainted by Leaf McGowan

[ Back to Chapter 7: Dreamtime, Day 2 ]   [ Chapter 8: Dreamtime, Day 3 ]   [ Chapter 9: Dreamtime, Day 4 ]

From the journal of Sir Thomas “Rymour Oisin” Leaf: The 18th of Quintilis (Julius Caesar’s “July”) in the good year 2009 of the Common Era


“Early to get up with the rising sun to go get the booth setup. I think I was one of the first merchants to be awake and to open the booth. Desiree, LJ, and Kurtis every morning were amongst the first to have their tables open and were one of the latest booths open. Good to have them as neighbors as they were extremely helpful in watching my booth when i needed to get wet in the showers to fight off the hot sun or bathroom/food breaks. Got some more wonderful hangout time with the lovely Wendy and Dana. Decided this would be the last day of bodypainting as there wouldn’t be much call for it on Sunday with everyone packing up and leaving for the real world. Had two patrons who wanted full bodypaint jobs. Towards evening got completely swamped with painting people up towards darkness as I tried to paint myself and was unable to finish in the light as had to even turn some away for painting as the light vanished. Everyone wanted to be painted towards evening for Saturday night’s activities. Some dust storms and winds hit the camp making painting more difficult. Did quite a few tarot readings as well through the day/night. Unfortunately given the dust/wind/and loss of light, my bodypaint job on myself I felt came out horrible. As I went down to join Wendy and Dana for the Lunar Fire show, I felt very subconscious and horrible that my purple man was peeling and not holding up. So I hit the showers and washed it off in order to try to preserve the evening for the Mayan ritual and Lunar Fire. There was definitely a very odd energy flowing saturday night and felt by many of my friends, the peaceful attendees that we came to know for the last few days was forced to embrace what seemed like a large group of outsiders coming into our sacred space, getting into people’s faces, hostility, and guys who were not respecting women’s boundaries. We could only guess that yahoos and locals who don’t really fit into the vision of the festival came to gawk, get wasted, and try to pick up on the women at the festival. It wasn’t good energy at all. I’m also a very big fan of Lunar Fire, but wasn’t as impressed with their show at this festival like I am at all their other shows. The Mayan ritual was pretty phenomenal though, minus the yahoos who did their best to ruin the sacred experience by us all. Given the negative energy that these outsiders brought into the festival grounds, I wasn’t in a very social, partying, or wandering mood … I decided to turn in early as I’d have a big day packing up tomorrow. You win some days and lose others at festivals. Art-wise and oracle-wise, it was however a very successful day.”

Continue reading 7.18.09: Cronicles of STL: Chapter 8: ‘Dreamtime Festival – Day 3’

Share

Tribal Visions Festival 2009

Tribal Visions Festival
Near Taos, New Mexico * http://www.tribalvisionfest.org/ * http://www.myspace.com/tribalvisions2009 *
Down by Taos, New Mexico; across the Rio Grande Gorge, just south of the Earthships, lies an annual festival in the desert Juniper scrublands dedicated to the Tribal visions of the people who have together to live sustainably in the area. Many from the Rainbow Tribe of Light, associated with the Rainbow Gathering, have bonded together to bring a music and spiritual festival for four days centering on music, ceremony, and transformative workshops. It sounded to good to be true. In addition, one of our favorite bands – Lunar Fire was playing, so regardless we figured it would be worth the road trip from Colorado. We could of sworn the web site billed Lunar Fire for Saturday night, but that was the first downfall of the festival since we didn’t arrive until saturday morning in that Lunar Fire actually played on Friday night. Apparently the festival started on Thursday, though we were told by others it started friday and lasted through monday. This was atypical of our experience with the festival. There was no guidebook or official timeline except some etchings on some wood outside the maingate that was not noticeable at best. The main music stage was well put together and appears to have offered the musicians all they needed to astound the audiences. However, the audiences were lacking as the festival was poorly attended. This affected the merchants I’m sure as saturday and sunday I saw little to no activity or clientele in the merchant area. I’m sure they came out at a loss. They had billed some great acts – that alone should have brought people into the festival, but unfortunately the directions, signage, and routing failed – poorly conceived and organized. I’m not sure who all arrived as was billed – but by saturday, the festival was a dud. Billed were: Festival Emcee, Fantuzzi, Arjun & Guardians, The Human Revolution, Lynx & Janover, Lunar Fire, Elephant Revival, Retono, Planet Jam, Peace Tribe, Xander Greene, Lindsey Vona, Medicine for the People, Galactic Council, Inti, The Electric Primadonnas, Moose Caboose, Rivet Gang, The Grave of Nobody’s Darling, Super Conscience World Conquest, Oso, Lil’ Sum’n Sum’n, and Gabriel Starchild. DJ’s Audio Buddha, Labdwella, Mingus, Osyrus, Ram, DJ Tribe, C Love and the Irie Pirates.

