Tag Archives: restaurants

Thirsty Lion (Denver, Co)

Denver SantaCon 2016 ( http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=29647); Thirsty Lion

Thirsty Lion
~ Denver, Colorado ~

Write up coming soon ….

Denver SantaCon 2016 ( http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=29647); Thirsty Lion ( http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=29655) – New Life in Colorado: Chronicle 26 – Chronicles of Sir Thomas Leaf and Prince Cian. Adventures in Colorado. Photos taken December 23, 2016. To read the adventures, visit http://www.technogypsie.com/chronicles/?p=21965. To read reviews, visit: www.technogypsie.com/reviews. All photos and articles (c) 2015/2016 Technogypsie.com – by Leaf McGowan and Thomas Baurley. All rights reserved. www.technogypsie.com/photography

Denver SantaCon 2016 ( http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=29647); Thirsty Lion ( http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=29655) – New Life in Colorado: Chronicle 26 – Chronicles of Sir Thomas Leaf and Prince Cian. Adventures in Colorado. Photos taken December 23, 2016. To read the adventures, visit http://www.technogypsie.com/chronicles/?p=21965. To read reviews, visit: www.technogypsie.com/reviews. All photos and articles (c) 2015/2016 Technogypsie.com – by Leaf McGowan and Thomas Baurley. All rights reserved. www.technogypsie.com/photography

Denver SantaCon 2016 ( http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=29647); Thirsty Lion ( http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=29655) – New Life in Colorado: Chronicle 26 – Chronicles of Sir Thomas Leaf and Prince Cian. Adventures in Colorado. Photos taken December 23, 2016. To read the adventures, visit http://www.technogypsie.com/chronicles/?p=21965. To read reviews, visit: www.technogypsie.com/reviews. All photos and articles (c) 2015/2016 Technogypsie.com – by Leaf McGowan and Thomas Baurley. All rights reserved. www.technogypsie.com/photography

Share

Marilyn’s Pizza Parlor

Marilyn's Pizza (http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=29417&); Explorations around Manitou Springs, Colorado. New Life in Colorado: Chronicle 26 - Chronicles of Sir Thomas Leaf  and Prince Cian.  Adventures in Colorado. Photos taken December 18, 2016.  To read the adventures, visit   http://www.technogypsie.com/chronicles/?p=21965.   To read reviews, visit: www.technogypsie.com/reviews.  All photos and articles (c) 2015/2016 Technogypsie.com - by Leaf McGowan and Thomas Baurley. All rights reserved. www.technogypsie.com/photography.  Manitou Springs: http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=22613; Colorado: http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=22613.
Marilyn’s Pizza (http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=29417&)

Marilyn’s Pizza
~ 964 Manitou Ave, Manitou Springs, CO 80829 ~

A great little hole-in-the-wall restaurant and pizza parlor in the heart of Manitou Springs downtown next to the former Ancient Mariner and the Mate Factory. Friendly service and timely pizza with a variety of choices. We had the basic slice and a macaroni and cheese slice. Good eats. Rating 3 stars out of 5

Marilyn's Pizza (http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=29417&); Explorations around Manitou Springs, Colorado. New Life in Colorado: Chronicle 26 - Chronicles of Sir Thomas Leaf  and Prince Cian.  Adventures in Colorado. Photos taken December 18, 2016.  To read the adventures, visit   http://www.technogypsie.com/chronicles/?p=21965.   To read reviews, visit: www.technogypsie.com/reviews.  All photos and articles (c) 2015/2016 Technogypsie.com - by Leaf McGowan and Thomas Baurley. All rights reserved. www.technogypsie.com/photography.  Manitou Springs: http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=22613; Colorado: http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=22613.
Marilyn’s Pizza (http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=29417&); Explorations around Manitou Springs, Colorado. New Life in Colorado: Chronicle 26 – Chronicles of Sir Thomas Leaf and Prince Cian. Adventures in Colorado. Photos taken December 18, 2016. To read the adventures, visit http://www.technogypsie.com/chronicles/?p=21965. To read reviews, visit: www.technogypsie.com/reviews. All photos and articles (c) 2015/2016 Technogypsie.com – by Leaf McGowan and Thomas Baurley. All rights reserved. www.technogypsie.com/photography. Manitou Springs: http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=22613; Colorado: http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=22613.

