Tag Archives: pubs

Black Shirt Brewery (Denver, Co)

Denver SantaCon 2016 ( http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=29647); Black Shirt Brewery

Black Shirt Brewery
~ Denver, Colorado ~

Write up coming soon ….

Denver SantaCon 2016 ( http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=29647); Black Shirt Brewery ( http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=29657) – New Life in Colorado: Chronicle 26 – Chronicles of Sir Thomas Leaf and Prince Cian. Adventures in Colorado. Photos taken December 23, 2016. To read the adventures, visit http://www.technogypsie.com/chronicles/?p=21965. To read reviews, visit: www.technogypsie.com/reviews. All photos and articles (c) 2015/2016 Technogypsie.com – by Leaf McGowan and Thomas Baurley. All rights reserved. www.technogypsie.com/photography

Denver SantaCon 2016 ( http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=29647); Black Shirt Brewery ( http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=29657) – New Life in Colorado: Chronicle 26 – Chronicles of Sir Thomas Leaf and Prince Cian. Adventures in Colorado. Photos taken December 23, 2016. To read the adventures, visit http://www.technogypsie.com/chronicles/?p=21965. To read reviews, visit: www.technogypsie.com/reviews. All photos and articles (c) 2015/2016 Technogypsie.com – by Leaf McGowan and Thomas Baurley. All rights reserved. www.technogypsie.com/photography

Denver SantaCon 2016 ( http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=29647); Black Shirt Brewery ( http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=29657) – New Life in Colorado: Chronicle 26 – Chronicles of Sir Thomas Leaf and Prince Cian. Adventures in Colorado. Photos taken December 23, 2016. To read the adventures, visit http://www.technogypsie.com/chronicles/?p=21965. To read reviews, visit: www.technogypsie.com/reviews. All photos and articles (c) 2015/2016 Technogypsie.com – by Leaf McGowan and Thomas Baurley. All rights reserved. www.technogypsie.com/photography

Denver SantaCon 2016 ( http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=29647); Black Shirt Brewery ( http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=29657) – New Life in Colorado: Chronicle 26 – Chronicles of Sir Thomas Leaf and Prince Cian. Adventures in Colorado. Photos taken December 23, 2016. To read the adventures, visit http://www.technogypsie.com/chronicles/?p=21965. To read reviews, visit: www.technogypsie.com/reviews. All photos and articles (c) 2015/2016 Technogypsie.com – by Leaf McGowan and Thomas Baurley. All rights reserved. www.technogypsie.com/photography

Share

The haunted White Eagle Tavern (Portland, OR)

White Eagle Hotel and Pub:  http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=25907. Life in the Gorge: Chronicle 22 - Chronicles of Sir Thomas Leaf, Lady Etain, and Prince Cian.  The Gorge/Columbia River, Oregon-Washington. Photos taken March 27, 2016.  To read the adventures, visit http://www.technogypsie.com/chronicles/?p=17903.  Hood River: http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=23683; The Dalles:  http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=24107; White Salmon:  http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=23677; Husum: http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=25039; Portland:  http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=281.  To read reviews, visit: www.technogypsie.com/reviews.  All photos and articles (c) 2015/2016 Technogypsie.com - by Leaf McGowan, Eadaoin Bineid and Thomas Baurley. All rights reserved.
White Eagle Hotel and Pub: http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=25907. Life in the Gorge: Chronicle 22 – Chronicles of Sir Thomas Leaf, Lady Etain, and Prince Cian. The Gorge/Columbia River, Oregon-Washington. Photos taken March 27, 2016. To read the adventures, visit http://www.technogypsie.com/chronicles/?p=17903. Hood River: http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=23683; The Dalles: http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=24107; White Salmon: http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=23677; Husum: http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=25039; Portland: http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=281. To read reviews, visit: www.technogypsie.com/reviews. All photos and articles (c) 2015/2016 Technogypsie.com – by Leaf McGowan, Eadaoin Bineid and Thomas Baurley. All rights reserved.

White Eagle Hotel and Pub
~ 836 N Russell St, Portland, OR 97227
Phone: (503) 282-6810 ~

Another McMannamin’s favorite tourist destinations, the White Eagle is more of a hostel than it is a hotel. It is located in one of the micro-brewery destination neighborhoods of Portland, Eliot in North Portland with a style of a hotel in glamour of rock n’ roll themed lodging and saloon. The building dates back to 1905. The basic rooms are located above the pub and individually furnished, has free wi-fi, and wash basins. Some rooms have bun beds. There is no air conditioning and the bathrooms are shared between rooms. The bar has a artsy feel, with rock-n-roll and odd sideshow decor, with a beer garden and nightly live music. The establishment lacks in parking, although it has a very small lot. While we have yet had a chance to lodge in this hotel, we did eat and drink at the pub in the beer garden. Service was friendly, albeit moderate in speed. It was overall a good experience. Rating: 3 stars out of 5

The Tavern:

Folklore: – the Tavern is purported to be haunted. According to Ghosts and Critters this is a favorite haunted night spot. There are tales from Jeff, the assistant manager and other employees that various strange events happen on occasion, especially after hours. There was a time when the bar was empty and employees smelled smoke inside. They investigated and never found evidence of fire, and on occasion in addition to this smell, they would be overcome with the odor of cheap perfume. Once Jeff while working in the kitchen had witnessed a menu board fly across the doorway to the basement and strike flat against the left-hand wall with a loud clap. He couldn’t figure out how that happened. Especially on its own, with no employees nearby except for one standing behind him and witnessing the event.

