Tag Archives: Roswell

Roswell Country Club (Roswell, New Mexico)

Roswell Country Club
~ 2601 N. Urton Road, Roswell, New Mexico 88201 * 575-622-3410 * www.roswellcountryclub.com ~

I remember growing up with parents part of this social club – in the 1980’s it was seen as a status symbol and was a way to show off wealth (which my parents were wealthy). In my opinion it wasn’t a good life lesson to show off status or place in society, but that was the way it was back then (and maybe is now). My dad’s intent was probably more for using the golf course and to do business connections in the clubhouse with potential clients for his car dealership and real estate business. We kids of course loved fishing in the lake, swimming in the pool, and doing tennis, golf, and other sports with dad on the grounds. The membership fee in those days were steep and I imagine they are still today.

The club is located outside of Roswell just down the road from my old high school – Goddard. It was established and built in 1905 by members of the Roswell community who wanted to create recreational facilities for its members and families. It’s first officers were W.E. Wisely, E.A. Cahoon, and J.A. Graham – originally purchasing 50 acres from the Stone Estate and Cosmos Sedillo. They began construction of the Club House in 1906 under guidance of D.Y. Tomlinson and the 16 acre lake was stocked with black bass. More land was later added from John T. Stone, adding in a nine-hole golf course and swimming pool.

Rated: 4 of 5 stars. ~ Review by Thomas Baurley, Technogypsie Productions ~

If you would like to contact the author about this review, need a re-review, would like to advertise on this page, or have information to add, please contact us at technogypsie@gmail.com.

Share

Sierra Middle School (Roswell, New Mexico)

Sierra Middle School
~ 615 S. Sycamore Ave, Roswell, New Mexico 88203 * (575) 627-2850 * http://www.risd.k12.nm.us/help/index.cfm ~

I could of sworn that when I attended Sierra Middle School, it was simply 7th and 8th grade. Now it is 6th through 8th grade. Apparently they have school uniforms now, I don’t remember than when attending. It was a gateway school to transition us from Elementary to High School. It is a public school operated by the Roswell Independent School District with a teacher/student ratio of 1:17. Minority enrollment is 78% of the student body. I fondly remember my class and community from Enchanted Hills. I wasn’t very active in P.E. (Physical Education) as I was asthmatic. I pursued the arts, sciences, and Band – continuing to play the Clarinet. I do remember alot of bullying taking place at the school and kids always picking fights with me, mainly ethnic based. It was not my favorite school in Roswell. I started dating in Middle School and began to learn what social cliches were. Just down the street from El Capitan Elementary School where I transferred from.

Rated: 3 of 5 stars. ~ Review by Thomas Baurley, Technogypsie Productions ~

If you would like to contact the author about this review, need a re-review, would like to advertise on this page, or have information to add, please contact us at technogypsie@gmail.com.

Share

El Capitan Elementary School (Roswell, New Mexico)

El Capitan Elementary School
~ 2807 W. Bland Street, Roswell, New Mexico 88203 * (575) 637-3400 * http://www.risd.k12.nm.us/schools/elem/ece/index.cfm ~

I fondly remember my kindergarten that I attended from 4th grade through 6th grade. That was my memory, but apparetly the school only goes from Kindergarten to 5th grade and 6th grade moved to Middle School? Unsure. According to the web site for the school, El Capitan has on average about 424 students today with 18 students per one teacher. Minority enrollment is 72% of the student body and is operated by the Roswell Independent School District.

The school has vastly increase in size, buildings, and footage so much it was essentially unrecognizable when I drove by it. I would have attended from around 1978-1980 I’m guessing when I transferred from Waverley Elementary and Holy Family Church School in New Rochelle, New York. It took a bit to fit in, but once I did I felt at home. I performed magic shows for the school assemblies, and had fun with the science fairs. As an asthmatic, I didn’t participate much in P.E. (Physical Education) but delved into band playing clarinet and science club.

Rated: 4 of 5 stars. ~ Review by Thomas Baurley, Technogypsie Productions ~

If you would like to contact the author about this review, need a re-review, would like to advertise on this page, or have information to add, please contact us at technogypsie@gmail.com.