Continue reading Marilyn’s Pizza Parlor

Share

Grand Central Cafe, Portland, Oregon

Grand Central Cafe, Portland, Oregon:  http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=25903.  Life in the Gorge: Chronicle 22 - Chronicles of Sir Thomas Leaf, Lady Etain, and Prince Cian.  The Gorge/Columbia River, Oregon-Washington. Photos taken March 27, 2016.  To read the adventures, visit http://www.technogypsie.com/chronicles/?p=17903.  Hood River: http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=23683; The Dalles:  http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=24107; White Salmon:  http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=23677; Husum: http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=25039; Portland:  http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=281.  To read reviews, visit: www.technogypsie.com/reviews.  All photos and articles (c) 2015/2016 Technogypsie.com - by Leaf McGowan, Eadaoin Bineid and Thomas Baurley. All rights reserved.
Grand Central Cafe, Portland, Oregon: http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=25903.

Grand Central Bakery
~ 2230 SE Hawthorne Blvd Portland, OR 97214 ~ http://grandcentralbakery.com/ ~

We stopped at this Pacific Northwest Bakery chain while waiting to meet some friends. It had some tasty chai and great cross buns for the Easter holiday season. It was originally created by Gwen Bassetti at Seattle’s historic Pioneer Square, locally owned chain dedicated to artisan baking. An assortment of breads, baked goods, sandwiches, soups, teas, coffees, and juices can be found here. Her original sandwich start started in Seattle’s newly refurbished Grand Central Hotel Building where it changed names from Gwen’s roadside farm stand on Lopez Island in the 60’s to the Grand Central Bakery in 1989. Famous for her Como loaves. Rating: 4 stars out of 5

Grand Central Cafe, Portland, Oregon:  http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=25903.  Life in the Gorge: Chronicle 22 - Chronicles of Sir Thomas Leaf, Lady Etain, and Prince Cian.  The Gorge/Columbia River, Oregon-Washington. Photos taken March 27, 2016.  To read the adventures, visit http://www.technogypsie.com/chronicles/?p=17903.  Hood River: http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=23683; The Dalles:  http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=24107; White Salmon:  http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=23677; Husum: http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=25039; Portland:  http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=281.  To read reviews, visit: www.technogypsie.com/reviews.  All photos and articles (c) 2015/2016 Technogypsie.com - by Leaf McGowan, Eadaoin Bineid and Thomas Baurley. All rights reserved.
Grand Central Cafe, Portland, Oregon: http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=25903. Life in the Gorge: Chronicle 22 – Chronicles of Sir Thomas Leaf, Lady Etain, and Prince Cian. The Gorge/Columbia River, Oregon-Washington. Photos taken March 27, 2016. To read the adventures, visit http://www.technogypsie.com/chronicles/?p=17903. Hood River: http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=23683; The Dalles: http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=24107; White Salmon: http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=23677; Husum: http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=25039; Portland: http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=281. To read reviews, visit: www.technogypsie.com/reviews. All photos and articles (c) 2015/2016 Technogypsie.com – by Leaf McGowan, Eadaoin Bineid and Thomas Baurley. All rights reserved.

Continue reading Grand Central Cafe, Portland, Oregon

Share

Agia Sophia (Colorado Springs, Colorado)



Mediterranean Platter & Chai

Agia Sophia
* http://www.agiasophiacoffeeshop.com/ * 2902 W Colorado Avenue *
Colorado Springs, CO 80904 * (719) 632-3322 *

A great little coffee shop and reading library right off of Colorado Avenue in historical Old Colorado City of Colorado Springs, Colorado. Old world charm with a great cup of Joe and spiritual benedictine monks chanting in the background. It is truly a place to the heart of what coffee shops began .. a place to discuss business, religion, politics, and philosophy. They take that trait to heart and not only serve great caffeinated beverages, but pastries, desserts, and cafe-style lunch dishes. Rating: 5 stars out of 5.

Share

Sushi Ring (Colorado Springs, Colorado)

Sushi Ring

* 1861 South Nevada Avenue * Colorado Springs, CO 80905 * (719) 635-5550 *

A great litle hole-in-the-wall down by Southgate in the southern part of Colorado Springs where you can get all you can eat sushi for a price. If you’re not up for that price of $24.95 all you can eat – then you can order a la carte. Quick delivery and sensational tastes. The little restaurant has a diner style with Elvis impressionism. It is open mondays through friday 11 am to 9 pm and saturdays from noon to 9 pm, and sundays noon to 8 pm. Its not a typical sushi restaurant as it has the kitch of the Elvis era. This is in part because the owner is a former “Elvis” impersonator known as Takashi “Elvis” Kishimoto. Rating: 4.5 stars out of 5. One of my favorites.