Continue reading Tribal Visions Festival 2009

Share

6/28/09: Gypsy Nomads and Lunar Fire at Owsleys (Denver)

Lunar Fire and Gypsy Nomads @ Owsley’s on 6/29/09
* 2151 Lawrence Street, Denver, Colorado * 303-296-2844 *
Right in Five Points is a off-center warehouse bar that offers great entertainment. Plenty of parking and a back patio it’s a thriving little concert hall. At first I didn’t think the stage and dancefloor could be spacious enough for the likes of Lunar Fire, but it seemed to work very well. I like the space. First up was the amazing Gypsy Nomads from New York. Amazing rhythmn and drumming. Seeing this band was a wonderful treat. Followed by the stars of the Evening, Lunar Fire with their amazing lyrics, music, mesmerizing dances and theater, spinning cloth, acrobatics, spinning, and ritual. Lunar Fire is by far my favorite band in the state of Colorado. Rating 5 stars out of 5.

Review of the Gypsy Nomads 6/28/09

Review of Lunar Fire 6/28/09 Continue reading 6/28/09: Gypsy Nomads and Lunar Fire at Owsleys (Denver)

Share

Lunar Fire 6/28/09 at Owsleys, Denver, Colorado

Lunar Fire http://www.lunarfire.com/
Rooted with the infamous band “Kan’nal” this mystical array of musical talent, vocals, costumes, dance, and theater divinely constructed into a remarkable stage performance you’ll never forget. Amazing performance like always on 6/28/09 in Denver at Owsleys. As always, this awesome band from the Otherworlds, takes a weave of magical evolution with high energy, fire dancing, spectacular theatrics, and an earth shaking experience. They’ve been dubbed “Tribal Gypsy Hop” bringing in multi-lingual lyrics, rap, hip hop, disco, trance guitar, bass funk, and massive tribal percussion. Lunar Fire embodied the definition of “Dance Party” wherever they play. The majority of the audience crowd danced and moved to the amazing rhythms of this fantastical force. Lunar Fire is beginning to hit international popularity, with 100 performances in over three countries. They have performed at many festivals including Dream Time Festival, Burning Man, 3 sided Whole, and High Sierra Music Festival. Gilly Gonzales on hand drums and kit; Tierro on guitars; Rodolfo Escobar III on bass, Mateo on cajon and sound engineering, Lisa Wimberger on congas and African drums; Teresita on mic and dance; and dancers Akayate from Kan’nal; Tiffany of Artsmyths; MaQi of Maqi healing arts, and Katchi of Kataliktic Inc bring to the stage an amazing performance. What an absolutely otherworldly enchanting entity. As always, I’m blown away by this band who always draws me into dancing up a storm – and that says alot, I don’t often dance to bands being one of those only hitting the floor on a dancefloor at a club. But this band definitely turns me into a whirling dervish. Rated: 5 stars out of 5.

Incredible angelic faeries dancing in the pyschedelic lights … Owlesleys, Denver, CO 6/28/09
Continue reading Lunar Fire 6/28/09 at Owsleys, Denver, Colorado

Share

2009 Boulder SolFest

Boulder SolFest 2009
http://www.bouldersolfest.com/ * SUNDAY, JUNE 21, 2009 * Double Rainbow Ranch * 6541 N 63rd St, Niwot, Colorado * 4-11pm, $12 *
This year I decided to try out the Boulder SolFest at the Double Rainbow Ranch. At first, arriving into someone’s backyard with only a few people around shortly after gates opened originally concerned me that no one was going to show up even though they had billed some great local talent. But as the clock ticked along, a good crowd showed up. They also had some local natural art/products vendor tables, and once the fear of rain dismissed, the talent took to the stage to provide a wonderful show that led to a brilliant Summer Solstice fire ceremony ritual and fire dancing. Pretty spectacular, home-feel community and connectivity. Lil Sum’N Sum’N with Tierro and Gilly from Kan’nal, Ariana Saraha, the Mountain Trance Medicine Band, and Shaela Noella mesmerized the comfy crowd with some wonderful music for the welcoming of Summer and the celebration of Father’s Day. I was quite pleased and thought the event went very well. I couldn’t stay to the bitter end as I had work back in Colorado Springs the next morning, but was very fulfilled with the beauty shared with us. Thank you! Rating: 3.75 stars out of 5.