My original grade school – El Capitan Elementary School (http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=37041); Exploring Roswell, NM (http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=4997). Rebirth of the Bard and Ovate: Chronicle 27 – Chronicles of Sir Thomas Leaf and Prince Cian. Adventures in New Mexico. Photos taken June 26, 2018. To read the adventures, visit http://www.technogypsie.com/chronicles/?p=38381. To read reviews, visit: www.technogypsie.com/reviews. All photos and articles (c) 2018. Technogypsie.com – by Leaf McGowan and Thomas Baurley. All rights reserved. www.technogypsie.com/photography. More info about Colorado Springs: http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=31051

Down the street from Sierra Middle School

Share

Alien Zone (Roswell, NM)

Alien Zone – Area 51
~ 216 Main Street, Roswell, New Mexico 88201 * (575) 627-6982 * http://alienzoneroswellnm.com/ ~

I’ve ventured into this shop and funhouse on a few occasions during my re-visits to Roswell. It was founded by Randy J. (local Pastor and commercial artist) and Elsie E. Reeves in July 1997 as a gift shop then into an amusement fun alien attraction. The company produces its own line of t-shirt designs that are created by local artists, offer alien gags, gifts, and novelties as well. They have fun displays, dioramas, and setups for picture opps as well as space for parties to be held. There is a space jungle gym, game room, and an area to have a picnic in the old cafe (no longer in operation). Definitely fun for kids, but a little run down for adults. There is an upside-down room, crashed saucer the kids can crawl into, alien at a BBQ, alien in jail, alien autopsy, and an alien in an outhouse. The shop and play zone is connected to their second shop they opened in 2000 and closed in 2008 called Hanger 84. It was salvaged and added to Area 51 through a small tunnel with a darker view of extraterrestials with interrogation chambers, a cage with rats gnawing on alien bones, and a miniature “City of the Future” model of a sci-fi future Roswell.

Rated: 3 of 5 stars. ~ Review by Leaf McGowan/Thomas Baurley, Technogypsie Productions ~

If you would like to contact the author about this review, need a re-review, would like to advertise on this page, or have information to add, please contact us at technogypsie@gmail.com.

Continue reading Alien Zone (Roswell, NM)

Share

The German Iron Cross of Roswell

Iron Cross at Spring River
~ North bank, Spring River, Roswell, New Mexico ~

Embedded in the North bank of the Spring River by the Roswell Spring Hill Zoo is a heritage landmark that was created by German prisoners of War who were working on a flood control project that was part of their incarceration. It was in 1943 that a 50 man detail rip-rapped rocks on the Spring River banks. It was on the north bank between Pennsylvania and Kentucky Avenue that they made an “Iron Cross” on the bank. These men were prisoners of war imprisoned during World War II in a camp near Orchard Park. The camp housed more than 4800 German prisoners of war from the Afrikacorps Rommel’s men of the 8th army from 1942-1946. There were numerous residents in Roswell who were angered at this work and retaliated by pouring five yards of concrete over their landmark. The concrete over time washed away and it is said to be visible again.

If you would like to contact the author about this article, review, need a re-review, would like to advertise on this page, or have information to add, please contact us at technogypsie@gmail.com.

Continue reading The German Iron Cross of Roswell

Share

Motel 6 – Roswell, New Mexico

Roswell’s Motel 6
~ 3307 N Main St, Roswell, New Mexico 88201
Phone: (575) 625-6666 ~

Motel 6, the standard cost-rating hotel for an area – in which that you can tell what the affordable going rate is in a city by the price broadcast on the outside of the motel by their sign. However Roswell’s Motel 6 is much more grandiose than most Motel 6’s in that it is not a motel, but actually a hotel with an indoor pool and hot tub. Elevator to your room with luggage carts available. It was quite nice treat. Budget pricing still its icon, but free internet unlike the pay additional fee that other Motel 6’s in the country seem to use. It’s only 3 miles from the International UFO Museum and Research Center. Great flat screen tvs with expanded cable, free WiFi, Kids 17 and under free with adult. Coin laundry, free coffee in the morning, and plenty of parking (for cars and trucks). They even let me unhook my trailer and leave it while i did sightseeing even when i wasn’t checked in yet, and after i had checked out. That was super nice. Microwave, fridge, and kitchens in some rooms. We had a great stay.

Rated: 4 of 5 stars. Visited 6/26-27, 2018. ~ Review by Leaf McGowan/Thomas Baurley, Technogypsie Productions ~

If you would like to contact the author about this review, need a re-review, would like to advertise on this page, or have information to add, please contact us at technogypsie@gmail.com.

Continue reading Motel 6 – Roswell, New Mexico

Share

Roswell’s Alien Craze

091112-101

That Crazy Alien City – Roswell
~ Roswell, New Mexico ~

My family moved to Roswell, New Mexico in 1973-1974 from New Rochelle, New York. I began grade school at El Capitan Elementary School then progressed to Sierra Middle School, and on to Goddard High School before moving off in 1986 to Florida attending college at Florida State University. That whole period of 1973-1986, there was no hype about the rumored UFO crash, alien autopsies, or space visitors albeit a running urban legend. The city was a progressive agriculture town, with a former military Cold War base and missile silos towards exits outside of each direction from the city. Roswell was known as the “All American City”. There were legends and tales about the UFO crash but that was about it. One of my dad’s friends, Mr. Bentley spoke about his abduction and proudly showed scars the aliens left on his stomach. He was a crazed inventor that my dad invested with. As a kid I was obsessed with the belief of Faeries, UFO’s, Ancient Egypt, and magic. I had a blue scrapbook I made of UFO sightings, crashes, and strange phenomena. There was very little in that book about Roswell. “The Incident” wasn’t talked about much. I remember even trying alternative science experiments for the science fair at El Capitan and such “bizarre” theory based subject matter was severely frowned upon. So I moved on and advanced with real science. I’m sure the science fairs in Roswell accept pseudo-science topics now.