Share

Tomo Sushi II (Colorado Springs)


Tomo Sushi II, North Academy, Colorado Springs

Tomo Sushi II
* http://eatattomo.com/ * 975 N Academy Blvd * Colorado Springs, CO 80909 * 719-597-2422 *

A little hole-in-the-strip-mall Sushi chain restaurant in the northern part of Colorado Springs with standard Japanese fare. Good atmosphere, good service, and for a lunch rush not bad timing. I went with the lunch Bento Box which consisted of 1 pc jumbo shrimp and 3 pcs of vegetable tempura, gyoza, miso soup and salad, 4 pcs California Roll, 1 Tuna nigiri, 1 Salmon nigiri, 1 Shirome nigiri, and 1 shrimp nigiri – not badly priced but the sushi and other dishes didn’t stand out as anything above and beyond most sushi restaurants. Rating: 3 stars out of 5.


Sushi Lunch Bento Box

Share

Thai Basil (Colorado Springs, Colorado)


Thai Basil, North Academy, Colorado Springs

Thai Basil
* www.thaibasil.us * 7882 North Academy Boulevard * Colorado Springs, CO 80920-3920 *
(719) 268-1688 *

A little hole-in-the-strip-mall Thai chain restaurant in the northern part of Colorado Springs with some intriguing delicacies, decor, and taste. Its more a higher priced “artsy” fusion restaurant than actually a place to get an affordable true Thai meal. The food has style and looks fabulous, but its pretty generic Pan-Asian cuisine. But that’s to be expected with a chain. Chains are notorious for cookie-cutter menus, food, and offerings. Not to say that this place is a cookie-cutter replica of its Denver counterparts … the food is good, just not above average. The menu selections however are a bit more variable than other Thai restaurants in town, especially if you like Thai seafood. They do know how to spice their dishes in an extroadinary Thai hot – hell the receipt even mentions ‘Kill me already’. The atmosphere is good. For lunch i was instantly seated and service was swift and friendly. I enoyed the Mussels appetizer, Pad Thai (thai hot), and a Thai Ice Tea. Rating: 3 stars out of 5.


Mussels; Thai Basil, North Academy, Colorado Springs

Continue reading Thai Basil (Colorado Springs, Colorado)

Share

King Chef’s Diner (Colorado Springs, Colorado)

King Chef’s Diner
* 131 E. Bijou St., Colorado Springs, Colorado * 719.636.5010 * http://www.kingschefdiner.com/
My first experience at the King Chef’s was pretty good and tasty. While I only got the “enormous” pancake scramble sandwich, I found the place to be reasonably priced, with large portions, friendly staff, and good service. Its nice to have a diner right in the heart of Colorado Springs. I’m guessing its a new addition to the downtown scene, a bar/club stumble from the Springs’ main clubs, and having late night hours. They were brilliant in choosing this location. They are known for their green chili dishes. Apparently there is a smaller diner outlet (13 seat original purple castle) on Costilla in downtown that is also a popular place (but with little seating) that I’ve somehow missed over the last four years partying downtown. This larger Bijou Street location has plenty of seating any day of the week and are now open late on fridays and saturday nights. Apparently they are known for their burgers, burritos, melts, and chili dishes. Rating: 4 stars out of 5.

Share

Briarhurst Manor (Manitou Springs, Colorado)

Briarhurst Manor * 404 Manitou Ave, Manitou Springs, CO, 80829. (719) 685-1864 or 1 (877) 685-1448 * http://www.briarhurst.com/ *

Briarhurst Manor

Briarhurst Manor is bombarded with negative reviews for its wedding services and its dining food. So I’ve always been hesitant to try the restaurant out, even though i was deadly curious about the place. I agree, the food is “Very” expensive and you don’t really get to portions for what you are paying. In a way, you are paying for the ambience of the place. The servers are very knowledgable and professional. I found our server to be pretty friendly and servicable. We walked in, no reservations. We had with us a coupon essentially for 30% (?) off our meal. We had the lobster bisque, frog legs, roast rabbit, and the escargot. Figured we’d make a meal out of a selection of appetizers as the main meals seemed to be much more pricey with little in portions to share. The rabbit was dry as were the escargot, the frog legs were tasty, and the lobster bisque was delicious. The desert sampler came with dark chocolate torte, creme Brulee, and a lemon raspberry tart – which were very delicious, though again, the portions small. Service was good, the ambience was exquisite, the food was so-so. For the ambience alone I’d give the place 4 stars, but the food at maybe a 3, and the pricing a 2. So to meet in the middle, I rate the entire restaurant experience a 3.5.