White Eagle Hotel and Pub:  http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=25907. Life in the Gorge: Chronicle 22 - Chronicles of Sir Thomas Leaf, Lady Etain, and Prince Cian.  The Gorge/Columbia River, Oregon-Washington. Photos taken March 27, 2016.  To read the adventures, visit http://www.technogypsie.com/chronicles/?p=17903.  Hood River: http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=23683; The Dalles:  http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=24107; White Salmon:  http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=23677; Husum: http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=25039; Portland:  http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=281.  To read reviews, visit: www.technogypsie.com/reviews.  All photos and articles (c) 2015/2016 Technogypsie.com - by Leaf McGowan, Eadaoin Bineid and Thomas Baurley. All rights reserved.
White Eagle Hotel and Pub: http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=25907. Life in the Gorge: Chronicle 22 – Chronicles of Sir Thomas Leaf, Lady Etain, and Prince Cian. The Gorge/Columbia River, Oregon-Washington. Photos taken March 27, 2016. To read the adventures, visit http://www.technogypsie.com/chronicles/?p=17903. Hood River: http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=23683; The Dalles: http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=24107; White Salmon: http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=23677; Husum: http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=25039; Portland: http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=281. To read reviews, visit: www.technogypsie.com/reviews. All photos and articles (c) 2015/2016 Technogypsie.com – by Leaf McGowan, Eadaoin Bineid and Thomas Baurley. All rights reserved.

Share

White Eagle Hotel and Pub, Portland, Oregon

White Eagle Hotel and Pub:  http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=25907. Life in the Gorge: Chronicle 22 - Chronicles of Sir Thomas Leaf, Lady Etain, and Prince Cian.  The Gorge/Columbia River, Oregon-Washington. Photos taken March 27, 2016.   To read reviews, visit: www.technogypsie.com/reviews.  All photos and articles (c) 2015/2016 Technogypsie.com - by Leaf McGowan,  and Thomas Baurley. All rights reserved.
White Eagle Hotel and Pub: http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=25907.

White Eagle Hotel and Pub
~ 836 N Russell St, Portland, OR 97227
Phone: (503) 282-6810 ~

Another McMannamin’s favorite tourist destinations, the White Eagle is more of a hostel than it is a hotel. It is located in one of the micro-brewery destination neighborhoods of Portland, Eliot in North Portland with a style of a hotel in glamour of rock n’ roll themed lodging and saloon. The building dates back to 1905. The basic rooms are located above the pub and individually furnished, has free wi-fi, and wash basins. Some rooms have bun beds. There is no air conditioning and the bathrooms are shared between rooms. The bar has a artsy feel, with rock-n-roll and odd sideshow decor, with a beer garden and nightly live music. The establishment lacks in parking, although it has a very small lot. While we have yet had a chance to lodge in this hotel, we did eat and drink at the pub in the beer garden. Service was friendly, albeit moderate in speed. It was overall a good experience. Rating: 3 stars out of 5

White Eagle Hotel and Pub:  http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=25907. Life in the Gorge: Chronicle 22 - Chronicles of Sir Thomas Leaf, Lady Etain, and Prince Cian.  The Gorge/Columbia River, Oregon-Washington. Photos taken March 27, 2016.  To read the adventures, visit http://www.technogypsie.com/chronicles/?p=17903.  Hood River: http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=23683; The Dalles:  http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=24107; White Salmon:  http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=23677; Husum: http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=25039; Portland:  http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=281.  To read reviews, visit: www.technogypsie.com/reviews.  All photos and articles (c) 2015/2016 Technogypsie.com - by Leaf McGowan, Eadaoin Bineid and Thomas Baurley. All rights reserved.
White Eagle Hotel and Pub: http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=25907. Life in the Gorge: Chronicle 22 – Chronicles of Sir Thomas Leaf, Lady Etain, and Prince Cian. The Gorge/Columbia River, Oregon-Washington. Photos taken March 27, 2016. To read the adventures, visit http://www.technogypsie.com/chronicles/?p=17903. Hood River: http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=23683; The Dalles: http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=24107; White Salmon: http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=23677; Husum: http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=25039; Portland: http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=281. To read reviews, visit: www.technogypsie.com/reviews. All photos and articles (c) 2015/2016 Technogypsie.com – by Leaf McGowan, Eadaoin Bineid and Thomas Baurley. All rights reserved.