The hype is all based on an event on June 14, 1947 where an un-identified object crash landed outside of Roswell. The rancher who owned the land W.W. “Mac” Brazel and his son Vernon called it “a large area of bright wreckage made up of rubber strips, tinfoil, and rather tough paper, and sticks.” They brought the wreckage into town to the local sheriff George Wilcox. Insiders claimed it was a UFO with alien bodies. This theory was quickly leaked to the Press and published. Others, including the military, later claimed it was a high altitude weather balloon that fell from the sky. Ex-military representatives however cried otherwise, leading to many conspiracy theories. The Sheriff contacted Colonel “Butch” Blanchard, commander of the Roswell Army Airfield’s 509th Composite Group. The Colonel was stymied and contacted his superior General Roger W. Ramey, commander of the 8th Air Force in Fort Worth, Texas. Intelligence officer Major Jesse Marcel was sent to investigate and collected all of the wreckage, trying to figure out what the materials were, and Marcel made a public statement claiming that it was a Flying Saucer. The local newspaper sensationalized it letting the public know that “The intelligence office of the 509th Bombardment Group at Roswell Army Air Field announced at noon today, that the field has come into the possession of a Flying Saucer.” It was after-all at the close of World War II and sensationalism about anything from space was popular news. The U.S. at this time had sent V2 rockets with payloads of corn seeds and fruit flies into outer space, the Bulletin of Atomic Scientists had the “Doomsday Clock” ticking, and UFO’s were the rage in popular culture.

The military said it was a Mogul Experimental weather balloon that crashed. The 1948 government report “The Roswell Incident” was published and utilized by the Variety reporter Frank Scully who wrote “Behind the Flying Saucers” – a book that detailed alien encounters from the Pacific Northwest, Aztec – Farmington – and Roswell, New Mexico, and how aliens were now said to be landing their air craft in people’s backyards. World enthusiasm about the phenomena was global and widespread. Some claimed the Air Force propagated the lies to distract people from monitoring its nuclear weapons development, while others claimed the government was covering up the fact they had space craft and aliens in their possession.

Project Mogul was a secretive project, out of Washington DC being operated at Los Alamos National Laboratory in New Mexico launching high-altitude balloons in the area – these balloons would reach high altitudes and were 657 feet long from tip to tail, 102 feet taller than the Washington Monument and twice as tall as the Statue of Liberty – they would enter the upper jet stream toward Russia with a long tail equipped with different types of sensing and listening devices trailing behind it. This is the government’s explanation of the wreckage.

There was the radio broadcast “War of the Worlds” that shook America. Hollywood produced many movies and television shows taking advantage of the enthusiasm, such as Close Encounters of the Third kind, E.T., and Star Wars. Everyone wanted to “believe” we were not alone. Rumors exploded across the countryside, every U.S. military base that had a cloak of secrecy over it (and even some that didn’t) was suspected of housing crashed space ships and aliens. Enter in “Area 51” – a secret air strip in Nevada that rumors were created stating the aliens recovered in Roswell were kept there with their ship. The U.S. Government didn’t help dismiss the rumors, as they just placed large “No Trespassing” and “Use of Deadly Force Authorized” outside the areas.

By the 1990’s there was a notable industry built up around the belief in aliens, UFO’s, and extra-terrestrial existence. With this came books, movies, films, broadcasts, memorabilia, gadgets, toys, posters, and stuffed alien dolls. It was around this time that the International UFO Museum and Research Center decided to make its home in Roswell. I left in 1986 upon graduation, it was soon after they arrived.

