Tag Archives: Santarchy

Colorado Springs Santa Con 2017

Santas at the Ancient Mariner, Manitou Springs, Colorado. 2017 Colorado Springs Santa Con: http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=34397. New Life in Colorado

2017 Colorado Springs Santa Con
~ The Santa Bus, Swirl Wine Bar, The Loop, Ancient Mariner, Kinfolks, The Royal, the Keg, the MAC (Santarchy Party) ~ Manitou Springs, Colorado ~
~ https://www.facebook.com/events/369686326784141/ / https://www.facebook.com/pg/SantaConCOS/ ~

Review by Leaf McGowan/Thomas Baurley, Technogypsie Productions ~

Story Coming Soon

If you would like to contact the author about this review, need a re-review, would like to advertise on this page, or have information to add, please contact us at technogypsie@gmail.com.

Santas grabbing drinks at the Royale, Manitou Springs, Colorado. 2017 Colorado Springs Santa Con: http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=34397. New Life in Colorado: Chronicle 26 – Chronicles of Sir Thomas Leaf and Prince Cian. Adventures in Colorado. Photos taken December 9, 2017. To read the adventures, visit http://www.technogypsie.com/chronicles/?p=21965. To read reviews, visit: www.technogypsie.com/reviews. All photos and articles (c) 2017. Technogypsie.com – by Leaf McGowan and Thomas Baurley. All rights reserved. www.technogypsie.com/photography. More info about Colorado Springs: http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=31051. Colorado Springs Santa Con: https://www.facebook.com/SantaConCOS/.

Continue reading Colorado Springs Santa Con 2017

Share

Boulder SantaCon 2017

Boulder SantaCon 12

Boulder Santa Con 12
Boulder, Colorado *
https://www.facebook.com/events/1785737221725663/ *

It’s that wonderful time of year when the red tide makes it’s way through Boulder Colorado … It is also the birthplace where I got my start frolicking with the Santa’s … So I recall …. Either-or Boulder, Colorado springs, or Denver.

This year in it’s 12th year there was two Santa crawls …. The early one starting out with dining Mexican fare then on to the gentlemen’s club next door. Onwards they took a sleigh ride on the public bus downtown for more fun.

Misfit toys handed out to all, candy canes, and holiday cheer aplenty. With boom boxes in place they had a spontaneous dance party on the bandstand in the city park.

More Coming soon …

Boulder SantaCon (http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=34233) — New Life in Colorado: Chronicle 26 – Chronicles of Sir Thomas Leaf and Prince Cian. Adventures in Colorado. Photos taken November 24, 2017. To read the adventures, visit http://www.technogypsie.com/chronicles/?p=21965. To read reviews, visit: www.technogypsie.com/reviews. All photos and articles (c) 2017. Technogypsie.com – by Leaf McGowan and Thomas Baurley. All rights reserved. www.technogypsie.com/photography. More info about Colorado Springs: http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=31051

Continue reading Boulder SantaCon 2017

Share

Denver SantaCon 2016

Denver SantaCon 2016

Denver SantaCon 2016
~ Begin Union Station to Black Shirt brewery via Rail to Thirsty Lion to La Boheme to Wazee Supper Club, Denver, Colorado
https://www.facebook.com/events/1284973781560458/1337087499682419/ ~

Story coming soon …

Denver SantaCon 2016 ( http://www.technogypsie.com/reviews/?p=29647) – New Life in Colorado: Chronicle 26 – Chronicles of Sir Thomas Leaf and Prince Cian. Adventures in Colorado. Photos taken December 23, 2016. To read the adventures, visit http://www.technogypsie.com/chronicles/?p=21965. To read reviews, visit: www.technogypsie.com/reviews. All photos and articles (c) 2015/2016 Technogypsie.com – by Leaf McGowan and Thomas Baurley. All rights reserved. www.technogypsie.com/photography

Share

The Ascension of Santa Christ

“The Launching of Santa Christ”
Artist Ron English * Saturday, April 3, 2010 * America The Beautiful Park * Colorado Springs, Colorado *
Mid-morning the sunny, yet windy day at the infamous “America the Beautiful” Park in Downtown Colorado Springs saw its green dotted with jolly red creatures, elves, Easter Bunnies, and other freaky characters bouncing around with large helium filled red balloons. Struggling with the wind, these seasonally festive animated beings tied numerous balloons to what appeared to be a ‘passed out’ Santa. Indeed it was a life-size artistic image of Ron English’s “Santa Christ” and this was his newest artistic creation and publicity stunt for the celebration of “Easter”. It was a festive and fun time. Very inspirational. Fun was had by all as we chased around the “Santa Christ” icon as it bobbed up and down along the park until it floated away into the sky beyond the giant Stargate and up and between the obelisk pillars into the clear blue skies where it will turn many bewildered heads of the “W.T.F.” nature …. Afterwards, the numerous Santas, festive characters, and the Easter Bunny enjoyed frolicking down the streets of Downtown Colorado with booze and grub from Phantom Canyon. Good times ….