Continue reading White Eagle Hotel and Pub, Portland, Oregon

Share

1780 Bar and Restaurant, Edinburgh, Scotland


1780 Bar and Restaurant
1780 Bar and Restaurant

1780 Bar and Restaurant
* 167 Rose Street, Edinburgh EH2 4LS, Scotland * 0131 255 1446 *

The five of us – one American, four Germans … on day 1 of exploring Scotland together were already at a quick start to disagree where to eat. Thai, Japanese, Irish, Mongolian, Indian … many choices, but no mutual agreement. So as we were wandering down Rose street at a time while most restaurants were already closed for lunch, we settled in on the 1780 Bar and Restaurant. Much to the advice of a patron at the restaurant across the street that closed the kitchen and went to only serving brews … recommended it for good eats. It was an interesting experience. I dined on the fish n’ chips with mushy peas … and thought it was mediocre. Bulmers cider was served up to us nice and cold, beers and ales for the others seemed to satisfy. Me, a silly American, expecting the Scottish to be as crazy about Pimms as the English, since it was my first trip to Scotland coming directly from England, I got a glare from one of the bartenders off-duty as I was ordering it with him mumbling “you couldn’t pay me to go through making that” but was countered by a lovely lady who knew how to make them, and damn good one at that. I quickly learned through that experience here, it wasn’t a Scottish choice. We sat out on the patio, and service was slow. Not sure I’d eat here again. I might pop in to taunt ordering a Pimms … Rating: 2 stars out of 5. Visited 8/2/2011

1780 Bar and Restaurant
1780 Bar and Restaurant

Share

Rose Pub (Savannah, Georgia)

040613-013

Rose Pub
* R.O.S.E Public House * 125 E. Broughton Street, Savannah, Georgia 31401 * +(1)(912) 200-4258 *

Stumbling around Savannah with our newborn baby and family from Ireland, we sought out a restaurant to satiate our palate. Looming before us, like an old theater converted to a gastro-pub, was the Rose Pub. a nice older style pub and restaurant with friendly staff, good food, and fabulous hospitality. The beer battered fish and chips were very good. We enjoyed our server, who was originally from London, and had a good time catching up with our out of country family. Good times! Rated: 4.5 stars out of 5.

040613-007

Continue reading Rose Pub (Savannah, Georgia)

Share

Rander’s Sail Club Cafe (Randers, Denmark)

Rander’s Sail Club Cafe
* Toldbodgade 14 * 8930 Randers NØ * Denmark * http://www.randerssejlklub.dk/ *

A roadstop visit to this fine little marina cafe/bar/restaurant while visiting a good friend I met while sailing in Australia. Friendly service, good food, and good booze. A wide variety of loose-leaf teas to wet your whistle, as well as an assortment of alcohol, mixed drinks, beers, and wine. The food is quite nice, as my friend treated me to a local fish dish (pictured here) that was extroadinary and quite delicious. Rating: 4 stars out of 5.

Continue reading Rander’s Sail Club Cafe (Randers, Denmark)

Share

Black Swan Pub and Folk Club, York, England

Black Swan Pub

* http://blackswanyork.co.uk/ * Peasholme Green * York, England *

One of York’s haunted locales, this is also one of York’s more authentic pubs. In medieval style and decor, this timber framed house holding a pub and folk club retains classical 17th century interior decor. Within is a large stairway leading off to a main passageway, another room hosts a roasting pit, and another smaller room has a giant open fireplace. Originally built in 1417 as a family residence of the Bowes family (1417/1428 Lord Mayor of York), gable ends were added in the 16th century, and main structural alterations made in the 17th century for it to be open for business as a pub. There is evidence that there was a secret passage leading from this residence to St. Cuthbert’s church, and a secret room once believed to be used for cock fighting. The parents of General James Wolfe lived here from 1724-1726. Many reports of apparitions, noises, and ghostly tales take place here … one is of a chalinesque figure wearing a bowler hat wandering aimlessly through the rooms, a beautiful young ghostly woman wearing a long white dress has been noted distractedly staring into the fire her face hidden by her long black hair. Others talk of a pair of male legs seen walking around in the landlord’s accomodation. Pub fare is offered as well as a wide selection of ales, beer, and other drinks. Folk music takes place on thursday as well as other clubs and associations holding special events, classes, and discussion groups.

Photos are copyrighted and cannot be reproduced without permission of authors Tom Baurley or Leaf McGowan. Photos can be purchased via Technogypsie.com at Technogypsie Photography Services for nominal use fees. Restaurants, Businesses, Bands, Performances, Venues, and Reviews can request a re-review if they do not like the current review or would like to have a another review done. If you are a business, performer, musician, band, venue, or entity that would like to be reviewed, you can also request one (however, travel costs, cost of service (i.e. meal or event ticket) and lodging may be required if area is out of reviewer’s base location at time of request).

These reviews and/or research articles are done by the writer at no payment unless it is a requested review and the costs for travel, service, and lodging was covered – in which case, expenditure reimbursement will not affect review rating or content. If you enjoy this review and want to see more, why not buy our reviewer a drink to motivate them to write more? or help cover the costs they went through to do this review?