Years later the craze infected the city and the old downtown city theater we used to go see Rocky Horror Picture Show was sold and altered into a UFO museum. It was strange to see such a historical landmark as that theater to disappear into space. Then I hear UFO festivals brought millions in tourism to the town, every other fading downtown store front turned into a UFO and alien gift shop, maze, or themed eatery. The city’s lamp posts were topped with alien heads. Every store eventually had their own alien statue sitting out in front of it or had alien heads somewhere on their signs, glass windows, or billboards. The local McDonalds built their play area to be shaped like a giant spaceship. Even the local Walmart added aliens to their frontage. It was nuts. North of the city off Highway 285, the crash site was identified, and a large sign erected to identify its location. New Mexico State University conducted an excavation there to investigate what happened and if any evidence still remained. The crash site now is unmarked with the sign removed, some say “no trespassing” signs exist on site, although my June 2018 visit to the site just had an un-marked skeletal frame that once listed the incident location. Oddly the Roswell UFO Crash Site is just 1/4 mile south of one of the Roswell Missile Silos.

The hype definitely brings tourism to Roswell. Residents love and hate this. For a brief moment of time there was an anti-alien organization camped out in a storefront across the street from the Roswell UFO Museum. They promoted their mission with stickers of alien heads with the “no” symbol crossed over it. They were responsible for much of the vandalism of the crash site sign, as they left the stickers with their damage on location. They no longer exist at least on Main street. If they are still in operation today I have no idea.

The landing of the UFO enthusiasts certainly changed the city. For the good or the bad, no one really knows – but certainly has placed Roswell as a popular tourist destination and hot spot. Of course the hype is not constrained to “Roswell” alone … According to the Public Policy Polling Survey around 12 million people in the United States believe that interstellar lizards in people suits rule our country. Around 66 million Americans believe that aliens landed at Roswell, New Mexico; and around 22 million people believe that the government faked the moon landing.

~ Article by Leaf McGowan/Thomas Baurley, Technogypsie Productions ~

If you would like to contact the author about this review, need a revision or update, would like to advertise on this page, or have information to add, please contact us at technogypsie@gmail.com.

Like this article? want more? consider donating a chai, coffee, tea, or meal to the reviewer as a way to say “thank you! I want more …”
Your support will help continue the publications of articles like this and help preserve this site. Even a $1 goes a long way.





Continue reading Roswell’s Alien Craze

Share

Roswell, New Mexico

091112-106

Roswell, New Mexico

The “All-American City” or so it is branded by themselves, Roswell was a hometown to me from the 3rd grade until senior year of High School. Oh the fond memories of this dust-bowl of a town who’s prime entertainment for the high school youth was “dragging’ main street” every weekend to see who was “out and about” and hanging out in the Sonic drive-in. Of course many shenanigans went on making out at the Lover’s lane hill overlooking the city, or making love in the rocks at Bottomless Lakes State Park when our parents thought we were at the library or prom. Of course those mischievous few of us spent many days (and evenings) partying or exploring the Missile silos on the outskirts of town. Bonfires in the control room was a special kind of ambiance. Of course, we all heard the legends and rumors of the “UFO crash”, alien abductions, alien autopsies, and secret military bases – but that’s all they were … legends. Now these green or gray skinned aliens don the cities light-posts and is a theme park attraction to every gift shop, fast food joint, hotel, and wal-mart. The downtown theater we once partied to “Rocky Horror” has mutated to its own science fiction picture show as one of the world’s magnets for UFO experts, enthusiasts, and crazies as the International UFO Museum.

091112-101

Roswell represents and is in the county seat of Chaves County fluctuating annually in population growth as business boom, close, die, diminish or become reborn. It now boasts a population of 48,000 inhabitants in 2012 celebrating its standing as being New Mexico’s fifth largest city. Outside of UFO’s and aliens, Roswell’ites make their living with irrigation farming, dairy farms, ranching, petroleum, manufacture, and distribution. It was never really a tourist trap, UNTIL … the aliens arrived. It was however home of Bottomless Lakes State Park, Bitter Lakes National Wildlife Refuge, and the New Mexico Military Institute (1891). The 1947 UFO crash made it the most popular, other than that it was a central point for some very famous people including Robert H. Goddard who invented the Rocket. No wonder those “hush-hush” secret military bases set up shop in this small hick town of tumbleweeds. Other famous inhabitants were Patrick Garrett the Sheriff, John Chisum the Pioneer, Demi Moore the Actress, John Denver the folk singer, Nancy Lopez the LPGA golf pro, Austin St. John the first Red Power Ranger, UFO Phil the singer, and Tom Brookshier the Pro Football player.

The UFO crash has much lore, legend, and news stories surrounding it – taking place just outside of town to upwards of 75 miles away near Corona. Whatever crashed there, was hauled into the local Roswell Army Air Field, the “then” secret military base for much dark mysteries … or so they say. On July 8, 1947 the Roswell Daily Record reported the “capture” of a “flying saucer” by the U.S. Government, hauling the ship and its inhabitants to the Walker Air Force Base. the U.S. Government to this day maintains it was debris from an “experimental” high-altitude helium weather and surveillance balloon. A high level military official from the base apparently came on to record to state it was actually a spaceship crash with alien bodies captured. It has been believed to be one of the U.S. Government’s most infamous cover-ups. This incident has led to Roswell’s Alien Craze.