Continue reading The Ascension of Santa Christ

Share

100 Santas Needed in Colorado Springs for Video Shoot

April 4th, 2010 : Colorado Springs, Colorado

A large handful of you have responded to the big SantaChrist/Ron English/Electric Illuminati event coming to Colorado Springs. I appreciate your response but we still need many, many SANTAS to reach 100.

Please email Douglas at douglas@rouse66.com to confirm your participation.

Your Santa costume does not need to be elaborate, nor authentic. Think of it more as a sea of red and white and if there are 100 or more people wearing red and white the effect could be quite astonishing. It doesn’t even need to be a Santa outfit specifically, but something celebrating or resembling Santa would be awesome. For ten bucks at the thrift shop you can get a sweet outfit (hint: Saturday’s at the ARC everything is 50% off).
Facebook | Santa Christ video shoot for Ron English

Share

12.20.08 Adventures of Sinterklaas: PNW 2008: Sinterklaas does Seattle SantaCon, Part 3: Lusty Lady, Pike’s Brewery, and Beyond …

Saturday, 20 December 2008 – Part III
Seattle, Washington


The Lusty Lady

After the Public Library and skipping a couple of places we hit the Lusty Lady. It looked like a strip club, but it wasn’t. Peeping booths instead with live strippers at the other side. All the other santas piled into the closets. Too crowded to even peep. Of course they yelled if we had booze on us we better leave quickly or we’d be arrested. I did have a flask of wine in my santa bag so I quickly exited. The Lusty Lady quickly kicked us santas out and we immediately headed to the Pikes Market Brewery which appeared to be several bars in one. Hit there by 4:30 pm. I met some locals and gave them some naughty misfit toys, and at this point I would say I far more than simply toasted. Things are getting a little foggy at this point.

 
Santas piling into the peeping booth.

Food, dancing, frolicking, fun, boozin’, toyin’, and rockin’ pursued. Catching up with friends and meeting new faces. We spent an hour or two there it seemed. Apparently the Santa mob had splintered by this point and others were at another location. I think it was the split-off from the Public Library that did it. Nobody knows if the cops ever showed up there or the Lusty Lady, both places were gossipped to have called the cops. Then a mosh pit happened in the back of Pikes Brewery. Then our Santas splintered off yet again and apparently I was with the misled Santas and we went to Nightlite. The others went to Triple Door, Gameworks, and Westlake Center where apparently a massive snowball fight happened around 6:30. Graham and Becca left for a Yule dinner while I continued to frolick. By 8:30 we hadn’t moved from Nightlite and it was then I discovered I was with the unofficial Santa splinter. So now that all the Santa’s were regrouping at the Nightlite, I was getting hungry and ready for food. Ran into my friend Avery and caught up with him, convinced them they needed food too, and they drove me to Bill’s off Broadway for pizza and to see if Anita and Jason were there as that was the last place they stated they were going. Grabbed pizza and the exact last emptying of the santa bag of misfit toys. From there we got word the Santas were moving to the Chapel Bar by 9:30, so I headed off ahead to blend back in. Found Stephanie and crew, and Anita and Jason joined with as well. We all partied there for about an hour and headed over to the Lesbian bar “Wild Rose” and then off to “the Cuff”. Around that time I was plastered and everything seems foggy as I now try to recollect. Graham and Becca called that they were heading home and asked if I wanted a ride, and they were soon by in a flash. I don’t even remember decloaking my santa suit and passed out immediately upon arrival to my bed. Egads. These SantaCons … what a wild party.


Santas invading the floor of the Chapel

Continue reading 12.20.08 Adventures of Sinterklaas: PNW 2008: Sinterklaas does Seattle SantaCon, Part 3: Lusty Lady, Pike’s Brewery, and Beyond …

Share

Seattle Santacon: Part 2 – Pictures

Saturday, 20 December 2008 – Part II
Seattle, Washington


Tony: “What Aboot it?”

Enroute to 88 Keys Dueling Piano and Sports Bar the Santas did their first chaotic split of different routes which became a theme of the evening. This many Santas and it’ll continuously splinter. We made it to 88 Keys where we had paid the bar to open early for a private “Santas Only” party. Everyone that could chipped in $5 to help cover the costs which I suppose went over the amount as there were flowing pitchers of beer for most Santas. We ran into our good friend Tony around here tagging around with him for the rest of the evening. Service was a little rough at 88 keys as they were understaffed probably because they didn’t expect a 200 strong Santa invasion. Once the music began, much humor and fellowship embedded the building. A comical pianoist with lots of audience participation as can be seen in this YouTube video i shot.