Share

Guy Fawke’s Inn, York, England

Guy Fawke’s Inn
* http://www.gfyork.com/ * York, England *

In the heart of York lies a little hole-in-the-wall now inhabited by a pub and inn commemorating the exact spot where Guy Fawke’s was born. Infamous for “Remember, remember, the 5th of November, gunpowder treason and plot …”, Guy Fawkes was notoriously known for his 1605 attempt for blowing up parliament. It was here that he was born in 1570 and baptised in the church across the street. In his birthplace, a traditional British pub offering a wide selection of ales, beer, and drinks as well as standard pub fare in the ambiance of a historic building with a fated history, timber floors, and gas-lamps as its decor. It is one of York’s popular pubs.

Photos are copyrighted and cannot be reproduced without permission of authors Tom Baurley or Leaf McGowan. Photos can be purchased via Technogypsie.com at Technogypsie Photography Services for nominal use fees. Restaurants, Businesses, Bands, Performances, Venues, and Reviews can request a re-review if they do not like the current review or would like to have a another review done. If you are a business, performer, musician, band, venue, or entity that would like to be reviewed, you can also request one (however, travel costs, cost of service (i.e. meal or event ticket) and lodging may be required if area is out of reviewer’s base location at time of request).

These reviews and/or research articles are done by the writer at no payment unless it is a requested review and the costs for travel, service, and lodging was covered – in which case, expenditure reimbursement will not affect review rating or content. If you enjoy this review and want to see more, why not buy our reviewer a drink to motivate them to write more? or help cover the costs they went through to do this review?






Share

The Phoenix Flea Market (Canberra, Australia)


The Phoenix Flea Market
* Phoenix * 21 East Row * Canberra, Australia Capital Territory, Australia * * 2601 * (02) 6247 1606 * http://www.lovethephoenix.com/ *

The Irish ultra-cool hip hangout in Canberra, Australia known as the “Phoenix” celebrates its connection with the arts and alternative culture by hosting a sunday Flea Market where vendors can come and sell their art, creations, wares, used goods, and treasures. Its a definite trendy move for alternative bars and establishments today to have a market once in a while, monthly, or even weekly. I’ve become a great fan of these moves by venues as I think it is an extroadinary motion on their behalf – supporting the arts, community, local culture, alternative subcultures, and home based merchants. I feel the Phoenix has a great potential with their market and idea. During our participation in the market, unfortunately due to a bus strike during Easter sunday weekend, we were the only participating vendors and clientele was at a minimum. We still had a blast, good time socializing, and face painting. Visited 4/24/2011. Reviewed 11/15/2011 by Leaf McGowan, technogypsie.com.

Photos are copyrighted and cannot be reproduced without permission of authors Tom Baurley or Leaf McGowan. Photos can be purchased via Technogypsie.com at Technogypsie Photography Services for nominal use fees. Restaurants, Businesses, Bands, Performances, Venues, and Reviews can request a re-review if they do not like the current review or would like to have a another review done. If you are a business, performer, musician, band, venue, or entity that would like to be reviewed, you can also request one (however, travel costs, cost of service (i.e. meal or event ticket) and lodging may be required if area is out of reviewer’s base location at time of request).

These reviews are done by the writer at no payment unless it is a requested review and the costs for travel, service, and lodging was covered – in which case, expenditure reimbursement will not affect review rating or content. If you enjoy this review and want to see more, why not buy our reviewer a drink to motivate them to write more? or help cover the costs they went through to do this review?






Share

The Phoenix, Canberra

The Phoenix
* 21 East Row * Canberra, Australia Capital Territory, Australia * 2601 * (02) 6247 1606 * http://www.lovethephoenix.com/ *

Although this amazing Irish Pub is one of the few bars/pubs I visited while in Canberra, it is by far my favorite. Introduced to me by Sir Bluey, the place was like home to me when I wandered Canberra on my own, and while hanging with Bluey in downtown Canberra. The Phoenix has been serving Canberra for over 16 years and undoubtedly has the best pints in town, a great festive atmosphere, and a unique decorated environment. It has a very home-like hang-out feel and charm, with real character and art within its dark interior and welcoming couches, chairs, sofas, and tables to relax at. Unlike many Irish pubs, the Phoenix doesn’t buy into the plastic leprechauns and tacky green icons that so many do, it has its own style and decor with odd antiques, mysterious art, and historic wooden furniture. They have a wide selection of beers and ciders, from foreign to local brews, including Kilkenny, Guinness, Magners, and Murphys as well as a stocked bar. They also host quite a few bands and local entertainment. They have stand-up nights called “Bootleg Night” and on various sundays, have a arts and crafts market. What a wonderful pub! Rating: 5 stars out of 5. Visited 4/21/11, 4/22/11, 4/23/11.