091112-083

Roswell was first inhabited by Native Americans who were pushed out by Euro-American Aliens – a group of pioneers from Missouri who started up the first Euro-American settlement 15 miles southwest of present day Roswell in 1865. They ran out of water however, so had to abandon this “Missouri Plaza”. Hispanics moved in from Lincoln, New Mexico as did John Chisum with his famous Jingle Bob Ranch 5 miles from Roswell’s current downtown. In 1869 two business-men from Omaha, Nebraska named Van C. Smith and Aaron Wilburn set up shop in what is now downtown Roswell building two adobe buildings – the general store, post office, and make-shift hotel. This gave birth to the “True” Roswell. Van’s father was Roswell Smith, whom he named the town after. By 1877, Captain Joseph Calloway Lea and his family bought out Smith and Wilburn, becoming the largest land-holders of the area. The town survived the Lincoln County War from 1877-1879 and by 1890 local merchant Nathan Jaffa struck clear gold when he sprung water tapping a major aquifer while digging a well in his back yard giving major growth and development opportunities for the area. The Railroad came through town by 1893. When World War II struck the country, the military set up a prisoner of war camp near Orchard Park holding Germans forcing labor on them to build Roswell’s infrastructure, especially paving the banks of the North Spring River. A iron cross can be found on the north bank built by the Germans in the Roswell Spring River Zoo. By the 1930’s, Robert H. Goddard popularized Roswell with his early rocketry work bringing in the military heavier from 1941 to 1967. Ruined by alien autopsy conspiracies and economic down-turn, the Walker Air Force base was finally DE-commissioned as were the 22 missile silos surrounding the city.

Located on the high plains, Roswell experiences the four seasons with cold winters, mild warm springs, very hot summers. Monsoons are common during the summer months with torrential downpours, thunderstorms, high winds, hail, and tornadoes.

Resources and Links:
* This list is not complete. These links and resources are reflected only of places visited while exploring the city and surroundings. Please check back for future additions.

Continue reading Roswell, New Mexico

Share

Roswell UFO Museum

Roswell UFO Museum and Research Center
* Roswell, New Mexico *

A whirlwind of change since the days when I grew up in Roswell, as quickly as I moved out of town the city was infected with an Alien Craze over the legendary UFO Crash that took place there in the 40’s. The Center throws an annual UFO convention as well as talks, workshops, archives, and resources that attracts over a million tourists a year to this small little town. The Museum has a pretty complete archive of all UFO crashes, sightings, and investigations in the area as well as an extensive reading library for any visiting researchers. The Center focuses on solving the mysteries of all things alien and extraterrestrial. The admission is rather steep for the size of the museum, but is worth a gander for any alien enthusiast. The gift shop has expanded since the last time I visited, but the shops along main street have more souvenir offerings than the museum does. Rating: 3 stars out of 5. ~ Thomas Baurley. Visited 9/11/2012, 11/21/2013, 06/27/2018

112113-079

Continue reading Roswell UFO Museum

Share

Roswell Spring Hill Zoo

Spring Hill Zoo
* 1306 E. College Blvd., Roswell, NM 88203 *505-624-6760 *

Spending elementary, middle, and high school in Roswell, this was our local “Disneyland” outside of Carlsbad Caverns. A nice sized park for picnicking and outdoor activities, a free zoo, a petting zoo, duck ponds, cycling/jogging/walking trails, and green space. A five mile hard surface recreational trail that runs along the Spring River from west to east. The zoo is the only one of its kind and the only free zoo available in New Mexico. It also has its own youth fishing lake (age 15 and younger only can fish). There is an antique carousel and miniature train that runs through the park. The zoo features a prairie dog town, longhorn ranch, and children’s petting zoo. There are also exhibits of native and exotic animals, birds, and critters including bobcats, foxes, bison, owls, raccoons, antelope, deer, mountain lions, and black bear. Fun filled for children, its quite dusty and hot to visit. On more than once when I’ve visited, I’ve found it a bit unsanitary which is sad as I don’t remember it being that way. Rating: 3 stars out of 5.

Along the North Bank is a World War II German POW landmark that a working crew created of a German Iron Cross in the side of the river’s stone work.