Escargot

Continue reading Briarhurst Manor (Manitou Springs, Colorado)

Share

La Creperie (Colorado Springs)

La Creperie
204 N Tejon St * Colorado Springs, CO 80903-1350 * (719) 632-0984 *

I like this place even though it gets mixed reviews from all its patrons from those that love it to those that hate it. The waiters do seem to have some coldness and “off”-ness, but once me and my friend toyed with him, he was amicable. The service was quick and cordial, though things were forgotten. Its very high-priced venue especially for the quality and portions. I do like their crepes. Pretty damn delicious. the Seafood Crepe was pretty scrumptuous. The lobster bisque was pretty yummy – but the portions failed horribly in size. The Escargot was dry, and given we complained, they gave us another tray of them to make up for it. Still however, no matter how good I like the crepes, the cost and service wasn’t very great. Now we did the dinner. I’ve had better experiences here with breakfast, even though others seem to complain the most about the breakfast service and offerings. I’ll eat there again, as I do like the food, but with the price and hit or miss service, I don’t imagine it will be anytime soon. Rating: 2 stars out of 5. (Quiche and Crepes are a 4)

Share

Texas Roadhouse

Texas Roadhouse

http://www.texasroadhouse.com/ * 595 S. 8th Street * Colorado Springs, CO 80905 * Phone: 719-473-9711 * Fax: 719-473-9715

Well it’s definitely an American chain restaurant with over 310 locations in over 44 states. This cookie-cutter establishment was founded by Kent Taylor who wanted to bring good steaks, ribs, and beer to the American population for an affordable price. They wanted to merge the bar-room experience with the family restaurant kind. Peanut shells all over the floor, its a ruggid mess. They hand-cut their steaks and claim award-winning ribs, and blab about home-cookin’ and everything being made from scratch. Its a little hard to believe with chains. They offer the expected steaks and ribs, but also chicken, fish, salads, and veggies. The service was good during our visit, however the food was mediocre in my opinion. My dinner mate raves about the restaurant saying its one of her favorite places. To me though the food was the quality you get from chains, perhaps however, I’m biased on the chain experience. The food was decent and affordably priced. Not being a very big fan of country music, can’t say I could rate the music high either. Rating: 2 1/2 stars out of 5.

Share

Montague’s (Colorado Springs, Colorado)

Montague’s
* 1019 S Tejon St * Colorado Springs, CO 80903-4238 * (719) 520-0672 *
What a charming little America meets Europe coffee n’ tea house. This little joint is off-center from downtown Springs but a certain treasured find for those seeking a hole-in-the-wall place to hang and do brew, games, conversations, and light meals. Comfy couches and elegant decor, just like sitting in your plush living room. You can get the pot of tea of your choosing for your lengthy visit. Intriguing collections of old photos too to give you some old-fashion entertainment. Great cookies, cakes, teas, and coffees. Sandwiches are quite nice too. Was a perfect place for me and my date to catch afternoon tea and good conversation before viewing the new Star Trek! Thanks Wendy …. Rating: 5 stars out of 5. (visited 5/16/09) As always, Montague’s never lets me down – another wonderful visit, friendly service, an iced chai while doing wifi-n-chai on a comfortable couch. Montague’s rocks! Rating: 5 stars out of 5. (visited 6/24/2009) Reviewed at: Wanderwords.com, Virtualtourist.com, Technogypsie.com.

7/9/09: Another very pleasant visit while doing wifi n’ chai and enjoying a turkey sandwich while hoping to catch up on blogs and adventure journals from my trips. I love this place. Rated: 5 stars out of 5.

Share

Oscar’s Oyster Bar (Colorado Springs, Colorado)


Oscar’s
Photo by Jeff Kallaus (c) 2009: permission received to repost

Oscar’s on Tejon

333 S Tejon St * Colorado Springs, CO 80903-2001 * (719) 471-8070
http://www.oscarstejonstreet.com/


Oscar’s in downtown Colorado Springs – is a fun little bar and grille right off the main drag where great meetings occur for happy hour and fun/frolick. It’s also one of Colorado Springs’ infamous locations for Oysters and being one of the few Oyster Bars in this desert/mountainous/ land-locked oasis. In fact, they bill themselves as an Oyster Bar. Oscar’s Oyster Bar and Baithouse is owned by a husband/wife team – Phil and Ashley Duhon. Bringing speciality from livlihood in Louisiana, one can find a unique cooking style for the Rockies. Proud of their menu offerings of steak and seafood, you won’t go hungry with the fresh food they have to offer. A festive bar location with live music over the weeekends, a friendly staff, and good potent drinks …. you’ll be pleased. Rating: 4.5 stars out of 5.