Continue reading The Phoenix, Canberra

Share

The Local

The Local
* http://thelocal.com.au/MEL/ * The Local Taphouse * 184 Carlisle Street, St Kilda * Melbourne, Victoria, Australia * Tel. 9537 2633 *

Nestled in the heart of St. Kilda lies a friendly pub with dark wooden floors and walls, dark green lamps, couches, tables, and a sociable cosy relaxed atmosphere. It is here that the beer and ale seeker can find local brews, an enormous selection of beers on tap, and an assortment to die for. Upstairs is a courtyard with wooden decks and tables, a fire pit, and large umbrellas over the tables. Perfect for any weather, rain / shine / cold / or hot. Bar upstairs and downstairs, not only does the ambiance of a hidden away local joint shout out at its patrons, and a good spot for drinks, but the food is pretty fabulous as well. Popular for their beer sample paddles, this pub can quench any thirst. Rating: 4 stars out of 5.

Continue reading The Local

Share

04.16.11: Chronicles: Sciencequeen’s Going Away Party & Exploring Melbourne

Travels Down Under:
Exploring Melbourne & Farewells to Sciencequeen

Saturday, April 16, 2011
* Melbourne, Victoria, Australia *

Early to rise, the travelers headed out to the train station for a brief wandering around metropolitan Melbourne before journeying to St. Kilda at the Local where they would bid farewell to the Science Queen. Sir Bluey Bee in his comical self, humor Sir Thomas Leaf and Lady Sciencequeen over their journey with lots of picture taking in action. Once hitting the central station in the city centre, Sir Thomas Leaf and the Sciencequeen grabbed a latte at the Streat kiosk while enamored with the architecture and design of the station. Walking about the artsy city centre of Melbourne was a tantalizing array of artistic spectrum, architecture, and unique oddities. Sir Thomas Leaf was intrigued by the “Pie Face” booth as he soon realized the Australians were addicted to the “pies” n’ “pastries” just as much as the British was. Walking past “China Town” they were soon back on the train to St. Kilda where the party would be. Sir Thomas Leaf was perplexed by the “Hungry Jacks” logo/fast food place they passed because it “looked like a Burger King” but was called something different. He figured he’d have to research that one by Google in the near future to understand how that isn’t copyright/trademark infringement. On the train, Sir Thomas Leaf was greeted by a scrawling of “Leaf” on the seat in front of him as if he was meant to be “… was here” as it was oddly spelled the same way he spells his name, not unlike the typical “Leif” most spell it who are named as such. Enter St. Kilda, the travelers were in a rush with Sir Bluey Bee struggling to keep up while distracted by photo moments, as they raced to meet the Science Queen’s friends at the Local. St. Kilda was a welcoming “artsy” district in Melbourne that Sir Thomas Leaf quite liked. “The Local” had several tables reserved for Sciencequeen’s going away party, and soon enough after claiming them, were populated by her comrades and loved ones … much local beer tasting ensued, as did Sir Thomas Leaf with his cider fix, topped off with a plate of mussels that were to die for. Joking around, humor, festive, and frolic, good conversations and new friendships were made. After some drunken debauchery (for some), they wandered off for gellato treat by the beach. En route, Sir Correct-a-lot encountered a very badly chalked inscription in front of the library saying “Are … Politicians Known Eor There Honesty” which he could not pass without correcting said such … and grabbed some chalk from a restaurant down the road, ran back, and fixed the typo and commented “At least politicians can spell” as a side note.

Past the Amusement park and the Palais theatre, the motley crew found the Fritz Gelato awaiting them with good prices for large portions. Mesmerized by the flavors, indulgence overtook the innocent as frozen fun ensued. Down to the Gazebo, the friends had their farewells as sunset took on the night with possums climbing down trees and even further madness to occur. Much of the party left, as a handful headed back to Sciencequeen’s flat for some more drinks and conversation with more friends added in the mix. A pit stop for some liquor demonstrated how pricey alcohol is in Australia – a typical cheap bottle of rum that Sir Thomas Leaf would pay $9.99 for in the States, was now $35 – “Egads!” he thought in horror. Pit stop for pizza to go and back to the flat. Good times. A good night was had by all ….

Remainder of the Story, Photos and videos below the cut:

Continue reading 04.16.11: Chronicles: Sciencequeen’s Going Away Party & Exploring Melbourne

Share

The Pale Pub


The Pale
* 13 High Street * Dublin 2 * Dublin, Ireland * (01) 6773207 * www.thepalepub.com *

A pit stop ino this two-story pub in the heart if the Medieval district for some traditional Irish pub fare. The staff is very friendly, the pub spacious, and for an afternoon/early evening not too crowded on a weekday. The main bartender was quite witty. Some say he’s kissed the Blarney Stone. I sat atop upstairs. Upstairs its decorated like a sportsbar which is not so much of my preference but that was fine. Food was good and service great. Rating: 3.5 stars out of 5.

Share

The Ginger Man

The Ginger Man
* 40 Fenian St * Dublin 2, Co. Dublin, Ireland * 01 6766388 *

A great little pub on Fenian Street behind the Davenport Hotel. Traditional Irish Pub on the interior with a nice front patio seating section. I stumbled in for a brief lunch and a pint of cider finding hospitality and relaxation. It was bustling with locals, students, and professionals so wound up sharing a table with a couple locals. Service was decent speed and friendly while I was there, but I heard that once packed it can get slow. I sat out in the front outdoor patio as it was a nice day. The Shepherd’s Pie I ordered was quite tasty. Rating: 4 stars out of 5.