Santas helped unload the delivery truck for the bar so that food could be served. Then fellowship and song invaded the hall as many adrunken santas indulged in their booze. Happiness and joy amidst for hours. Then came the call “Ho! Ho! Ho! Santa’s Gotta Go!” and off we wandered hitting some more bars, halls, sights, on to the Seattle Public Library.

As we approached the Seattle Public Library, all santas had their fingers to their noses with a “shhhh” under their breath as we were entering the quiet zone. You never saw 200 santas come quiet, slowing proceeding up the elevators to the top floor where our fearless leader started to read us the story of “How the Grinch stole Xmas” … we were quiet and behaved. But some obnoxiously rude and jerky librarian came and told us we could not have story time that we weren’t quiet enough. So they became even quieter. Then she grew impatient and wanted us to leave, she called the cops, so we were about to leave and she had the nerve to try to stop of us complying by leaving. A mass exodus of santas out of the library. We were going to hit a couple of hotels, but were unwelcomed, so went to the Lusty Lady for some cheap time thrills.


Story time at the Seattle Public Library

Continue reading Seattle Santacon: Part 2 – Pictures

Share

12.20.08 Adventures of Sinterklaas: PNW 2008: Sinterklaas does Seattle SantaCon, Part 1

Saturday, 20 December 2008 – Part I
Seattle, Washington


Ready to Roll

Twas 5 days before Christmas, when all through the house
Not a creature was stirring, not even a mouse.
Sinterklaas crawled out of bed after a nightmare,
with some fears that the snows would prevent SantaCon from being there.
Graham and Becca were nestled all snug in their beds,
While visions of a normal day danced in their heads.
And Becca in her morning sunshine awoke and said hello, and Graham in his cap,
Had just settled their brains for a long winters nap.
When out on in the living room there arose such a clatter,
Sinterklaas Leaf did his best to pursuade the matter.
Luring the two of them away to SantaCon in a flash,
Tore open their closets looking for Santa-like outfits and threw up the sash.
The streets were covered with the new-fallen snow
Gave the lustre of mid-day to objects below.
When, what to my wondering eyes should appear,
But now 3 mythical santa-types stumbled down the walk with no fear.
With Becca as the driver, so lively and quick,
right at her side sat ol’ St Nick.


Me, Graham, Becca stuffed in a truck

Graham taking the lead in Becca’s moving truck he came,
spinning down Queen Anne hill on the ice came the trucks.
Wil all whistling and shouting “Ho Ho Ho, Santa’s Gotta Go” and called them by name!
“Now Dasher! now, Dancer! now, Prancer and Vixen!
On, Comet! On, Cupid! on, on Donner and Blitzen!
To Georgetown we go to the gas station at the Costco mall!
Now dash away! Dash away! Dash away all!”
several trains blocked our way so no wild hurricane fly,
Meeting with this obstacle, there was no mount to the sky.
So an hour late we made it to House of Hong where our numbers grew,
With bags full of misfit Toys, and over a hundred of St Nicholas too.


Outside the House of Hong

And then, in a twinkling, out opened the doors
as waitresses were prancing and pawning of dim sum across the floors.
As we drew into our mouths and head, and was turning around,
Down the mouths of 100+ St Nicholas came with a sound.
100+ of us dressed all in fur, from ours heads to our foot,
And some of our clothes were all tarnished with snow, ice, and soot.
A bundle of Toys, candy canes, and treats we had flung on our back,
we looked like peddlers, just opening our packs.
Our eyes-how they twinkled! our dimples how merry!
Our cheeks were like roses, our noses like a cherry!
our droll little mouth was drawn up like a bow,
And our beards of our chins were as white as the snow.
The stumps of our cigs n’ pipes we held tight in our teeth,
for those of that smoke it encircled their heads like a wreath.
as they shivered outside with their broad faces and little round belly,
That shook when they laughed, like a bowlful of jelly!


Me and Ragdoll at 88 Keys

The santas were chubby and plump, along in companionship with jolly old elves,
And we laughed when we saw each other, in spite of ourself!
A wink of our eyes and a twist of our heads,
Soon gave us knowledge we had nothing to dread.
Whe we hit Seattle Public Library we spoke not a word, but went straight to the top floor to do our work,
And started reading how the Grinch stole Christmans and out came a librarian who was a jerk.
even though all the santas were laying their fingers aside of their nose,
In deep silence and politeness iving her a nod, she still called the police so down the escalator we rose!


Reading the Grinch stole Xmas at Seattle Public Library

He sprang to the streets with snowballs in hand, to our mob who gave a whistle,
And away they all flew like the down of a thistle.
But we heard them exclaim, ere we drove out of sight,
“Happy Christmas to all, Ho! Ho! Ho! Santa’s Got to go! and to all a good-night!”

Continue reading 12.20.08 Adventures of Sinterklaas: PNW 2008: Sinterklaas does Seattle SantaCon, Part 1

Share