091112-144

Continue reading Roswell Spring Hill Zoo

Share

Bottomless Lakes State Park (Roswell, NM)

112113-103

Bottomless Lakes State Park
* Roswell, New Mexico, USA *

The memories of Bottomless Lakes State Park … it was my family and friend’s swimming hole and playground while growing up in Roswell, New Mexico. Bottomless Lakes provided much cooling off during the hot and dry summers of the desert. Only Fifteen miles from Roswell, the Lakes are Located along the Pecos River, and are a series of natural caves and sinkholes forming lakes used for recreation. The parks were established in 1933 and was the first State Park founded in New Mexico. There are Eleven small deep lakes along the escarpment of the Pecos River Valley that represents the remains of an ancient limestone reef. Caves formed within this limestone and eventually collapsed via erosion creating sinkholes or “cenotes” as round circular lakes or swimming holes. One of the largest lakes is Lea Lake and Lazy Lagoon, providing a large sandy shoreline that outdoor recreational visitors can use for picnicking, camping, outdoor sports, and swimming. Lazy Lagoon is the largest of the lakes and spans over 26 acres as a single lake but is made up of three interconnected sink holes. The lagoon is level with the salt flats which gives it an appearance of being very shallow, where in contrast, it is actually quite deep – over 90 feet deep. As opposed to the old days, Lea Lake is the only lake in which swimming is allowed, due to accidents that occurred in the others, especially Devil’s Inkwell.

112113-114

The shallowest is Pasture Lake with a depth of 18 feet and a surface of .76 acres. The deepest are Lea Lake (90 feet deep – only one that allows swimming) and Lazy Lagoon (90 feet/ 26 acres). The smallest of the lakes, is the darkest, known for its color, steep sides, and algae growth, called “the Devil’s Inkwell” and is approximately .36 of an acre. Figure 8 Lake is actually two lakes separated by a thin beach that seasonally gets covered making it look like one lake at times. The circular shapes connecting create the figure 8 symbol. Cottonwood Lake is 30 feet deep, and Mirror Lake at 50 feet. The Lakes are fed by underground streams and aquifers perculating through the rocks up into the catchment holes. The lakes are home to various endangered species and all of the park’s lakes are protected. The four known endangered species found at the park are the Cricket Frog, Eastern Barking Frog, Rainwater Killifish, and the Pecos Pupfish.

The lakes were originally visited frequently by Prehistoric Indians of the region, and in the 1500’s were said to have been visited by Spanish Conquistadors searching for the legendary Seven Cities of Gold. While the Conquistadors did not record their visitation, it is said that the Native Americans drew a petroglyph at the Lakes depicting a Spanish Conquistador riding a horse according to John LeMay’s book “Legends and Lore of Bottomless Lakes” having also appeared in the Roswell New Mexico Centennial Magazine as well.

According to legend, the lakes got their name as “Bottomless” because the outlaw Billy the Kid and his gang who once hid out in the bluffs supposedly dipped their ropes in one lake to see how deep it was and they didn’t hit bottom so called it “Bottomless”. The deepest lake is Leah Lake at 90 feet.

There are numerous legends surrounding the lakes from a Octopus Man, giant turtles, giant catfish, a White Ghost Horse, and a Dragon. There are many legends of people drowning in the muddy depths and being transported by an Underground Artesian river and cave system to Carlsbad Caverns, giant turtles eating people who went missing there, sheep and horses reportedly been swallowed by the lakes, and numerous cars. The only evidence of such legends are remnants of cars at the bottom. Some say atop the lakes cliffs and bluffs, teens had drag-raced and lost their cars over the edges into the lakes. A local boater claimed to have seen a giant turtle surface in the 1980’s large enough to claim Nessie was in the lake and that it came to eat him.

Rating: 5 stars out of 5. ~ Thomas Baurley and Leaf McGowan.

112113-110

    The Eleven lakes are:

  1. Lazy Lagoon – one of the two deepest at 90 feet with a 26.1 acre surface area.
  2. Cottonwood Lake – 27.5 feet deep with .52 acres of surface area and having natural shade over it.
  3. Mirror Lake North – 32.8 feete deep with 3 acres of surface area.
  4. Mirror Lake south – 43.3 feet deep, .44 acre surface area.
  5. Devil’s Inkwell – 28.2 feet deep, .36 acre surface area, has dark algae in it that makes it appear darker than others.
  6. Figure 8 Lake North – 37 feet deep, 1.46 acre surface area. Forms a figure 8 with Figure 8 Lake South, but is an independent lake.
  7. Figure 8 Lake South – 22 feet deep, .76 acre surface area. Forms a figure 8 with Figure 8 Lake North, but is an independent lake.
  8. Pasture Lake – 18 feet deep, the shallowest of the lakes, having a .76 surface area.
  9. Lost Lake – The depth is unknown, and has a surface area of .1 acre.
  10. Lea Lake: the deepest of the lakes with a maximum depth of 90 feet, 2nd largest in acreage at 15 acres surface area. Only lake where swimming is currently allowed and hosts a daily spring flow of 2.5 million gallons.
  11. Dimmit Lake – unknown depth, made up of two basins covering 10 acres, is privately owned.