Share

Dublin City Pub Crawl

Dublin City Pub Crawl
* Meet at At The Porterhouse Central, 45-47 Nassau Street, at the end of Grafton Street near Trinity College
* 47 Nassau St * Dublin 2, Co. Dublin, Ireland * 086 864 3270 * http://www.facebook.com/thedublincitypubcrawl/ * http://www.thedublincitypubcrawl.com/ *

The first time I ever did a (paid)(business) pub crawl in Europe, it was in Amsterdam and I was very impressed. I’ve done numerous “party” pub crawls, usually with a theme – pirates, santas, zombies, or what-not with a community of friends but seldom do I do one to get to know a city as I’m usually the explore on my own type. Having had such a great experience with the Amsterdam one, I figured Dublin would be pretty fabulous. A couple of issues here however for me – I’m not a beer drinker (only wine and mixed drinks), I’m not much into pubs and bars (more nightclubs where dancing is available), and I definitely don’t really care for mainstream establishments. So any paid “Pub Crawl” has alot to compete with to charm me. However, for those that do love pubs, these are usually the beast that you want to ride when travelling to a new city and wanting to get to know what the nightlife is and make friends with fellow travellers. The other conditions for the night that affected my experience as well is – I attended on a week night (Thursday night) (and no matter where in the world you are venturing, weeknights are more dead than weekend nights) and I attempted to go on the Backpacker’s Pub Crawl prior to showing up at this one which left me and 3 others hanging with no one showing up to tell us it was cancelled. The 4 of us from the Backpacker Pub Tour no show wandered over to the Porterhouse to see if we could still get into the Dublin City Pub Crawl. A charming young woman was our guide and host. So even though there were only 4 of us (5 including the guide) we were going to make the best of it. She was an excellent host and guide. She knew her establishments and her drinks. So first off, lets rate the Guide as a top 5 out of 5 Guides. However the tour dynamics itself were poor. There was a free drink at the Porterhouse, and free cover at one of the clubs, but overall not much given out (unlike Amsterdam’s crawl – which is not fair to compare to so I won’t let it affect my rating). It was poorly attended and not many friends to be made (again, A Thursday). For €15 its a good deal and way to get to know nightlife Dublin. Discounts exist in ad racks at the hostels. They take you to four pubs and then a late bar/ dance club at the end of the journey. 15% off all food at the Porterhouse Central (be there by 8 to order), free appetizers in the 2nd pub, free Irish beer sampling, and discounted drinks at some establishments ( €4 pints; €5 cocktails; and a (to pay) option for pouring your own pint of Guinness off tap). Some of the establishments have live traditional Irish music, free VIP entry into Dandelion Night Club which was a fun little mainstream club. Tour Guide: Rated 5 stars out of 5. Tour: 3.5 stars out of 5.

Continue reading Dublin City Pub Crawl

Share

Brazenhead Pub Dublin


The Brazen Head, Dublin, Ireland

The Brazenhead
* 20 Lower Bridge Street * Dublin 8 * Telephone: +353 (0) 1 6779549 / 6795186 * www.brazenhead.com *
The pub professes to be the oldest Pub in Dublin. The site of the pub dates to 1198 as some sort of public house. The building itself is from 1688 and may have been preceded by numerous taverns, one after another, as it is a good location for them. There are alot of old history surrounding the building from the piece of graffiti where John Langan etched his name and date. Michael Collins and Wolfe Tone met here. This is considered to be one of Ireland’s traditional Irish pubs. A hangout of tourists as well as locals, and legal professionals, he pub has live folk music sessions there almost nightly. It is believed to be a haunted pub wih apparitions wandering about. One of which is believed to be Robert Emmet. James Joyce, Brendan Behan, Jonathan Swift, Robert Emmet, Wolfe Tone, Daniel O’Connell, Van Morrison, Hothouse Flowers, Mary Black, Garth Brooks, and Michael Collins have hung out here.

Continue reading Brazenhead Pub Dublin

Share

Hunter’s Bar (Ballyvoy, Northern Ireland)

Hunter’s Bar
106 Cushendall Road * Ballyvoy * County Antrim * BT54 6RA * Tel: 02820 762343
Our road trip along the Causeway brought us to dine at this large pub/restaurant along the Coastal causeway north of Belfast. The service was friendly, though poorly attended as it seemed much was going on elsewhere in the bar. The foot was mediocre … but your typical pub fare. I got the fish n’ chips, and it was average. Good cider. Staff was friendly. Appeared to be a local’s hangout. Rating: 2 stars out of 5.