Reviewed at Wanderwords, Virtualtourist.com, Technogypsie.com.

Share

The Ritz Grill (Fat Tuesday) (Colorado Springs, Colorado)


Crawfish Po’Boy

Fat Tuesday @ the Ritz Grill * http://ritzgrill.com/
* 15 S Tejon St * Colorado Springs, CO 80903 * (719) 635-8484 *

Fun times during Fat Tuesday. Apparently (news to me this first year I’ve attended) the Ritz Grill on Tejon street, downtown Colorado Springs throws the area’s best Fat Tuesday Mardi Gras party in the city. Decked out in costumes and beads, decorations, and Cajun cuisine … The Grill brings in the Raw oysters, the Craw Daddies, and the Gumbo for your palate’s best New Orleans mix. Bringing on the Hurricanes as well – get there early as the place is crowded, also reserve a table for this special event or you’ll be standing around outside or in the bar. Hurricanes, complimentary cajun beans n/ rice, and we ordered the raw Oysters cracked on the half shell with Fried Crawfish po’boy and platter. Delicious. Good times. A Head Full of Zombies band played into the night as some bead-winning events took place. Good times. Rating: 4.5 stars out of 5.


Crawfish Platter

Share

Asian Garden (Colorado Springs, Colorado)

Asian Garden * http://asiangardencolorado.com/
* 1747 S 8TH ST
COLORADO SPRINGS, CO, 80906 * Tel: (719) 477-6997 *

To celebrate my birthday one of my co-workers introduced me to this fabulous little Indian restaurant off of 8th street in Colorado Springs. (Thank you Linda!) They had a enormous selection of a buffet offered. I got all my favorites and some tasty Naan as well. Great service, great food, good atmosphere, and all of your favorites for all you can eat. The Mutter Paneer and the Malai Kofta were my favorites. Great restaurant. Rating: 4.25 stars out of 5.

Share

Jun Japanese Restaurant (Colorado Springs, Colorado)

Jun Japanese Restaurant

3276 Centennial Blvd at Fillmore * Colorado Springs, CO 80907 * 719.227.8690 * http://www.junjapanese.com/

Nestled in a shopping mall off of Filmore is a upscale decorated sushi and hibachi place. Relaxed and traditional Chinese dining is offered with great service and taste. Jun hosts a large sushi bar and four teppan grill tables that seat up to ten guests each. THere are also five beautiful tatami tables, situated on a raised platform, that are available for the more traditional Japanese dining experience which requires removing your shoes! Reminds me of Lucy Ho’s in Tallahassee, Florida which was always a favorite Sushi restaurant of mine. The waitress was friendly and met our needs, with very friendly service. We tried the Vegetable Tempura, California Rolls, Unagi, Lobster Roll and Sake. Delicious. Rating: 5 stars out of 5.

Share

Shugas (Colorado Springs, CO)

Shuga’s
702 S. Cascade Avenue, Colorado Springs, Colorado, 80903 719.328.1412
http://www.myspace.com/shugasbar or http://www.shugas.com/

A quaint little bar * cafe * restaurant in a nice cozy neighborhood on South Cascade between Cimarron and I-25. Nestled amongst cute little houses, this artsy warm bar has a friendly staff, food and drinks to die for, and an ambience quite undescribable. Japanese paper art decorates the ceiling, art deco on the walls.

I had the Chicken Club and coconut shrimp soup, and the dark and stormy cocktail. Delicious! I went on Tuesday night, while they were having their movie night – double feature: Labyrinth/Legend. While I couldn’t stay for both, I certainly enjoyed the night. Thanks!!! Rating 5 stars out of 5. Visited 1/23/07.

Share

Tokyo Terriyaki (Colorado Springs, Colorado)

Tokyo Teriyaki
21 1/2 E. Kiowa, Colorado Springs, CO 80903 * 719-473-8105
A small little hole-in-the-wall Japanese (semi-quick) restaurant in downtown Colorado Springs. I had the Bento Box C for lunch – very good – Tempura, rice, 2 pieces of California roll, terriyaki salmon, salad, and miso soup. For $9. Good service, friendly staff. Much enjoyed. Rating: 3.5 stars out of 5. Visited 10/23/06.

Share