Tag Archives: rock

Gypsy Nomads – 6/28/09 at Owsleys, Denver, CO

Gypsy Nomads * http://www.thegypsynomads.com/ *
From the heart of New York came the Gypsy Nomads blending cabaret, celtic and neo-medieval flavors rooted in folk, punk, and as they relish in their bio’s “the vineyards of southern France and the spirit of gypsy sound”. Simply amazing. Extremely rhythmic. The duo consist of Samantha Stephenson who through bilingual vocals as being a French-born British chanteuse mesmerizes her audieces with her voice, percussion, lyrics, and drums. Matched in charm with Scott Helland who was quite popular in the punk scene merging in guitar, drums, and guitar loops. This duette whirlwinded together are a lively pair honoring the free spirit lifestyle with adlib juju, theatrics, and enchantment. An absolute pleasure to the eyes and ears. They boast of their wide array of musical styles from the sultry and cheeky French/English songs to Gypsy celtic inspired instrumentals to pounding drums reminiscent of Taiko and march-style choreography as they describe themselves on their website is so right on to the truth based on my experience with them during this performance on 6/28/09 in Denver. They’ve hit over 175,000 miles of touring across the United States and Canada over the last five years. They’ve been licensed for Indie films and TV shows, including Oprah Winfrey show and WE TV’s Gothic Wedding show. They’ve made appearances at Philadelphia’s Trocadero Theater, NY’s Brushwoods Center, St Louis’ Focal Point Folk Theater, and INATS Trade Show in Florida and Colorado. They’ve also been on stage with Voltaire, Gandalf Murphy, Candice Night, Incendio, Dragon Ritual Drummers, Ego Likeness, Wendy Rule, Brian Viglione and the White Elephant Burlesque, Lunar Fire as well as amazing belly dance troupes across the U.S. I was quite blown away from their performance. Excellent! rating: 5 stars out of 5.
Continue reading Gypsy Nomads – 6/28/09 at Owsleys, Denver, CO

Share

Lipgloss: Pet Shop Boys Listening Party 4/24/09 (Denver)

Lipgloss: Pet Shop Boys Listening Party 4/24/09

http://www.denver3.com/show/detail/20909

Guest DJ Cyren: http://www.myspace.com/iamyoursiren

Lipgloss: Every Friday – 99 W. 9th Ave, Denver, Colorado • 303 -572-8006 • One block west of Broadway • $6 Cover after 10 • 21+ Only • $2 G&Ts • $2 PBRs * www.denver3.com

My all time favorite friday night in Denver is to let loose at the infamous Lipgloss at La Rumba on 9th. This night rewarded a disappointing evening at My Bloody Valentine prior, so the night was not ruined and uplifted to sensational. DJ Cyren was guest dj’ing the “Pet Shop Boys” listening party as the music styles tonight were much more my flavor than usual (though Lipgloss is always my flavor). Cyren’s sets rocked the house. DJ’s Michael Trundle and Tyler Jacobson as usual spun their usual levels of pleasure. It was a fabulous night to say the least. Thank you all for changing the tune to my evening. I’m never disappointed with Lipgloss. The Denver3 team always promises what they preach. If only I “lived” in Denver would I be more of a regular. “Lipgloss” – Denver’s hottest Mod/Soul/Electro/Indie Brit pop night springs to life every friday night: Free cover before 10 pm, and $2 gin wells and PBR’s … The Staff of La Rumba were incredible and affordable strong drinks. The DJ’s were fantastic and addressed inquiries and requests quickly and very friendly – knowing their stuff, I’d recommend them for any event. Thank you! Rating: 5 stars out of 5.
Lipgloss Official Pics from the Event start here …. A few previous Lipgloss Reviews: [ “Lipgloss” @ Club La Rumba: Late of the Pier Listening Party 2/6/09 ] [ Lipgloss 7/18/08 ] [ Lipgloss 12/15/06 ] [ Lipgloss 8/1/08 ]


Share

Lipgloss @ La Rumba (Denver, Colorado)

“Lipgloss” @ Club La Rumba
Every Friday – 99 W. 9th Ave. • 303 -572-8006 • One block west of Broadway • $5 Cover after 10 • 21+ Only • $2 G&Ts • $2 PBRs
http://www.denver3.com/index.html

DJ’s Michael Trundle and Tyler JacobsonHip shaking, drunken fumbling, frantic and wild dancing, arm swinging, spine tingling, hop around fun. Friday’s fun on February 9th, was definitely a blast with mesmerizing music favorites. Indie – Brit Pop – Electroclash – 80’s – Alternative – Pop. Fun was had by all. DJ’s Michael and Tyler made La Rumba shake. Guest DJ Mike Joyce of the Smiths, enchanted with his musical spire. His sets were fantastic and kept the dancefloor phenomenally moving. What a great night! If you’re ever in Denver, never miss this night. The Denver3.com. Rating: 5 stars out of 5. I’ve been frequent visitor (especially in 2008) on fridays as I quite enjoy this night as one of the best. Recent attendance 7/18/08. Excellent job Michael and Tyler!   Lip Gloss

 


dancefloor

 


Dj’s Michael and Tyler

 


DJ’s Michael and Tyler, guest DJ Mike Joyce of the Smiths

Continue reading Lipgloss @ La Rumba (Denver, Colorado)

Share