Continue reading Hunter’s Bar (Ballyvoy, Northern Ireland)

Share

Hard Rock Cafe Dublin

Hard Rock Dublin
* 12 Fleet Street, Dublin, Co. Dublin City – 01 6717777 * www.hardrock.com *
I’ll be honest … I’m not a big fan of chains or Hard Rock Cafes. The only time I usually enter one is when I’m with friends who are fans … such as was the case for my visit to the Dublin one. The setup for these cafes are pretty similar wherever you go I find, and the memorabilia on the walls and in the cases are the usual lot of “this belonged to so n’ so” and “this was used is such n’ such”. Not much different than the movie fan chain of Club Hollywood, just for the Music industry. The food was mediocre pub food, and the drinks pricey. Some interesting and unique art/stuff for Ireland. Anyhow, if you’re a fan of Hard Rock Cafes … this one will please you as its the only one in all of Ireland, as the one in Northern Ireland was closed down. The Dublin one was established in June 29, 2004. They pride themselves for their unique collectibles just like all the other Hard Rock’s … in this case a pair of Bono’s sunglasses, a favorite shirt of Elvis, Paul McCartney’s “Beatle Boots”, one of Madonna’s jackets, a Paul Stanley guitar, and a Mimi Hendrix rug. Rating: 1 star out of 5.

Continue reading Hard Rock Cafe Dublin

Share

William IV Pub (Truro, Cornwall, England)

William IV Pub
Kenwyn Street, Truro, Cornwall, England * TR1 3DJ * Telephone: 01872273334 *
During mid-week, William IV Pub is one of the few pubs/restaurants opening and serving food after 6 pm in downtown Truro. Located in the busy city center of Truro, the pub boasts a vibrant atmosphere and a fantastic selection of beer and wines. During my visit on 6/15/10 – it was a bit low key, quiet, and excellent speedy service. Since I don’t drink beer, I can’t comment on the selections as I stuck with my usual vodka and tonic. This tuesday was “Curry night” and had some pretty tasty chicken curry presented. I was pleased. The bar runs from 10 am every morning and closes at 11 pm for Sundays through Wednesdays, and closes at 12 am on Thursdays, and 1 am for fridays and saturdays. Food is served noon until 10 pm every day. The pub has its own onsite car park so parking is usually not a problem. William IV is part the the St. Austell Brewery Company. The pub is pretty elaborate, having Sky TV, pool tables, fruit machines, quiz machines, food served, real ale, outside seating in a patio, etc. Overall though, the pub is not any more distinct or different than dime a dozen pubs. Rating 3 stars out of 5.

Continue reading William IV Pub (Truro, Cornwall, England)

Share

The King’s Head (Chacewater, UK)

The Kings Head Hotel
* 0843-208-6749 * http://www.thekingshead-chacewater.co.uk * Chacewater, Truro, Cornwall, England, TR4 8PY *

Chacewater has only three pubs – and the King’s Head Pub and Motel is not only one of its most famous establishments, but one of its more popular lodging stays. It is a Traditional English Pub with accomodation upstairs. The King’s Head is located in the small village of Chacewater located outside of Truro, Cornwall, England. The pub has origins to the 17th century but stands strong with modern renovation and service. The pub consists of a modern yet traditional public house that was built originally in the 17th century and operating as a pub since 1826. Located 4 miles from Redruth and 6 miles from Truro. The bar serves traditional pub food including jacket potatoes, sandwiches, steaks, and fare. There are also vegetarian options. THe rooms are doubles that come with a TV, alarm clock, tea and coffee making facilities, iron and ironing board, and a choice of en-suite or shared facilities. Rooms range from £20-25 a person and comes with breakfast. My dining and lodging experience at the Kings’ Head was comfortable and pleasant. Rooms were clean, food was good, service was pleasant. I had the Prawn Cocktail and the Sunday Lunch which came with fresh succulent meats served with roast potatoes, Yorkshire pudding, a selection of seasonal vegetables and condiments. Rating: 3.75 stars out of 5 for the food, 4 stars out of 5 for the lodging.

Continue reading The King’s Head (Chacewater, UK)

Share

The Pirate Inn (Penzance, UK)

Pirate Inn
www.thepirateinnpenzance.com * Alverton, Penzance, Cornwall TR18 4PS * United Kingdom *
01736 366 094

More aesthetic on the outside than on the inside, this moderately sized restaurant lured me through its doorway. Not quite the pirate atmosphere as I was expecting … i found a family restaurant with a friendly staff running around with sports/games on the television. Disenchanted that I wasn’t greeted by pirates … I took my seat for some grub – pleased by the food and the service. No credit cards accepted, strictly Great Britain Pounds only. Owned and operated by Jackie and Brendon Hichens, this restaurant is apparently a bit of a landmark for modern Penzance. They also have a large grassed area where families could dine outdoors and kids can play in the playground. The establishment is also dog friendly and also has wheel chair access. Most of the main dishes range from 7-15 GBP. Every second sunday they host a quiz night, thursdays for live music, folk night on tuesdays, and tv for sports. They brandish a pool table. They claim to have the best sunday roast in town and have the choice of 6 ales to choose from. My dish was average – nothing to brag about at home, but the service was grand. Rating: 2.7 stars out of 5.