More Information:

Continue reading Bottomless Lakes State Park (Roswell, NM)

Share

The Roswell Alien Crash Site


Me at the crash site
Roswell, New Mexico
photos ©2006 technogypsie.com

It was 1947, on July 4th, when William Woody saw a brilliant object plunge to the ground from the sky. They tried to explore where they thought it came down, and was sent away by a military barricade. a New Mexico rancher named WW “Mack” Brazel was out for a ride with his friends checking on their herd after a terrible storm the night before – and they discovered on the ground, unusual pieces of metallic debris and a several hundred foot long shallow trench emblazened into the ground. They brought home some of the metal in order to try to figure out what it was, and his neighbours, the Proctors, told him he might be in possession of wreckage from a government project or a UFO. He reported the wreckage to the local sheriff, Wilcox, who reported it to Major Marcel of the 509 bomb group. The military explored the crash area, and closed the area to public access until all wreckage was removed. He was amazed by the weird nature of the metal and took some home to show his family. A press release was put out shortly after stating that it was the wreckage of a crashed disk by Roswell Air Force Base’s Public Information Officer. It was published in the Roswell Daily Record. Hours later, the press release was retracted, and a new one released, stating it was a weather balloon that they mistakenly identified as a flying saucer. The military tried hard to convince the local news that it was nothing other than a weather balloon and a big mistake by their department to say otherwise. During all of this, the local mortician, Glenn Dennis, received calls from the morgue on the air force base, stating they needed some small hermetically sealed coffins and needing information about how to preserve bodies that have been exposed to the elements for a few days without contaminating the tissue. He drove out to the base hospital and saw scattered pieces of weird metal with strange markings sticking out of one of the ambulences in the parking lot. Upon entering the hospital was threatened by military police and told to leave. The nurse that he knew there told him the next day about the bodies and drew him pictures of them on a prescription pad – the next day she was transferred to England, and was never heard from again. Future research on the incident had determined that the military was watching a strange object for 4 days in Southern New Mexico and on July 4th, discovered the object to have crashed down somewhere 30-40 miles northwest of Roswell. Since then, many movies, many books, and documentaries were created to publicize the incident even though the Military has removed all documentation and covered up most of the information that would validate their involvement. You can read more about the incident Here. In 1991, Glenn Dennis the mortician above, Walter Haut a military public information officer and original writer of the first news release, teamed up with Max Littell to form the Roswell UFO Museum and the IUFOMRC. Within the first 4 years of the opening of the museum, Roswell has increased tourism 5x their small city population with UFO visitors due to Roswell’s Alien Craze. Oddly the crash site is just a couple of miles down the highway from the Roswell Missle Silos.


Alien crash site – Roswell, New Mexico
photos ©2006 technogypsie.com

Continue reading The Roswell Alien Crash Site

Share

The Roswell Missle Silos


“Can I fit in that hole?”
Hwy 285 Silo, Roswell, New Mexico
photos ©2006 technogypsie.com

Many memories of Roswell, New Mexico‘s abandoned missile silos swarmed through my head as I recently explored them on a recent visit to Roswell. In the 80’s we used to throw big high school parties in them, partying in what we thought was once the control room, but appears by online research to have been the living quarters of the soldiers who were on call ready to push buttons. There are 12 silos, now abandoned, that surround the town of Roswell, New Mexico. Hidden from public view, all one can see from the highway, in the middle of nowhere, is a small, blending into the environment, grey concrete rectal-triangular block, that encases a stairwell that enters into a 3-7 level complex of circular rooms and chambers, leading to a circular tunnel that goes to the giant silo tube where the missiles would be launched. Above ground are pits where the fuel storage tanks once were located, such as liquid nitrogen and oxygen. Large missile silo doors rest flat against the ground. The entire structure is built to survive missile attacks upon them. Each missile was stored on alert with RP-1 on board, and was fueled with liquid oxygen prior to launch countdown just as the missile was raised on the elevator. The small hatch-hole (missing hatch) in the pictures below was a guidance antennae to help navigate the missile in flight. The hatch would pop open prior to launch and would raise the antennae. The large doors on the ground surface, shown in the pictures below, would raise open prior to launch as well. As you proceed down the top stairs, and turn two corners, there is a massive air-tight sealed ‘blast door’. Most of the abandoned silos have these welded shut so no one can venture further below. Previous visitors have apparently weld-cut a hole in them to crawl through. Through more hall walls and a set of stairs, you can enter through another blast door, and then down into the living area (that I thought was where the control room was located), following down the stairwell another few levels, are more circular rooms, some used for control rooms, others kitchens and work areas, in the ceiling are emergency escape hatches through a vertical tunnel filled with sand, once opened the sand would fall to the ground, and the ladder would tumble down. The tunnel at the bottom of the stairs, a hard hat area then and especially now, leads to a sealed room and to the actual silo itself. Each entrance is capped with a blast door. The silos range in depth from several stories deep to over a dozen stories deep. The bottom of the silo is filled with water. There is a launch tunnel deck with spiral and vertical ladders that go to the bottom of the silo. This particular silo is located approximate 3/4 miles north of the Alien Crash Site, around mile marker 133. Apparently the 12 silos surrounding Roswell were constructed between 1960 and 1964 because of threatened relations between the U.S. and the USSR. Most Americans were frightened by nuclear attack, as was the US government. These silos were built for defense of the local air force base. As the US attempted to build a network of launch sites for missiles capable of rocketing nuclear explosives to the enemy, and these silos were used to launch the Atlas F missiles. By 1965 they were DE-commissioned, considered obsolete, dismantled, and abandoned. Apparently Abilene, Texas; Oplin, Texas; Bradshaw, Texas; was also surrounded by similar silos. Browsing around the web, I’ve found some great silo stories and Information pages about them. One of the silos is located a few miles down the road from the UFO Crash Site. Last visit on June 26, 2018 – me and my son visited the one off Highway 287 was open and able to be explored.