Lil Sum’n Sum’n * http://www.myspace.com/lilsumnsumn
A artistic music project from members of Lunar Fire and Kan’nal that is composed of Lisa Wimberger, Tierro, and Gil Gonzalez blesses its audiences with improvisational psy-trance world beat haung drums, tablas, doumbeks, dounouns, congas, shakers, udas, guitars, drones, ballaphones, with tap dancing blending rhythmns and music from afro-cuban, african, middle eastern, and American influences. Simply amazing trio.

Mountain Trance Medicine Band * www.myspace.com/mountaintrance
The main act for the SolFest 2009 I attended as it was held at their ranch. I’ve been seeing quite a bit of this band lately and impressed with their music. Regressive TechnoBilly Bluegrass Funk. They bring together the banjo, drum, didjeridoo, and other traditional instruments influenced by the old claw-hammer dance tunes merging tribal beats of modal mountain melodies to trancy grooves, sanskrit ragas, and bluegrass harmonies. Very dance-able stuff. Mountain Trance is made up of Paul Temple, Hal Landem, Michael Krow, Jessee Layton, Damian Leuthold, and JVonD. Great performance and magic! Thank you!

Ariana Saraha * www.arianasaraha.com
Another great performer I’ve seen a bit of lately mesmerizing her audience with Middle East, Far East, Celtic and Flamenco flavored world beats blending together traditional with a natural soulful funk. Amazing rhythmns and vocals that inspires environmental healing through music. Very inspirational. Thank you Ariana!

Shaela Noella * www.myspace.com/shaelanoella
An amazing enchantress from Hawaii, Shaela Noella brought to SolFest spiritually strengthening and blessing acoustic songs to her audience. She was an amazing presence that made my Summer Solstice blessed. Thank you.

 
 

Continue reading 2009 Boulder SolFest

Share

Lunar Fire (6/20/09)

Lunar Fire @ the Summer Solstice Celebration at the Mishawaka Amphitheater by Fort Collins, Colorado on June 20, 2009 * http://www.lunarfire.com/
Growingly becoming one of my favorite bands in the Colorado music scene, Lunar Fire blends incredible musical talent, vocals, costumes, dance, and theater into a remarkable stage performance you’ll never forget. As always, this awesome band from the Otherworlds, comprised of members of the world famous shamanic rock band “Kan’nal”, the music takes a weave of magical evolution with high energy, fire dancing, spectacular theatrics, and an earth shaking experience. They’ve been dubbed “Tribal Gypsy Hop” brining in multi-lingual lyrics, rap, hip hop, disco, trance guitar, bass funk, and massive tribal percussion. Lunar Fire embodied the definition of “Dance Party” wherever they play. The majority of the audience crowd danced and moved the the amazing rhythms of this fantastical force. Lunar Fire is beginning to hit international popularity, with 100 performances in over three countries. They have performed at many festivals including Dream Time Festival, Burning Man, 3 sided Whole, and High Sierra Music Festival. Gilly Gonzales on hand drums and kit; Tierro on guitars; Rodolfo Escobar III on bass, Mateo on cajon and sound engineering, Lisa Wimberger on congas and African drums; Teresita on mic and dance; and dancers Akayate from Kan’nal; Tiffany of Artsmyths; MaQi of Maqi healing arts, and Katchi of Kataliktic Inc bring to the stage an amazing performance. What an absolutely otherworldly enchanting entity. Combined with cloth dancing and aerial aerobics, fire spinning, and an incredible fire ritual – I truly welcomed in the Summer Solstice. Thank you. Rating : 5 stars out of 5.

Continue reading Lunar Fire (6/20/09)

Share

DAY 2 and 3 of BELTANIA 2009

2nd Annual Colorado Beltania Festival: Day 2 and 3
www.beltanefestival.com * Parrish Ranch * Outside of Fort Collins, Colorado * Living Earth aka Highlands Ranch Pagan Meetup *
Friday-Sunday, May 8-10, 2009
“Living Earth” which is formerly known as “Highlands Ranch Pagan Meetup” has begun to host an annual celebration of the Pagan Sabbat of “Beltane” or “May Day”. On their 2nd annual run of the three day festival, this nonprofit event on a private ranch brings festivity to the season with open rituals, classes, workshops, children’s activities, and service projects. Beltania offered its attendees a large outdoor stage with some incredible acts, an indoor 3000 square foot lodge, hundreds of acres of outdoor space, restrooms with cold water showers, workshops, activities, rituals, a traditional Maypole dance, sweat lodge ceremonies, all-night drum circles, catered breakfasts/dinners, merchant area, RV/camper’s hookups, wild camping area, quiet camping area, skyclad areas, a swimming river, and much more. Over the course of the three days, the festival saw over 700 guests in attendance.

May Pole Procession:

Continue reading DAY 2 and 3 of BELTANIA 2009

Share