Continue reading The Pirate Inn (Penzance, UK)

Share

Huggo’s On the Rocks (Kona, Big Island, Hawaii)


Huggo’s on the Rocks, Kona

Huggo’s On the Rocks
* http://www.huggos.com/ * 75-5828 Kahakai Road Kailua-Kona, HI 96740 * (808) 329-1493 * Fax # (808)329-7204 **
A great casual bar in the heart of Kona on the Big Island of Hawaii. Definitely idolic of the ‘beach’ bar atmosphere and setting – this ocean-front cocktail bar and pub is an off-shoot of the Huggo’s Restaurant next door. My one and only visit found it to be very friendly, hospitable, with great service and good bar staff. The patrons all looked happy and satisfied. The drinks served to us were good – though not as potent as I’m used to. They had a live band this saturday night, even though the town closes early on the entertainment front. But dancing and fun had by all. They don’t really have an official “closing” hour – they are just open from 11:30 am until ‘closing’ – whatever that normally means – was quite early the saturday of August 8th, 2009. Generally they have entertainment nightly from 6:30 pm – 10 pm, and serve cocktails from 11:30 am until midnight. Rating: 4 stars out of 5.

Share

Cronies, Hilo, Big Island, Hawaii



Cronies

11 Waianuenue Avenue, Hilo, HI 96720 * (808) 935-5158
Definitely a sports bar taking on a average chain appearance. Didn’t try the beers because I don’t drink, but the beer battered fish n’ chips were pretty tasty. The local cocktail “Lava Flow” was also quite tasty. Its definitely a tourist/cruise ship crowd that the bar caters to vs. the local crowd. I hear the food is kinda generic, and well, fish n’ chips is generic. I was definitely in the mood for seafood as I’m from a land-locked state, but there wasn’t much variety here. The waittresses were very nice and service a little slow. Rating: 3 stars out of 5.

Share

The Druid (Nuremberg, Germany)



The Druid
* Weißgerbergasse 18 * 90403 Nürnberg, Germany * +49 911 2059072 * www.thedruidpub.com

A great little Irish/English pub in the heart of the Nurnberg Old Town. It’s an authentic traditional Irish pub located on one of the most beautiful medieval streets in the city; housed in a four story 12th century building, next to Club Sixteen; it encompassed the first two floors and basement. Decorated with old timber, uneven stairs, and rough stone walls – it brings the charm of Ireland into Germany. Great whiskey and cottage pie. I’ve heard good things about the fish n’ chips and the beer as well. Staff was great. Rating: 5 stars out of 5.

Share

Lady of the Rhine, Sect 2: Chapter 10, Part B – Nürnberg: Graveyards, Gamers, and Drinking

Part B

Saturday, 4 April 2009
Nürnberg, Germany

From the Nibulengenmuseum, a brief hike back to Lady Vanessa’s motor-carriage, with a pit stop at at the fish stop and bakery for some travel munchies, the adventurers were on their way to Nürnberg to meet up with Lady Vanessa’s and Sir Christian’s gathering of friends who periodically meet up in a regional city to network on a online RPG game in German they all play together. A few hours later and the delvers arrived in Nürnberg ….

Continue reading Lady of the Rhine, Sect 2: Chapter 10, Part B – Nürnberg: Graveyards, Gamers, and Drinking

Share

The Ritz Grill (Fat Tuesday) (Colorado Springs, Colorado)


Crawfish Po’Boy

Fat Tuesday @ the Ritz Grill * http://ritzgrill.com/
* 15 S Tejon St * Colorado Springs, CO 80903 * (719) 635-8484 *

Fun times during Fat Tuesday. Apparently (news to me this first year I’ve attended) the Ritz Grill on Tejon street, downtown Colorado Springs throws the area’s best Fat Tuesday Mardi Gras party in the city. Decked out in costumes and beads, decorations, and Cajun cuisine … The Grill brings in the Raw oysters, the Craw Daddies, and the Gumbo for your palate’s best New Orleans mix. Bringing on the Hurricanes as well – get there early as the place is crowded, also reserve a table for this special event or you’ll be standing around outside or in the bar. Hurricanes, complimentary cajun beans n/ rice, and we ordered the raw Oysters cracked on the half shell with Fried Crawfish po’boy and platter. Delicious. Good times. A Head Full of Zombies band played into the night as some bead-winning events took place. Good times. Rating: 4.5 stars out of 5.


Crawfish Platter

Share

The Gin Mill, Denver, Colorado

The Gin Mill * SoCo * Denver, Colorado

2041 Larimer St. Ginn Mill Denver, CO 80205 303-295-0706

Gin Mill

A great space for a drink. I can’t review or comment on the night life as I only visited during an afternoon for a special event some friends was throwing. Seems like a great place with friendly, personable, and funny staff. The decor is Prohibition-era chic with tin ceiling and a sawed-in half Model T. Lots of vintage photos and signatured dollar bills pasted on the wall. Seems to be a threshhold for alot of fun events. Played quarter toss into a shotglass in hopes of making a free shot. $2 later, no luck. Good service nonetheless. I’ll be back. Fun place. Rating 3.75 stars out of 5 (daytime). Visited 6/28/08.

Share