Missle Silo Doors – Roswell, New Mexico
photos ©2006 technogypsie.com

Continue reading The Roswell Missle Silos

Share

07.30.06: Part I – Roswell, The Alien Crash Site, The Missle Silos


C.S.I. Crash Site Investigation
Roswell Crash Site, Roswell, New Mexico
photos ©2006 technogypsie.com

Sunday, 30 July 2006
Roswell, New Mexico
Part I – Delving into the Past, Alien Technology

We slept in a bit, then wandered down for the Holiday Inn Express breakfast bar, packed up the room, and caravaned out of town. Got gas at $2.83/gallon – cheapest I’ve seen for ages in the West … and the southwest. I think Colorado Springs is about $3.15/gallon. Aliens must have some cheaper technology for finding fuel I suppose. We then hit the dollar store to purchase a couple of flashlights. Then drove up Hwy 285 north, to Mile marker #133, and pulled over to walk around the Roswell Alien crash site. We both bought Roswell souvenir t-shirts “C.S.I. Crash site investigator” and donned them for the day’s explorations. David wore his bluetooth phone and shades. As we were poking around the Crash site, two elderly tourists drove up, was nervous about getting out of their car, and finally the husband was brave enough to approach us, thinking we really were official, and asked … “sorry to bother you, but where is your crash site?” and I replied … “Its down the road a ways … or so I’ve heard …” As we were locking up our cars, grabbing our flashlights, and proceeded to walk to the highway to walk down 3/4 mile to the abandoned missle silo. I could hear the husband/wife talking:

husband: “I think they are here investigating the crash site. They are doing what we are doing.”
Wife: “Noooo … I don’t think they are doing what we are doing. They are investigating something else.”

Continue reading 07.30.06: Part I – Roswell, The Alien Crash Site, The Missle Silos

Share

Indiana Jones and the Kingdom of the Crystal Skulls (PG13, 2008)

Indiana Jones



Indiana Jones and the Kingdom of the Crystal Skull (PG-13: 2008)

Director: Steven Spielberg. Starring: Harrison Ford … Indiana Jones, Cate Blanchett … Irina Spalko, Karen Allen … Marion Ravenwood,
Shia LaBeouf … Mutt Williams, Ray Winstone … ‘Mac’ George McHale, John Hurt … Professor ‘Ox’ Oxley, Jim Broadbent … Dean Charles Stanforth, Igor Jijikine … Dovchenko, and many more.

Hmmm … where would one begin? I was totally dissatisfied with this film, and I am a big Indiana Jones fan. It was flaky, stupid, and literally had a dumb plot. The plot: Famed archaeologist/adventurer Dr. Henry “Indiana” Jones is called back into action when he becomes entangled in a Soviet plot to uncover the secret behind mysterious artifacts known as the Crystal Skulls. The mere fact that “crystal skulls” historically are most likely fakes, should give you a hint. As follows the rest of the alien plot. The acting was also very so-so. Sorry Harrison, but you need to re-think this role. Certainly none of the Indiana Jones films have an ounce of reality, but this one was extremely far-fetched and the Aliens from Roswell crystal skull and skeletons having magnetic powers was just idiotic. Most of the film was parody and nostalgic in-jokes. It had a few laughing moments, but overall, i just felt like leaving and demanding a refund. Don’t waste your money, not even at the video store. Rating: 1 star out of 5. Don’t see. Viewed 5/23/08.

Share